Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Kendal > Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park Reviews

Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park
New Hutton
(the Lake District)
Kendal
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA8 0AS
Tel: 01539 731833  or  07818424994
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 135 Reviews
                9/10 from 135 Reviews

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stuart l 90 reviews from this member

 Stopped here for an overnight break on the way to Scotland, mainly because the Camping Club site wouldn't take a one night booking. How glad we were! The Ashes is a little gem of a site!

The site is about a mile down a narrow lane not too far from the M6 and overlooks beautiful lakeland countryside. Were met at the site entrance by the resident warden and assisted to our pitch. Very peaceful.

Although the amenity block is small it seemed to cope with the demands on it from a full quota of caravans. At 23 for one night it seemed quite reasonable. It is Adults only - brilliant!

There is a pub that serves meals about 2 miles away at Oxenholme, although car parking was an issue when we went.

We must go back to The Ashes next year! 


Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note this site has reopened under new ownership for 2018 following a brief closure during 2017 whilst for sale. The site is once more taking bookings for the 2018 season onwards 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mark and tracy jone 11 reviews from this member

 Lovely, clean and very quiet (except for the sound of cows and sheep)

Toilets and separate shower block both very clean - we really enjoyed a nice and relaxing break and would definitely return when we next feel the need to holiday up in Kendal. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Outdoorlass 4 reviews from this member

 Mixed feelings about this site, there's excellent points and not so good points.

The Good Points

Lovely, friendly and helpful welcome

Stunning views of the surrounding hills & livestock

Friendly & very helpful fellow caravanners

Handy for Kendal for supplies

Concrete levellers on the pitches, as site is sloping

Clean loos, didn't use showers (used van)

Site, pretty, very well manicured & maintained

Handy green folder with lots of information in, which proved useful

Beautiful horse just over the wall to watch

The Bad Points

Pitches very small and very on top of each other, giving a hemmed in feeling

No noise policy until after 9am a bit over the top, 9am is quite late for campers, we needed water as we had sprung a leak late the night before & having been up since 6am, felt a long time to wait to get water for a brew, very silly rule.

Pitches very tight to get in and out of without going on the grass, not just us, saw others struggle too

Dog walk area, very small, with no dog poop bin, dog mess was to be bagged and then walked up the hill to the main rubbish area and thrown into heavy lidded biffa style bins, tricky while your'e trying to hold onto a dog and the bins are quite high. (also tricky to do quietly)

Cows mooing although nice for some, one morning the noise was very loud indeed, also lots of barking dogs noise late night and early morning from local farm, which was a bit annoying considering the no noise until after 9am policy

No mobile phone or 3G on 02 (expected issue) bought their wifi which constantly logged you out of your'e devise

TV signal for us was extremely poor, we ended up buying an ariel from asda.

A bit on the expensive side for the amount of facilities, but its the lake district, so I guess you're paying for that alone

Surrounding area is beautiful a real getaway, bridle paths to walk dogs along, however are quite overgrown and a bit rocky and trecherouse, so be mindful of that. The lane is quiet enough to walk along though, just the odd car and tractor.

Access roads to site are very narrow, but traffic very little coming the opposite way, so didn't pose too much of a problem.

Would we stay again? Probably, despite the issues, I would however avoid pitch 11 which is sited right next to chemical toilet disposal point and the water tap. Would also wait to see if the no noise policy before 9am was dropped. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Podbods 13 reviews from this member

 This is a well maintained site. Slopes down from the toilets near the top to the bottom pitches, so an uphill walk to the toilets/showers. Pitches have concrete pads/slabs to locate wheels on to help with levelling. Need transport as quite out of the way

Sheep in one field and cows in the other, we could also watch some sheepdog training, which was interesting. TV reception not too great. Had to pay for wifi card which is a bit much given the price per night.

Toilets, showers and pot wash were all immaculate. However, only 2 showers for the whole site which was inconvenient when it was almost full. Also only 2 toilets in Gents' and Ladies' and no clothes washing facilities. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vonniepanda 1 review from this member

 We had a fantastic stay at this beautiful part of the country, it was so we could see friends who live in kendal. We gave them a ring to see if we could go a day early and they were very accommodatin.

Alison was lovely and very helpful, places to go etc. Alison and hubby keep the site extremely neat and tidy, the one and only thing that they were lacking was somewhere to wash our laundry, even if it was just a sink because there isn't enough room in our van sink. We went to Morecambe had a lovely walk along the front and a smashing lunch at frankie&bennys, great lunch and would definitely recommend it.

We had a day at Cartmel, what a quaint village, very reasonable parking prices. We spent an hour or two looking around the priory, we went for a cuppa and a slice of almond tart at a lovely cafe called the mallard cafe, very popular with the locals apparently, very busy place. We visited the brewery, the cheese and bakery, had some lovely tasting sessions 😊, we also went to Lancaster, we went to the Vue cinema to watch the new startrek movie, comfy seats and great film, although they charge plenty to see it and too much for popcorn, way too much. We also had some time with our friends. We love kendal and the surrounding area.

We would definitely recommend ashes site to anyone who wants a lovely quiet and relaxing holiday all that wakes you up is the sheel bas, cows moos and the birdsong. Perfect xx 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Manj 17 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a week recently and could not fault it at all. We were welcomed by the friendly owner and directed to our pitch. All the pitches are round the perimeter with a well kept grassy garden area in the middle.

Facilities were spotless at all times. Only a few miles from Kendal and a short drive to the lakes. If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing break this site certainly fits the bill. Would certainly return if in the area again. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ClaireWillby 6 reviews from this member

 Nice clean well laid out site. Facilities were spotless. Surroundings and views were lovely. Very peaceful and a short hop from the M6. This was our first visit but am sure it won't be the last. I also thought the information folder was a nice touch full of useful leaflets of places to visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Futumch 4 reviews from this member

 This beautifully keps site was our location for the May Bank holiday weekend.

The site is well laid out on a gentle slope with a large landscape garden in the centre, creating a pleasant outlook from all pitches.

The pitches are gravel hard standing with two concrete pads for wheels. With our van parked on these we had perfect level side to side. Our pitch sloped downwards slightle and levelling blocks for the front steadies was essential.

EHU was close to the pitch and I only needed my 5m cable this time.

The only issue I could see was that one pitch was right next to the chemical disposal point. While this was clean with absolutely no smell, it would be a bit of a busy pitch with frequent visitors to the facilities (which included myself)! 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CALDAN 8 reviews from this member

 My husband and I wanted a few days break after caring for my Mum full time for 6 months. We needed peace and quiet so picked an adults only and that is what we got. Site was spotless quiet and beautiful. Only noise was the sheep. Owners and wardens very helpful and the file given on arrival is a great help. Site is sloping down and we were pitch 13 the furthest from the toilets but still only 1 min walk.

We found the site perfect for getting around the Lakes and very close to Yorkshire locations too.

Will definitely return when we need more rest. Very good value too. 


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ashes Exclusively Adult Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kendal      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3318 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement