Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sango Sands Caravan & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Durness > Sango Sands Caravan & Camping Reviews

Sango Sands Caravan & Camping
Sango Sands
Durness
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV27 4PP
Tel: 01971 511726
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 82
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 133 Reviews
                9/10 from 133 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joolb 33 reviews from this member

Part of our short NC500 trip-pitch 60 -views to die for right on the cliff-may have been a bit close to 61 but not an issue.

Had a drink at the bar- good facility with typical pub food.

Two local shops. Craft centre down the road with cocoa mountain cafe and shop-delicious hot chocolate-narrow approach and poor parking facilities but possible to walk there from the site.

If you like sea views and beaches-this is for you, provided you are on the cliff-other areas seem a bit random and closed in.

Great new shower block-unisex but big cubicles with lots of hot water and sink in the same room. Didn't try the older blocks. Reception quick and efficient -very friendly.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Louissa 9 reviews from this member

Great campsite in a fantastic location. If you can grab a clifftop pitch (of which there are quite a few), the view is unbeatable. The path to the beaches is quite steep up the dunes but once down there, it's lovely - perfect golden sand and clean water. Brilliant for dogs.

Hardstanding and grass pitches. Toilets are a bit dated (but clean); shower block is new (but prone to flooding when we were there) - showers were good & hot, with a stool for clothes and a little sink in the cubicle. Potwash was newish and clean.

There is a breakfast bar for baps & tea. The pub next door does basic pub grub - fine, if not exciting - and there's a restaurant too in the summer season (it was due to open the day we left).
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pam H 12 reviews from this member

Stunning location just up from a wonderful beach, raising the rating. But the site itself is a bit crowded together, with the pitches very close together on the cliffs. We chose to be on one of the grassy areas instead - since it wasn't peak season and the weather was fairly poor there were only one or two tents.

Toilets were ok but a bit institutional. Good showers. Indoor washing-up area and drying lines. I'd stay here again because of where it is (and you can find surprising things - eg tinned braised tofu - in the village shop).

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BeachDog 26 reviews from this member

Great location overlooking Sanyo Sands beach - mix of hardstanding and grass pitches, mainly level but spaces where some ramps required. Plenty of EHU's. There are a number of toilet and shower blocks, one very recent, others older but clean and adequate. Motor home service point. Cafe, restaurant, Spar shop next door.

Some pitches are at the cliff edge with fantastic views but probably wouldn't recommend in bad weather. Helpful owner, if not on site on arrival choose a pitch and book in when she arrives. There's a note on the door if pre booked. Was busy later in the afternoon with NC500 travellers arriving for the night.

There's a note that you can stay during closed season for £9 but toilet/shower facilities closed, access to water, waste available though.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Richardh1905 15 reviews from this member

Busy, noisy, big, but having said that, it is a decent site. Facilities that we used were perhaps a little tired, but perfectly adequate.

Nearby pub serves food but is NOT dog friendly. Food pertty standard.

But the star attraction of this site is of course the stunning location, from beautiful Sango Sands immediately below the site, to the dramatic mountain scenery; Foinaven, Cranstackie and even Ben Hope are all accessible.

Finally - Tent owners beware - this site is exposed, so make sure that you pitch your tent well.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Babywhale 25 reviews from this member

Back once again to Sango Sands (our 4th visit in 6 years).

The site was very busy at times, due to the local Highland Games being on, and it being right in the middle of the school holidays in Scotland, and the start of the rest of the UKís main holidays. Site also busy with many international campers. Facilities coped, but many tents pitched close to one another and, with many families visiting with young children (and babes in arms) it was quite noisy at times, with many nightsí sleep spoiled.

New shower block is very good. Plenty of space to get changed in and around your own cubicle.

One gripe - rarely any hot/warm water in the dishwashing area nearest to the main reception. We camped for 11 nights and must have washed up about 25 times, yet only had hot water 2-3 times.

Will visit again (maybe not next year though) but will avoid school holiday periods as simply too noisy/busy.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stokewalker 15 reviews from this member

Really like this site sat up on the cliff on the North Coast. This was my 2nd visit. Facilities are good although the shower block is separate to the toilet block. There's a decent pub at the side with a nice bar and good food. There's also a small Spar supermarket close by.

There are cliff top walks and the Smoo caves to visit nearby. You can also get to Cape Wrath via a ferry and minibus if that takes your fancy.

For me the site's trump card is the beach below with perfect sand interspersed with jagged boulders.

A couple of things to be aware of - lot's of people like me like a pitch overlooking the beach but this can be a bit windy. 2nd point is that the pitches are quite close together, maybe 2 metres max. Neither issue bothered me and if I'm doing the NC500 again, I will be stopping here

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Truediamond 78 reviews from this member

Like the other NC500 Sites we stayed at, this had a relaxed atmosphere, great location and better than expected facilities. We stayed before Scottish schools had broken up so were able to choose a pitch with a view - and what a view.

Prebooked Sites were allocated a pitch which was listed at Reception but there was still plenty of choices with EHU. It might not be so easy for late arrivals or in peak season though.

The new toilet block is first rate with plenty of showering options. There are other toilets and washup blocks scattered around the Site. Some, are maybe not, as others have said, the most state of the art.
The views from the Site are excellent, out over a blue green sea and lovely beaches.

We walked out to Balnakeil beach - well worth the trip. The village has 2 shops- a Spar and an independent which stayed open longer on a Sunday.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: EmzieP 6 reviews from this member

The campsite was right at the top of the cliff so can be very windy as previous reviewers have said. However, the views were amazing and there is a footpath down to the beach, although a bit of a slope to get down there. The site do have a viewing point if you cannot make the climb down.

We did climb down to the beach and saw dolphins swimming in the bay which was a real bonus.

The on site pub was quite busy, also had locals but was okay for us.

My husband used the showers and said they were perfectly adequate.

All in all we enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lorfal 21 reviews from this member

Busy site. Pitch sizes ok, not overly generous, though it depends on where you want to pitch up. Views fantastic. Facilities clean, though found toilet Block cold, good motorhome service point. Access to beach via sandy path from cliff, care needed but not too steep.

As mentioned in other reviews, can get windy but seemed sheltered farther back on site.

Itís not as commercial as I was expecting, thatís a good thing!

Well stocked spar 2 mins walk. Pub and resturaunt on site, food is typical pub fare. You can take out anything from the menu.

Iíd use this site again, avoid popular holiday times.

I found the staff very friendly and helpful too

Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3925 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019