Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Gwithian Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > St Ives > Gwithian Farm Campsite Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX
Tel: 01736 753127
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 255 Reviews
                9/10 from 255 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  255 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking later in the season or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Nayanarose 1 review from this member

 Amazing camp suit with great facilities which are all nice and clean!

Short walk to the most beautiful beach great for families and people going with friends! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Katieep 8 reviews from this member

 Deservedly very popular campsite - walking distance to the fantastic beaches (dog friendly and unfriendly), cafe, restaurant, pub and coastal walks. Close to lovely pick you own and farmshop as well as supermarkets and park & train to St Ives. Easy drive to the lizard, lands ends, penzance, etc.

The site is on a bit of a slope but nicely landscaped and reasonably sheltered. There was a mix of pitch size- ours was a good size.

Really good fish & chips van and pizzas ( prebooking best).

The washrooms were adequate but showers a little too hot for the children and water came in from neighbouring showers. There was a need for some dry shelves and mirrors for hair and make-up away from sinks too.

Overall great holiday. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tidburyboy 14 reviews from this member

 Was looking for a site close to a dog friendly beach so we chose this one. Efficient and friendly booking in, but we ended up on a pitch that was somewhat smaller than the others - ie no room to sit out or park the car alongside the awning. We were told it was that last available pitch when booking, so advise you ask before booking if this in an issue.

Other than that, this is a well maintained and really well located site. Although quite busy, I never had to wait for a shower and there was always plenty of hot water in the clean and well maintained facilities.

===TV reception was fine (we were about halfway up the site) but there was poor/patchy mobile reception (O2 and EE) There was however excellent WiFi (complimentary too!) There are good supermarkets (and other shops etc) in nearby Hayle.

The site is very easily accessible for towing - I would suggest via the B3301 from Hayle rather than the Gwithian Road from Connor Downs. It's a little bit further (if travelling from the North) but the road is wider into Gwithian.

The big question. Yes, we would certainly go again. Loved it. (Marked down on VFM due our pitch size) 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 99 reviews from this member

 This is a very well maintained site. The pitches are pleasantly divided up with hedges giving some shelter and privacy. The grass is well kept too and the ground slopes gently across most of the site. Some pitches slope more than others, and some pitches are larger than others, but generally they're all pretty good. The wash block is quite open, and at first the showers may appear draughty, but the water is very hot and in the summer the airy feel is very welcome.

The owners are great, welcoming and helpful. The toilets/ washrooms are clean, the shop well stocked and its all very well organised.

There is a foot path from the top of the site leading down to the beach (about 10 minutes) and a pub at the entrance (although this was closed for refurbishment during our visit) The location is spot on for accessing the coast path North or trips to St Ives.

Gwithian Farm does therefore attract a certain type of camper. I have never seen so many mansion size tents and expensive new camper vans in one place. We even found one couple had placed potted plants either side of the steps into their caravan!

As a result, the atmosphere was somewhat lacking and most campers were quietly tucked up for the night by 10:00pm. So you'll not find yourself sat around a communal camp fire until the small hours, making new friends and generally pitching in with everyone else. Depends what you want, and most people holiday making here liked it just the way it is! 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Lee1985 4 reviews from this member

 This was our first time in the area and we were impressed as we drove down the hill towards Gwithian. The view was beautiful. Upon arrival on the reception was unmissable as we drove in.

We were early but were allowed on our pitch as the previous campers had left already. The people at the site were very friendly. The gave us a map of the site with rules and guides.

There is also a small shop with all the necessities, which we found useful throughout the week. We easily found our pitch and set up. The electric hook up was close by and as you would expect. The bathroom block was impressive. Clearly a lot of effort has been put into this, and for me it decides how good a campsite is.

Plenty of showers, toilets, washing up sinks, washing machines, even a wet suit wash. They are kept very clean too. I cannot fault this site and would recommend it to anyone. In fact, I already have!

The local pub was closed for a week for a refurbishment but that will clearly benefit anyone reading this review who may be going in the near future. Go to Gwithian Farm, have a great time and a great holiday! 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ginster-pies 9 reviews from this member

 Just back from a fab week at Gwithian farm. Immaculate campsite, with great owners, brilliant facilities, and a location to die for. We arrived on the Monday, got pitched up, and sacked off the idea of BBQ in the evening to take advantage of the on-site pizza van. Had plenty of trips across the dunes to the beach. Nice walks to Godrevy to look at the seals, and a long walk to St Ives along the SW coastal path.

The shower and wash block is great. We tended to shower in the evening after a days activities, and never had to queue, although it was a bit busier in the mornings.

We'd definitely come back. A beautiful site in a great part of Cornwall 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mikecollier 12 reviews from this member

 Great site on the North Cornwall Coast. A short (across fields and sand dunes) walk to a dog friendly beach

Facilities always clean and plenty of free hot water from push button showers.

Kid friendly, in so far as open spaces and small outside play area (sand pit / table tennis), no playground.

Friendly and very helpful staff

Early arrival time (midday) but also early departure time (10am)

Mobile food vendors visit every day in peak season, along with a baker (pastries only) three mornings per week

Would definitely stay again 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dave Thorpe 14 reviews from this member

 If you don't mind children skateboarding/cycling etc In front of your caravan despite signs requesting them not around the toilets / check in and bottom 3 rows of hardstandings then go ahead, the site itself is nice, irresponsible parents/ kids ruin it round about tea time onwards. We were on pitch 3 & had a poor tv signal ( we bought an external aerial in the end ) plus 02 had poor reception on that pitch. We would not return but will use CMHC Godrevy as we normally do 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigErnie 32 reviews from this member

 This was the second campsite that we stayed at during a week long trip in Cornwall, we fancied a site by the sea with easy access to a dog friendly beach and this ticked the boxes.

On arrival we checked in, the site was busy for the time of year but plenty of pitches still available all around the site. First impressions of this site are really good, it is really well laid out and obviously well looked after. The facilities block which is near reception is large and clean although is looking a little tired on the inside.

My husband checked us in and we found our pitch, given that the site is quite large I was surprised that we had been pitched opposite end of the site from the toilet block, Iím not really sure why as there were plenty of pitches in closer proximity but I didnít ask to move so I canít really complain. The reception also houses a little shop which is useful as there are no other shops in or around Gwithian.

There is a pub opposite the site which does some modern pub grub for reasonable prices and a cafť opposite the beach selling tea, coffee, cakes and some meals. Walking from the site is easy out across the sand dunes and on to the beach which was great for letting to dogs off the lead to burn off some energy.

The site is in a great location, we would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Muddtfunkstarr 17 reviews from this member

 What can I say. Excellent site, easy walk to the beach, friendly owners, nice pub outside the gate. Good sized pitches, spotless shower and toilet block. Cannot stress how nice the site was. Bus service to St Ives was running late but arrived eventually, interesting return journey. 


Previous     255 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gwithian Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gwithian Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Gwithian Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Ives      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5143 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020