Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sango Sands Caravan & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Durness > Sango Sands Caravan & Camping Reviews

Sango Sands Caravan & Camping
Sango Sands
Durness
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV27 4PP
Tel: 01971 511726
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 82
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 145 Reviews
                9/10 from 145 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  145 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camping-paynes 4 reviews from this member

 What a great campsite. We had a lovely warm welcome from the guy in the office, he happily booked us on, explained the facilities and invited us to choose our own pitch.

The site was well laid out, with areas divided by small bushes and trees and the road going around, there was lots of space and the views were spectacular, with the most white sandy beaches and a little trail leading down to the cove. There is plenty of areas for kids to play however I would be careful of pitching close to the cliffs as they could easily climb through the fence.

The location is perfect and the town is remote. There is a pub on site and a hotel across the road, the food in the hotel is expensive but very nice. There is also a small post office/store just offsite. All shops etc close on a Sunday as does the fuel station, so be well prepared if you're heading at the weekend.

The facilities were great. Lots of showers for males and for females which were very clean even after a busy night. Clean toilets well stocked with toilet paper and hand wash. There is a campers kitchen which we didn't use. I used the laundry and dish washing facilities which were good.

We enjoy camping but I'll be honest, we like nice camping with mod cons. Here are some things that maybe not everyone will find useful but the odd few people might. There were sockets available for hair dryers/chargers and there was a hair dryer free to use too. I had a phone signal but it's north highlands so not amazing, I also had GPRS. Wi Fi is available on site too. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Firefly12 3 reviews from this member

 This site is set in a spectacular location on cliff tops overlooking a beautiful sandy beach. We were pitched on the cliff top on a hard standing pitch with electric. Facilities on the site included one shower block to the rear with 2 showers (unisex) and gents and ladies toilets (separate). There was another shower block with 8 unisex showers to the front of the site and a separate toilet block with gents and ladies toilets and a washing up area. Facilities were clean and showers hot! Staff were friendly and helpful. We had a drink in the bar beside the site and it was pleasant and welcoming with TV, darts and pool available and big comfy chairs. Next door is a restaurant serving meals until 8. 30pm but we didn't use this so can't comment on that. Close to cape wrath ( there is a ferry to take you ) and the Smoo cave. We had lovely sunny weather while there but it was very windy so putting our awning up wasn't an option. Very nice site. Would recommend. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Captaincalm 2 reviews from this member

 This has to be in my top five sites. Despite what I read the place is kept spotless. I can't see anything to moan about. Travel east and there are sites I wouldn't dream of stopping on. I have spent weeks here over the last couple of years and it is as near perfect as perfect gets. The owner James is patient and can't do enough to help.

I just can't get enough of this place. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Merfi 3 reviews from this member

 Cannot get enough of Sango Sands Site, the views are awesome, the weather unpredictable (which adds to the fun)the sea can be stormy in morning and by afternoon calm as a mill pond, and the most spectacular sun sets ever seen. Mixture of grass or hard standings. Tenters have a camping kitchen with table and chairs and the bonus of free use of gas stoves.

The toilet blocks are given a thorough clean every day, but I do despair at the state some of the site users will leave them in, and may I add they are probably the first to complain about them. The main shower block is unisex, but that is not a problem as they have good locks on the door. Can be very busy in the morning though!

Restaurant/Bar attached to Site gives excellent value for money with good food.

Children have to be supervised owing to proximity of cliff edge

But the beach would be a child's idea of heaven.

Very reasonably priced site, with the friendliest of staff, especially young lady who makes everyone welcome, a credit to the owner, who also goes out of his way to help out should it be required. Spar shop and Craft Village within easy walking distance. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tisfortom 8 reviews from this member

 Been here lots of times over the years. Seems some of the tent space near to the perimeter fence overlooking the beach has been taken up by spaces for campervans now. Shame, I nearly lost a tent over there once as a gust of wind caught it as I was taking it down.

The site itself is in a great location with superb views which always seem slightly different each time you go, partly due to the local weather there. The facilities on site are adequate but are in need of an upgrade. Still, showers are free and work well. And there is a campers kitchen there as well, complete with gas (not many of these about). There is a nearby shop which sells just about everything although at busy times you need be in quick for bread and milk. Nearby also is Smoo Cave, Faraid Head and Cape Wrath where you will find mainland UKs most northerly cafe. At the side of the site is a great bar with comfy sofas and good food. If you have never ventured so far north this site is for me at least the perfect place to stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: LCfamily 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 2 nights with family (kids age 8 & 5). First night on Central grassed area. 2nd night moved to hard standing above cliff edge with magnificent views of beach and ocean. Just like you'd see in book!

Adequate and clean facilities. Hot showers in mixed sex block. They could be improved by provision of something to stand on to create a dry area eg wooden 'mat' style platform outside each shower. Single sex toilets. Plug sockets for own hairdryers and mirrors. Drying room - although this was just clothes lines in an in heated room. Pot sinks and I believe their was a campers kitchen although I didn't check it out.

Lovely beach with breaking waves.

Hot choc at Cocoa Mtn (1 mile away at craft village) was best ever.

Spar shop close to site with cash point.

It's all about the location, view, beach and fresh air! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Babywhale 26 reviews from this member

 This camp site is one of the best we've visited. We stayed for three nights on EHU. The site is clean and spacious with excellent views out to sea and inland.

There's a very laid back feel. Nothing is particular regimented and rules are kept to a minimum - not that I imagine anyone would break them as this site attracts the quiet and considerate camper.

Pitch more or less where you like. Plenty of water points and waste bin points. Toilet block is clean and fairly recently modernised. Showers were clean and hot water plentiful. The 8-block one was open except for one day when the gas supply had run out. Yes they are unisex showers but even at bank holiday weekend it wasn't too busy. None of the issues that some have experienced with the shower block seeming dated and unclean. Must have been a one off. Pot wash area also clean and the sinks are large.

Nothing provided for children - except for fresh air and an accessible clean beach. Didn't actually see any children despite there being 20 plus Motorhomes on site and a dozen or so tents.

Pub nearby - didn't use it but it seemed welcoming. Also a couple if shops are nearby, including a spar. Stock variety is very good although opening hours are limited as with everywhere in these parts.

In summary a great retreat for the discerning adult camper who wants minimal facilities and minimal interference.

Will be back :-) 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dippingatoe 7 reviews from this member

 Absolutely stunning site to stay and excellent value for money. Lots to do in the surrounding area. Visit Cape Wrath, or Smoo Caves, or have chocolate at Chocolate Mountain. For those who can walk it must be heaven. I am slightly immobile, but still managed to do quite a lot, and enjoyed every minute.

The beaches below the site looked terrific, and though I couldn't get down there I spent hours just watching the tides and the waves. The dog enjoyed a walk along the sandy cliff top and everyone there including the staff and customers were friendly and helpful.

There is a well stocked shop on one side and a pub doing good pub grub on the other

If you are in this part of Scotland, you MUST go, and if you aren't then its worth making the effort to travel there.  


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RoyVaux 45 reviews from this member

 A glorious location overlooking the bay from the top of a cliff. Judging from 2013 reviews, the site and pitches must have been improved, with new stands and roads added and grass kept cut.

However, the facilities still lack proper regular cleaning to the standard that visitors expect today. The 8 unit mixed sex shower block was in a very poor state, even in mid-May when the site was being lightly used. The 2 unit shower block on the other side of the site, which had the advantage of toilets in the same building, were much better.

Almost all of the pitches needed levelling blocks and were too close together if you want an awning.

The local shop is a short walk away. The odd thing was that reception is only manned early and late in the day, with no attention outside these hours.

I suppose we have to be grateful that there is any site at all in such a remote place and make allowances for the lack of standards seen further South. Terrestrial TV, if you can find it at all, is poor and the site does not offer a booster or WiFi.

The proximity of a restaurant on site was a real bonus in the middle of a glorious nowhere. The pub itself is nothing special but is handy. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Salsapembs 17 reviews from this member

 My family & I stayed for one night in a motorhome on our 10 day tour around Scotland during the Easter holidays. What a great location with electric hook up pitches over looking the most stunning beach with white sand & green sea! (Not suitable for small children due to cliff top pitches) Having experienced a number of different caravan parks over the years we found this one to be very basic. Plenty of toilets available but there were two shower blocks but only one block was open during our stay in the peak Easter Holidays which meant there were only 2 single shower cubicles available for the WHOLE SITE! (males & females had to share the 2 showers!)They were clean & had plenty of hot water but were very small & quite off-putting the thought of someone of the opposite sex in the cubicle next to you. Set in a beautiful remote location at the very top North coast of Scotland but sadly the facilities let this site down & not one which we would return to in the future unless there were separate male & female shower blocks! 


Previous     145 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sango Sands Caravan & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sango Sands Caravan & Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sango Sands Caravan & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Durness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3967 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement