Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Sango Sands Caravan & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Durness > Sango Sands Caravan & Camping Reviews

Sango Sands Caravan & Camping
Sango Sands
Durness
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV27 4PP
Tel: 01971 511726
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 82
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 135 Reviews
                9/10 from 135 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dawnzy 3 reviews from this member

 Nice site, nice pitch overlooking the beach.

Site quite busy but had a peaceful few days while touring the Highlands.

Tents were well spaced out and you just pitch up in any available space which was great. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ernt25 16 reviews from this member

 Like other reviews we stayed at this site for three days as part of our NC500 Tour around Scotland. The site has good basic facilities along with a pub attached, which sells typical pub grub at prices that reflect its location. There is a Spar shop next door with reasonably priced items / groceries, and a place to buy petrol and diesel.

The location of this site is fantastic, with pitches overlooking the beach. Given the popularity of the NC500, I imagine this site can get busy. Whilst we were there, there were only a few hard-standing pitches free.

The Arts & Craft Village a couple miles from the site is worth a visit, along with Smoo cave.

If travelling this way again we would definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joolb 35 reviews from this member

 Part of our short NC500 trip-pitch 60 -views to die for right on the cliff-may have been a bit close to 61 but not an issue.

Had a drink at the bar- good facility with typical pub food.

Two local shops. Craft centre down the road with cocoa mountain cafe and shop-delicious hot chocolate-narrow approach and poor parking facilities but possible to walk there from the site.

If you like sea views and beaches-this is for you, provided you are on the cliff-other areas seem a bit random and closed in.

Great new shower block-unisex but big cubicles with lots of hot water and sink in the same room. Didn't try the older blocks. Reception quick and efficient -very friendly. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Louissa 16 reviews from this member

 Great campsite in a fantastic location. If you can grab a clifftop pitch (of which there are quite a few), the view is unbeatable. The path to the beaches is quite steep up the dunes but once down there, it's lovely - perfect golden sand and clean water. Brilliant for dogs.

Hardstanding and grass pitches. Toilets are a bit dated (but clean); shower block is new (but prone to flooding when we were there) - showers were good & hot, with a stool for clothes and a little sink in the cubicle. Potwash was newish and clean.

There is a breakfast bar for baps & tea. The pub next door does basic pub grub - fine, if not exciting - and there's a restaurant too in the summer season (it was due to open the day we left). 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Pam H 12 reviews from this member

 Stunning location just up from a wonderful beach, raising the rating. But the site itself is a bit crowded together, with the pitches very close together on the cliffs. We chose to be on one of the grassy areas instead - since it wasn't peak season and the weather was fairly poor there were only one or two tents.

Toilets were ok but a bit institutional. Good showers. Indoor washing-up area and drying lines. I'd stay here again because of where it is (and you can find surprising things - eg tinned braised tofu - in the village shop). 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BeachDog 26 reviews from this member

 Great location overlooking Sanyo Sands beach - mix of hardstanding and grass pitches, mainly level but spaces where some ramps required. Plenty of EHU's. There are a number of toilet and shower blocks, one very recent, others older but clean and adequate. Motor home service point. Cafe, restaurant, Spar shop next door.

Some pitches are at the cliff edge with fantastic views but probably wouldn't recommend in bad weather. Helpful owner, if not on site on arrival choose a pitch and book in when she arrives. There's a note on the door if pre booked. Was busy later in the afternoon with NC500 travellers arriving for the night.

There's a note that you can stay during closed season for £9 but toilet/shower facilities closed, access to water, waste available though. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Richardh1905 15 reviews from this member

 Busy, noisy, big, but having said that, it is a decent site. Facilities that we used were perhaps a little tired, but perfectly adequate.

Nearby pub serves food but is NOT dog friendly. Food pertty standard.

But the star attraction of this site is of course the stunning location, from beautiful Sango Sands immediately below the site, to the dramatic mountain scenery; Foinaven, Cranstackie and even Ben Hope are all accessible.

Finally - Tent owners beware - this site is exposed, so make sure that you pitch your tent well. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Babywhale 26 reviews from this member

 Back once again to Sango Sands (our 4th visit in 6 years).

The site was very busy at times, due to the local Highland Games being on, and it being right in the middle of the school holidays in Scotland, and the start of the rest of the UK’s main holidays. Site also busy with many international campers. Facilities coped, but many tents pitched close to one another and, with many families visiting with young children (and babes in arms) it was quite noisy at times, with many nights’ sleep spoiled.

New shower block is very good. Plenty of space to get changed in and around your own cubicle.

One gripe - rarely any hot/warm water in the dishwashing area nearest to the main reception. We camped for 11 nights and must have washed up about 25 times, yet only had hot water 2-3 times.

Will visit again (maybe not next year though) but will avoid school holiday periods as simply too noisy/busy. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stokewalker 15 reviews from this member

 Really like this site sat up on the cliff on the North Coast. This was my 2nd visit. Facilities are good although the shower block is separate to the toilet block. There's a decent pub at the side with a nice bar and good food. There's also a small Spar supermarket close by.

There are cliff top walks and the Smoo caves to visit nearby. You can also get to Cape Wrath via a ferry and minibus if that takes your fancy.

For me the site's trump card is the beach below with perfect sand interspersed with jagged boulders.

A couple of things to be aware of - lot's of people like me like a pitch overlooking the beach but this can be a bit windy. 2nd point is that the pitches are quite close together, maybe 2 metres max. Neither issue bothered me and if I'm doing the NC500 again, I will be stopping here 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Truediamond 84 reviews from this member

 Like the other NC500 Sites we stayed at, this had a relaxed atmosphere, great location and better than expected facilities. We stayed before Scottish schools had broken up so were able to choose a pitch with a view - and what a view.

Prebooked Sites were allocated a pitch which was listed at Reception but there was still plenty of choices with EHU. It might not be so easy for late arrivals or in peak season though.

The new toilet block is first rate with plenty of showering options. There are other toilets and washup blocks scattered around the Site. Some, are maybe not, as others have said, the most state of the art.
The views from the Site are excellent, out over a blue green sea and lovely beaches.

We walked out to Balnakeil beach - well worth the trip. The village has 2 shops- a Spar and an independent which stayed open longer on a Sunday. 


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sango Sands Caravan & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sango Sands Caravan & Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sango Sands Caravan & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Durness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7209 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020