Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Kendal > Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park Reviews

Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park
New Hutton
(the Lake District)
Kendal
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA8 0AS
Tel: 01539 731833  or  07384 757195
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 24
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 91 Reviews
                9/10 from 91 Reviews

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  91 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking later in the season or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: March 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Gorey1 1 review from this member

 Excellent site with clean toilets and showers.

Beautiful, stunning scenery of surrounding countryside. Lovely and. Peaceful.

A little gem. Only a short drive from Kendal. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Evmbry56859voy 1 review from this member

 A very pleasant and friendly site. Very clean facilities.

Easy to find and getting in and out of site with twin wheel caravan was easy enough.

The proprietor, Valerie, was very helpful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dannyc7656wqe 1 review from this member

 Lovely rural site approx 26 pitches and adult only. Approx 12 pitches are seasonal. Was full over the holiday weekend but on the Wednesday we ended with site nearly to ourselves.

Immaculately kept and spotless toilets and showers, wish could say same of some over sites. Warden Christine and her husband very friendly.

Only 2 miles from M6 junction so no tugging through the busy Lakes roads.

Only disadvantage is you do need to drive for drink or meal etc as site is very rural.

Be good if owner could ask farmer to get quieter sheep and cattle. 😁😁 One problem not sites, is us tourists make the Lakes very busy especially on holiday weekend. However go west and you have the quieter Yorkshire Dales close by. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rmfdevon 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely location close to main roads and short drive from Kendal. Small site with small facilities, but they were immaculate.

Very peaceful, friendly warden. Level pitch 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: ALH1 8 reviews from this member

 I donít really think this site qualifies as a 5*, donít get me wrong it was pleasant enough but to warrant five star I think there should be services to the pitches which were really quite small maybe free Wi-Fi.

The shower block was immaculate and the water lovely and hot, underfloor heating but only two shower rooms, both unisex and only two toilets in each of the ladies and gents. If the campsite was full there could be a problem. Main bugbear was the EHU, this was only 10 amp and tripped very easily without using many appliances.

We tried a couple of walks from the door but failed miserably due to what I can only assume is awkward farmers not showing where the footpath should go and, on one occasion, a sign saying footpath closed, no reason and no alternative given!

On the other hand the cycling was great and managed to clock up nearly 200 miles in three days.

There is one pub around 2 miles away but canít comment as we didnít visit and no shops. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lita 9 reviews from this member

 The campsite is very quiet surrounded by fields, it is kept very tidy. There is only two showers, two toilets in the ladies, and according to husband one toilet and one urinal in the men's these were kept very clean. If you are going to be late arriving make sure you have essentials as it is eight miles to Morrisons or Asda there are no village shops nearby.

The information pack was ok for info about the Lake District but didn't have any general info about pubs, takeaways, caravan accessory shops(which we needed) supermarkets.

I got the feeling that the site is more suitable for stopover or short stays the pitches are very small not suitable for full awnings you feel very hemmed in. We had booked for ten days but came home early this was partly due to me not being very well and partly due to the pitches. Would I go back, maybe but only for a weekend. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart l 90 reviews from this member

 Stopped here for an overnight break on the way to Scotland, mainly because the Camping Club site wouldn't take a one night booking. How glad we were! The Ashes is a little gem of a site!

The site is about a mile down a narrow lane not too far from the M6 and overlooks beautiful lakeland countryside. Were met at the site entrance by the resident warden and assisted to our pitch. Very peaceful.

Although the amenity block is small it seemed to cope with the demands on it from a full quota of caravans. At £23 for one night it seemed quite reasonable. It is Adults only - brilliant!

There is a pub that serves meals about 2 miles away at Oxenholme, although car parking was an issue when we went.

We must go back to The Ashes next year! 


Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note this site has reopened under new ownership for 2018 following a brief closure during 2017 whilst for sale. The site is once more taking bookings for the 2018 season onwards 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mark and tracy jone 10 reviews from this member

 Lovely, clean and very quiet (except for the sound of cows and sheep)

Toilets and separate shower block both very clean - we really enjoyed a nice and relaxing break and would definitely return when we next feel the need to holiday up in Kendal. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Outdoorlass 4 reviews from this member

 Mixed feelings about this site, there's excellent points and not so good points.

The Good Points

Lovely, friendly and helpful welcome

Stunning views of the surrounding hills & livestock

Friendly & very helpful fellow caravanners

Handy for Kendal for supplies

Concrete levellers on the pitches, as site is sloping

Clean loos, didn't use showers (used van)

Site, pretty, very well manicured & maintained

Handy green folder with lots of information in, which proved useful

Beautiful horse just over the wall to watch

The Bad Points

Pitches very small and very on top of each other, giving a hemmed in feeling

No noise policy until after 9am a bit over the top, 9am is quite late for campers, we needed water as we had sprung a leak late the night before & having been up since 6am, felt a long time to wait to get water for a brew, very silly rule.

Pitches very tight to get in and out of without going on the grass, not just us, saw others struggle too

Dog walk area, very small, with no dog poop bin, dog mess was to be bagged and then walked up the hill to the main rubbish area and thrown into heavy lidded biffa style bins, tricky while your'e trying to hold onto a dog and the bins are quite high. (also tricky to do quietly)

Cows mooing although nice for some, one morning the noise was very loud indeed, also lots of barking dogs noise late night and early morning from local farm, which was a bit annoying considering the no noise until after 9am policy

No mobile phone or 3G on 02 (expected issue) bought their wifi which constantly logged you out of your'e devise

TV signal for us was extremely poor, we ended up buying an ariel from asda.

A bit on the expensive side for the amount of facilities, but its the lake district, so I guess you're paying for that alone

Surrounding area is beautiful a real getaway, bridle paths to walk dogs along, however are quite overgrown and a bit rocky and trecherouse, so be mindful of that. The lane is quiet enough to walk along though, just the odd car and tractor.

Access roads to site are very narrow, but traffic very little coming the opposite way, so didn't pose too much of a problem.

Would we stay again? Probably, despite the issues, I would however avoid pitch 11 which is sited right next to chemical toilet disposal point and the water tap. Would also wait to see if the no noise policy before 9am was dropped. 


Previous     91 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kendal      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1582 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020