Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Orchard Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Wickham Market > The Orchard Camp Site Reviews

The Orchard Camp Site
Spring Lane
Wickham Market
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP13 0SJ
Tel: 07818 034729
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 11 acres plus 20 electric pitches
Open: April 12th 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 203 Reviews
                8/10 from 203 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  203 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dida 3 reviews from this member

We returned here again this year after our virgin camping holiday the same time last year and were not disappointed! New washrooms had been added which were great especially for teeth brushing and child washing! Alan as always made us feel like part of the family with Pimms on the terrace and glow sticks for the kids. Our children built a Trepee in the forest and spent many hours enjoying it! There were parties going on every evening we stayed but they never interrupted our fun or became too loud or late. The only thing that interrupted our sleep was the noisy cockerels from the field next door! This is a must visit site, we'll be back same time next year.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mush145 3 reviews from this member

Have just returned from this site after 4 nights camping. This is really a family campsite in which children can go and play. That said it is well maintained and the owner has really tried to do something slighty different to other sites. The camp shop was good and the staff very friendly, it never seemed to close. A baker visits the site first thing in the morning so fresh croissants make a pleasant change.

The toilet block is well maintained and has some nice features such as microwave and kettle free to use, this is especially handy for baby milk. The only negative point here was that there is probably not quiet enough showers and toilets for the numbers on site.

The site sells and allows open fires and most people seem to have one and it can be a good way to meet your neighbours. The owner walks round the site once a night to chat to the guests and to be fair he seems to really care that everyone is having a good time.

The only criticism is there is a lot of water that is not well signposted so you do have to be vigilant with young children. There is also an uncovered water feature by the washrooms which again did not seem to be in line with family camping.

This aside the owner is really trying to make this an enjoyable family get away

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: B12kjc 12 reviews from this member

We just had couple days there. The positives are its 40mins from Africa Alive which is brilliant and country side is beautiful. The entrance approach as someone else commented is up narrow lane where suddenly you have to make a sharp turn and as I did I got the van stuck on the large tree. Coming down into site is very narrow and there is not much space to park and check in. The ground and pitches were uneven and not at all suitable for tourers its 95% tents and I can see why. The owner and couple staff are very friendly and he does keep shop open most evenings. However as nearly everyone says campfires a good idea but 15 plus cost kindling 20 is far too much. The showers and toilets were not cleaned before or during our stay. The pitches are close together The kids play area is small and there is no space to play. Finally the glow stick party a great idea but it was not a party they just chucked a couple boxes sticks out at 9pm and kids and parents jossle for em !

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SandMWarriner 4 reviews from this member

We chose this site as it was a different area of Suffolk that we have not visited yet and were looking for somewhere relatively close to home so we could leave after work and get there and set up before dark.

We arrived to a bit of a muddy field (it had been raining all day!) and were not greeted very friendly. It took a while to book us in but we were then able to choose our pitch-they were a bit uneven and lacking in grass as fires were allowed anywhere. We were asked to leave our car at the top of the site due to the conditions but were assisted in taking our stuff down to the pitch and provided wih wheelbarrows if needed which was handy!

We liked the fact you could have an open fire but wood has to be brought from the site and is a bit expensive at 20 but it does include marshmallows which is a bonus! We stayed up quite late chatting with our friends around the fire and it definitely added to the camping atmosphere.

Toilets are ok but there were not very many and there were queues for the showers and sinks in the morning-they also needed to be cleaned more regularly due to the muddy conditions!

It was not a very quiet campsite with noise still happening after midnight but it was a very relaxed atmosphere, although the one of the least friendly sites we have visited.

Ther location is very nice with facilities close by to get basic food and BBQ essentials (the shop on site is expensive!) Surrounding area is interesting with lots of places to visit. We went to Orford castle and would highly recommend it.

Overall a nice site but I think it is a bit overrated although might have been put off by the muddy conditions on arrival!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bondieson 1 review from this member

Just returned from a great 3 night stay at the Orchard Campsite with my two lads aged 12 & 9. It's a lovely looking site with a large main field on a slight slope leading down to the wooded area down by the River Deben, which runs along the bottom of the campsite. We pitched our two-man and three-man tent, after being shown there by the extemely helpful staff, down by the side of the river within the forest which was great because the boys could fall out of the tent straight onto the river bank for a spot of fishing!(Jacks, Perch, Roach, Minnows, Gudgeon etc). Be aware that if you are down by the river it's a bit of a walk up a gentle hill to the toilet/wash facilities but hey! it's a campsite! If it does rain it can get a bit muddy but wellies will sort out this little problem.

The washing and showering facilities are really good and well looked after, although busy at peak times, as you can imagine if the site is fairly full. There are unisex toilets + a female only toilet and also a male washroom and female washroom and 3 or 4 showers. There's also a large double freezer situated by the washrooms and where the washing machine and tumble dryer are sited. There's also a washing-up area with 3 large sinks for pots and pans etc.

There are a number of Bar-B-Qs up by the house that you can borrow and take to your pitch should you wish to, just ask at the shop, who are really friendly and helpful. The shop stocks the bare essentials should you run out but at 8.00AM each morning a van with local produce, meat, eggs, milk, bread, etc comes to the site.

There are plenty of kids of all ages so my two were normally off running about through the woods etc. Be careful of the pond and the river though, as neither are fenced off, especially for the younger children.

Being able to have your own campfire was also great and the boys loved this at the end of the evening (apart from the silly stories told by Dad apparently!) so it was well worth the 20 quid for the logs and kindling and couple of bags of marshmallows. They lasted us for all three nights.

Rendlesham Forest is only a 15 minute drive away where there are some great walks, just beware of the aliens! We also went to Aldeborough which has got a great pebble beach and stretches for miles.

All in all a smashing camp site with everything you need and a good base from which to explore, and we'll definitely be going back there again. Well done the Orchard!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gooner2010 2 reviews from this member

On arrival at the Orchard all seemed well. At first it had a novelty value of being able to have camp fires and toast marshmallows, but at 15 for the logs this novelty (for me) soon wore off, you are not allowed to bring your own logs onto site for Safety Reasons

Lots and lots of flies, which just made me uncomfortable, especially in the toilets. Ah the toilets/showers/washing up etc. First the cleanliness of them is a perfect deterrent to blissful ablutions, get in. Go. Get out. Quick ! This is partly down to the fact there were simply not enough toilets and showers for a camp this size, queuing to wash or poo is just not fun.

The shop /log cabin/shed, stays open to midnight. The play area is somewhat teeny weeny and serves a useful job of getting the kids dirty(er).

The surrounding area is fine for days out, but the camp offers no useful guides or advice on whats on or where to go, could make a big improvement here.

It rained when we went. It really rained, this lead to the paths and driveway becoming a quagmire, a bit of type 1 or dare I say a few yards of tarmac drive wouldn't go amiss.

If it's going to be all friendly and family run, organise some things to do, chucking a few glo sticks for free isn't exactly a pile of effort.

Camp fires are great but how about being reasonable with the wood, a weeks stay can see you spend another 50 on logs.

All in all the family had a decent time, I just couldn't wait to get home to a clean bathroom

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Canvasloveit 3 reviews from this member

We didn't have to travel far to Wickham Market and are familiar with the area which is great loads to see and do.

We chose The Orchard on the basis that it was voted Campsite for 2010 even though there were some patchy reviews on here.

Going back to those reviews I have to agree with a lot of the points raised. There are not enough toilets and showers and more importantly those that are there were very drab with rusting fittings and grim tiling. It was not just the muddy conditions they were smelly with toilet paper all over the floor and not cleaned regularly. It was bank holiday but that is not an excuse as when being shown my pitch the Gentleman tells me they are full most nights. Having said that over the bank holiday the facilities were not good enough and the site was not full.

The whole 'public area' toilets, showers and washing up sinks were dirty. Hot water was hit and miss and on two occasions I attempted to wash up there was no water pressure and the dribble that came from the 'hot' tap was stone cold.

Toilets have a sink with no soap and a hand dryer and ladies and mens dressing areas have sinks with soap but no facility to dry !.

There was mud everywhere caused by the horrendous weather in August I know. Having said that the hard paved areas could have been cleaned up as could the indoor table tennis area which just needed a good sweep.

There are no recycling facilities just four big green bins stuffed up one corner for all rubbish.

The owner was friendly and always on site. The glow sticks on the Saturday for the children was a nice touch.

But with such a wonderful location it could have been presented much better.

The children's play area is not as such it is a small fenced off area with two swings and a slide.

The relaxed atmosphere, glow sticks and ability to have campfires at 20 a barrow load I might add !

There is no 6M rule in fact I witnessed two caravans being positioned almost on top of a poor couple and their small two man tent. The owner offered them the chance to move but who wants to do that when you are all set up

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jane cornell 2 reviews from this member

Great site if you have older (or sensible 2 yr olds). Love the farm friendly feel. But be prepared for rivers. Not curtailed off and fish ponds with no netting and a general 'risk factor feel' with young kids'.

It is 'man mark' territory for the youngsters and watch the flies. Crikey! a load of them came home with us after two days, best for sensible adults and sensible kids! Who can deal with flies !.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Majo 6 reviews from this member

Spent 2 nights at this site as an add on to a week at a nearby self catering cottage. We love this area of Suffolk, loads to do for families, great coastal towns, heathland, castles, pubs etc. Had read lots about the site and were attracted by the chance to have a camp fire and it sounded really family friendly.

The staff were helpful, friendly and very laid back. The site was very busy and is smaller than we expected, but attractive, although the grass was showing signs of wear and was scarred by the numerous fires.

At 15 or 20 with hook up the site is cheaper than most. The toilets and showers were OK but there weren't enough and this meant a half hour queue for a shower. The kids loved the camp fire but at 15 for wood and 3.50 for kindling it was very expensive.

Our stay was spoiled a little by groups of unsupervised children who spent most of the time having running battles with water bombs throughout the site. This caused annoyance to other campers as they were running across other people's pitches and launching water bombs that were hitting tents, cars and other campers. The site staff were aware of this and not only turned a blind eye to it but were selling the water bombs!

So we had a mixed experience, at a less busy time with a different mix of people we would have probably had a perfect weekend, and will probably visit again.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campfolk 3 reviews from this member

A medium sized campsite with good facilities and a relaxed but well tended atmosphere. In 2010 it set us back 15 per night-per tent with no electrical hook-up (add 5). It also benefits from a great location in terms of access and as a base for further exploration.

The site is a five minute drive from the A12 but set back from any immediate main roads. You park near your tent and the main entrance to the site is manned by a witty and helpful chap most hours from a reception/basic shop. Pitches are not set so you can pick your spot from clearer upper areas down to open woodland near the river. The slope may play a part in how you setup but it is in no-way sheer. Table tennis, a children's play area, fridge-freezer, laundry (charged for) and fishing add to what's available on site.

A short walk into Wickham Market provides a CO-OP, a chip shop and a curry house amongst other outlets. The nearest pub was okay for a daytime visit. BBQs are available and open fires are allowed with firewood supplied on site. There are washing up sinks in the main block which is well situated for the site in terms of access and noise from use. Five toilets (one exclusively female), four (free) showers and three washrooms (male, female and family) make up the main facilities. The showers especially get busy (perhaps due to some water pressure issues on this particular visit).

Suffolk is as flat a landscape as you are likely to encounter so cycling is an excellent way to spend some time with the added bonus of having some very quiet roads/cycle lanes directly accessible from the campsite. Cycle hire is available on site. Orford was a excellent halfway point (small castle, pubs, waterside and village) on a medium length bike ride. For cycling you can also read walking although you may have to go a little further afield for more impressive scenery but you can take in some decent pubs on route. Handily The Dog and Duck in Campsea Ashe had good real ale, belly-filling food and a decent welcome and should be reachable by the average walker within 30 mins. It also has a playground and large field backing onto it.

My group of friends have been to this campsite three years running. I have only experienced the site from this prospective so cannot comment on the experience for a single tent. The relaxed approach makes us feel welcome but any stepping over the mark is swiftly dealt with in a reasonable manner (music off by 11pm but we could chat into the small hours if respectful). I'd imagine that if you wanted a back-to-nature break for yourself/a couple this might not tick all the boxes but I'm certainly not using this to criticize the site; the owners are sensible enough to propose pitching where you might find like-minded folk. A few babies have come into the group in 2010 so the addition of two excellent gypsy caravans meant that the new parents could still join in but not feel quite so exposed to the elements come bedtime.

If you are reasonably sociable, want a site that is looked after without being over fussy and are a responsible camper then you will feel welcome here. Thoroughly recommended.

Previous     203 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Wickham Market      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


262 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder