Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Orchard Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Wickham Market > The Orchard Camp Site Reviews

The Orchard Camp Site
Spring Lane
Wickham Market
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP13 0SJ
Tel: 07818 034729
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 11 acres plus 20 electric pitches
Open: April 12th 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 203 Reviews
                8/10 from 203 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  203 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maglin 2 reviews from this member

We're fairly new to camping so have less to compare it with, we stayed 3 nights.

Our kids 7 and 8 had a great time - large enough for adventure small enough to feel safe - they made friends readily and enjoyed staying on site.

Toilets - 5 self contained cubicles -I was concerned by the fact there is no soap / soap dispensers in them - there are no other washing facilities (apart from showers) and the basins are small - so there is nowhere can you hygienically put your wash bag / toothbrush. We took soap in with us but did not teeth clean in there because of these concerns - perhaps we are over fussy? but a relatively cheap option would be to install soap dispensers -

The cleaner is a 15 year old lad - credit to him for doing the job and I think he did it well - for a young lad -but not to the standard I would like.

Agree about it feeling a friendly safe spot, we had help lighting a fire which was much appreciated - few rules gives a relaxed feel.

Some traffic noise at night but not significant enough to stop us sleeping.

Good size plot for tent.

Wickham market is a 10 minute walk with a good range of shops for a large village

We had a meal in Easton - White Horse I think - very nice pub -good food

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wilekit 4 reviews from this member

Just spent 2 days at the orchard site, our 1st camping trip for 5 years, and the kids 1st time ever :-) Lovely site, v relaxed, friendly owner and staff, loved the fires, large pitches and the freedom for the kids.
The showers were a bit 'rough and ready' when we arrived but were cleaned the day after and were spotless after that. The kitchen was also spotless, and the facilities were all included in the price - kitchen with microwave, fridge and freezer, 2 sinks, washer and dryer and the toilet block was large - I think 4 or 5 toilets and 4 showers. Lots of hot water in the showers, so plenty to go around.
Nice little play area for the kids which they finished constructing the day we arrived. Given that all the above is included in the £15 or £20 pitch fee, I think it's fair enough that they charge for logs, they have to make money I suppose! and you do get a big barrow load, we could have stretched it out to 3 or 4 nights probably.
We met some lovely people (many thanks to the family across the site from us for amusing our monkeys while we packed everything away!), and had the best fish and chips ever in Aldburgh. Would highly recommend :-)

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jimminycricket 1 review from this member

We stayed at The Orchards campsite in Wickham Market recently, my good and not so good points are:

GOOD

•Large pitches - someone in a caravan made a massive garden area for them and their dog with windbreaks which was allowed.

•13 EHUs – these were at the top end of the campsite nearest to the amenities. (It would also be good if they could have some further down in the woods area as well.)

•Campfires – great to have a campfire, site is easy going about where you can have them, just find a circle in the ground near you and set it up.

•Glowsticks – these were loved by the children, great idea to keep them occupied during the evening.

Washing-up area with microwave and fridge

Washing machine also available

NOT SO GOOD

•Some sloping pitches which made for uncomfortable sleeping.

•Cost of logs - £15 a barrow load was expensive. A barrow load lasted about 2 nights.

SURROUNDING AREA

Local shop in Wickham Market stays open until 8pm and was a good size

Local beaches – Aldeburgh and Thorpeness, Dunwich (all pebble beaches).

Rendlesham Forest was lovely, don’t stop at the first little layby to park, go through the village to the next where the forest is larger.

Camping shops – S&P Leisure at Woolverstone Marina was well stocked, about 30 mins away

Jimmys Farm is well worth a visit, especially if you have children – pick up some sausages while you are there!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pixadelik 1 review from this member

We have camped at many sites and have found this to be one of the best : )

The pitches are a good size, grounds beautiful, toilet / shower / kitchen facilities all clean and plentiful.

Alan, Barry and Linda running the site were all incredibly helpful, informative and friendly.

Real fires and barbecues encouraged.

A great site for kids to explore, without getting in the way of fellow campers.

We loved it and are about to book again for next year!

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Girl Scout Troop 33 1 review from this member

I took my Girl Scout troop to this site and what fun we had, the site is friendly and always try to accommodate your requests. The site has so much surrounding it my troop were able to go hiking in the woods, do scavenger hunts and run themselves ragged everywhere.

We had 10 girls aged 13 - 14yrs and they enjoyed everything about the camp. They were able to build the fire and keep it going the whole day we actually cooked all our meals totally on the fire. The evenings were nice with girls able to sing and laugh making noise without complaints which is definitely a bonus and they loved the free glow sticks too, they even got to climb trees.

I would recommend this site as long as you don't mind some noisy nights (which suited us fine) if you are or have a large group this is ideal, if you love campfires and open space it is perfect. The toilets / showers were clean and looked after and even a fridge to store your food, along with the friendly owners / workers a fantastic site to stay, we plan to go back soon.

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wi110w 8 reviews from this member

First time for us at the Orchards but definitely not the last! Its a lovely, clean site with good sized pitches. The warden was very friendly and helpful. He was a hive of information, telling the children how fire wood is best cut and what types of wood burn longest. The added bonus of allowing real camp fires made this site highly appealing to kids and adults alike.

The showers and toilets were spotless. As was the washing up area. There was also a kettle and microwave in the washing up area free to use.

The surrounding area of Wickham was very pretty. We had some lovely walks through the countryside and along the river bank.

The actual village of Wickham Market was pretty with some quaint little shops and a lovely fish and chip shop with seating inside.

One of my favourite sites Ive been to in ages. We liked it so much we've emailed to request we go back next week! lol

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DJHMS 4 reviews from this member

I've stayed here a couple of times and had a great time twice. If you want a fire and some extra privacy book a space down at the bottom in the trees. One of the best sites near(ish) to London.

The village centre isn't too far and Adnams is always good. There's a pub at the end of the footpath.

Showers and loos are fine. Respect neighbouring properties on the track down to the site and don't drive too fast.

One of my favourites. Sometimes room for a bit of amateur soccer, too.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Reg_lardez 4 reviews from this member

This site is what camping use to be basic, fun and reasonably priced. The site itself has a little rough around the edges feel and it is a noisy pleasant place to be with kids running around, the way they should do. The facilities are solid and basic, and at peak times well used.
The log fires give the place a lovely outdoors feel and smell, and the little tuck shop with its haphazard opening times and excellent prices add to the magic of this place. There is a little road noise from the A12 and not all the pitches are on the level.
The site suits large groups and families well, with plenty of space around each pitch. I can fully understand why this place is fully booked at a weekend well into the year, as it makes many other sites in the area look quite dull by comparison. This site is not for a quiet time in your caravan watching Saturday night TV but for those who love to be outdoors around a campfire with plenty of their favourite tipple.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Donna44 4 reviews from this member

We came to Orchard Camp site after reading some reviews on this website. I was trying to convince my husband and small children that camping is fun (he's never been ever!) so I hoped the campsite was as good as everyone said.

I had rung up on the morning we wanted to stay to check their availability as the website says it's full.

They were so nice on the phone and happily promised to squeeze us in. Actually, when we got there, the weather had been shocking that weekend, so there were a few pitches to choose from. We found a lovely spot very easily and they couldn't have been more helpful - they helped me to light the log campfire, gave me a grille so that I could use it to cook etc. That was the highlight for me - a real fire, even cheered us up in the rain!
It seems to be a really family orientated site with a small play park for the kids. Some pitches are in the wooded area and some are in more of the open field. Although the showers and loos are a little on the basic side, I never had to wait as there seemed to be plenty free. They've got power points so bring your hairdryer if you like to look like your not really camping at all!
We didn't have an electric hook up but we blew up our aerobed at the electricity point then carried it down to the tent. They've even got a kettle and fridge by the dishwashing area if you can't be bothered lighting your gas or fire!

While we were there, there was always someone on hand to help if needed, including opening their little shop / shed at any time. They don't sell dairy stuff or bread but the village is only down the road. We would definitely go back there again, it was such a laid back and quiet place with next to no caravan / trailer tent vibe but more tents with gazebos full of families chilling together.

Wonderful also to be 15mins from Snape Maltings and half an hour from Aldeburgh (the loveliest looking seaside resort I've seen in years).

Thanks to Barry and Alan for a lovely camping experience!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lolalev 1 review from this member

Our main reason for choosing this site was because you can have open fires & it had good reviews. What a find.! A lovely site with a friendly & helpful owner & wardens.

There aren't many toilets or showers but they never seemed dirty or overcrowded even when the site was busy (never ran out of hot water either!). The added extras like the fridge, freezer & microwave are a welcome bonus. Another definite plus was the fact that all the campers were respectful of the 11 o'clock noise 'curfew', even the adult only groups.

The local village offers a well stocked supermarket, chip shop, Indian restaurant & pub all less than a 10 minute stroll away. If you want the beach Aldeburgh is about 13 miles away, another nice, unspoilt place.

We will definitely be back & happily recommend this site to anyone.

The only thing we felt was missing is soap dispensers in the toilets.

Previous     203 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Wickham Market      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4726 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019