Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Orchard Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Wickham Market > The Orchard Camp Site Reviews

The Orchard Camp Site
Spring Lane
Wickham Market
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP13 0SJ
Tel: 07818 034729
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 11 acres plus 20 electric pitches
Open: April 12th 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 203 Reviews
                8/10 from 203 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  203 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Herts30 3 reviews from this member

Very Nice site. Friendly people. We had a pitch right out of the way in the woods. They're very strict about the music after dark here. We had ours on at barely a whisper which couldn't possibly be heard by any other campers because we checked it, and the warden told us to turn it off while doing his rounds. People's speaking voices and loud conversations were making far more noise at other pitches and yet we're the ones treated like we're making a nuisance of ourselves even though we were quieter. It's a bit silly, they ought to exercise some judgement.

Some relatives booked to stay here on another occasion and the whole bottom area had been flooded by the river, so they cancelled. You can also hear the road from the campsite, but overall it's a very nice place to stay.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jjzw 7 reviews from this member

What can I say that hasn't been said by almost everyone already?

Not a lot is the answer!

The site is relatively small, but this lends itself to the almost communal feel about the place.

Alan greeted us on arrival, checked us in and simply said 'find yourself somewhere to pitch'! It really was as simple as that.

The site itself seems to be split into two areas divided by a string of 70 feet high trees. Beyond this lies a small stream winding itself from one side of the site to the other.

The shop sells everything you could possibly want or need, so don't bother taking any food with you! It also has a selection of around 20 real ales!

They sell firewood and kindling, although this is a little expensive at 20 for a barrow-load, a box of kindling (enough for 2 fires) and a couple of bags of peanuts or marshmallows.

There's a very small children's play area and plenty of space for them to run around.

The best way I can sum the site up is it has The X Factor. There's something about Alan, the staff and the site itself which you can't sum up easily, the relaxed approach of everyone, the evening camp fires. Everything about it is just right.

The site also has great washing up facilities and very good showers/toilets.

A great site and can't wait to go back again.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JFK001 8 reviews from this member

Once again a fab time was had. This really is a brilliant site which has improved since our previous visit ( We wouldn't have thought it possible)

I was really impressed with the shop and the fact that things were not over priced. We thought that some things were quite cheap even!

Really lovely site but I don't want to go on about it too much as everyone will want to go!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: A.miles 5 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a 10 night stay at the Orchards. It was meant to be 11 but we decided we needed a day indoors before we went back to work! Really sad to leave actually.

Alan and all his Staff are all wonderful and very welcoming. Nothing was ever too much trouble from any of them.

We pitched by the pond but were pretty cold so when they site emptied out we moved up to the side of the meadow which was a lot warmer! We were going to pitch in the wood but were told there is a pretty big degree difference.

The shop is wonderful. Such a life saver if you need anything and they do not rip you off either. 50p for a tub of butter, 1 for a loaf of bread and they sell some wonderful beers and ciders all locally brewed. My favourite was the Apple and Lime cider! Alan makes a wicked jug of Pimms too, which we enjoyed several of in the Bar area. The ice creams and drinks were 50p too which makes it easier if you have kids. Lovely fresh bread, croissants and pain au choc available.

Lots for the kids to do too. Bike hire, fishing,table tennis, park, and on Saturday nights they do a 'Glow Stick' scavenge. This is also done on a Wednesday night during the school holidays too. My 3 daughters aged 14, 10 and 9 did not once say 'I'm bored' in the 10 days we stayed which is a first! They made loads of friends too.

Ample toilets and showers, male and female washroom and Family bathroom, all cleaned and kept tidy and well stocked. Large kitchen area to wash up in where you can use the Microwave, kettle, fridege and freezers. Washing machine 3 per wash and tumble dryer takes 20p's and 1's. Don't put too much in the washing machine if you do use it like I did as it didn't wash the clothes properly! Although that was my fault as I overloaded it!

We used 2 barrows of wood which lasted us for the 10 nights we were there, so worth the 30.

You must try the 'Schmores' while you're there. These involve melting a couple of marshmallows between 2 choccie biscuits which Alan suggested doing. They can both be bought in the shop.

The highlight of the holiday must have been the Samba party that Alan laid on for the Royal wedding. They set up a flat screen in the bar area for us to watch and put up a 9 foot screen in their Living room which we didn't use.

Wickham Market is literally a 5 minute walk away but you MUST go left out the camp then a right on the public foot path across the fields. There is a co-op in the town. Wickham Market reminded me of Sandford out the film Hot Fuzz. A lovely Tea shop, a Hardware shop, a Chinese Restaurant (fab takeaways!) an Indian restaurant,a chip shop, a lingerie shop, a gifty shop, a Butchers, Estate agent and Post office. A lovely Antiques shop, the Lady who owned it was lovely and gave all my girls a cream egg! And a lovely church.

We only ventured out once. Alan suggested we go to the Ramsholt Arms which was lovely and secluded and looks out onto a Quay. Their food was fab.

The wardens repaired my friend's Trailer tent door and they even charged up our laptops and ipods for us a few times.

In the 10 years we have been camping I can safely say this was the best campsite I have ever stayed at and we will be returning one day. All I'm hoping is that we can be fitted in as they were taking bookings for 2012 when we were there!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tedders 7 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this part of the country and we weren't disappointed.

Wickham Market is a beautiful market town with a good sized coop for all the essentials. We didn't manage to visit the local pub as the opening times for most pubs in the area are a little odd.

The campsite itself is very well laid out and a lot of thought has been put in by Alan to ensure his guests have a great time.

We camped in the lower field by the river surrounded by poplar trees. A word of warning about using this part of the campsite - look up before you pitch! We ended up under about 10 crows nests and the tent got absolutely covered in bird poo! My fault but the wardens could warn you about this. The pitches there are a lot quieter than the main field but the wind tends to blow through a bit.

Your 15 for a barrow of wood was quite reasonable - it lasted 3 nights thanks to one of the staff loading it properly for me! The last morning was slightly marred by the fact there was no hot water for over 2 hours.

We visited Rendlesham forest which was an amazing day out and drove over to Aldeburgh and bought some great dover sole to barbeque.

All in all a great family campsite but would definitely avoid the meadow as it was really packed in with lots of kids throwing water balloons by the toilet block.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tweenyno2 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 3night stay with my eldest son, and I can't recommend this site enough. A beautiful site tucked away in the Suffolk countryside with the small village of Wickham Market only a 10 minute walk away, with many footpaths and country lanes to cycle in.

The campsite itself is laid out in a non-regimented way, so you're more or less free to pitch up where you wish. The only downside is the scorch marks on the grass caused by numerous campfires that have been made over time, but that's what you get when you're allowed campfires (20 for a barrow load of wood, a box of kindling, and a packet of popcorn or marshmellows - that's a bargain considering you're more or less told to stack the wheelbarrow as full as you can. Our barrow load lasted 3 nights, and we still had some left over.)

There is a small playground just within eyesight range of the shop, and the shower block and toilet area was fairly clean most of the time (we did go over Easter weekend, and it was very busy, so some mess is inevitable).

Free use of the freezer, fridge and microwave are good ideas, but the washing machine and tumble dryer need to be paid for (not sure how much as we didn't use them).

Little lake is full of small fish (Roach, Bream, Goldfish etc.), and is great fun to fish. The layout of the campsite is good, with areas that catch all the sun, areas with partial shade, or fully shaded areas available down by the river - warning - although life rings were in position, the river and lake are not protected by any fences of any sort. Don't let this put you off though, as many parents kept an eye on the little ones for any sign of trouble (my son even fell in the river a few times playing with friends he made while there, but adults were always about).

Will certainly be going back later this year, and hoping to take the rest of the family.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tracy McCormack 9 reviews from this member

Found this site purely by accident, didn't expect to get a pitch but were lucky enough to spend two fantastic nights over the bank holiday weekend.

We couldn't have asked for more helpful and welcoming staff. A proper campsite where you were encouraged to have a camp fire which was a real bonus. There were lots of children running around having a great time and lots of adults having a great time chilling.

On the Saturday night they gave out loads of glow sticks for the kids, much to their delight.

The well stocked shop was open until late into the evening and the owner, Alan, was always available and incredibly helpful.

The facilities were what you would expect for this kind of site, clean, tidy and more than adequate.

We will most definitely be back and will recommend this site to our friends!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tinaj1108 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from our second stay at this fantastic site and have 2 more week long stays booked for July and august!

Great facilities: toilets, hot showers, washrooms, family bathroom, washing up sinks, microwave, kettle, fridge freezer, table tennis, play area, wi-fi all included in the pitch price (22 per night with electric, not sure how much without).

Small shop which sells all the essentials at very reasonable prices.

Free glowsticks for the kids on Saturday and Wednesday evenings!

Lovely relaxed atmosphere in beautiful surroundings.

My one disappointment was not to do with the site but that the lovely 'dog & duck' pub at Campsey Ash was no longer doing food as it was a lovely place to eat! Luckily Alan recommended a great pub in Woodbridge - the Cherry Tree - which was equally good, if not better!

Cant wait to go back in July

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Magzee 1 review from this member

Brilliant weekend tenting at Orchard campsite!

3 nights before setting out to camp, we used UKCCampsite.co.uk to find this site with 2 criteria 'tent and open fire'

Two ladies, escaping work with no agenda other than to pitch the tent and relax with some nice vino.

The directions to the site were easy to follow without the aid of satnav and on arrival (Friday evening) we were met by the site owner, Alan, a great character, warm and helpful and instantly made us feel very welcome.

There are a number of areas to camp near the river and woods, we chose the top field near to the showers, loos, shop and kitchen.

After getting the tent up we made our way to the shop which is well stocked with everything from food (a variety of meats, breads, tinned goods, frozen foods, drinks, condiments)to kindling, lanterns, lamps - everything you could need.

Firewood is 15 for as much as you can fit in your wheelbarrow (wheelbarrows provided)and the fire for us it made the whole experience more exciting and cosy. What can be better than making a real campfire!

The site has a shower and toilet block and a communal kitchen, very handy if you have a 4 man weekend tent with no such luxuries. You can store things in the fridge, use the kettle and microwaves (there are 3)and sinks - washing up liquid is even provided and well stocked. There is also a laundry area and a use of a bath if you so wish.

It was refreshing to see caravanners, motorhomes, campervans and tents all pitching in together on the same sites.

There was a real mixture of families, couples, groups of girls and guys of all ages all getting along well. The sheer friendliness and freedom on this site breeds respect for others, the curfew (11pm music off) and added to the overall camping experience.

Saturday night saw a glow stick scavenger hunt for the kids (ahem yes and us too) great fun!

There is also a play area with swings and slides which looks safe and in clear sight of the shop and top field. There is also a ping pong table!

Within a 40 min drive you can cover the coast (Aldeburgh and Southwold) pretty villages, a castle, sites of historical interest and there are no shortage of farmshops, take aways, pubs and supermarkets within a 2 mile radius of the site, the latter can be reached within a 10 minute walk across a field.

Overall I would highly recommend the Orchard. There is something for everyone here, it doesn't matter what you are camping in - tent, wigwam, caravan, binbag you MUST go here you will be not be disappointed!

Alan even recommended a place to stop for lunch on the way home near the coast complete with hand drawn map! Customer service never stopped, even on departure.

We are returning with a group for the Alien adventure event in September, but I know for sure we will return before then!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bexmus 1 review from this member

This was the campsite we chose for our very first camping trip and we definitely chose right! The staff are all really helpful and friendly, facilities are clean and even though we went slightly out of season everything we needed was ready for us.

I would recommend this site absolutely and we will definitely return.

Previous     203 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Wickham Market      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3412 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019