Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Kendal > Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park Reviews

Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park
New Hutton
(the Lake District)
Kendal
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA8 0AS
Tel: 01539 731833  or  07818424994
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 135 Reviews
                9/10 from 135 Reviews

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mondeocort 43 reviews from this member

 Our 1st long weekend of the season so chose this very local to us adults only site. Very easy access and welcoming wardens. Small site and small pitches, hardstanding room enough for van and awning or in some cases just the van. Cars parked on grass next to pitch which in the inclement weather we have just endured got churned up a bit. Beautiful back drop of rolling fields and hillside and no road noise, the only noise was that of the sheep, lambs and birds tweeting. Due to the severe weather apocalypse we had, very strong winds and extremely heavy rain meant the loss of our small porch awning, the pegs remained but the fibreglass poles didn't survive the onslaught. Now we know for future reference that a more substantial winter awning would be better for this exposed hillside retreat. Minimal shower facilities, but only a small site so not a problem for us as we use our own facilities more over. The site was well maintained with very short grass, no weeds on hardstanding that I saw anyway and communal areas spotless. Lovely area in the middle of site comprising of flowers / shrubbery and a couple of picnic benches. Lots of bridlepaths to walk the dogs along and most are well signposted and in the information pack given on arrival, lots of local info for activity ideas and places to visit. Will visit again but be more mindful of the weather forecast as the winds really didn't make for a very comfortable restful evening with the van rocking like it did. Would recommend the Station Inn at Oxenholme for a wonderful sunday lunch. I would happily stay again, a weekend is long enough here for us but being only 40mins away from home, and ideal quick and easy get away. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynm 86 reviews from this member

 This small but perfectly formed site is in an awesome setting & even though it is only 3 miles from the motorway it is so peaceful.

Loved the concrete places for tyres as caravan was level. Loved the underfloor heating in the showers with lashings of hot water. Lots and lots of places to go. Try Wray Castle an unusual property. We went to Cartmel, home of the famous sticky toffee pudding well worth a visit. This was a 41/2 trip for us us from home to site but worth it. We will be back and stay longer too. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chris5448 34 reviews from this member

 Another night stopover on our way to the Hebrides. This site is so convienant to the M6 but you wouldn't think so as it's surrounded by farmland. The campsite is beautifully kept. The showers etc are spotless. The small enclosed dog run is excellent for 3 excited terriorists to let off some steam. A warm welcome from the wardens too. We have decided that next time we'll spend more than one night in this hidden little gem. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: J-n-R 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed at The Ashes for 7 nights as the major part of our three week tour Up North. The owners and the wardens are all very friendly and helpful, and between them they keep this small site looking immaculate. The facilities are all well looked after and are just about right for a site with only 24 pitches.

If you are looking for a small site that is nestled in rolling hills then you need look no further. It is well placed just a few miles from the M6 and Kendal with its good selection of shops is only ten minutes away. The lakes Windermere and Coniston are only a short drive away, so The Ashes is not far from the beautiful scenery of the Lake District.

National Trust must dos are a trip on the Steam Yacht Gondola on Coniston Water, and the old farm house Townend at Troutbeck near Windermere. Just north west of Kendal is Plumgarths Farm shop which is very good for fresh meats, eggs, fresh bread baked by the Artisan bakers and cakes from the cafe. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DandT 25 reviews from this member

 We stayed at the Ashes twice. We had three nights there on the way up to Scotland and were happy to stop there again for one night on the way home. This is an immaculately maintained site, very tranquil in a lovely setting of rolling hills. The only noise was from the lambs in an adjacent field and a nearby farmer who spent many hours training sheepdogs.

The grounds are beautifully kept. The site is on a slope and so the owners have built strategically positioned concrete slabs into the pitches so as to ensure that caravans will always be level. Nice touch and a very simple idea.

The toilet and shower block is small but very clean and maintained to a very high standard.

The dog walk is a very small area at the bottom end of the site and so any meaningful exercise for your dog would need to be off site.

The owners and wardens are very friendly and helpful. We would thoroughly recommend the site for a stay or as a stopover as it is only about 2 mies from the motorway and 5 from Kendal. All in all a lovely little site 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Admiral 35 reviews from this member

 Spent a week here at this Adults Only site near Kendal on the edge of the Lake District. Really easy to find as its only 3 miles from Jct 37 of the M6, but you wouldn't think so as it was so peaceful, the only sounds we heard all week were from the sheep and cows in the surrounding fields. Good size flat handstanding pitch with inset concrete areas for the wheels of the van to go on. I can see the idea behind this but it did cause us problems with our porch awning as it meant that we couldn't get it right next to the van because our rock pegs to guy it down wouldn't go through concrete so there was a gap between the edge of the awning and the van. Wardens provided us with a pack of information which was really useful and we added to it during the week. Facilities were good and always clean, showers hot and quite powerful and come with underfloor heating. I do have slight niggle with the showers though - there was only 2 which is a reasonable number for the site, but they open directly on to the outside so if they had been occupied there is nowhere to wait which could be an issue if it was raining (which being the Lake District it does quite often). Paid WiFi was available (reasonable cost I suppose) and the TV signal was excellent. In summary a nice site and we would return if we were in the area again. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GandK 3 reviews from this member

 Wow

Stayed for 3 nights at this gorgeous site. We were met at the gate by Alison and she went through the details about the site and handed us a folder with a lot of info about the area.

The site is beautifully kept. Pitches and grounds are perfect. The ablutions are second to none and the hot showers are free! TV signal is retransmitted and delivers a perfect signal.

My only grip is the cost of the WiFi but luckily when strategically placed we got 3g

Thank you for a lovely, peaceful stay.

Definitely recommended to all. 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: C+k1809 4 reviews from this member

 Well signposted and easy to find, this is a small quiet campsite but well looked after and in a nice location with great views of the countryside.

Our pitch had been constructed to be level (some others looked to be done similarly) even though the site was on a slope, which was a nice touch and saved getting the blocks out and levelling up ourselves

Showers & toilets were clean and well maintained as well as laundry & washing areas (although didn't use these).

Only stayed the one night but thought this was a pleasant site and good value for money 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PattyG368 1 review from this member

 Ive been a camper, caravaner and motorhomer for most of my life and been to all kinds of sites on my travels. Ive seen the good, bad and very very ugly. This site falls into the good section and its a pleasure to review. Mostly flat hardstanding pitches with the usual water/waste disposal having easy access for all units. The shower and toilets are pristine with the floor of the shower being heated. There's a dog walk at the far end of the site which is big enough for the majority and the site itself is well lit through the middle and round the edges. The bus stop is less than a mile from the site or the local taxi will take you into Kendal for about 12. There's plenty of local information on offer via leaflets from the owners and the rolling hills are on standby on both sides of the site for panoramic views to accompany any activity. We were lucky enough to get a lift from the site owner into kendal for the food festival which was definitely worth a visit. We didn't visit the local pub but from what we hear its worth a look if that's what you're looking for. In conclusion, quiet, very well kept site on the edge of the Lakes. Ideal for adults who like to get their moneys worth as its not the cheapest but in this case you do get what you pay for. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lbarkas 84 reviews from this member

 I can only echo previous reviewers in respect of the setting for this small but beautiful site - 360 degrees of scenic loveliness - the ultimate in getting away from it all by caravan. No wonder that several pitches are taken by seasonal caravans - it makes a wonderful bolt hole for weekends. We didn't venture too far during our 6-night stay as we had good weather and were content to chill out, but Kendal is close by for main shopping, though we did do a walk route taking us up to the castle and then across the other side of town. Good for cycling if you are prepared to climb a bit as there are plenty of quiet lanes where you are rewarded with stunning countryside views. Main let down was the wifi which was not cheap. To be fair, Alison did say that the company were coming out to deal with it, and for the first day or two it was decidedly sluggish then improved significantly before going downhill again on the day we left. She did say to go back to her if we had problems for a refund. For a paid service, they ought to be getting it better than this. If I'm being picky, the only other gripes would be that pitches are a little too close though our neighbours were no problem (the Caravan Club spoils you in this respect), and I am not a fan of electric showers preferring a bit more flow and control. Anyway, to sum up, we shall endeavour to feature The Ashes in future itineraries and definitely recommend to selected friends - we want to be sure of a pitch! 


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kendal      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3615 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement