Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sango Sands Caravan & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Durness > Sango Sands Caravan & Camping Reviews

Sango Sands Caravan & Camping
Sango Sands
Durness
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV27 4PP
Tel: 01971 511726
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 82
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 155 Reviews
                9/10 from 155 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  155 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Somersetarcher 12 reviews from this member

 Stunning location overlooking an amazing beach with incredible views along the coast. Lots of choice of sites to pitch on and super facilities including a communal kitchen with gas rings provided. The owners were friendly and the rates reasonable considering the facilities. There is a local Spar and petrol in the village but very expensive.

The pitching is on sandy soil so make sure you have suitable pegs - the area reputation was founded on our second night with 50 mph gusts and an early morning, wet, decamp!

Still well worth the visit though. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bjames839 15 reviews from this member

 This was our 3rd or 4th time at this site and once again it didn't let us down. It's a long haul to get there, took us around 13 hours from Lancashire but well worth the effort, hence the third or fourth visit! Lovely restaurant owned and run by the site owner, the mixed grill is highly recommended! The beach is stunning and fantastic to fish from. A Scot camper caught a salmon off the beach and I got some 'flatties'. Amazing walks around this site, the beach at nearby Balnakiel is something else. We had it virtually to ourselves and it stretches for miles with amazing sand dunes backing it up. There's not a lot of shops in Durness itself, but there's a Spar that seems to double up as the Post Office, fishing tackle shop, bakery and everything else! Plenty of showers, maybe a little underpowered, but always clean. Amazing site with amazing views, well worth the drive. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Poocini 4 reviews from this member

 This was an amazing location. We were parked on a cliff top looking out over the Atlantic Ocean, with the beach below us. It was stunning at the best of times, but at sunset or sunrise it was unbelievable.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and the facilities were great. The showers were nice and hot, the toilets were clean, and although we didn't frequent it, there was a bar and restaurant on site. The price was quite cheap as well, only costing us 14.

The town itself is strange, in that there's only a couple of hundred people (if that) live there, but it's must be spread across a mile or two! Having said that, it's a lovely place, and the people who run the local Spar and the petrol station were lovely. However, the petrol was very expensive when we were there (1.31 a litre compared to a more normal price of around 1.15 at the time we went), so you may need to make sure that you've got enough to get in and out, although even that was cheap compared to Tongue just down the road, which was 1.37 ( that's one pound thirty seven, in the style of the teleprinter on grandstand when the results were a bit hard to believe).

Also, if you have a big motorhome, you will need to be careful, because the vast majority of roads in the area are single track, and very windey. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: THE GLOBETROTTERS 11 reviews from this member

 Staff extremely helpful and friendly. A nice warm welcome. We found our pitch then decided to have a meal in the restaurant attached to the site, and what a lovely meal it was too. Highly recommended. Village shop just outside the park = very handy and well stocked.

So, we thought we had cracked it until later that night when we had 70 mile winds and at 1.40am decided to pack up and move off to Inverness. We weren't the only ones to do this, by the way! But what a pity as this is a great site in a beautiful part of GB (my little piece of Heaven).

But, we will be back. Didn't use the showers as we weren't there long enough! Loos very clean. We were charged per person plus ehu. Very cheap. Thank you! Definitely recommended. Cant wait to get back there. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nht2010 6 reviews from this member

 Beautiful location, on the clifftop above a sandy beach beloved of surfers. The site is huge, with various areas available including a small area next to one of the toilet blocks marked 'tents only' and intended for backpackers/cyclists. We pitched up next to the road, and managed to find a patch of level ground just the right size for us and avoid the crowding seen on other parts of the site.

The site was very busy when we were there - there must have been a couple of hundred units there - and the facilities were horribly oversubscribed. The ladies loos were very busy and soon became filthy, with overflowing rubbish bins and water everywhere; they were only cleaned once per day.

The showers were full even early in the morning. There was always a huge queue at the dishwashing area - we ended up taking hot water from the toilets instead. On the plus side, the site did have an indoor 'campers kitchen' with several hobs and a table area, which would be great for tenters in inclement weather.

To sum up, the location is great but the site doesn't have anything like enough toilets / showers / sinks for the number of campers it takes, which is a great pity. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Floraandpals 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two days in July.

It's a wonderful location with spectacular views. We were pitched on the side of the cliff and it was terrific to go to sleep to the sound of the sea in the background.

The campsite owners were helpful and friendly, the beach was our playground for the duration, but we visited the smoo cave, which is well worth a visit and if the funds are low you can still have a wee look.

The artists village was also worth a walk, great coffee, homemade chocolate and a second hand bookshop. My idea of heaven.

The on site facilities were basic, toilets were clean, showers luke warm at busy times, but it was very reasonably priced.

I'd definitely recommend this site if only for the view. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Elainewh32 1 review from this member

 we stayed for a couple of nights whilst doing a tour round Scotland last summer. The facilities are good and clean. Set in stunning area the beach on the doorstep was gorgeous we were lucky enough to actually have great weather. If the warden isn't there you just pick your pitch and put up your tent and he'll get you when he arrive. Dog friendly! Local shop right at the start of the campsite, pub at the bottom of the campsite little touristy shop /visitor centre beside the pub kids allowed in the pub to. In all we enjoyed our stay here and will be back this year! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Owdlad 2 reviews from this member

 Wonderful location, very relaxed atmosphere, the place to stop if touring the north of Scotland. The constructed walkway to the viewpoint overlooking the two beaches below the site, is not to be missed. The site can get very busy at times, convoys of motorhomes appear from nowhere, so the facilities can get overstretched. When the bar next door is crowded, there is a lovely Pub, signposted, just off the road to Tongue.

Things to do,Golf Course to die for, 9 holes, 18 tees, (9th Par3, 140 yards carry over the Atlantic.) May/June sail to Handa for the nesting seabirds and anytime, a trip to Cape Wrath. The ride on the 12 seater Minibus is 'memorable' The Smoo Cave is well worth doing. Not your normal run of the mill trip. I cannot wait to return in 2011. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Micol 6 reviews from this member

 What a location!

Right above the beach at Durness looking out Northwards. Quite busy but OK. Toilets, Showers, etc. A little dated but fine and clean. Local Spar just up the road. Lots of space. We had good weather, but imagine it could well get a bit windy. Within easy walking distance of Smoo Cave - quite awesome.

We (& most of the camp site!)saw a pod (is that the right term?) of killer whales - Orca - 2 adults with 3 or 4 youngsters. They came right into the bay - one of adults seemd to be chasing something and almost beached, then heaved itself sideways and back into the water - then they continued their leisurely amble round the bay and back out to sea - absolutely fantastic! Apparently there is a number of Orca that regularly 'patrol' this northern coast and a little down the west coast. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kennyboy2831 31 reviews from this member

 Arrived at site no one available, so just pitched in a spectacular spot overlooking the beach. Owner came to see us at about 6pm to collect payment explaining he had been to a funeral. Was most helpful as we had a spot of bother with the pump and he kept us updated with the arrival of a new one.

The sands are beautiful and clean there are shops and an information centre also a pub and petrol station available close by. Smoo cave just down the road is a must visit and also there are walks in the area. The facilities were ok although could do with updating but were always clean.

Would we return the answer is yes 


Previous     155 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sango Sands Caravan & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sango Sands Caravan & Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sango Sands Caravan & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Durness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3513 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement