Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sango Sands Caravan & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Durness > Sango Sands Caravan & Camping Reviews

Sango Sands Caravan & Camping
Sango Sands
Durness
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV27 4PP
Tel: 01971 511726
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 82
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 155 Reviews
                9/10 from 155 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  155 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Relaycamper 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed one night here. Fantastic views from all the pitches. Very large site and well used. Reception very pleasant and helpful. You can select your own pitch and you can see the sea from everywhere. There is a lovely beach, but access a bit difficult for us oldies. There is a restaurant nearby but cannot say as we did not use it. Toilets and showers were OK but only just coping with the volume of people. The site is very popular and was pretty full when we where there, probably due to the good weather. They cope very well considering the numbers involved. Too busy for us personally but a good site. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bjames839 15 reviews from this member

 Lets get this clear first; we love the area up here, and we love this site, with its dramatic clifftop pitches overlooking the stunning, award winning beach. Fantastic camper's kitchen with free gas for the tenters, good laundry facilities, and shop with all you need just a short walk away. The surrounding beaches at Sandwood, Oldshoremore, Balnakeil, Sheigra and Polin, all of which we walked to, are absolutely stunning. If you're lucky enough to be blessed with near 30 degree weather as we were for our 2nd week, it's an amazing place to be. We spent a day lounging in the sun at Balnakeil, intermittently swimming in the North Atlantic! The water's so clear it's like swimming in gin! There's also plenty of walking to be had other than the beaches with magical mountains like Foinaven, Arkle, Ben Hope and Ben Stack all within easy distance.

It has been 6 years or so since we visited the area however, and in that time the 'NC500' has come into being. We've probably done most of it anyway before it became a 'thing'. It's undoubtedly a good thing for the local economy as can be witnessed by the increasing number of new builds springing up, but with these trappings come also some irresponsible people. Whereas this area was once pristine, there is now litter everywhere. Someone, surely enjoying it for the same reasons as ourselves, because it's stunning, had a BBQ at Balnakeil and left the rubbish on the car park when they left. Why do folk do things like that? Dogs were also running around all over the site in spite of signs saying they should be on leads, and as a result there was dog mess everywhere. I'd also agree with previous comments that 8 showers is definitely not enough for the number of people staying. There's nothing wrong with the showers, perfectly fine, but the site owners are making a LOT of money, and it surely wouldn't hurt to put another block in. All in all, beautiful area, beautiful site with a great restaurant, (try the Crofter's Grill, lovely), but for us slightly let down by a few inconsiderate people. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Regajd 6 reviews from this member

 A wonderful location on the cliff tops with nearly all pitches having sea views. Although the site is very busy the facilities are kept very clean. The kitchen and dishwashing areas looked in need of a facelift but we didn't use them anyway. Very welcoming reception. Individual hook up pitches are a bit narrow. It's a long way from home but we'd love to visit again 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carlos725 9 reviews from this member

 4 night stay 16-19 July. Wife, 12 year old, dogs and me. Great pitch reserved on cliff-top, just a shame we couldn't reserve the weather! Site is still as great and popular as ever. All toilet/wash/laundry facilities still of a good standard. Local shops are fine, supplying all you need and easy 5 mins walk from site. Sango Sands Oasis is a great bar /restaurant, although it was very busy and required booking. Food and beer was good and service good. If you like walking, this is the place. A few local hills and less strenuous routes are available, for the less agile or young families. I love this site and will head back out of season, without the family for some serious hill walking.

The only criticism I have is that the drainage was not good and the heavy rain caused substantial run-off into the lower hard standings, meaning I had to dig a drainage channel. However, it was an awful lot of rain! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sunny Jim 60 8 reviews from this member

 We had 2 pitches together, looking right out over the sea. Stunning in the sunshine! Pitches can be a bit close together due to the uneven landscape but it didn't seem to bother anyone. Toilets and shower block are separate at one end and a small combined block at the other side. All are serviceable but a bit outdated and too few for the size of the site. Queued for 20 minutes one morning for a shower! Visited the local for a meal, and despite an electric power cut, staff and food were excellent. Beach walk was superb and it was great to see kids having fun in the waves 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Maxt46 54 reviews from this member

 If you like wide open spaces this is the site for you, minimum signs, rules and regs a great beach.

We all like to do a bit of wild camping when touring Scotland but you do need to empty out and fill up occasionally so this is a great place.

The only down side for us the pub/restaurant didn't let dogs in, and it was too cold and windy outside good job we carry our own supplies. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stokewalker 15 reviews from this member

 Stayed here 2 nights and pre-booked to reserve a pitch on the cliff front. Fantastic views over Durness beach and the North Coast cliffs. Durness Beach is a fabulous place on it's own. A stretch of beautiful golden sand interspersed with craggy rocky outcrops.

I had expected the site to very basic due to it's remoteness, but I found everything very acceptable - separate toilet and unisex shoer blocks - phone signal was reasonable, I found the wi-fi a bit temperamental in the adjoining bar/restaurant - tv reception was also surprisingly good.

There's a Spar shop just above the site and a bar/restaurant just below.

The lady warden was very polite and chatty.

Overall I thought the site was excellent but there are a couple of points to note:

The pitches are crammed quite close together

For the best views people like to try to get onto the front row just above the beach - it is however the windiest point too, so the smart idea may be to go for a pitch on the 2nd tier to get the best compromise 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Summersmum 27 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two nights, had booked ahead so got given front row looking over the beach which is exposed to wind but was not a major problem on our visit. Pitches are closely packed together in this area - more spread out further back or if you don't want hook up - so no real space to sit outside our van. Toilets clean in both blocks. 2 individual showers in upper block which worked fine, the other bigger block has unisex area for showering so we avoided this one. Spar supermarket just a couple of minutes walk away. Bar and restaurant on site do not take dogs except when food isn't being served in the bar! As most people seemed to have dogs this is a bit short sighted of the management. Food wasn't brilliant so we only visited once. Beach great for dogs as are the local walks. Café at the craft centre welcomes dogs. Owner friendly - she comes round morning and evening to collect pitch fees and leaves note on door with your pitch number if you book ahead. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camper Fred 2 reviews from this member

 I wanted to leave a review about Sango Sands. Durness. On arrival we found a lovely location to camp. We pitched our tent on the cliff top overlooking the Atlantic and just above a beautiful beach which would be a dream for families.

We then had a wander around the site, checking out the facilities. The toilets whilst clean left little room for people using the washing facilities and other people trying to access a toilet, no hair dryers. There were only 3 showers for at least 3 fields full of tents. Which to me was totally inadequate for the amount of people camping and every time I passed people were queuing. I tried to use the showers early in the morning thinking I would beat the queue but to no avail, there was still a queue and we were told by people who were leaving the showers that they were cold. I gave up at this point. When I looked in the showers on arrival afternoon I found all of them dirty. Not something I really wanted to use anyway.

There was two washing up sinks with a really good supply of hot water and a camping kitchen. Which was basic in the extreme.

I must say we found the staff on site were very friendly.

I did hear people saying how lovely the site was but I was comparing it to other sites we have camped at this week and Sango Sands was definitely in need of modernisation and upgrade. I am not sure if we would come back, which is such a shame because of the location. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Shirl56 7 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site, relaxed, happy management, always ready with local info and directions. Toilets are clean, showers are basic but good with plenty hot water. Great motorhome service point, fabulous views and easy access to beach. We didn't have children in our party but I feel adults would have to keep a close eye on wee ones due to the ease of access to beach and cliffs. A great spot to explore this part of Scotland from. 


Previous     155 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sango Sands Caravan & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sango Sands Caravan & Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sango Sands Caravan & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Durness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3926 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement