Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sango Sands Caravan & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Durness > Sango Sands Caravan & Camping Reviews

Sango Sands Caravan & Camping
Sango Sands
Durness
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV27 4PP
Tel: 01971 511726
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 82
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 145 Reviews
                9/10 from 145 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  145 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Headgardener 36 reviews from this member

 We came across this site by pure chance after our proposed trip to Cape Wrath was called off due to high winds. On our arrival at noon the reception was closed but there was a sign stating the cost of pitches, which ones were pre booked and when reception would be open. We found a great pitch on the top of the cliff with spectacular views of the sandy beach below and out to sea. There were several paths down to the beach and some were quite steep but the one by the Information Centre was easy to use. With electric the cost was £18. 00 a night. Excellent value for money.

We did not use the toilets/showers. There is a tourist information centre on site. There is also a restaurant and we had a very enjoyable meal there one night. There is a bar attached and meals are also available there.

There is a very well stocked Spar shop next to the site which sells just about everything!(but it is closed on Sundays). 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Joanne oxley 10 reviews from this member

 I LOVE this site. It is just how I like campsites, friendly very relaxed, good views and lots of like minded people around from all over europe.

Yes the toilets are a bit tired but they are clean and to be frank because the rest of the site/area is great I don't really care.

The Faraid beach walk is lovely, lots and lots of white sand and dunes. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kaye Leggett 5 reviews from this member

 Popular site with restaurant next door, eider ducks on the beach below, great walking and full facilities to cater for Scotland whatever the weather. Rocked up midday and parked as per instructions, paying later when the office opened.

We're sure some rock up, fill up, empty out and move on. It's sad some just don't get the fact that it is not provided for free and the site is part of a community which needs their business. So if you're planning to go, please stay the night and pay your way. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bcwench 4 reviews from this member

 Great trip we stayed a couple of nights and experienced a good wind and we were never quite sure if we would be pushed over the edge, all was well though and we survived the night. Site is very nice, if you want ehu and a front row pitch you should book ahead, other wise as others say just turn up.

Couldn't use pub as they don't allow dogs in during meal times.

Only downer we had was the lack of transport to the lighthouse on the Cape, one couple had been trying for 3 days to make the journet across, we decided we may make another trip as the scenery is awsome! Only scored down on facilities as they are just a bit tiered but had worse. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Man on the Move 13 reviews from this member

 Maybe my opinion of this site is biased by the very good weather we experienced during our stay here, albeit a little blowy since the site is well positioned for access to the local beach and as such, it's also rather exposed to the elements and in particular, any resulting northerly winds.

The facilities were clean, well maintained and adequate for the size of the site and there was a Spar store within walking distance that would cater for most peoples needs including a self service pre-pay fuel station opposite with possibly the most expensive petrol in the UK at more than 10p per litre over the average.

Another member of our group dealt with payment for our stay and as such I cannot comment directly on the friendliness of the staff however, I'm sure he would have mentioned something if he'd had a negative experience, so I'll assume all was ok.

Well recommended motorcycle friendly site, particularly for anyone passing through on a more extensive tour of The Highlands. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Photo4x4 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed for one night at Sango Sands after reading the reviews on this website and it did not disappoint! We live just north of Inverness and this was a quick weekend up on the North Coast for us.

There is a shop and fuel available nearby so if you forget anything or need to top up supplies it is easy to do so.

We had pre-booked for a hard standing site with electric hook up and our pitch number was displayed clearly on the reception door and our pitch was marked with our name. Just inside the site is an area for ‘servicing’ with fresh water (hose pipe provided, grey water disposal and waste disposal). There is plenty of room for the largest of motor homes to use these facilities. I filled up with fresh water on entering the site. I used the grey water disposal when we left and this is easy to use as well as you can park over the drain.

We were on pitch number 13, on the edge of the cliff, and the views were simply spectacular. There is no doubt that the journey up to the North Coast is well worth it for the location and setting of the site. The winding single track roads may explain the preponderance of motor homes on the site. Believe me it is well worth the effort.

The shower and toilet blocks are fairly old but are in good clean condition. The showers are easy to work and just need you to push the tap for a supply of nice hot water and if you need more time, just push the tap again. The toilets were also clean and tidy. There were numerous rubbish disposal/recycling sites dotted around.

We only spoke to a site warden one on his patrol around the site when he called for payment. He was cheerful and pleasant. I would definitely call the site friendly they provide great facilities for tent campers and you can even pitch for free during the winter (if you want electric hook up there is a charge and I believe that the toilets are open but the showers unheated I believe). This if a really nice and friendly touch. Also the site is not plastered with posters proclaiming the ‘rules’. You feel that you are trusted to get on with what you are there for – to relax and enjoy the views.

If you are staying at the site then a visit to Smoo Cave is a must and there are spectacular views around every corner.

We will definitely be back again for a longer stay and would highly recommend this site to others.

Well done Sango sands and thanks. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Armchaircamper 22 reviews from this member

 This site is in a spectacular location overlooking an award winning beach, with sea views to the north. Orkney can be spotted in the distance.

No booking is required - just turn up. The owner was friendly and welcoming. The site is spacious with a variety of areas to pitch. We overlooked one of the two beaches and had uninterrupted views out to sea. The site is exposed to the wind so that needs to be borne in mind when pitching.

Shower and toilet facilities were clean. There is a covered campers' cooking area with tables to sit at and eat. There are two large gas rings provided for cooking on, which amazingly were free of charge. That was a great bonus as the wind was blowing the heat away from our camp stove and making it difficult to cook outdoors. There is also a covered dishwashing area. For £7 per person per night I considered this site to be excellent value.

There is a Spar shop with cash machine just up the road and a petrol pump opposite, and also a small shop nearer to the campsite. The Tourist Information is just beside the site too and very handy for popping into with questions.

Smoo Cave, about a mile away, is a must. It's an enormous sea cave which you can wander into and look around or pay £4 to be taken into the inner caverns in a small boat.

There are various guided walks during the summer. We went on a walk through the dunes at Balnakeil beach to see the puffins which nest by the cliffs. The ranger told us a lot about the wild flowers, bird life and the history of the area.

A beautiful site in a beautiful area. We will be back! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gwennol17 8 reviews from this member

 What a place! We ended up staying for 2 nights rather than the one planned and we managed a different cliff top site with a change of view the 2nd night. £14 each night (no electric). We chose our own spot and then went back to the office at a time given to pay. We noted that the manager/owner drove round a couple of times a day to make sure everyone had signed in and paid.

Ideally placed for appreciating the long white beach, though access down can be a bit scrambly.

Facilities on the site are clean and plentiful, including camp kitchen and washing up areas.

There is plenty of hard standing for bigger motor homes and those requiring electric but the best areas are where there is just grass. Winds were very high when we were there (or was that normal?) so some tents were flapping alarmingly. Think about which direction you pitch and where best to park a car for a windbreak.

Close by are 2 shops and an adjacent pub. The smallest shop, next to the pub, is an experience and jam packed with basics, though the Spar in the other direction gives greater choice.

We stayed here as it was convenient for the Cape Wrath ferry, though conditions meant it was cancelled.

Smoo Cave, a mile to the East, is a free attraction that is worth a visit. Apart from that just enjoys the views and the beach. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Trubytribute 17 reviews from this member

 This site was the highlight of our tour of the beautiful north west coast of Scotland. We stayed 2 nights and I LOVED IT. We booked and so when we got to the site we could see where our pitch was on the door and we had a personalised marker with our names on confirming the right pitch. The lady who manages it was so very friendly. Many thanks to her.

VIEWS - oh to die for - sea as far as the eye could sea straight ahead from the pitch with cliffs on either side of Sango bay. The beaches were wonderful - not huge but in little bays some of which linked. Mountains in the background and moorland. Who needs tele when you can look out to sea and with a pair of binoculars you can see ships on the horizon. The contrast to this area and the North east couldn't be greater, single track roads, bleak mountains and a sense of how difficult life must have been 100 years ago or more whereas on the north east there is lowlands and fertile lands.

Sorry to go on but nearly forgot the very friendly staff at the tourist information centre.

Lots to do here on foot, with a couple of shops, pubs and so on. I will go again 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cwarchc 28 reviews from this member

 What a stunning site

Feels like its the end of the world.

Amazing location on the cliffs overlooking a fabulous beach

Fairly busy, and bigger site than expected, never felt crowded

The facilities are a little dated, though some appear to have been renovated.

Great value for money, 7 nights for the price of 6

Make sure you go to Balnikeil to see the Puffins, and sample the hot chocolate

A great way to escape from the 'real world' in an amazing part of Scotland 


Previous     145 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sango Sands Caravan & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sango Sands Caravan & Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sango Sands Caravan & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Durness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3892 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement