Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sango Sands Caravan & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Durness > Sango Sands Caravan & Camping Reviews

Sango Sands Caravan & Camping
Sango Sands
Durness
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV27 4PP
Tel: 01971 511726
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 82
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 145 Reviews
                9/10 from 145 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  145 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: ML60BAR 15 reviews from this member

 If you expect wind on the N coast of Scotland, you won't be disappointed here! This site can be very exposed, the ehu hardstanding pitches along the 'front row' were very close together and rather like a car park, but with not having ehu we could pick our own far less regimented spot and it was lovely. Yes, the facilities are slightly tired, but they are in two areas so no overly long treks, and there is also a laundry with three machines and three dryers. A lovely beach just below you, a pub with good food on site, Spar in the village and plenty of lovely walks from site. Don't miss Faraid Point or Smoo Cave. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chris5mph 33 reviews from this member

 Very exposed to the weather, but stunning views from most pitches, especially those in front row. The pitches are very close together, especially on the front, no six metre safety margin here! Excellent access to the beach, Cape Wrath (a wonderful trip), craft centre and the mountains. The facilities are a bit tired, but the location makes this site. Book ahead if you want a hook up or a front row pitch. The 10mph speed limit is largely ignored. In spite of there being no published rules the site was quiet. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vaster 3 reviews from this member

 Site is in good location but disappointed that since my last visit no improvements to the toilets or showers which are basic to say the least.

Also concerned that a large herd of cattle and calves were damaging the beautiful dunes at Balnakeil Bay and as we had a dog preventing us walking along this beach. 


Date of Visit: January 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tentaddict7 18 reviews from this member

 We stopped off at this campsite as part of a tour of various areas of Scotland in January, we had a hired motorhome.

Wow, what a fabulous setting it is too! Despite being very cold and windy, it was such a wonderful place and we were the only ones there.

We had all our facilities onboard, so did not use the ones on site, I think they were closed and that is why the nightly fee was so cheap, the warden came down to switch on the electric for us, and was very friendly and welcoming.

We had a very bracing walk along the deserted beach, but boy was it worth it, stunning!

We were only there for one night, as time was limited, but glad we stopped there.

We will most definitely be back at some point, but probably out of the main summer holidays as surely this wonderful place must be very busy at that time, and the beauty of it is in my view best appreciated without crowds. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lucysmum 38 reviews from this member

 I love this place! The views and local area more than make up for the rather sad (unheated) facilities. Toilets and showers are separate and are cleaned regularly. Plenty of hot water, never ran out of loo paper etc. But they really do need upgrading!

Amazing views across the beach and out to sea from out pitch - didn't see an Orca, but we did see several seals and a weasel!

Our dogs loved this place and the walking all around the area was excellent. The bar/restaurant is great (but not dog friendly). Had a lovely meal there. Try The Chocolate Mountain in Balnakiel Craft Village, lovely hot chocolate (mine was made with soya milk at my request!)and scrumptious hand made chocolates (I had rose and geranium)

Would we go back? Oh yes ASAP! Pity it is so far from our home. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Collyer911 3 reviews from this member

 Absolutely the best camp site I've ever stayed at

Had pitch 16 overlooking the bay, wow what glorious views

We turned up and pitched on speck, the office not opening until 5 pm

But a great reception when we went in to pay

Bar restaurant next door was also very good and we met some really friendly scots there

Don't miss this independent amazing site it was the highlight of our tour of the NC 500 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bobetjo 4 reviews from this member

 We have been going to this site for thirty years and regard it as a regular. The owners have gradually upgraded it, bit by bit, making improvements and now it is one of the best larger sites in Scotland.

There are plenty of showers and the addition of an enclosed campers kitchen with gas provided makes the harsh weather more bearable.

The staff are helpful. One year we had a flat battery and they arranged a charger. Best place for tents is either at the back and top for shelter or cliff edge for views. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mth760161 3 reviews from this member

 This site was excellent - welcoming to the single traveller with no prejudices. However, good for all types, motor homes, hook ups, families, groups of people, couples, etc. The facilities on site were good, with more than one shower/toilet block available. The facilities for dishwashing were good and there was a good laundry service, particularly useful when camping if clothes get muddy and wet. Local spar shop just a couple of minutes walk, stocks the usual essential things you may need and has cash point outside. On the east of site is a bar/restaurant with a good selection of meals to choose, should you not wish to do self-catering. To the east are the local tourist visitor centre, full of helpful advice, to get the most out of your stay. To the east about 2 miles is Smoo Cave, worth a visit and tour by Colin Coventry. To the west about 1 mile walk is the Balnakeil Craft Village - definitely worth a visit and 2 miles west is the wonderful amazing Balnakeil Beach, which has hardly any tourists on it. Brilliant walking area. In village is a 24 hour fuel station, so useful if low on fuel. I would recommend this site to anyone, and on cost was value for money. If need of Wi-Fi, can access on site, but you need to pay by credit card, free in bar/restaurant. If I ever return to Durness, I will definitely use this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BillandSue 4 reviews from this member

 If you want to visit Cape Wrath - and surely you must - then you must stay at Sango Sands. But this is no hardship as the cliff-top site offers wonderful sea views and beaches with the softest sand we've encountered, though the strong cold wind when we were there did not encourage spending much time on the beach. The on-site toilet/shower facilities - which we inspected but did not use - were very basic and un-heated but adequate. The site is good value and benefits from an excellent bar/restaurant and there are two shops nearby selling everything you are likely to need, together with a 24/7 filling station (card operated). The site is a 10-minute drive from the ferry (8-seater dinghy with outboard) which connects with the mini-bus service on the rocky road out to the Cape Wrath lighthouse, a trip not to be missed. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Weejacinta 1 review from this member

 Wonderful location - really feels like you're at the extreme north of Scotland. Beautiful beaches directly accessed via (steep) paths from the site.

The location makes it - don't need to say much more but it has a friendly laid back uncrowded feel (despite being relatively busy ). Handy pub and restuarant on site. Close to local shop.

We were unlucky and had a broken tent pole - friendly owner supplied spare part and repair. 


Previous     145 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sango Sands Caravan & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sango Sands Caravan & Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sango Sands Caravan & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Durness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4306 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement