Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Orchard Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Wickham Market > The Orchard Camp Site Reviews

The Orchard Camp Site
Spring Lane
Wickham Market
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP13 0SJ
Tel: 07818 034729
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 11 acres plus 20 electric pitches
Open: April 12th 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 203 Reviews
                8/10 from 203 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  203 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Basildon 1 review from this member

We just got back from a 2 night stay at this site and I have to say it was an absolute pleasure.

The site is beautiful and has a very natural feel about it. Facilities were modern, clean and well run.

We went there because we wanted a campfire site and it really exceeded our expectations. There's a guy there called Barry who seems to run the show - what a charming and really helpful guy. So generous of his time. Not only did he show my Son how to get the fire going properly. But also help me to get my Tilley lamp up and running. A diamond geezer!

My only downer. And I guess this is the same in all areas (and nothing at all to do with the site) is that the local village were expensive with a lot with their prices. Shop out of town - before you get there!

A brilliant weekend leaving us wanting to stay for longer which we will definitely next time.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Superjules 2 reviews from this member

Orchard camping is a tidy, well-run site, with a very special atmosphere to it. It has capacity for 45 units and pitches are not marked out, giving the site a very relaxed feel. This is one of the first sites we've been to where we haven't been itching to go out for the day first thing in the morning. There is plenty to keep the children occupied, a play area with swings and a climbing frame, and a wooded area near the river where they rode their bikes without being a nuisance to other campers. It was refreshing to be able to give them such a degree of freedom. The children said it was the best campsite they've been to and they'd like to live there!

The toilet/shower facilities are unisex, and there were queues at peak times. The shower I first used was a bit temperamental and there was a worryingly long wait for water after I'd pressed the button (I was covered in suds by this point!). The showers are push button with no temperature control, so the temperature of the water won't suit everyone and I found it rather hot considering the weather. I saw a mop and bucket in the main area but they are not in individual cubicles so with such heavy usage, you don't get a chance to mop out the shower before the next person has dived in.

There are 2 dishwashing sinks, and again there were often queues as the site was full. Maybe it's because there are so many people new to camping this year but the washing up sinks and surrounding counter tops were rarely wiped down by the campers, although there were always spare cloths round the sink so no excuses, but maybe a sign could be displayed explaining what's expected.

Dogs must be kept on a lead at all times, including in the area near the river where no tents are allowed. I had wrongly assumed that I could exercise my dog in this area and got a friendly telling off on the last day when I went in search of a hose, it was obvious by the state of my mucky pup that he'd been in the river. So if you are taking your dog, it is helpful to take a longline.

We enjoyed having a campfire, on the first night we asked the guys to build it for us so we could see how it's done. Half a barrow of logs is £7.50 and more than enough for a fire that lasts all evening.

The staff on site are extremely helpful, nothing is too much trouble. One of our party forgot her gas hose and when I asked if we could buy some, they said they didn't sell it but they lent her a piece. The glowstick scramble on Wednesday and Saturday nights is great fun for the children.

To summarise, Orchard is a lovely, friendly site (some say magic!), and it's very good value for money at £10 per night. We are already booked to go back and I can foresee us becoming regular visitors to Orchard. Many thanks to Alan, Barry and the rest of the team for a great time.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gina Houghton 1 review from this member

Stayed at this campsite on the way to and from the Latitude festival near Beccles.

Pitches were great as quite flexible (ie. no numbered / measured spots) with your own campfire area and picnic bench (if available).

Facilities perfectly adequate and clean - very friendly owner and onsite warden (Barry) who was also extremely helpful with a very good sense of humour - he needed it with 2 middle-aged ladies and their 'quirky-hippie' ways! Altogether a lovely experience - location perfect for exploring the area plus Wickham Market is a nice quaint village (walkable to across the fields).

Many thanks for making our overall visit to Suffolk a most enjoyable time.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daysieblue 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fabulous weekend - me and a friend and our 4 children in a tent! The weather was great, and the children loved the site. The playground was a godsend, especially when setting up and packing up. We went to the beach at Aldeburgh, which was lovely, if a bit pebbly.
Fish and chip shop down the road was good, if a bit mean with the portions! Co-op had everything you could need. One bit of advice, don't leave anything to the last minute on a Sunday as shops etc. are either closed all day, or by 5 o'clock, apart from the Chinese takeaway!

Would definitely visit this campsite again, might bring my husband next time!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robin Hill 1 review from this member

Arrived on Friday evening in Sunshine which unfortunately quickly turned to rain. First outing for the new Outwell Montana 6 which took about an hour to put up and another 30 mins to put up the extention!

Really good campsite - we chose one of the electric hook up pitches along the hedge to the right of the entrance which got the sun (what little there was) pretty much all day. On Saturday evening we had a real campfire which was great and the site wardens threw glow stick for the children when it got dark which was a really nice touch. Our children (7 & 9) loved it.

There's a small shop on site and a play area for younger children. Facilities are basic but clean and the site is really, really relaxed (not good if you want entertainment but great if you just fancy chilling out)

Wickham market is about a 10 min walk and has got a good fish and chip shop, small CoOp and a good but pricey Indian restaurant. Woodbridge is about a 10 min drive. Sutton Hoo is worth a visit as well.

Must mention The Ramsholt Arms on the road to Bawdsey - off the beaten track but right on the river Deben. Serves good food and is such a great location.

Overall - very impressed and will definatley go back.

Thanks to Alan and his team for running such a great site.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chuckomalley 1 review from this member

Our first family campout in the UK and The Orchard Campsite was the perfect place to do it. The facilities were fantastic, the staff amazing, and the price was just too good. There was always hot water and the bathrooms were clean. We camped from Sun-Wed, so it was nice and quiet the entire time. Two groups of college students were on site and Alan and Barry made sure they were always considerate of the other campers.

The town of Wickham Market was close by (just a quick walk up a foot-path) with a grocery store for stocking up on things like milk and eggs. We had planned on visiting Framlingham Castle and Orford Castle, but we were having such a good time we just stayed right were we were. Maybe next time.

You can load up on firewood at any time (a heaping wheelbarrow full for just 15), so we pretty much had our fire going from sunup to sundown.

Free Wi-Fi and at night a bunch of folks would be sitting around the common area checking email, but as a career IT pro I totally unplugged for my stay and have no intention of bringing my laptop there ever!

We've already booked our next visit to The Orchard Campsite and will be bringing friends with us as well.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spindlebobblehat 1 review from this member

We loved this site! The owner and warden made us extremely welcome and went beyond the call of duty (lending us camping mats and drawing us out cycling routes). Quiet in the week and then more family-oriented at the weekend. Loved the fact you could have your own fire or BBQ.
The showers and toilets were clean and well stocked with toilet roll. Beautiful location! And you can hire bikes. Overall perfect - we will be back!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carlofbrigg 2 reviews from this member

Second visit to The orchard (1st visit april 08) cant fault the site or facilities.Everything you need as a camper is there to make it as comfortable as possible.

Site staff are great , group of unaccompanied teenagers on site when we arrived and alan (siteowner) and warden kept them in check all week.

We had another great visit and well be going back again.

Only bad points to site is slight road noise from the A12 but its not a real issue - only advise we give is take the mozzie spray- there`s plenty of them

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Debbie and brian 10 reviews from this member

We visited The Orchard last weekend with 4 adults 4 dogs and a 16 year old and it was great! The site is lovely and we had lots of choices for walks. The facilities are basic, but no queues. The site was fully booked but did not feel crowded.

Mainly tents on site, groups of young adults and young families but no disturbance from anyone, even though there is a very relaxed attitude to noise and music. There was a private function in the marquee on Saturday with a big bonfire and glow sticks which even my 16 year old daughter enjoyed!

The camp fire was the attraction for us, and I agree that £15 was a bit pricey for the logs, but it had to be done, and it was great, sat out 'til midnight just watching it.

It is a nice walk into the village, noticed Indian takeaway and pubs but did not try them out. We will certainly be returning.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sumps53 37 reviews from this member

We stayed here for three nights and had a very pleasant time. The camping field is very attractive and there are a few picnic tables dotted about, one of which we found useful for our party of three tents. The site does have a 'party' feel to it - at least on Friday & Saturday nights. It was much quieter on Sunday night. The glow sticks on Saturday were enjoyed by kids and adults alike.

The shower/washing up area is adequate - hot water was plentiful. It seemed quite a busy weekend but we did not have to queue for a shower. Additional facilites include kettle, microwave, fridge and freezer. There are two washing up sinks and some BBQs for your use (need to provide own charcoal). Useful shop on site selling basics - including chocolate! Hook-up available. Nice dog-walking area.

The possibility of having a camp fire was the draw of this site for us and we had one on two nights. The wood was not cheap (£15 for a barrowload) but it's worth it for the pleasure of an open fire.

Staff were friendly (do they ever sleep?) and helpful when we ran out of Gas which was available in Wickham Market - useful little town.

Great site for exploring local area. Woodbridge and Aldeburgh are worth a visit - we had a nice meal at The Mill Inn in Aldeburgh. Sutton Hoo is also nearby. We went to Bawdsey and took the ferry across the River Deben (dogs allowed) just for the fun of it. You can buy crab lines and bait and go crabbing there, too. A visit to Snape Maltings is also recommended - especially for the cream teas. We even went to Sizewell nuclear power station out of curiosity - it looks very grim but the beach is good for walking the dogs. Nobody was swimming!

Previous     203 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Wickham Market      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Love Touring Expo, Scotland 25/10 to 27/10, Aberdeen
Scotlandís newest caravan and motorhome show! The very latest caravans, motorhomes and campervans from all major brands, including the new models for 2020 ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3359 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019