Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Kendal > Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park Reviews

Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park
New Hutton
(the Lake District)
Kendal
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA8 0AS
Tel: 01539 731833  or  07818424994
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 135 Reviews
                9/10 from 135 Reviews

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stef and mandy 21 reviews from this member

 Gem of a site, everything is immaculate, from the grassed areas and planting, to the toilet and shower blocks. The site owners are very friendly, and very helpful. I had emailed the site prior to arriving, asking if there is a dog friendly pub within walking distance that sells good food, and Alison sent a reply the same day.

We found details of the Station Inn, in Oxenholme, a six mile return walk, over hilly but stunning terrain, in the information file that you receive for the duration of your stay. The pub sells fantastic guest ales, and restaurant quality food, at pub food prices, well worth a visit.

The folder also details numerous walks from the site, giving directions and duration, and they are all brilliant! Word of warning, take a drink with you as there are no shops nearby.

The folder also contains locations and contact details for most things you may ever need during your stay, from Doctors and Vets, to Superstores and Taxi's.

All the pitches allow quick levelling of your outfit, on hard standing, with or without an awning. The site recycles, and waste disposal facilities are first class. The area in which the site is located, is stunning, rural, quiet, and un-spoilt. Feeding the ponies, and watching the sheep dogs being trained is delightful, and very relaxing.

The only thing think that could possibly improve the site is full service pitches, but since the site is small, and gently sloped, filling and emptying things takes little effort. The location in relation to travelling is also superb.

One morning we did some shopping at a Farmers Market in Sedbergh in the Yorkshire Dales, and then we ate lunch at Hawkshead in the Lake District!

It is a couple of miles from the M6, and less than 6 miles from Kendal, the 'Gateway to the Lakes'. Arrival time is 12. 30pm, please do not arrive earlier, as if you meet an outfit leaving, the local roads are narrow, leaving nowhere to go.

As advertised, this is a 5* adult only site, and a must if you want a quality stay, with 'shiny whistles and bells!' 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nottswhites 1 review from this member

 Have recently returned from a week long break at The Ashes and must say, what an excellent site for peace and quiet. Beautiful views of rolling hills and fields with little lambs.

The toilet blocks are immaculately kept and are cleaned every day. The showers were always hot and clean as the other inmates, sorry campers, clean up after themselves, and we never had to wait for a shower to be available.

We will definitely be going back at some time in the future. Must thank Paul the warden for his help in putting my awning up - cheers.

Would have given a score of 10 out of 10 but there was no breakfast in bed, ha ha.

The closest pub to the site is a 3 mile walk, and the nearest shop is about the same distance.

There is also a very friendly horse in the adjoining field, Chocolate Drop, who likes to come and say hello, and who is very partial to apples.

Give the site a go - perfect for the lakes, being just a few miles outside Kendal and Bowness on Windermere, with easy access from the M6 from either the North or the South. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Judy1 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 3 nights. Warden met us on arrival and showed us our pitch also showed us where everything was. Gave us a green folder to look at. (everything you need to know inside) Adult site only, very peaceful with some lovely walks straight from site. All facilities were spotless.

T. V. Reception very good. Bus for Kendal about 3/4 mile up quiet lane. We got local taxi (Mike)

Who picked us up from site entrance and took us to Kendal. 10 also let us take dog, Give us lots of info about Kendal. Great pub in Kendal, Rainbow Inn who lets dogs inside with you. Had a lovely lunch which was reasonably priced.

Farmer out twice a day with his sheep dog, was nice to watch

A Lovely site well looked after will definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Queeg 1 review from this member

 Just back from a 4 night stay at Ashes. What a fabulous site ! My wife and I have been caravanning for several years, but this site is the best we have stayed at by a large margin.

Facilities are spot on. Clean, modern, warm and a pleasure to use. Showers have hand rails dotted about which is very welcome for those of us with mobility problems.

On arrival the Warden greeted us at the gate and booked us in. We were supplied with a folder full of info on the surrounding area.

Straight away we could tell that this was a special place - it was so quiet we found ourselves whispering to each other for the first few minutes !

In response to the rather bizarre previous comments about sheep dog barking and being unable to sit outside - Yes, there are farm and countryside sounds, inc. Sheep bahhhing, cows mooooing, a rather nice horse called chocolate buttons neighing, and a little sheep dog training, but this is the whole point isn't it, getting away from Towns and cars and loud music and stress and enjoying the simpler, more natural sounds and rhythms of country life. And this site delivers that.

Will I be back? Damn right I will. I'll be booking another 4 nighter before the end of this season and I can't wait to get back there. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Edeeed 2 reviews from this member

 This site is adult only. It is very near to Kendal@it is easy access from the M6 junction 37.

There are lovely views from the site and different walks. The sheep dog training next door is nice watch.

The toilet and showers are very clean, water is easy to get and waste station is also very good.

On arrival a very handy folder with all the information anybody would need in it.

Kendal is approx 4 miles away with Windermere and the other Lakes with in easy access.

Owners and Wardens very helpful and friendly we will definitely return to this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lizandave 1 review from this member

 We have just returned home following a very relaxing and peaceful five day stay at Ashes. We found the site to be very well maintained with immaculate lawned areas. The toilet and shower facilities were spotlessly clean, and although there were only two ladies loos and a single toilet with disabled facilities, I never had to queue. The showers are clean with plenty of room for drying and dressing.

This is the first site I have been to where there is a dog exercise area where you can let the dog off the lead. It is only small, but it makes a difference to a dog when they can mooch around and have a sniff without the restraint of a lead! It is gated off and quite secure, so no problems. It is also the best site I have been to for television reception, but the owners have installed a signal booster. Also, wi-fi access can be provided at an extra modest fee.

There are some nice walks round about the site for a quiet evening stroll, and the whole area is just a haven of tranquillity.

The wardens have thoughtfully prepared a ring binder full of local information, including details of a pub a couple of miles away where a magnificent meal can be enjoyed (The Station Inn) and you can take a well behaved dog in there too.

If it suits your needs to go to a site for a peaceful, quiet break with stunning views, yet in a location which is a gateway to the whole of the Lakes and the Yorkshire Dales, you will not be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jaspergucci 27 reviews from this member

 The site is very clean and has stunning views.

The showers were very clean and it was a nice change to have 'proper' showers instead of the ones that you have to keep pushing a button!

The site itself we would give a 9/10, with the only downside being that the pitches are very close together, so if you erect an awning you have very little space to sit outside to enjoy the scenery.

However, a big drawback to this site is that in that adjacent field is a working farm with a very noisy dog that barked constantly and one night until 11. 30pm! and a farmer that blew a whistle (with a lot of shouting 'lay down') to train the dog to round up the sheep all day and all evening. It was so bad that we were unable to sit outside.

This spoilt what would be an idyllic site and would stop us from going again.

Owner's comment: We are quite shocked that a guest has made such negative comments regarding a local farmer training his sheepdog. The vast majority of guests find this a fascinating part of rural life that they are not normally witness to & most people really enjoy seeing real life in the countryside so prefer to sit outside to watch. Does not go on all afternoon & all evening however. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: August 2011 1 review from this member

 Disagree with sheep dog farmer complaint, nice to hear. Immaculate showers. Hair dryer in toilets, not in shower area and made washed hair difficult to dry.

Pitches a bit too tight, couldn't have a BBQ without effecting neighbour or sunbathe unless almost sat on part of road!

Information good for lake district but some information could be provided for Yorkshire Dales just 5 miles other side of motorway, and very pretty.

Kendal is a bit far away for the odd pint of milk one requires. A good site if you want to get away from it all and left to sort yourself out, reception open certain hours which makes site bit impersonal for me, but would suit some. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tyrone 19 reviews from this member

 Just returned from the tidiest, most immaculate campsite that we have stayed on to date.

We were only there for the weekend but it was long enough to discover the total peace and quiet that previous reviewers have mentioned. The toilets / showers are well finished and thoroughly cleaned every day.

The welcome is good, being shown where to pitch and presented with a folder packed with local information.

We spent most of a day exploring Kendal. Good shops, lots of pubs/ cafes, etc, etc. Back at the site there are loads of local walks around the lanes and bridleways.

The Lakes and the Howgills are close at hand. We aim to return soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dogs 14 reviews from this member

 An excellent site, enjoyed our stay. Toilet facilities are of the highest standard. Well managed by a knowledgeable warden who greeted us with a comprehensive file of walks, pubs, places to visit & eating places to suit all pockets.

Excellent views set in the lakes/dales countryside where sheep, horses & cattle graze in the small fields adjacent to the site.

Large supermarket only 4.5 miles away. Alas on the down side no dog bins on the dog walk. Plus there was no wash-up facility though.

The housekeeping here is of the highest standard.

Recommended 


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kendal      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3915 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement