Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Kendal > Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park Reviews

Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park
New Hutton
(the Lake District)
Kendal
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA8 0AS
Tel: 01539 731833  or  07818424994
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 135 Reviews
                9/10 from 135 Reviews

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Poulter3407 9 reviews from this member

 This was our 2nd visit to The Ashes and we were not disappointed. This is a very quiet site, infact on an evening it was that peaceful you could hear the cows chewing the grass! The site is well laid out with ample sized pitches and all amenities close by.

The toilet and showers were very clean and there was always ample hot water. The nearest supermarket was 20 minute drive away, and a car was needed to visit areas of interest. Locally the site is in a very small village with no shop etc but there were lots of local walks through out the local country side. I would recommend this site to those who like their peace and quiet. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Moonfrog 12 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely immaculate site and just the thing if you want a quiet few days away or as a stop off while travelling.

After reading other reviews I was a bit worried about the toilets/showers but even when the site was full I never had to wait for either, and they were always very clean and plenty of hot water.

You are issued with a very helpful information pack when you arrive which I found very useful. This site is very dog friendly,

I would recommend this site to anyone and will be going back again. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Koakey 9 reviews from this member

 What a lovely, well kept friendly little sight. Very accessible from the M6 motorway. The staff were extremely helpful and kept the site immaculate.

Toilets and showers were among the best we have seen. If you have a pitch on the right hand side be prepared to feed the horse, he has a preference for apples and carrots!

Look forward to returning in the future. Not only are the southern lakes only minutes away so is the Yorkshire Dales National Park, within a short drive away. The small village of Dent is well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rebel62 1 review from this member

 Certainly a very well-ordered, immaculate site and uncannily quiet! Our only gripe is that the toilet facilities, though spotless, are small and limited, as others have mentioned. My wife was unable to get any hot water from the shower. But maybe she wasn't patient enough! The big disadvantage is that there are no washing-up/laundry facilities. I guess that most people on sites like this have posh vans with their own facilities, but not everyone does and anyway we prefer communal facilities. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hughandpenny 23 reviews from this member

 Three nights stayed Friday to Monday March 2011

Firstly the good things:-

Booking was easy and accurate, good directions given and its easy to find. On arrival instruction given re layout of site and amenities and the rules of the site which are clear and precise, with a diagram of how to place caravan on pitch. The level concrete pads for wheels being a good clue. The owners and warden being helpful and available.

The site is very well kept, clean and tidy.It is quiet and views very good. The toilet block has two showers which are clean and well finished. The gents comprises 1 loo and 1 urinal and I am told the ladies is two loo's. There is a third easy access toilet to the rear of the building.

The downside (for us anyway) was many pitches in a small area which felt on top of one another.

Overall a good campsite but for us a little cramped 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Darrylwebb 40 reviews from this member

 As others have said, this is a very quiet and peaceful site. It's small, with only a couple of dozen pitches containing various touring units.

But it is immaculately maintained, both the grounds and the superb washroom facilities. There are only 2 shower rooms, but as it's a small site, that seems reasonably adequate. But the showers are excellent : you'd be happy if your own bathroom was as well finished.

Definitely receives my 'shower on the trip' award

It's situated only 2.5 miles from the M6 on the road to Kendal, but it's in a superbly rural location. Would make a superb stopover if travelling up or down the country.

You'll feel like you're already in the Yorkshire Dales. The only sounds were the birds in the trees and the sheep in the nearby fields.

Also very secure, with coded gates, and as it's adult-only, it's very peaceful. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Piffy57 37 reviews from this member

 Excellent site if you want total peace and quiet. To get there follow the sites instructions not a sat nave or you will finish up on someone's drive.

On arrival we were met by one of the owners. Quick check in and we were set up with 30 mins. The washrooms are small but very well looked after, as is the site.

There was an area at the bottom of the site to exercise the dog.

Kendal is about 15 mins away by car and is the best one way system I have ever been in!

Local pub? Try the Station Hotel at Oxenholme. Great food and a very well run pub too.

Would I go back to the Ashes? Yes most definitely. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ribbed Tickler 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet & peaceful site, not far from the main attractions of the Lake District. The warden on site even helped me park up the van, as I'm not too god with reversing yet!

Small toilet blocks, but always immaculate with good showers & plenty of room inside.

Dog walk is small, and maybe not ideal for more active dogs, but it does the job first thing in the morning when your dog is sat at the caravan door crossing her legs!

Definitely worth a visit, and there are enough shops / supermarket nearby to not really miss a shop on site. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carolbay 11 reviews from this member

 Site not far off M6 which is convenient for stopover on way to Scotland.

Site was pretty and very clean as were the toilets and showers. Only two ladies' cubicles and two washbasins so was very cosy. I prefer a larger room with more facilities. Thoughtful provision of spray air freshener, did not need to use my own! Friendly and helpful owners and wardens with comprehensive information folders.

Missed not having a small shop or sale of bread and milk in reception area. Forget anything and it is a car ride away. Peaceful and nice scenery with cows arriving on the adjacent hill every morning. Suit campers who like to get away from it all.  


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: VixMix 8 reviews from this member

 Stopped here on the road home to break up the journey. Ended up staying 2 nights. A very busy site. It put the full up sign up shortly after we arrived and for every van that moved on, another replaced it soon after!

Nice setting in the hills just outside Kendal. Very handy for the town and surround Lakes area. Just off the M6 so its a very handy stop over for onward travel. Asda very near the site and the local pub was welcoming and had lovely food, however a long walk (only a couple minutes drive tho).

This site is very well kept, the toilet block is immaculate. The toilet is small but well laid out and warm. There is a TV booster which worked brilliantly, just extended the Status ariel in the 'van and connected the Freeview and got a great digital signal.

I will definitely be staying here again. 


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kendal      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3223 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement