Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Orchard Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Wickham Market > The Orchard Camp Site Reviews

The Orchard Camp Site
Spring Lane
Wickham Market
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP13 0SJ
Tel: 07818 034729
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 11 acres plus 20 electric pitches
Open: April 12th 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 203 Reviews
                8/10 from 203 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  203 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mclevel4 1 review from this member

My family of four had our very first camping trip at this site, and were very satisfied. The facilities provided were modern and clean, and we didn't even have to queue once.

For families with children, this would be a great place to camp. A lot of forest backgrounds and a small play area to keep them occupied. The governor and the staff are very helpful and friendly, even our neighbours who we just met were friendly.

The best part we all enjoyed was the campfire at night. Without the campfire, it would be pretty boring in the evening so we enjoyed that a lot. We would definitely recommend this to our friends and families, and are hoping to come back again this September.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fostermum 10 reviews from this member

What a lovely site! My first visit and won't be the last. Friendly staff - very laid back approach but the best was the campfires! OK it does mean the grass is sparse in places and there are lots of fire marks etc it is little to pay for being able to have a roaring log fire every evening - fantastic! At 15 a barrowload, the logs aren't cheap but they lasted 2 nights so cheap entertainment (and warmth!). The facilities are OK - not very modern but clean. There are 3 showers and 5 toilets - I didn't have to queue once, however it was quiet and end of season. Take your own soap though. There are 2 washing up sinks and use of a microwave and kettle which is very useful especially if you don't have EHU.

Some sloping pitches but as it was quiet we could pick our own. Nice river alongside for fishing.

This site to me is what camping is all about!

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 3madboyz 14 reviews from this member

We have visited this site twice now and thought it about time we gave it a review.

General:

This site is ideal for group bookings as the pitches are not marked and where we stayed were able to create a little 'village' of our own around one section of the campsite with a fire pit in the middle.

The site owner is very laid back and I think this is one of the best things about the site, Not because we are a rowdy bunch but it is nice to sit up until the wee hours chatting and what-not without worrying about people complaining about the 'noise' and from what I could see the people who visited the site at the same time as our group were of the same opinion, Having said that, during the 4 nights we stayed it generally went quiet at about midnight anyway.

Facilities:

There is one toilet/shower block that is unisex and includes a washing machine / dryer, outside under cover is a washing up area with fridge, microwave and freezer for campers use.

I think during busier times of the year that the facilities may suffer a little bit but they are working on some added washrooms and a bathroom for 2010, There is a small play area that satisfied the kids in our group and they also enjoyed playing table tennis (a first for our little'un) but most of all, the kids said that they enjoyed the freedom of the site.

Shopping:

There is a co-op in town and Tesco is a short drive away for provisions.

There is also a small site shop on site selling basics and things like sky lanterns.

Pitches:

The site gradually slopes down towards the wooded area at the bottom of the camping field ( where there are some fantastic pitches), The E.H.U points are in the area called the meadow so if you want electric you are restricted as to where you can pitch on this 'larger than you think' site (next time we are going to brave non E.H.U so that we can pitch in the wooded area)

Pros:

>The site is very relaxed.
>Camp fires!
>Watching a tirade of sky lanterns being launched almost at the same time- magical!
>Had the best Halloween- ever
>flexibility of pitches.
>Making my own apple sauce on my Trangia from one of the apple trees there.

Cons:

> IMO I think that for the amount that you are given, that the fire wood is quite expensive (15 a barrow) and not being allowed to bring your own could run up costs a bit!
>People not tidying up after they had used the facilities.

Summary:

All in all this is a great site for groups and families with a great atmosphere to match, I would probably prefer to visit this site out of season as can imagine it getting quite busy during peak periods- and I don't like to share!

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bigjonlloyd 1 review from this member

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a mid week break from this site, and I have to say that it was a unique experience.

The site itself is brilliant and we can't fault it, it was nice to have a campfire and we were told to pitch where we liked which was better than being told to pitch somewhere. The facilities were basic but clean and tidy, and the work is well underway for new wash / toilet facilities.

The warden was friendly and very helpful.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bird_lm 3 reviews from this member

WOW,.WOW,.WOW,.Just come back from a really good camping weekend here and have booked to go again next year! Our large group party (24 people) went for this campsites theme weekend of 'Alien Encounters' and it was great fun.

Very good site, nicely laid out with modern clean facilities. Very helpful owner and staff there too. Plenty of walks around the site and the village of Wickham Market is very pretty with shops, pubs and restaurants.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Louby1508 2 reviews from this member

This site is fantastic.

After reading a few of the other reviews it has left me a little bemused as to the comments.

Toilet Block: Yes there are 3 showers and 5 toilets I think! I had to queue once, however I have been on sites larger than this with less toilets and showers and have no problem with waiting in a queue.

As for dirty toilets, if people would only pick up their litter after themselves, ie toilet roll on the floor then they would not be so bad, I thought it was part of basic hygiene! The toilets were also given a very very good clean on both mornings (Sat and Sun) that we were there.

My one gripe is there is no handwash, so next time will take my own.

Pitches: We were based in the main field and yes was slightly sloping, was nothing we could not handle! and plus it was in a lovely side setting.

The site as a whole is fab, kids loved the play area (12, 10 and 7). We did feel a little left out as just our family and loads of big groups so next time we are going in a big group. We loved the fact that adults and children alike were playing runouts, and enjoyed watching them, the group next to us also were quiet noisy, but listening to them playing charades at midnight was a joy as they were enjoying their trip and that what I feel camping is about.

I would recommend to anyone that they visit this site and remember what camping is about. We are returning for the alien weekend next weekend and can't wait.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kazza3330 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this campsite with friends and took the dogs, we had a thoroughly good weekend and will be visiting again at the end of September for their planned Alien weekend. Owners are very friendly and very laid back.
Campfire was very good, but @ 15 per barrow it was expensive and the logs lasted 2 nights. Shower and toilet facilities are not the best, but they were clean and you need to go very early to miss the queues.
There are 2 sinks for washing your dishes, fridge, microwave and kettle are available to use. Each morning there is a deli van that comes to the site which is very useful if you have forgotten your eggs.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Katesdad 6 reviews from this member

Booked 3 nights, stayed 2. Photos were taken when the campsite had grass, which from the state of the place was a while ago. What grass there was is the victim of too many tent footprints.

Probably not one pitch that doesn't have at least 4 burn marks. Surely a firepit / altar would work better. As with previous posts, burned out tins and glass abound.

Counted 3 pitches that pass for level. We were in hammocks so it was less of a problem for us, but tent dwellers be warned. Or bring camp beds.

Loos and showers were adequate on our visit, but except for one family we had the place to ourselves, so can't comment.

Owner's response:

Suffolk had less than 4% its normal rainfall between May and end of September - of course there was no grass!

Tent foot prints are unavoidable unless we inconvenience campers by excluding sewn in ground sheets - which we will not do.

Of course there are multiple fire pits - we operate free pitching and a camp fire for all campers. Firepits are cleared at the end of each weekend - there is no glass.

We do not offer level pitches - some are partly level - this is clear on the website.

We have had over 1200 different camping families here this year - not one has mentioned the lack of flat pitches.

If they make a complaint that is accepted they receive a refund or free stay later.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pam Purdue 3 reviews from this member

Excellent atmosphere. Never been to a site where there so much sense of a group of people camping together even though they didn't know each other; this was helped by the glo-sticks for the kids and added to by the 'girls' vs 'boys' rounders match. Great fun. Facilities basic but adequate. Lots of walks and great pubs in the area.

The only problem is, as the name of the lane suggests is that it can suffer from flooding down by the stream, but the good news is that the stream is great fun for the kids.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Salenalfcra91 2 reviews from this member

We went to this campsite, weekend of the British grand prix, booked in, 6 families.

This campsite is easy to sum up as follows:

Facilities (loo`s, showers etc) Poor. Campsite itself, good`ish.

I think 4 or 5 loo`s. Each with a tiny sink in, and 3 showers if I remember right. No other sinks for personal use. Loo`s got dirty quickly and weren't cleaned very often. Nothing worse than cleaning your teeth in a sink that is 'bubbling' where the last person has 'visited'. Long queues formed for all, especially in the eve and mornings. (ps. On the day all of us were leaving, someone cleaned the loo`s but locked 2 of them to keep us out which was cheeky.!).

Washing up sink area good, enough space.

More and more people were arriving all through the weekend which made the site feel cramped. Campsite - hook ups were on a sloping area so it was quite tricky, but we coped.

Campfire was excellent.

The field at the bottom with the trees was superb to set up a large game of football, dads v kids, be aware of a small river running around the edge, and a pond on site.

Management excellent, very laid back, very good with the kids, very helpful with hook up extensions etc all at no extra cost.

Kids loved the glo stix.

A pleasant ish experience for 2 nights

Previous     203 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Wickham Market      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1934 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019