Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Orchard Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Wickham Market > The Orchard Camp Site Reviews

The Orchard Camp Site
Spring Lane
Wickham Market
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP13 0SJ
Tel: 07818 034729
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 11 acres plus 20 electric pitches
Open: April 12th 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 203 Reviews
                8/10 from 203 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  203 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rboittier 2 reviews from this member

I was first drawn to this site when my work colleague showed me a book: Cool Campsites. Our family usually go to a campsite that allows real fires due to our Scouting heritage! When we decided to go for a weekend break, this site was ideal being fairly close to home.
 
Our family of 7 arrived on site around 6.30pm on Friday and were welcomed by staff at the gate. He gave us a choice of pitches (only 2 left!) and his colleague dropped by to ask if we needed help to set up. We had plenty of room and soon had a good fire going thanks to my daughter the expert firestarter! Logs were available on site but they were rather expensive at £7.50 for a half barrow load. Due to the previous weekends weather, they were quite damp too. I since found out from a fellow camper that just up the A12N is an antiques shop that sells lumpwood for £2 a bag.
 
Just after dark, the now famous glow-sticks appeared and all the kids on site were soon running around glowing away with bangles and necklaces - it generated a lot of fun! We had a really pleasant night. It was spoilt by some 15-18 year olds opposite us who decided to roll around drunk, shouting at 3am. After some stern words from my OH they eventually went to bed. Luckily they cleared off the next morning. We were aware that groups are welcome and we dont have a problem with parties etc, but 3am was crossing the line. By comparison, a group of lads in their 20s/30s were on one of the woodland pitches and were good as gold: they can obviously hold their beer!
 
Another improvement seems to be the toilet block which was very new. Really nice showers with hot water, and clean loos. Most of the time they had toilet paper too. We had to queue for showers/washing-up sinks at peak times, but that is to be expected. The microwave came in handy and there were 2 fridge freezers available if you needed to use them. The ping-pong table was popular with the kids and there always seemed to be somone playing some kind of game in the big clearing in the middle of the site. Generally a real friendly atmosphere was felt around the place. The owner and his wife came around to say Hi on Friday night - nice chap.
 
We spent Saturday exploring the unspoilt Suffolk coast. Orchard Campsite is a good base for this being right on the A12. We never explored Wickham Market so cant comment on the place. The procedure is pay on exit for everything so it is done on trust - I like that and would like to think that no-one abuses the system.
 
Overall, a compact yet spacious site with good amenities and friendly atmosphere - and FIRES! At £8 per tent very reasonable too. Would we go back? - definitely!

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cuteclairo 1 review from this member

The campsite is fantastic. This is our forth stay at this site and it is an ideal site for us for a weekend away (we only live 14 miles away!). The staff are very relaxed, friendly and helpful. We hired the marquee this time as we had a big group of us for my husband's birthday. Considering the very wet weather this was a godsend.
 
There is plenty of space for ball games and the option of having a campfire is the biggest attraction. The cost for logs is £15 per load.
 
The new toilets and showers are a huge improvement. There is also a table tennis table available to use free of charge.
 
We booked for 2 nights, but due to the continual rain only stayed the 1 night. When we went to pay we were told that you only pay for what you stay, which was really good of them as I don't imagine many sites wouldn't have charged for what you were booked for.
 
We will be back to stay many times in the future.
 
Thanks to Alan and all the staff for a well run site.
 
All in all I can't rate this site highly enough.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Emma68 2 reviews from this member

Wow what can I say, we had the most wonderful time at this campsite! Alan makes you feel more like an old friend coming for a visit than a campsite punter.
The bonfires are a wonderful sight in the twilight hours, make you feel your really camping if you know what I mean. The new toilets and showers are kept very clean by a lovely friendly cleaner, it should be said that all the staff were incredibly friendly!
 
There isn't a shop on site but there's a well stocked co-op in the very pretty nearby village, there's also a chinese take away thats very good and a fish n chip shop, and pub, there's also a rather nice playpark in the village along side a skater park for the older kids.
 
I will definitely be using this campsite regularly and will recommend it to everyone.
 
Oh and the glowsticks fights are a fantastic sight!

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Glen Foster 9 reviews from this member

We have previously visited this site with our two children and have to say that the showers and toilets were getting a bit tired.
 
However following our recent visit this site has majorly upgraded it's facilities. They now boast a very nice set of showers and toilets, they are even in the process of building a disabled shower/toilet.
 
This is a good fun site for young families the kids love the bonfire and around 2100 hours the owner throws hundreds of glow sticks for the kids to pick up and keep.
 
During our previous visits and on the latest one there is some noise from group bookings (music and loud conversation) but apart from this you will enjoy the site.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Rgrsbev 1 review from this member

Visited for the first time in May with friends who highly recommended site, then returned with friends in August for a week of pleasure. Very easy going people, catered for the large rottweiller that accompanied us, so couldn't ask for more.
Kids just love the glowsticks and can't wait to return, if you don't mind having us and the DOG!
 
Well looked after camp site and a pleasure to visit.

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Miclou 6 reviews from this member

Arrived late, just dark in fact, and the staff were really helpful in finding us a pitch and getting set up.  Children had just missed the glowsticks but opened up a new pack to get them happy.  Site is very laid back and chilled and children loved the real fire of a night.  No defined pitches, big open spaces and woodland - perfect.  Couldn't fault staff or site except for the toilet facilities, they were drab, mouldy ceileings and got dirty really quickly and when the site was busy could do with a few more - this was the only thing that let the site down, they have really seen their best and could do with a refurb and extending a bit. 
 
We had a fantastic time though, well worth its money and would definitely go back again!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kaynorth 2 reviews from this member

A lovely camp site set in a field of trees. We have a large tent but still had loads of space. You can pitch where you like and the staff were even helping to put up tents. There was loads of room for all the children to play even when it was busy. We took our dog and there was a wood at the back which was perfect for walks. The local shops were a short walk across the fields and the village itself is lovely. We were only 20 mins to the coast and 15 mins to a large Tescos and camping shop. A fish and chip van visits at the weekend and was very good. The staff were all great and even had glow sticks for the children every evening which was a lovely touch. I would definitely go back. The only downside was the toilets which could do with a refurb. Other than that it was all you could want from a campsite. Total relaxation!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Boultonjd 5 reviews from this member

Lovely site, well managed. Owner very "hands on" when he is there and his staff are very helpful when he is not. Only 6 electric hook up pitches but always seem to manage to fit us all in (we usually have at least four other families with us). Shower block is getting a little "tired" but owner has assured us it is being renewed asap. Otherwise, the pool room is very entertaining for the children and the space is good for games too. We will definitely visit on a regular basis. The fact that the village is within walking distance is a big bonus

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suriseley 1 review from this member

Being camping 'virgins' we were absolutely delighted with this site. Cheap but extremely cheerful, best describes the vibe of the place. The staff are very welcoming and the whole site was well kept and nicely laid out. Popular with large groups and families although quieter pitches hidden away for those wanting seclusion! The campfires add a nice touch but at £15.00 only really worth while for longer stays. The village is a very short walk with all you need. The facilities were good always hot water although because of the set-up do get grubby very quickly but always cleaned regularly. We visited nearby, Southwold, Aldburgh, Wood bridge, Felixstowe and Colchester all within short distance with the A12 providing an ideal network to travel to lots of locations.
We will definitely visit again as soon as possible, highly recommended!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisa Harvey 1 review from this member

Good campsite, very cheap and friendly but let down by toilets and showers. Pitches were big and we didn't feel closed in. Staff friendly and campsite was cheap. Toilets were horrible. Portaloos were not very nice and the only two showers had the only two proper loos. Could do with an extra washing up place as there was only one. Having a real fire was great and the kids loved it. Playground was a bit naff, just 3 swings. Shops were a pleasant 15 minute walk away and great hardware shop in town for all the camping bits you may have forgotten (though the staff a bit miserable!) If the shower/toilet facilities improved would be a GREAT campsite.

Previous     203 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Wickham Market      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2184 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019