Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Orchard Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Wickham Market > The Orchard Camp Site Reviews

The Orchard Camp Site
Spring Lane
Wickham Market
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP13 0SJ
Tel: 07818 034729
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 11 acres plus 20 electric pitches
Open: April 12th 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 203 Reviews
                8/10 from 203 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  203 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mikey1banana 15 reviews from this member

The overall feeling that this site is currently producing is fantastic. The owner works very hard to ensure that everyone is ok and any mention of a hard sell in previous reviews I think is down to the owners desire to provide quality produce for good value.

The well stocked shop is reasonably priced and the staff friendly, the play area is basic but good with the added bonus of a ping pong table. There is quite a pleasant looking area of picnic tables with a large flat screen TV. The shop also doubles as a bar/coffee shop/snack bar.

Being able to have a proper camp fire is a lovely touch as is the bi-weekly glow stick event. However glow sticks and camp fires cannot make up for the facilities which rather let this site down.

There are 4 unisex toilets with 1 dedicated female toilet which are grubby and a bit smelly but well stocked with toilet roll and hand towel. It would be really useful if people could teach their children how to flush a toilet though.

The showers have got an abundance of hot water but are not very well ventilated (blocked extractors) which is leading to some mildew build up. When busy (like bank holiday weekends) I don't think that the toilets and showers will be able to sufficiently cope with the number of campers on site. I was that unimpressed with the toilets when we arrived, if it hadn't been for the fact that I had just paid, I would have immediately gone elsewhere. I didn't see any sign of the Gypsy Caravan or the hot tub that is advertised on the web site.

My main bit of advice for any one thinking of taking a caravan to this site is once you have been directed to your pitch, walk the route you intend to take to get to it. Some very vague directions and tents pitched over the right track led to me being sunk up to my axles in mud! I was not the only person to have taken this route, the day before another chap ripped the side of his caravan out with these same directions. The entrance to the site is quite tight and I would recommend approaching it from the high street end of spring lane.

Wonderful atmosphere, disappointing toilets and showers. I will not be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Patb8452 1 review from this member

I stayed at Orchard Campsite 19th August for 6 nights in the Gypsy/Romany Caravan with my two children. I have to say the campsite is just lovely, very relaxed, a lovely area and we loved it. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Owner worked tirelessly to keep the showers/toilet area clean and tidy which was a godsend. Thanks! I've read other reviews and apart from a slight issue with cooking in the Romany caravan (which was sorted out by Owner) we had a thoroughly relaxing and fun time. It was a safe environment even though there were two fishing ponds on site. Childrens playground was small but adequate and the kids loved the table tennis area. One of the highlights of the week was the glowstick ceremony. It was fab - hundreds of glowsticks being thrown into the air for the kids - it was magical! We visited several local places - Aldeburgh was lovely, Sutton Hoo was wonderful and Dunwich Heath - was just wonderful. I would have no hesitation in returning to this site - may not stay in the caravan as it was quaint but a bit too small for a longer stay. Fine for a couple but not with 2 children. I think a TeePee tent may be our next option. Thanks to all.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: QuincyG 3 reviews from this member

This is an amazing campsite. Alan the owner is a legend and has created a truly relaxed vibe about the place. No timing rules for arriving or leaving. Campfires allowed and a bag of marshmallows thrown in with the wood you purchase. Visiting every camp on the Saturday night at 9pm and saying: 'top of the field, 10pm, glowsticks' to which all kids and many parents responded. (Hundreds of lit glow sticks thrown all over everyone. Consequently you could walk in the dark, forestry bit at the bottom and see randomly placed glow sticks presumably looped around legs / heads / arms but unable to see the person they were looped onto. It was like an art installation or something). He encouraged us to purchase the meat from his local supplier and it was delicious: bacon, steaks, kebabs, sausages: we ate like kings. We visited Southwold on the Saturday and had a great beach day, but on Sunday we just enjoyed pootling around out at the campsite. We are going again for the ALIEN weekend at the end of Sept.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PiratesofS 1 review from this member

Have just returned from a hot and sunny weekend at the Orchard.

Large site with various pitch types at reasonable prices. Toilet block and showers were usually clean and tidy, the ladies that were tirelessly cleaning them were brilliant and really up against it -but always had a smile - thank you. However, when the site is full the number of toilets and showers is lacking and queuing was standard.

The option to use the on site fridge and freezers is great. The option to purchase logs for fires was very enjoyable and the children really enjoyed the 'glow stick throw'

The relaxed atmosphere was great but was tempered by the owners seemingly dismissive attitude to a couple of groups playing loud car stereo music until late into the night - in fact it was disappointing not to be able to have a conversation with him about this whilst he was too busy behind his 'bar' in the reception/ shop.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Soul Cyclist 3 reviews from this member

This was my first visit to this site. I found the facilities to be of a high standard and the level of cleanliness was maintained throughout my visit. I did book this site from the Rough Guide, which is clearly now out of date, as the Observatory is not working and seems to have been this way for some time.

Prior to visiting I did not read any reviews of the site, I really wished that I had. Although the facilities and location are all good the over riding memory of my visit was the 'hard sell' in the site shop, from the very first minute I arrived and throughout my stay. I also have to agree with other reviewers about the site staff monopolising customer facilities such as the tables outside the shop.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clicquot 3 reviews from this member

We booked in for four nights at the end of June. We arrived on Sunday and the site was very full but most people were leaving after the weekend so the rest of the week it was quiet.

The site was very relaxed and the shop supplies a huge choice of beers. Bottles of wine and other alcohol can also be purchased there. (prices were OK) There is a small bar which is also used for the shop and the reception area.

The village is a ten minute walk and has an Indian and a Chinese restaurant, both very good, and a coffee shop and off licence. The only pub in the village has burnt down, so the nearest pub is approx one mile away, and there is also a micro brewery pub about three mile away.

There is a Co-op which will cater for most peoples needs, however the camp site will supply local meat, bread, ice and other basics you may need.

Toilets and showers were very clean and the extras (cotton wool, cotton buds, soap and flowers etc) in the ladies wash room were a nice touch.

The owner Alan and his son, as well as the other staff we saw, were friendly, and welcomed our parrot Clicquot.

We had a lovely chilled time, but reading other reviews, it appears to be very busy at weekends so this time would need to be avoided unless you are wanting to party.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grimysquirrel 1 review from this member

Excellent campsite, ideal for seasoned campers, as the site has very few rules and allows open fires (always a must for me, wood available by the barrowload, enough for dinner and a campfire, plus breakfast and tea the next day). There is a field area, small woodland and pond area with two small ponds; we stayed in the woodland area on Sunday/Monday nights and had it to ourselves.

The on site shop is very well priced, beer especially! The owner is friendly and made us feel right at home. The shower and toilet facilities are brilliant, well stocked and clean all the time. There is also a male and a female washroom for teeth brushing, washing your face etc.

Four washing up areas plus fridges, washing machine and tumble dryer (last two coin operated) complete the facilities. However, there is a hot tub that can be rented out privately or by the seat, but we didn't try this, preferring to sit by the campfire and cook over it. There are picnic benches for people to use, and a patio area with tables and chairs by the shop. They also offer hot food if required, and really, the facilities and services are on par with a big campsite, but this has all the charm of a small place.

Biker friendly with great roads locally, there is some road noise but you'll have fun figuring out what bike is going past! We can't wait to go back.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Andy4u 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for the May Day Bank Holiday Weekend as did my Daughter and Grandchildren. On arrival the owner told us to go set up then when ready come back and sort out the pitch fees. I found this to be a very relaxed camp and well run. You can buy a wheel barrow full of logs which comes with marsh mallows for toasting on the fire. ( yummy ) Good little shop with most things you may need. Seating area where you can sit out side the shop and office enjoy a tea, coffee, or a beer ect while having a chat with other campers.

The Showers and toilets were kept cleaned all the time as was most of the site. This was my first time at this site and having enjoyed my stay here I will not be my last.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lexie2 2 reviews from this member

Went to this site with 3 young children for the Halloween event and had a great time, will definitely be going back - am booking for Easter as I understand there is an Easter Bunny event that the kids will love.

Overall the site is well set out with a variety of contrasting areas. For the children there is a formal play area as well as lots of informal areas for them to explore, build camps and generally have a bit of freedom.

Every one we met was very friendly, including Alan the owner and the staff - lovely to be greeted by the owner with the offer of a free glass of wine!

The Halloween event itself was well organised in a marquee with a good disco, balloons and nice lighting. Children particularly enjoyed the fancy dress - in fact everyone did.

As I say, will definitely be going back as the site is an absolute gem.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vickyslip 1 review from this member

Well what can I say what a fantastic visit we had myself partner and 3 children, on arrival we were greeted and shown where we will be going the staff were so friendly, we hired a tent as this was our first camp experience. The site was lovely and we had a lovely area that we were given I couldn't believe the space we had it wasn't cramped with loads of tents. The shop was fantastic and staff even went out there way to cook our dinner for us, The children learnt there way around the site and were free to run explore and enjoy themselves it was lovely to see, everyone on the site were so friendly,

We woke up in the morning to see children running round in there pjs playing and really enjoying themselves, the weather was lovely so we went into the village and got some very nice fish and chips. On Saturday night they have a glow stick throw for the children and not just a few the children had so many each that they were making skipping ropes putting on dances for us and all sorts. But hot chocolate by the campfire was def the highlight for me, the campsite although busy didn't have loads of noise there was chatting etc but it was all so friendly and peaceful. The shop is fantastic and well stocked

And cheap too, I couldn't say no to the kids when asking for icecream as it was so cheap, I found the showers and toilet block well stocked and clean we had sun and so I expect if its muddy they wouldn't stay to clean but that cant be helped and loved the idea of the fridges, washing machines, freezers, kettle and microwave. We enjoyed our stay that much we then booked to go for the alien weekend,

Previous     203 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Wickham Market      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2987 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019