Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX
Tel: 01736 753127
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 249 Reviews
                9/10 from 249 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  249 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ginster-pies 9 reviews from this member

Just back from a fab week at Gwithian farm. Immaculate campsite, with great owners, brilliant facilities, and a location to die for. We arrived on the Monday, got pitched up, and sacked off the idea of BBQ in the evening to take advantage of the on-site pizza van. Had plenty of trips across the dunes to the beach. Nice walks to Godrevy to look at the seals, and a long walk to St Ives along the SW coastal path.

The shower and wash block is great. We tended to shower in the evening after a days activities, and never had to queue, although it was a bit busier in the mornings.

We'd definitely come back. A beautiful site in a great part of Cornwall

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mikecollier 9 reviews from this member

Great site on the North Cornwall Coast. A short (across fields and sand dunes) walk to a dog friendly beach

Facilities always clean and plenty of free hot water from push button showers.

Kid friendly, in so far as open spaces and small outside play area (sand pit / table tennis), no playground.

Friendly and very helpful staff

Early arrival time (midday) but also early departure time (10am)

Mobile food vendors visit every day in peak season, along with a baker (pastries only) three mornings per week

Would definitely stay again

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dave Thorpe 13 reviews from this member

If you don't mind children skateboarding/cycling etc In front of your caravan despite signs requesting them not around the toilets / check in and bottom 3 rows of hardstandings then go ahead, the site itself is nice, irresponsible parents/ kids ruin it round about tea time onwards. We were on pitch 3 & had a poor tv signal ( we bought an external aerial in the end ) plus 02 had poor reception on that pitch. We would not return but will use CMHC Godrevy as we normally do

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BigErnie 29 reviews from this member

This was the second campsite that we stayed at during a week long trip in Cornwall, we fancied a site by the sea with easy access to a dog friendly beach and this ticked the boxes.

On arrival we checked in, the site was busy for the time of year but plenty of pitches still available all around the site. First impressions of this site are really good, it is really well laid out and obviously well looked after. The facilities block which is near reception is large and clean although is looking a little tired on the inside.

My husband checked us in and we found our pitch, given that the site is quite large I was surprised that we had been pitched opposite end of the site from the toilet block, Iím not really sure why as there were plenty of pitches in closer proximity but I didnít ask to move so I canít really complain. The reception also houses a little shop which is useful as there are no other shops in or around Gwithian.

There is a pub opposite the site which does some modern pub grub for reasonable prices and a cafť opposite the beach selling tea, coffee, cakes and some meals. Walking from the site is easy out across the sand dunes and on to the beach which was great for letting to dogs off the lead to burn off some energy.

The site is in a great location, we would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Muddtfunkstarr 16 reviews from this member

What can I say. Excellent site, easy walk to the beach, friendly owners, nice pub outside the gate. Good sized pitches, spotless shower and toilet block. Cannot stress how nice the site was. Bus service to St Ives was running late but arrived eventually, interesting return journey.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: E-Fields 2 reviews from this member

What a gem! Stay 7ngts in August, site full. Stayed on pitch 13 - wonderful size. We have a twin axle and struggle on some sites - not here. Full size awning up as well. Pitch separated by large shrubs which gave us privacy. Site is IMMACULATE. Lady on ride on mower was out every morning mowing pitches that had just been vacated for the next guests. On site shop sells everything, and I do mean everything. From food basics to camping tools, ice creams to bucket and spades, wetsuit hire and gifts. Wonderful.

Walked to the beach from the path over the farmers fields at the top end of the site, contrary to other reviews we never once saw dog mess. One part of the path has overgrown brambles which caused our little ones some issues (they were face height for them) but this isn't a reflection on the site owners. One day I took a pair of scissors to try and cut some back! Then a walk over the grassy dunes - what a view! This is Cornwall - jaw dropping views and beaches that go on and on. This beach is so big that even on a packed August day you have all the space you want!

Back on site; showers are hot and free. Yes there can be a queue at busy times but we avoided them and always walked straight in. After busy times the floor was dirty from people's wet shoes but again - not fault on owners and they were cleaned regularly. Pot wash and laundry room available as well as large chest freezers. Food vans visit daily including pizza, fresh kebab and breakfast (choc au pains etc). Site lighting is enough so you can see where your going but dim enough so that your van isn't illuminated. Play area we didn't use as there were lots of older kids on there - one night there had been some 'issues' as the site owner was there asking them to move and then went to find the parents. Even though we were pitched close by, we didn't hear any noise and were only aware after a walk to the toilets. It was nice to see the owner sorting problems right away.

We will most definitely return - heading to a favourite haunt in Wales next year but already talking about Summer 2019 back here.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Morgan man 2 reviews from this member

Just spent a week on this site, First time for us and we were very please with our pitch, Nice size and with hedges between which makes for a more enclosed feeling and reduces being over looked. The weather we had was the worst to date for this time of year, but the site held up well. We had hard surface roads to our part, the top part has tracks which did get muddy, but drains well once it dried up. The showers all have rain fall heads and push buttons are very nice and powerful and always clean. It was very windy one night by again with the hedges the awning was still up in the morning. The pub opposite was very good busy and if going for a meal make sure you book. The location is great for the whole of west Cornwall. We walked to the beach three times and its take around 10 > 15 mins not to steep. The shop was well stocked and they hire wet suit's. There are lots of mobile things which turn up. A boys does hot coffee from a machine every morning and hot chocolate with marshmallows. A jewellery lady turned up, ice-cream van, fish and chips Pizza van. And fresh bakery items are a must.

Only a few items which would improve the site. More waste bins around the site, we had two dogs. The chicken enclosure was looking very sad and could do with a refresh, chemical toilet disposal is outside and near reception.

The above are just small things and didn't distract from a great weeks holiday and we would visit again and recommend to anyone.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: JamesPL 9 reviews from this member

Went here for Saturday & Sunday night the week before the kids break up. Lovely little campsite, near the beach, but not the shops alas. Clean toilets and showers, well organised pitch, a fellow campers informed me they had been round and asked them to keep the noise down which for me isn't a bad thing. It was the dearest site I went to though at £29 a night for a non EHC, 2 adults, 2 dogs before the high season.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

Lovely, friendly welcome on this campsite. The office was closed so booking in was at the farmhouse. They allow you to arrive anytime after 9am (if you've checked your pitch is available the day before) and there's no kick off time!

We had booked a hard standing pitch in the first section and it was all ready for us.

Water points all close by. Bins with recycling at the rear of reception. Small shop on site with limited opening hours out of season.

The central toilet block was always clean and as the site was quiet we never had to queue. Our only issue with it was it's in a converted barn and it has no ceiling so you can hear everything that's going on (if you know what I mean) from the ladies to the gents and visa versa! Not pleasant sounds sometimes! There are 2 family rooms at the rear, one with a shower and one with a bath but the same goes with the 'noises' from elsewhere! There is also a laundry and some under cover dish washing sinks.

The site has a fantastic pub right opposite (the Red River Inn) and the food is superb in there, best we had all holiday. Great choice of local real ales and ciders too.

There is a bus stop also right outside the site to Hayle but it didn't seem to run very regularly.

The walks straight from the site are fantastic, straight onto the dunes and beach at Gwithian Sands overlooking Godrevy lighthouse and St Ives Bay. At Godrevy there's a little National Trust cafť, small and expensive but good. Also a little further along the coast path towards the lighthouse is Mutton Cove where there is a colony of seals. Well worth the walk up to the cove.

At £20 per night for a hard standing with EHU and free, very usable, WiFi we thought Gwithian Farm was excellent value for money.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nicky goes camping 2 reviews from this member

This is just a great campsite. We were very impressed with the layout of the site as the hedging gives a little privacy and the facilities are really good. The sea is just a short walk over the dunes or an even shorter drive.

We ate at the pub this first night, three minutes walk away, with a great menu and also dog friendly, but took advantage of the visiting pizza van the next night - very nice pizza, almost as good as my husband's! We were also delighted to find a bakery selection available in the morning outside the reception/shop as a breakfast treat.

We attempted a walk to the beach one evening but decided the pub was calling us instead. It would be a great spot if you had a dog as the dunes looked like a fabulous area for walking.

Not far away there is a big Lidls for supplies and also a small shopping mall for those of us ladies who cannot pass up an opportunity to browse.

We will definitely be back.

Previous     249 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Babyhub SleepSpace Travel Cot worth £149.99 Win a OLPRO Knightwick 3 Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3257 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


Black Friday SALE
Black Friday SALE
OLPRO have masses of amazing Black Friday offers EVERY DAY throughout November. Prices slashed on inflatable awnings and tents





0.1328