Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sango Sands Caravan & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Durness > Sango Sands Caravan & Camping Reviews

Sango Sands Caravan & Camping
Sango Sands
Durness
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV27 4PP
Tel: 01971 511726
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 82
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 150 Reviews
                9/10 from 150 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  150 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 612 reviews from this member

 Stunning location - ouir pitch looked out over the sea.

Toilets were clean and well kept. Showers were in a separate block - we didn't get to use them as there seemed to be a constant queue - to be fair site was very busy.

The walks and views from the site are worth the trip this far North. If you are a walker a good site to stay a few days - not sure there is too much in the area if you don't want to do any walking. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lateagain 7 reviews from this member

 My last visit in a tent was 25 years earlier. We endured a gale in a tent. Being an old boy scout I was confident that we wouldn't get blown away and my custom storm guys held. However the tent rattled like a drum and after a sleepless night we fled South.

Now with loads of facilities for campers of all sorts (see other reviews) the site charges per person and a charge for a hook up. This means your accommodation is irrelevant to the charge.

We awoke to find ourselves in a cloud and after this burnt off you could appreciate the beaches. The site is quite high above them but they are accessible. Head West through the village (shop fuel etc.) to the old radar station which has been an artist/craft commune since I was last here. Beyond that is another magnificent (if exposed) beach.Oh and a golf club I believe? If like us your next stop is Inverness take the road via Tongue for a scenic single track route round the lochs.

The one down side is that the attached pub/restaurant has limited opening times and a pint and some lunch was unavailable by 2:30p.M. In fact both closed then until the evening. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Abever1d 1 review from this member

 We had glorious weather and as a result, this was an absolutely brilliant location. Extensive sea views, superb beach with easy access down seemingly excellent wooden steps (but the local council was giving notice of removal of these steps)

Glorious & remote countryside, friendly people (locals & fellow campers). A site with good facilities & local shop, post office & restaurant.

We had a great time here & the site benefited from many nationalities with many units from Germany & Holland present in particular. Durness golf course only a mile or so away. Magnificent 9 hole. Be prepared to extend your visit, you will want to especially if the weather is good. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jackie Highland 2 reviews from this member

 My maiden outing in caravan, and the owners went out of their way to be helpful. There for four nights at beginning of season, so very quiet. Facilities good. The Oasis bar looks a bit dingy, but food excellent: simple, tasty and good value. The Spar shop stocks most things. Excellent for dogs. Lots of good walks. I shall be back 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thesaint 22 reviews from this member

 We camped here for a few days in mid-June. When we turned up there was plenty of space, we pitched where we wanted to and went to pay when the reception opened at 6pm, it cost 5.50 per person.
This site has fantastic views of the beach below and out to sea. But it can be a little bit windy, but remember you are at the most North Westerly point in Britain. If it is windy, there is a campers kitchen with a couple of gas rings that you can use for free.
The showers are nice and hot also free. The dishwashing area and toilets were always clean, and they cut the grass regularly. Also on site is a laundry room.
Next door is the Oasis bar and restaurant which serve decent meals. There is a Spar (with ATM) which stocked most things, Mathers general stores and a petrol station in Durness. Down the road is the Balnakeil craft village with a Bistro there.
The site is handy for visiting Cape Wrath, Smoo Cave and the amazing beaches in the area. One thing to note is the Spar, petrol station and stores are shut on a Sunday. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tranmere99 4 reviews from this member

 Cracking little site this. Pitched our tent on the cliffs overlooking the pretty beach which has easy access.

Excellent value for money and a warm welcome from relaxed and friendly owners. Facilities good and included free showers and a campers kitchen for those travelling light.
Two shops next to site, though be warned the Spar shop closes at 5:30pm and the other opens when the owner feels like it so can't be relied upon at all.
There is a bar / restaurant next to the site which serves sit down meals or takeaway.

We were on a motorbike trip and so could only stay one night but otherwise would have stayed longer. Highly recommended, and the route from Durness to Tongue is not to be missed! Will definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Joynsons 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from 7 nights at this campsite and didn't want to leave. Facilities were excellent, the staff were very friendly as were the locals. Lots of things to do for 7 days, many accessible walks from the village and the scenery was stunning. Cycling was challenging to say the least but Lance Armstrong wouldn't have a problem. We hope to return. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AndyRomain 34 reviews from this member

 This was the last stop of my End to End trip, with John O'Groats to be visited in the morning (70 miles away). The people running the site were very friendly and helpful (from Burnley - recent migrants to this area). This is one of the most sparsely populated areas of the world, just to give an idea of the remoteness of the location. The site is gorgeous, perched on cliffs above a gorgeous sandy beach with huge and sublime rocks dotted about. It gets very very windy (there was a storm force gale the night I stayed) so be aware! Apparently 4 tents had been wrecked in the gale - but if you're going to perch a bit of nylon on a windy cliff in the far North, you have to be ready for these things! Luckily mine stood the test, but it was a sleepless night! The tourist information centre is close, and worth a visit, as is the 'Oasis' pub & restaurant. Great food, and if you want they'll pack it up for you to take back to your tent. Smoo cave was interesting, and only a few minutes away, and there's an abandoned 'Chain Home Low' site on the adjacent cliffs. Durness itself is great - surrounded by wilderness, and practically no crime. Apparently the greatest scandal in recent years was the result of 2 teenagers getting hold of some booze and vandalising the school wendyhouse in their drunken state! The local shop is well stocked, and the toilet/cooking/shower facilities on the site are well maintained. Well worth a visit, if you want to get away from it all, it's a perfect spot. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frethouse 14 reviews from this member

 We arrived here and were impressed by the site manager's prompt attention. He was very helpful and quite trusting. The site is a considerable size but nicely spread out. There is an informal feel to the place and rules / notices etc are kept to a necessary minimum which I really liked. It is what I would call a true 'campers' site.
We pitched on a level place with electric hook up just down from the reception block although it is possible to pitch right next to the cliffs (more exposed) for an incredible view. I must say that it can get pretty windy here which for larger tents may be an issue to consider! There are however a few pitching areas where you can get a reasonable degree of shelter.
The facilities are very good and we used them to full effect. There is even a 'camper's kitchen' where you can access gas rings (included in the fee) and sit down at tables to eat which in inclement / windy weather would be a godsend.
The views are absolutely excellent and the site is very close to Smoo caves which is well worth a visit. It is possible to take a small ferry and minibus to Cape Wrath Lighthouse which is a worthwhile experience - wild or what! There is also a small village nearby with excellent crafts for sale.
My family really enjoyed our stay here and visited the beautiful unspoilt beach on several occasions. We'll be back! 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carleton 2 reviews from this member

 Smashing site. Go to sleep with the sound of the surf. It was windy when we pitched our tent but hey its the far North- what do you expect. On returning from the pub (on site) we couldn't stand up (not because of the beer) gale force winds. No sleep that night, next day we packed up and went home, miserable. Had 5 days left of our holiday and we just didn't want to be anywhere else, so next day we packed our smaller tent and headed to Durness once more. A round trip of over 500 miles for a decent night's sleep. Finished our holiday on a great site. Facilities excellent, plenty showers, hot water (free), plenty toilets and a cooking hut for really bad weather. Plenty of pitches to choose from and the scenery - awesome.

Spar shop just up the road, petrol too and a post office.

Best wishes to site owner, he does a grand job and very helpful/obliging.Counting the days when we can return. 


Previous     150 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sango Sands Caravan & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sango Sands Caravan & Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sango Sands Caravan & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Durness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4558 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement