Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - High Bank Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Blackpool > High Bank Farm Reviews

High Bank Farm
Hardhorn
Poulton Le Fylde
Blackpool
Lancashire   (Browse area)
FY6 8DN
Tel: 01253 890422
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 1st April Or Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 113 Reviews
                8/10 from 113 Reviews

Photos (2)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  113 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BiffyBoffy 23 reviews from this member

We stayed for one night arriving on Friday evening so we could meet up with family on the Saturday. The site is set behind the farm house with grazing fields behind. Our name was on the board at the entrance to the site telling us where our allocated pitch was, which worked great.

The site has a central access road with pitches off each side, we stayed on the side facing the trees so could enjoy the late sun and an alfresco breakfast. We paid 10 for our campervan with two adults.

The toilet block was located in the centre of the site with showers below the farm house; both were kept clean in the short time we were there.

It took us 15 minutes to get over to our free parking spots on the pleasure beach side of Blackpool so is in easy distance of all the attractions but far enough away to not feel like you are in the thick of it!

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 4miffies 14 reviews from this member

Just back from 2 nights at this lovely little site. As others have mentioned,the owners really do go out of their way to help you e.g. we had a puncture on way there and the owner told us where to take tyre to avoid being ripped off.

It's a small site but the pitches are spacious.The toilet block is basic but adequate there is a pub 10mins walk away which we walked to on both nights.

The local bus took 2 adults, 2 kids into Blackpool centre for 7.00. We would definitely use this site again if in the area. Nothing much for kids to do but we went into Blackpool so not a problem for us.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gallabers Traveller 11 reviews from this member

Phoning for a last minute booking, I was pleasantly surprised to be offered the last pitch on the busiest Friday night of the year. (Switch on of the famous Blackpool Illuminations)

While the site was relatively small, all the facilities were kept clean in the short time I was there. Poulton le Fylde was about 1.2 miles away, quite manageable for a night out without driving. Talking to other campers, I found that most are regular visitors who discovered this site previously and keep coming back for more!

Seemed to be predominantly young families and older couples, so had a blissfully quiet night with no nocturnal teenagers!

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 050566 38 reviews from this member

Having read previous reviews I wasn't really disappointed. However no one mentioned the entrance to the site, been to some tight entrances before, but this one beat them all.

Unfortunately the rain at nights made the site a mud bath. That's natures fault. But the the facilities were not cleaned once in a week.

The site is well located. We had a lovely week, but would probably not return.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Electrolyte 1 review from this member

What a lovely little campsite! My 9 year old son and I stayed here for 2 nights last week and had a great time. Only cost us 12 per night for our tent pitch which included EHU which I thought was a bargain.

The campsite is located in a lovely little village called Hardhorn a couple of miles outside of Blackpool. 10 minutes walk from the campsite is a Harvester pub and a further 5 minutes walk from the pub there is a small Booths supermarket and a fab fish and chip restaurant called Seniors.

The campsite itself is on a small field on the side of the farmhouse. There was a small shop attached to the farmhouse where you could buy homemade jams, honey, tomatoes and cakes. I can especially recommend the blackcurrant jam and the delicious chocolate brownies! Next to the shop was a small washing-up area and the showers and a toilet - one for gents and one for women. Although there was only one shower and one sink for washing up I never had a problem using either even though the site was pretty full.

In the main field next to the swings is a toilet block with 3 toilets for gents and a further 3 for ladies. One thing, there is no soap or towels in the toilets so bring along some soap with you!

For the 2 days we were there it was full of families and my 9 year old made lots of friends even though there weren't that many pitches.

There was a board next to the entrance with the pitch numbers on it and the name of the person on each pitch. When you arrive you just find your name and then your pitch number. Bear in mind that you need to pitch in between the pitch numbers.

The owners were lovely and very helpful. They have an adorable baby girl and a very friendly dog called Spud that my son loved. Wi-fi is also available for a small charge and worked very well for me.

So all in all an excellent campsite that I would recommend to anyone.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: FoxtrotOff 2 reviews from this member

Myself and my partner arrived five days ago to a site full of customers but no owners nor staff nearby, we pitched up and even spent most of the day out and about before we saw them for the first time.

The location of this campsite is perfectly suited to day trips to Blackpool and surrounding Market towns etc with Blackpool being around 10 minutes away.

The site itself comprises around twenty or so pitches squeezed into a football field sized area. Very intimate at best as we had two groups of noisy teens so close we could hear every conversation.

Facilities at the site include a toilet block consisting of two toilets for each sex and a separate washing up / toilet / shower area. These facilities were not cleaned during out five night stay.

The showers were also not cleaned again and too small to even get washed in.

The site operates a 'minimum noise after nine' rule, which I have to say is ineffective and actively not listened to.

Final word of warning before I go onto my ratings, if you are allergic to stings from insects, please make sure you stay away from pitches 8 to 15 as right next to pitches 10 and 11 are six active bee hives. This is something I was not told nor asked when booking and my other half is actually allergic!

All in all this site only has it's location going for it

Electrical hook up is provided on certain pitches however it's an extra three quid per night.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chips747 1 review from this member

We stayed here mainly for its location to Blackpool, only a 10min drive away. The site seemed basic on the reviews that I had previously read but when we arrived I was pleasantly surprised.

Fairly level pitches all around, a basic but modern toilet block, a couple of showers and a very warm welcome from the owners.Wot more could you ask for.

We had originally booked for 6 nights but then asked to stay another, that was not a problem at all. We were very pleased and would not hesitate in going back again.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Axsices 3 reviews from this member

Stayed for 4 nights at start of July.

Only 10 per night for myself, hubby and 4 year old (don't pay for under 5's)

Pitch fee 6, adult 2 each.

Nice location, just off main road though so its pretty busy/noisy at rush hours (didn't bother us). Plenty of EHU although its 3 extra per night and we didn't take it. Two toilet blocks, one freestanding next to the swings and the other with 2 showers adjoined to the farmhouse. Size of camping field about half a football pitch with wooded surround. Owners kept chickens and bees and you could buy their produce, a lot of neighbours did! Less than 10 mins drive into Blackpool north and there is also a harvester pub and shops a short walk away from campsite.

Elsan point and 2 water taps, toilets and showers were clean when we arrived but it got busy quickly and could have done with an extra going over when the site was full.

Owners were lovely and wifi vouchers could be purchased too

Overall we were pleased with the site and will be recommending it to friends/family and returning again this year. 4 nights for 40 in Blackpool is fantastic!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jaxpix50 8 reviews from this member

We are seasoned campers over many years. We visited this site during the school holidays.

The facilities were inadequate for the numbers on site at the time. We were there for several nights and the toilets were not cleaned in that time despite there being probably 150 + using them (two for women and two for men with a tiny sink to wash hands). Only one shower for men and one women (with a further toilet each) and they were not clean neither were the sinks (one in each shower area).

There was a 9 pm quiet rule but this was not enforced with children out until after dark playing football amongst the units. There was a small play area with three swings.

The site was close to Blackpool and handy for all the West coast.

The owner was really friendly and the website is lovely but would not recommend

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kirk71 1 review from this member

As this was our first Family camping trip we decided a short weekend break with our two boys was the way to start so after a bit of searching we came across this site.

On phoning the owner I immediately felt at ease at the chap (Nick I think) was so pleasant and at such short notice made arrangements for us to stay. I felt obliged to mention our boys were only 5 and 3 which he immediately said was not a problem as there were a few young children already there including a 3 month old !

On arrival once you negotiate the tight turn into the property you are simply in a large area split into equal sized pitches, most of which have electric hook up close to your pitch. It is very well sheltered by surrounding trees / hedges and is a lovely sun trap.

Facilities are limited and to be fair it is a large area on the back of their farm house, but there is still a single ladies shower and gents shower attached to the side of the house plus a wash up room for your plates etc. In the middle of the park you will find the toilets, which are up to date, spacious and clean. For the children there are 3 swings which have safety matts underfoot.

For our first family outing I have to say the friendly welcome we received was lovely, and the loan of towels due to me forgetting them seemed no trouble for them at all.

So to sum it up, do not go there if you are wanting 5 star luxury, this is what I would call proper camping, clean facilities, minimal but up to date and very clean. Great level pitches with ample room, only 5 miles into blackpool, quiet location, even the horses were a welcome sound.

The kids loved watching the chickens running about in the pen. The owners are extremely friendly and we do intend to stay there when I get long weekends off.

Previous     113 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Blackpool      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5350 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019