Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gwithian Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > St Ives > Gwithian Farm Campsite Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX
Tel: 01736 753127
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Carlz4 1 review from this member

 We loved it, everything was great! We had everything we needed.

Only constructive criticism Id say is could of done with a vending machine for midnight snacks 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gary and Helen 1 review from this member

 Great site. Quiet. Spacious plots. Friendly staff.

Clean toilet/shower block (water nice and hot).

Regular food vans with a nice variety of hot food. Beach is approx 15/20 minute walk away through the dunes.

The only downside was the poor WiFi signal (which was free).

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, so did our dogs.

Were hoping to return next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Kmugford 1 review from this member

 Excellent site. Spotlessly clean, friendly staff, well set out site with plenty of space on the pitches and in the facilities block.

They really had thought about everything you could need and any kids or dogs had plenty of safe space to stretch out. WiFi across the site a bit dreckly but much appreciated.

A 2 minute walk to the beach or the pub with some of the best coastal walking and a fairly regular bus right outside the site.

Pleasantly surprised to find food vans and local trades on site most days. P. S. The paella van and breakfast box were both incredible! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Monker 1 review from this member

 On arrival we were allocated our pitch which was on a slight slope I have had my van suspension lowered so could not use my levellers,

The lady in reception kindly reallocated us to another pitch which was perfect every one who passed said it was the best pitch on the site which I would agree with,

The site is well organised and the toilets and showers were always clean,

Can not recommend this site highly enough and will definitely return.

I have marked down the facilities I think the shop could be bigger 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Barry Cox 3 reviews from this member

 Just had 2 lovely weeks at this lovely site

We have been before and its just as good as ever, cant fault it

Staff, amenities, surrounding, everything is spot on

Will be back 👍 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Julies 1 review from this member

 We loved this site, it was a 15 minute walk through the dunes and down some steps to a long stretch of sandy beach.

Cafes by the coastal footpath.

The site was very clean and well tended, Dog friendly, grass cut every day

Would come back again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jim yarwood 17 reviews from this member

 Visited during Covid restrictions so facilities closed so score is only an assumption.

Operators friendly & helpful and had everything extremely well organised in the circumstances. We found the site in good condition; quiet & attractive with easy access from the road.

Pizza and fish & chips etc. Vans visit on various evenings in the week & possible to order breakfast croissants etc. From camp site shop.

Pub/restaurant is opposite site entrance although we didn't use it on this visit due to Covid.

Site is just 5/10 minutes walk from a seemingly endless sandy beach with the added advantage of the wonderful Jam Pot cafe nestled in the dunes.

Surfing if you want it and an easy walk (an hour) along the coastal footpath to Godrevy island / lighthouse (passing yet another good cafe in the dunes!).

We used bikes and reached Penzance / St Michaels Mount fairly easily using quiet roads & cycle lanes in the main.

Service bus to Hayle/St Ives is recommended (we took the open top bus!). This runs reasonably frequently & stops at the site entrance, saves all the hassle of parking and drops you in the middle of town.

Would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Nayanarose 1 review from this member

 Amazing camp suit with great facilities which are all nice and clean!

Short walk to the most beautiful beach great for families and people going with friends! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Katieep 9 reviews from this member

 Deservedly very popular campsite - walking distance to the fantastic beaches (dog friendly and unfriendly), cafe, restaurant, pub and coastal walks. Close to lovely pick you own and farmshop as well as supermarkets and park & train to St Ives. Easy drive to the lizard, lands ends, penzance, etc.

The site is on a bit of a slope but nicely landscaped and reasonably sheltered. There was a mix of pitch size- ours was a good size.

Really good fish & chips van and pizzas ( prebooking best).

The washrooms were adequate but showers a little too hot for the children and water came in from neighbouring showers. There was a need for some dry shelves and mirrors for hair and make-up away from sinks too.

Overall great holiday. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tidburyboy 14 reviews from this member

 Was looking for a site close to a dog friendly beach so we chose this one. Efficient and friendly booking in, but we ended up on a pitch that was somewhat smaller than the others - ie no room to sit out or park the car alongside the awning. We were told it was that last available pitch when booking, so advise you ask before booking if this in an issue.

Other than that, this is a well maintained and really well located site. Although quite busy, I never had to wait for a shower and there was always plenty of hot water in the clean and well maintained facilities.

===TV reception was fine (we were about halfway up the site) but there was poor/patchy mobile reception (O2 and EE) There was however excellent WiFi (complimentary too!) There are good supermarkets (and other shops etc) in nearby Hayle.

The site is very easily accessible for towing - I would suggest via the B3301 from Hayle rather than the Gwithian Road from Connor Downs. It's a little bit further (if travelling from the North) but the road is wider into Gwithian.

The big question. Yes, we would certainly go again. Loved it. (Marked down on VFM due our pitch size) 


Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gwithian Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gwithian Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Gwithian Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Ives      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2745 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement