Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sango Sands Caravan & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Durness > Sango Sands Caravan & Camping Reviews

Sango Sands Caravan & Camping
Sango Sands
Durness
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV27 4PP
Tel: 01971 511726
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 82
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 145 Reviews
                9/10 from 145 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  145 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cwilkinsonfamily 21 reviews from this member

 Absolutely stunning location overlooking the sea at Durness and a beach of the kind you only see in magazines! Staff were friendly enough, as were all of the locals we spoke to during our day there and the price per night was reasonable. The roads and pitches in the site were a little rough and ready but it looked like they were doing work on them. In all, this could have been a gem of a site if it hadn't been for the facilities! I counted 16 campervans/motorhomes/ caravans / tents, about 4 or 5 of which had families in them and yet the owners saw fit to close a shower block containing 8 showers and leave the one at the far end of the site open which only had 2 showers. That was bad enough but to say those two showers were filthy was a gross understatement! They were, without a doubt, the most disgusting showers I have ever seen. To be fair, some of the blame must rest with the users to whom I would say - what is wrong with you people? Do you have servants waiting on you hand and foot so you're not used to cleaning up after you? Do you like living like pigs? Would it kill you to put used bottles in the bin, not track mud and grass into the shower unit and give the place a bit of a wipe down when you're done? To the owners - get your act together, allowing your facilities to get into this state and taking no action whatsoever to remedy the situation is intolerable. I was there 24 hours and not a cleaner showed their face. You should be ashamed to charge people for these facilities. Take note campers who like to be clean - stay clear! 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: HappyCrows 4 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site.

Friendly welcome, great views, excellent facilities. Loads of hard standing level pitches with EHU, plenty of easy to use water points, well laid out motorhome service point, easy to use chemical disposals (open air), and only 10 quid a night 1 person and ehu. This is what that site at Thurso should be more like, and what they should charge.

I would happily stay here anytime, great beach sound of surf crashing in all night, nice walks for the dog. I'm fairly sure I saw a Porpoise this morning from the beach as well.

I down marked child friendly due to the very close proximity of the cliffs.

There is a mobile base station here too so anyone with mobile broadband (like me) should be happy as well, though I discovered Highland WiFi recently also. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Malc1 9 reviews from this member

 I too read the reviews and wondered if I had arrived at a different site, its all about money! minimum outlay, maximum return! First field upon entry is paved and grass cut nicely, the rest of the site is uneven, scruffy and not maintained. The views are good and the beaches below if you are an able person very nice at low tide. I did not use the shower and toilets based on outward appearances so am unable to comment. We would not return and its quite expensive considering the state of most of the pitches for motorhomes. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Whatawaste 4 reviews from this member

 Great site but very exposed. We have been here many times over the last 20 years with our daughters always having the freedom to go where they like as Durness is so quiet. The facilities on the site are a bit tired, but generally clean. The free gas in the cooking area is very welcome when it's too windy to cook at the tent. The peace and tranquillity of this unspoilt corner of the UK is unsurpassed. Balnakiel Bay, which is a short drive away, is stunning and well worth a visit for it's beautiful beach and dune complex. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WrenSO 7 reviews from this member

 Lots of wind when we arrived by bicycles in Sango Sands.

We pitched near the shore but our tent was strong enough to face the gusts and rain during the night.

Another tent was nearly torn out, so think of pitching in the wind direction.

A small cooking shed is provided for campers with two gaz burners and also tables and chairs. Much useful considering the wind.

Toilets and showers are non mixt. A little old but very clean.

The beauty of the place and the surroundings is stunning.

We very much appreciated the Sango Sand pub and restaurant nearby. Pub was very nice : we played darts waiting for the restaurant's opening. I highly recommend it : nice and very professional staff, excellent food.

We paid 13. 50 for the two of us and our tent. Excellent value. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jaspergucci 27 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights in August. We had booked so a pitch had been reserved but we decided to move to a cliff pitch as the views were magnificent. However, after about 2 hours of pitching up our awning had almost blown over the cliff and the motorhome next door had had their top window completely blown off. We had to move on day 2 to the other side of the site near the road as it was more sheltered.

The wash facilities were a disappointment. They were very dirty inside and looked grubby from the outside. Only used the loos-would not use the showers!

Most of the pitches were uneven but most has stunning views. The location of the site is 1st class. You can walk for miles in the surrounding countryside and the there is direct access to the beach. A huge plus point is that dogs are allowed on the beach but unfortunately we couldn't use the only pub as dogs were not allowed in there.

Someone comes onto the site to take the money and book people in a couple of times a day apart from that there was no one on site. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LouH 9 reviews from this member

 Really disappointed with this site after reading the reviews and looking at the owners website.

The owners I must say are very nice and wish that we had liked this site but it was not for us.

We booked and were reserved a pitch on hard standing overlooking the beach, the view was gorgeous but the hard standing was like red clay and unfortunately due to heavy rain it walked in to the van and discoloured and ruined a groundsheet that we used outside the door of the caravan. The hard standing is not great and the pitches are not big. If you put an awning up you really would have no room.

The facilities, where to start! The showers are mixed and whilst I am no prude there really is little privacy. The floor was thick with sand and the grey shower curtain looked like it had not been cleaned or changed in a very long time. The actual showers were filthy. The steel wire rack for you to put your toiletries on was black and had chewing gum stuck to it. The smell from the drain of damp was horrendous and knocked me sick. These showers looked like they had not been cleaned in months.

Didn't appear to be much for children aside from the beach.

Useful village shop and Spar within a couple of mins walk and a petrol station.

The view to the beach is outstanding and the beach is gorgeous but neither of these things could make me want to stay longer than one night.

Will not return ever. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Liane1948 11 reviews from this member

 I am a bit confused by some recent reviews of this site and for a minute thought we must have gone to a different one in Durness!

The location is lovely with views over a sandy beach with dramatic looking rocks.

The site is tidy and looked after and little extras provided to the tent people like a place to cook and the owner even charging mobile phones for them.

Pitches mainly on grass and a bit uneven so you will need those chocks.

There are toilets for male and female and although dated we always found them to be clean and well stocked with loo roll and soap. Shower block is unisex which is not a problem as you have good size cubicle with locking door, again dated but clean.

Do not be put off by some other reviews of this site it is in a lovely location and you will just be missing out.

We will return. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rexxie 30 reviews from this member

 Well located site with sea views and access to a beautiful beach. Given choice of pitch -some have sea views.

On site bar/restaurant -did not appear open during our short stay. Also a small shop, and tourist information centre -which appeared well geared up for children.

A few minutes walk to an excellent village shop and a pub.

A further approx mile walk to a craft village with a fab cafe/chocolate shop/factory.

Unisex showering facilities -clean and basic but with little privacy and changing space -preferred to use van shower.

With an improvement in shower/toilet facilities this site would be excellent. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vangran 8 reviews from this member

 Spectacular site right on the edge of a cliff with super sandy beach below. Good walking in the area straight from the site. Pub/restaurant adjacent to site. Lots of hook ups but still plenty space for those not wanting such things. The facilities have been upgraded over winter. Owner friendly and helpful.

Nice area for tents and close to facilities. This really is a nice site with lots of things to do in the area. Swimming and walking and further along the coast there is surfing. 


Previous     145 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sango Sands Caravan & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sango Sands Caravan & Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sango Sands Caravan & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Durness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4265 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement