Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Orchard Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Wickham Market > The Orchard Camp Site Reviews

The Orchard Camp Site
Spring Lane
Wickham Market
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP13 0SJ
Tel: 07818 034729
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 11 acres plus 20 electric pitches
Open: April 12th 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 203 Reviews
                8/10 from 203 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  203 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Horspoolclan 2 reviews from this member

Our overall opinion on this campsite was good. The facilities were adequate, nothing fancy but they were clean and tidy. People were friendly and helpful when asked questions.

Showers: The water pressure was good with the only downside really being that space was a little bit of an issue if you are a larger person and queues at the weekends possible.

Toilets: These again were clean with soap and electric dryers supplied.

Washrooms: The ladies wash-room consisted of 3 sinks + mirrors. Electric sockets for dryers etc and the occasional stool (handy for little people). Theses again were clean and tidy. I presume the mens was the same!

Family Bathroom: This was very simple with a standard sized bath with shower over the top. The shower could be placed at two levels or hand held. Only downside was that bath could be slippery for young child when standing.

The washing up area was the only thing that let the facilities down, and this can not fully be blamed on the campsite alone. Occasionally sinks and surrounding areas would be unclean were people had not rinsed sinks out and wiped surfaces down after washing up. Kettle and microwave were supplied and worked well.

Fridge-freezer was well used and the washing machine and tumbledryer were in good working order, although I did not use these I did see other people doing so.

The site has a small shop which supplies essentials but within a short walk along public footpath you can get into the town were there is a good sized Co-op.

Fishing: The pond has variety of fish in it, none of huge size but they can be caught. There is also some fishing to be done in the river. Rental of rods can be done but obviously cheaper if you can take your own.

Campfires: These are a great way to spend the evening and although they advertise that barrow load of wood is 15 it will cost more as you will need kindling and fire lighters so unless you go prepared with these look to spend at least 20. The barrow load can easily do 2 nights, we made it last 3.

Playground: This is simple with just a slide and 2 swings. It is enclosed with one way in and out and matting underfoot. There is a table tennis table for everyone.

The only downside to this site that we could really find was that the pitches themselves were not level, but if you can put up with sleeping on the slosh then this is a nice place to go.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Archer560 7 reviews from this member

Had 3 good days here. The site is great as it not regimented and would guess the pitching plan is never quite the same.

The facility to have a campfire is a real novelty but the wood is not cheap!

Washing facilities are good and all the staff are very helpful. Small shop on site and supermarket 10 mins walk away via public footpath.

Although kids will enjoy it here, on a busy weekend there would not be a lot of room for playing. However don't let this put you off.

For us, and imagine most, it lives up to the expectations

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hoots1971 3 reviews from this member

We camped over the first bank holiday weekend when the weather was pretty rough. Overall I can see why this site appeals to many, the pitches are not clearly marked so there is an element of freedom that was helpful as it allowed our 5 tents to pitch around the outside of our camp fire.

The pitches were quite hit and miss as to how flat they were (but the freedom given allowed you to choose the best spot). The staff were very friendly and helpful and having a van on site selling hot food was great particularly on the first night when we did not fancy cooking.

The washing up facilities were good and having a kettle and microwave available for free use was great. I think we have gone soft as I did miss my electrics but there is limited availability if you want this. Childrens play area is quite small.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clareyfairy3 5 reviews from this member

This was our second visit, really friendly owners / site workers & we could pitch where ever we wanted. It is great being able to have a fire going in the evening, 15 for a barrow load of logs. The grass is a bit sparse in places but being able to have a fire makes up for that.

There is a small playground for the kids & clean toilets (need to take your own soap in) & showers,also washing up facilities. There is a shop on site & a van that arrived in the mornings selling fresh bread, meat & dairy products. There is a supermarket just down the road in the village if you miss the van in the mornings.

The relaxed atmosphere makes this place & there are plenty of local places to visit. We went to Sutton Hoo, Southwold & Orford Castle.

Sure we will be back again sometime soon.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ratter Camper 12 reviews from this member

Initially we were worried that this site would be more suitable for group, but we were wrong! We are a couple with a small tent, and we had a fantastic time!

They have won a Campsite of the year 2010, and they deserve it.

The Town is within walking distance yet, this campsite is away from it all and some of the pitches are even by the river.

All facilities are clean and working very well. They even have a kettle for us to boil some hot water while our stove was broken!

Only downside is 20.00 GBP per night regardless how many people and 15.00 GBP per barrow of woods are very expensive compare to other campsite.

We are going to book as early as possible for next year's pitch once they take booking.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Saffron1 1 review from this member

Just leaving this small review.

Thought it was a cracking little site, choice of open fields or under trees pitches, you can pitch where you like and no one was on top of each other and facilities clean and good showers etc, however we went on a none bank holiday, bank holidays could be different, think this site will struggle.

Very relaxed site with the benefits of buying fire wood for your camp fires. Kids highlights probably on a Saturday night when the owners throw glow sticks up in the air ( hundreds of them) and the kids go mad for the next few hours, by warned though they only do this when it is dark, so at this time of the year is around 10pm.To late for some kids, just don't tell em if they are asleep.

The site does not accept debit or credit cards, cash only so make sure you have some to pay for the stay and little bits during the stay otherwise its a 10 minute walk into town. Also they do not sell milk ! as they do not have a milk licence.

However, overall a cracking little site and with the coast (Aldeburgh) just down the road which worth a visit, old quaint seaside resort, but more to do for the adults and kids. You can buy fresh fish from the fishermen on the beach huts, take it back to your site and cook it on the BBQ / campfire :).Happy days.

It was the first time for my girlfriend and her daughter camping and they loved it, but think the lovely hot weather we had may have added to the nice experience.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ruralrob 2 reviews from this member

I would say this site is more suitable to tents than caravans, as I found the access into the site quite tricky, there is a sharp left bend on the entrance to the site and I almost damaged the caravan turning in on a silver burch tree, although I do have a larger outfit this year 23ft van and a 4x4 so perhaps I'm still just getting used to towing with a larger van. That said one of the employees did come and help me unhook and turn the caravan. Also the road leading to the site is quite narrow and as I passed some parked cars on one side managed to scratch the side of the caravan with overhanging branches on the other side.

The site itself is very spacious although the few caravans what were there were put quite close together,I guess this was because most of the site is very uneven.

The owners/workers seemed friendly enough and showed us to our pitch. They asked us if we wanted a camp fire, which they are relaxed abut here and indeed many tents seemed to enjoy this.

What we did like was a tv point by the electric hook up and they offered to lend us a lead if we needed it, so that was nice not having to mess about with a dish for a change.

We stayed at the site in may and found it very peaceful not noticing and noise from the road etc.

We didn't really use the showers/toilet block, however they did seem quite spacious and clean.

There is a co-op just up the road which was very good for choice and price and Wickham market was a lovely little place with nice shops etc.

For the OH and myself the cost was 20 per night and I found this a tad expensive for what you got. All in all I found this a very relaxing site to stay at, however the access for me and the lack of level pitches for caravans would make me think twice about returning.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sjc1803 14 reviews from this member

After 3 years of trying to stay at The Orchard Camp Site for a Bank Holiday Weekend, we finally made it - yippeee

Very impressed with the relaxed & friendly welcoming, no signing your life away or being read the rule book.

The pitches are not regimental and are based on your actual party size and not just for your tent no matter what size with plenty of space. For once there was no frowning to large tents.

It is a group camp site, with little villages scattered around with their own campfires. I don't think that I would return just ourselves instead of being within a group.

The site owners and assistances were always on hand if required and were always willing to assist. You couldn't ask for a better service or welcome.

Despite the relaxed atmosphere of no rules, everyone seemed to respect one another at night and seemed no different from other high standard campsites.

The facilities were extremely clean and for once a nice family bathroom ie bath for the kiddies that was code locked to prevent it being used by others. The only downside is that there wasn't a bench or table to lay your towel and baby down as the floor did tend to get wet from the splashing of a 14 month old. The shower rooms had plenty of space, a nice stool, enough hooks for clothes with a shower curtain separating them from the actual shower with further hooks / shelves for bathing equipment.

There was even single sex wash rooms which contained sinks, mirrors, plugs for straighteners or hair dryers.

The Washing up area also provided access to a kettle and microwave with no additional cost.

Washing Machine and Tumble Dryer are also available at an additional cost.

These areas were also kept clean.

A new feature at the camp site this Bank Holiday was a catering van serving burgers, curries, breakfasts and hot drinks - operated by a lovely couple who did experience a few teething problems, which I am sure would be ironed out by their new opening.

The play area ie slide, swing and a rope swing was rather small for the actual campsite and the number of children on site and this is one area that I would strongly recommend they improve in size and add some more equipment. As the current wooden frame is one that you would find within your garden.

We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Orchard Camp Site and would highly recommend this to other group campers due to the variety of pitches available and the nice relaxed atmosphere. We will definitely be back either later this year or next.

Dont be put off with the lanes leading to the town if travelling by foot, it seemed quite safe even at night with a pushchair. The local co-op catered for all essentials required (a 10 minute walk). If you wanted a large Tesco, it was only 7 miles away, but Co-op was more than enough for us. We would recommended the local curry house of which we escaped to during the rain that never let up on the Sunday.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fuffy 20 reviews from this member

I reviewed this site a few years ago and have been back every year since. The site has recently improved even more, making it even more brilliant:

New male and female washrooms (with soap!)

Toilets cleaned very regularly

Drive area now paved

Snack bar selling drinks and simple snacks

Shop now selling bread, milk, sausages and other essentials.

Two more washing up sinks

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lollypop243 2 reviews from this member

We were a little disappointed upon arrival, firstly due to the smell as there were muck spreaders working in nearby fields and secondly, as prior to booking this site we asked if it would be possible for us to book a pitch with an area for the dogs to run around next to the tent, to which they replied this would be no problem, whereas upon arrival we were told a different story and we were told dogs must be kept on leads at all times.

The website did not state that the campsite was pretty close to the main A road that ran through to Ipswich / Lowestoft so at peak times it was quite loud.

The toilets and shower blocks were not in the cleanest state, my feet ended up being cleaner before I went in the shower than when I came out.

The site is quite pretty with a river at the bottom, trees dotted around and a small pond. The campsite has a small shop selling little things like sweets, chocolate, drinks, bacon and charcoal.

The local villages around wickham market were all very pretty and quaint and the location was quite good due to the A12.

Previous     203 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Wickham Market      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2600 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019