Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Kendal > Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park Reviews

Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park
New Hutton
(the Lake District)
Kendal
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA8 0AS
Tel: 01539 731833  or  07818424994
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 135 Reviews
                9/10 from 135 Reviews

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JANE14 11 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from this fantastic site. Owners and wardens could not have been more welcoming and very helpful.

We really enjoyed as it is a adults only site.

The toilet blocks are the best we have ever seen, the whole site is immaculate. If anything the pitches could be slightly wider especially if you wanted to put an awning up.

We are looking forward to a much longer stay next year,hopefully it won't be so wet next time! 


Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lyndeyloo 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely fantastic in every way - easily accessible from M6 and what a gem! This was our first outing with our caravan and picked this site because of the fantastic reviews and accessible location and we were definitely not disappointed.

We arrived in the most horrendous weather to a cheerful, friendly welcome and a file packed with tourist information. Through the wind and rain, Alison guided us on to our pitch and gave us time to explain and point out the facilities.

The modern toilet and shower block (like the whole site) were always immaculate. How nice that everything worked as it should and was always so clean! The grounds are kept equally as pleasant - well kept grass and attractive borders. Upon each departure the hard standing was even freshly raked.

A reassuring feature of this site is the barriers for entry and exit - with a new caravan with every security device fitted possible, this was the icing on the cake!

All in all, a lovely, small, friendly site in a beautiful, peaceful location - thank you for a memorable stay and we look forward to our next visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rangergirl 1 review from this member

 We were delighted to discover this wonderful site which is set in beautiful countryside near Kendal. There are plenty of easy walks from the site and enjoyable excursions to the pretty towns of Kendal, Sedbergh and Kirby Lonsdale aswell as the fells of the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales.

The friendly owners keep the site immaculate and well run. The pitches have delightful views and are extremely well mantained. There is a very smart toilet block which is the cleanest site facility that we have ever seen. We will certainly be back soon and would recommend the Ashes to others - but you need to book early as it is so popular. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shineonyoucrazy 5 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from yet another lovely stay at The Ashes. This is a little gem of a site if you like peaceful surroundings and clean facilities.

Luckily the weather was kind to us after all the torrential rain there has been this summer and we even enjoyed a little sunshine.

Having just read the review below we think some of the comments are a little unfair. We have been to this site a lot and will continue to return, rain or shine! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Brian Liz - Rhyl 2 reviews from this member

 Found site to be very clean and ideally sited for all of Cumbria and Yorks. Dales. But downsides -were - site sloped both ways, estimated 10 feet in length over 13 pitches and estimated 3 feet across its width. Reviewer 'Tres' in 2007 mentioned flooding of pitch 13. We experienced 2 bad floods on pitch 16 with 2 mini rivers flowing through our awning and having to lift things off the floor in our 1 week stay. Also occupants of pitch 13 left after 3 days of a 2 week stay due to same problem and pitch 14 had same problem but were still on site when we left. Told by occupant of pitch 17 that same problem had occurred several days before our arrival. On site warden and on site owner not to be seen during floods (at night) and no info given by owner of flooding occurrences at times of booking or arrival. After booking some 4 months earlier and asking for a nice pitch I was told 'all pitches are nice'.

Must admit that following mornings after the heavy rains/storms, water had all but disappeared. Also good point - superb TV signal boosted by on site relay system. Pitches, hard standing were not over spacious if you had the regular 2.5/2.8 meter awning and car was on grass.Refuse point was outside excellent barriers but perhaps too far away. Good access road although anti clockwise. Only 1 sit down toilet cubicle in gents but spotless. Kendal only just down the road by car for other facilities and provisions. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Watson69 4 reviews from this member

 Spent several days at this site whilst touring the lakes and then Scotland. It was the best site we stayed at over the whole two weeks.We were greeted by the wardens on arrival and shown to our pitch. The pitches were a good size with plenty of room for our camper and awning (you will need rock pegs if pitching an awning -warden sells them if like us you forget)and an additional grassed area for a car or in our case trailer with motorbike. Plenty of space between each pitch and beautiful tranquil surroundings.

We were a little concerned when told there were only two showers, although this is a small site it didn't sound enough. However it wasn't a problem at all and even if there had been a little waiting around we wouldn't have cared as the quality was excellent. We were treated to a whole heated room with a shower cubicle better than ours at home and plenty of space to get changed - no balancing on one foot trying to keep dry and get dressed. Toilets were immaculate too.Personally we enjoyed the peace and quite of no children running around too.The only slight problem we had was the lack of a local shop for milk etc.Supermarket near Kendal was closest - 10 min drive.

Friendly, welcoming wardens, great surroundings, peace and quite and fantastic facilities.Would highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thorls 5 reviews from this member

 What a superb site, visited in June and was met by Bruce and Celia the wardens who help you on to your pitch, they are on duty Sat Sun and Monday. The Owners of the site then take over for the rest of the week who are also very helpful. The site is Immaculate and very peaceful, check out the sheep dog trial training near to pitch 13 in the evenings.
Toilet and Shower facilities consist of 2xLadies wc cubicles, 1x Gents wc & urinal also 2 unisex individual room showers where you have complete privacy once inside, also 1x unisex wc self contained also for disabled. These facilities are without doubt the cleanest I have ever come across. When a caravan leaves the site Bruce rakes the gravel area ready for the next visitor!
Kendal shopping centre is quite large and situated about 4 to 5 miles away with Asda being the closest Supermarket. The Station Inn pub is about 2 mls away serves nice food I would recommend this site and mark it as 10 out of 10 ! 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lita 9 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we have been here and would return again.
No children playing football or running around caravans just the sound of birds and sheep and the odd low flying plane. This is a site where you can relax and enjoy the views and watch the farmer train his sheepdogs.
The showers are proper showers no push buttons, you can adjust the water temp to your own liking. As you would expect on a adults only they are very clean as are the toilets. The pitches are spacious and you dont feel that you are close to the next caravan. The wardens and the owners are very helpful giving you a green folder on arrival with lots of info in it that is very useful. The site is not far from the M6 or Kendal and is easy to get to. We found that it was a good base to go sightseeing around the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales. 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sandils 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week of peace at this site. Was welcomed by site weekend warden Colin who gave us a green folder full of local info and places to visit, the info included postcodes handy if you have a navigator. The site was very smart with lovely views.

Had some lovely lunches in Kendal 10 mins away although we also had the worse takeaway curry from the indian near the river so be warned.

My only gripe about the site was the lack of a mirror in the spotless showers.Just wish we had more of these sites in Scotland.

Just remember to take your levelling blocks( although they even sell them on site)as all pitches are sloping. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tres 5 reviews from this member

 Well all has been said in previous posts, took the words out of my mouth, truly lovely site. Due to these reviews we decided to spend 8 days at the Ashes, we were not disappointed. Only one tiny gripe as we were on pitch 13 at the bottom of site and all the rain that was had, and it was torrential, flooded our awning, but have to say drained away pretty quickly. So ordinarily think drainage would have been adequate.
 
Thoroughly enjoyed watching and listening to the Farmer training sheepdogs over the wall, stunning views, the best pitch on the site in my opinion. Friendly owners and wardens.
Good location.
 
And well worth a visit and we will be returning. 


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kendal      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2837 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement