Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park
New Hutton
(the Lake District)
Kendal
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA8 0AS
Tel: 01539 731833  or  07384 757195
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 24
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 87 Reviews
                9/10 from 87 Reviews

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  87 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PattyG368 1 review from this member

Ive been a camper, caravaner and motorhomer for most of my life and been to all kinds of sites on my travels. Ive seen the good, bad and very very ugly. This site falls into the good section and its a pleasure to review. Mostly flat hardstanding pitches with the usual water/waste disposal having easy access for all units. The shower and toilets are pristine with the floor of the shower being heated. There's a dog walk at the far end of the site which is big enough for the majority and the site itself is well lit through the middle and round the edges. The bus stop is less than a mile from the site or the local taxi will take you into Kendal for about 12. There's plenty of local information on offer via leaflets from the owners and the rolling hills are on standby on both sides of the site for panoramic views to accompany any activity. We were lucky enough to get a lift from the site owner into kendal for the food festival which was definitely worth a visit. We didn't visit the local pub but from what we hear its worth a look if that's what you're looking for. In conclusion, quiet, very well kept site on the edge of the Lakes. Ideal for adults who like to get their moneys worth as its not the cheapest but in this case you do get what you pay for.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lbarkas 78 reviews from this member

I can only echo previous reviewers in respect of the setting for this small but beautiful site - 360 degrees of scenic loveliness - the ultimate in getting away from it all by caravan. No wonder that several pitches are taken by seasonal caravans - it makes a wonderful bolt hole for weekends. We didn't venture too far during our 6-night stay as we had good weather and were content to chill out, but Kendal is close by for main shopping, though we did do a walk route taking us up to the castle and then across the other side of town. Good for cycling if you are prepared to climb a bit as there are plenty of quiet lanes where you are rewarded with stunning countryside views. Main let down was the wifi which was not cheap. To be fair, Alison did say that the company were coming out to deal with it, and for the first day or two it was decidedly sluggish then improved significantly before going downhill again on the day we left. She did say to go back to her if we had problems for a refund. For a paid service, they ought to be getting it better than this. If I'm being picky, the only other gripes would be that pitches are a little too close though our neighbours were no problem (the Caravan Club spoils you in this respect), and I am not a fan of electric showers preferring a bit more flow and control. Anyway, to sum up, we shall endeavour to feature The Ashes in future itineraries and definitely recommend to selected friends - we want to be sure of a pitch!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Campers2 6 reviews from this member

Great quiet site, tucked, in a small village, away from everything. All the facilities are kept immaculate, very friendly people, leaving you in peace, unless approached. We had a pitch very near to the toilet block, which seemed to be smaller than other pitches, but fine for a small Motorhome. Fee's are quite high though, but worth it, for the views. We loved it here and no doubt will visit again.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Starry639 7 reviews from this member

This is possibly THE most peaceful campsite I have ever stayed at. It's a fairly small site with extremely well kept pastry cut lawns and attention to detail. The shower/ toilet block, whislt small (two toilets per gender and two showers in total) are hotel quality. Even in an old caravan like ours we felt that there was a touch of luxery to the camping experience. The owner, Alison I believe, was helpful and gave us a folder with lots of local information, including dog walks but there is a small grassed area for your dogs to have a quick pee. As a previous reviewer noted we were able to watch a local farmer training sheepdogs which was pretty interesting. The site is a good base for exploring the south lakes and I would certainly recommend Bob Carlson for some fly fishing tuition. One issue we had was the internet. It was fairly pricey and intermittent. It took three hours to watch an hour and a half film. Alison did explain that the internet was down but when it came back on it wasn't the best connection. I would recommend that if you need the internet then get a pitch opposite the flowerbeds. That said, it didn't detract from the whole experience, which was delightful.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Landyacht 1 review from this member

This is a lovely site in a beautiful setting. The owners made us most welcome, and the warden was very friendly and helpful, particularly getting me out of trouble when I had a flat battery.

The site, the toilets and showers were all kept in spotless condition. A couple of extra water points would have been useful, but that is only a suggestion. I will most certainly be coming back again.

What I would say is that if one wants an immaculate site that is restful and friendly with great views, then Ashes comes second to none.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sos2301 20 reviews from this member

This is a lovely tranquil site, not far from the motorway, Kendal or the yorkshire moors.

We stayed for 7 night and it was lovely, very well kept, toilets and showers were always clean, our only small concern was the amount of showers and mens loos, when the site is full these did become busy, we did choose our time to shower when we did not have to wait but another shower and mens loo would make this perfect, having said this it would not stop us recommending or staying here again.

Please follow the instructions given by the site regarding directions as the lanes are narrow.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Generator 3 reviews from this member

Terrific rural views and a very tidy well maintained site with hard standings. Toilets also very clean with free showers and in good condition. Set in a quiet countryside surrounding with very few vehicles hence no noise apart from a few animals in the fields. Good for walking or cycling and only a touch hilly in places, a really good stopover site for travelling north/south but also good for a few peaceful days in the country.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynn1970 6 reviews from this member

This was our first trip with our newly bought touring caravan so was really a tester weekend as the site is only half an hour away from home.

When we arrived the owner showed to us our pitch and gave us a folder full of information on the local area which was a really lovely idea.

Considering we were so near home, we could have been anywhere, the site was so quiet and peaceful and had beautiful views.

Facilities were excellent and very clean, site was also immaculate, not a spot of rubbish anywhere and grass cut beautiful.

We will definitely return here again and again, it is a shame it's adults only as our children would have loved it here, but it was also nice for a nice relaxing child free weekend, so relaxing.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pinkfloyd 19 reviews from this member

Excellent site just 10 mins drive from M6 J37. Park itself is kept immaculate at all times and easy to see the owners are caravanning people themselves which shows in every detail. Lovely welcome and nothing too much trouble. Pitches are hard standings and lovely, spotless toilets/showers. The tranquillity and peace of the park is priceless, only distant sounds come from the surrounding farmlands. Will most definitely consider this park in future and will heartily recommend it. Very close to Kendal and Sedburgh is also well worth a visit too.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Skybaily 3 reviews from this member

This site is in the middle of nowhere yet only 4 miles from the lovely town of Kendal,

The site itself is kept immaculate at all times, hard standing pitches some with tv points although there is a tv booster on the toilet block so just point your aerial there and you get all channels and a very good reception.

Toilets and showers were immaculate at all times including the disabled toilet.

There is a small dog walking area which is fenced in so dogs can roam free.

The site owners were very friendly and helpful and at hand at all times even providing you with a green folder which has all the important information in it, doctors, shops etc.

Access is through a barrier which has a numeric keypad for entry and automatic opening for leaving.

If you want a site that is clean, peaceful and friendly then this is for you, at 22 per night some may find it a touch expensive but its a lovely place and help is on hand at all times, I will be going again next year.

Previous     87 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2827 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019