Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sango Sands Caravan & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Durness > Sango Sands Caravan & Camping Reviews

Sango Sands Caravan & Camping
Sango Sands
Durness
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV27 4PP
Tel: 01971 511726
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 82
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 150 Reviews
                9/10 from 150 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  150 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jaspergucci 27 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights in August. We had booked so a pitch had been reserved but we decided to move to a cliff pitch as the views were magnificent. However, after about 2 hours of pitching up our awning had almost blown over the cliff and the motorhome next door had had their top window completely blown off. We had to move on day 2 to the other side of the site near the road as it was more sheltered.

The wash facilities were a disappointment. They were very dirty inside and looked grubby from the outside. Only used the loos-would not use the showers!

Most of the pitches were uneven but most has stunning views. The location of the site is 1st class. You can walk for miles in the surrounding countryside and the there is direct access to the beach. A huge plus point is that dogs are allowed on the beach but unfortunately we couldn't use the only pub as dogs were not allowed in there.

Someone comes onto the site to take the money and book people in a couple of times a day apart from that there was no one on site. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LouH 9 reviews from this member

 Really disappointed with this site after reading the reviews and looking at the owners website.

The owners I must say are very nice and wish that we had liked this site but it was not for us.

We booked and were reserved a pitch on hard standing overlooking the beach, the view was gorgeous but the hard standing was like red clay and unfortunately due to heavy rain it walked in to the van and discoloured and ruined a groundsheet that we used outside the door of the caravan. The hard standing is not great and the pitches are not big. If you put an awning up you really would have no room.

The facilities, where to start! The showers are mixed and whilst I am no prude there really is little privacy. The floor was thick with sand and the grey shower curtain looked like it had not been cleaned or changed in a very long time. The actual showers were filthy. The steel wire rack for you to put your toiletries on was black and had chewing gum stuck to it. The smell from the drain of damp was horrendous and knocked me sick. These showers looked like they had not been cleaned in months.

Didn't appear to be much for children aside from the beach.

Useful village shop and Spar within a couple of mins walk and a petrol station.

The view to the beach is outstanding and the beach is gorgeous but neither of these things could make me want to stay longer than one night.

Will not return ever. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Liane1948 11 reviews from this member

 I am a bit confused by some recent reviews of this site and for a minute thought we must have gone to a different one in Durness!

The location is lovely with views over a sandy beach with dramatic looking rocks.

The site is tidy and looked after and little extras provided to the tent people like a place to cook and the owner even charging mobile phones for them.

Pitches mainly on grass and a bit uneven so you will need those chocks.

There are toilets for male and female and although dated we always found them to be clean and well stocked with loo roll and soap. Shower block is unisex which is not a problem as you have good size cubicle with locking door, again dated but clean.

Do not be put off by some other reviews of this site it is in a lovely location and you will just be missing out.

We will return. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rexxie 30 reviews from this member

 Well located site with sea views and access to a beautiful beach. Given choice of pitch -some have sea views.

On site bar/restaurant -did not appear open during our short stay. Also a small shop, and tourist information centre -which appeared well geared up for children.

A few minutes walk to an excellent village shop and a pub.

A further approx mile walk to a craft village with a fab cafe/chocolate shop/factory.

Unisex showering facilities -clean and basic but with little privacy and changing space -preferred to use van shower.

With an improvement in shower/toilet facilities this site would be excellent. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vangran 8 reviews from this member

 Spectacular site right on the edge of a cliff with super sandy beach below. Good walking in the area straight from the site. Pub/restaurant adjacent to site. Lots of hook ups but still plenty space for those not wanting such things. The facilities have been upgraded over winter. Owner friendly and helpful.

Nice area for tents and close to facilities. This really is a nice site with lots of things to do in the area. Swimming and walking and further along the coast there is surfing. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kateandjames 52 reviews from this member

 A great cliff top site with wonderful views over Sango Sands where you can select your own pitch.

Payment was made at 6pm in the evening when the office opened, credit / debit card payments have to be made in the adjacent pub.

It was very windy during our stay (gusting up to 70mph) and our van rocked about quite a bit - I likened it to 'aeroplane turbulence at sea level'. A couple of tents pitched on cliff edge were blown down - local advice is for tents to pitch on far left of camping field where there's a bit of shelter.

Toilet blocks, wash up, laundry etc. Very basic but very clean with plenty of hot water. There's a cooking / eating area for tent campers and pitches come with / without electric hookup.

There is a pub on-site though we didn't use it as it was not dog friendly; a short walk takes you to the village centre with a small supermarket and petrol station. A mile further down the road is the craft village of Balnakeil, lots of craft and art studios plus chocolate / coffee shop. Well worth a visit.

There's some lovely coast walking to be had from the site, especially out through magnificent dunes towards Fairad Headland and return via the wonderful sandy beach at Balnakeil. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Floss88 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed here last september and couldn't wait to get back here again. The most beautiful scenery looking straight out over the ocean. Campsite had everything you could need, including a kitchen with burners and about 4 washing machines.

Showers are free and there are 8 in one block and 2 in another- just time it right when its busy or you will be queueing forever! pub on site that's cheap and pleasant.

A visit to smoo cave is a must and if you get chance, do the Cape Wrath trip. Would recommend this site for friends or families 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Reuben 14 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 5 nights over the Jubilee weekend - great site! Pitched overlooking the smaller beach virtually on the cliff edge - fantastic. The facilities were more than adequate & the kitchen area with a couple of gas rings & free gas are a very nice touch if you run out of fuel.

Visited the on site pub once & was pleasantly surprised with the beer prices considering the area - served very good food too. Handy Spar in the village too that had fresh bread & croissants most mornings - closed on Sundays though.

The walking in the surrounding area was brilliant, we kept low level. The beaches are stunning especially Balnachiel (sic). One of the best places we've stayed at so far - even better than Applecross & Camusdarach IMO. We'll definitely be back.

I think it cost us 65 for 5 nights including dog 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: NEJane 25 reviews from this member

 As always, my review will be based on the fact that I am a full-time carer for my husband who is totally wheelchair dependent. This was our second visit to Sango Sands, having first stayed there in 1996. Not a lot had changed but it doesn't appear to be a site that is in a hurry to become 'super-slick' It would lose a lot of it's charm if it did as it wouldn't fit in the dramatic scenery in which it sits. The views are spectacular and the site is on different levels so most pitches do not lose out on the dramatic scenery.

There's a choice of hook-up or non-hook up pitches. Facilities are basic but spotlessly clean and hot water seemed never ending. The disabled cubicle is accessed by a key, provided by the site staff but there is a hefty 20 deposit for the use. This is because keys have not been returned and, because of the remoteness of the area, fuel costs are high for the owner to travel to have new keys cut.

The disabled cubicle is quite small but the two of us still managed to work around each other and certainly, everything required to assist the disabled guest, ie grab handles, are fitted. The cubicle has been recently refurbished and I was reliably informed that the main facilities would be subjected to updating, in the near future. For the keen walker, there are plenty paths to explore in the area although non are wheelchair friendly.

The Spar store, only 5 minutes walk from the site gate, is one of the best stocked village shops I have been in and easily accessible for a wheelchair along a decent footpath. We also visited the Balnakeil Craft Village, approx 1 mile from Durness. Provides lovely refreshments and all buildings appeared to be wheelchair accessible. A third visit to this lovely location would not be out of the question! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Malajusted1 3 reviews from this member

 Incredible location, and perhaps the finest motorhome pitch in Britain.

Overlooking Sango sands- a golden beach strewn with huge black rocks, a fabulous spot.

Nearby is smoo cave- do visit, and do take the boat trip. Best of all is nearby Balnakeil- do the walk up to Faraid head. There isn't a finer coastal walk in Britain.

Finally warm yourself up with some hot chocolate at cocoa mountain.

Found the site very relaxed, office was open at 6pm so that you could pay for your pitch. But otherwise there didn't appear to be a warden on site.

Facilities were basic, but clean. Showers were free, as was gas for campers.

Only grumble was that the fee charged was more than the price stated on website- and it still hasn't been updated.

I would certainly visit again. 


Previous     150 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sango Sands Caravan & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sango Sands Caravan & Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sango Sands Caravan & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Durness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4284 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement