Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sango Sands Caravan & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Durness > Sango Sands Caravan & Camping Reviews

Sango Sands Caravan & Camping
Sango Sands
Durness
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV27 4PP
Tel: 01971 511726
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 82
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 145 Reviews
                9/10 from 145 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  145 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: JaneH 63 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night during 70 mph winds! You can pitch up right to the cliff edge but opted out with the winds as they were. The site is very relaxed with a 'come and pay when the office opens' system. Decent showers (mixed block)x2 blocks and toilets, washing up facilities under cover and clothes line area.

Next to the site is the Oasis restaurant/bar where we took refuge from the winds, seemed popular with locals and tourists alike. The TIC is well worth a visit, lots of local info. The craft village was handy during the winds and picked up some nice hand made soap and a lovely picture. Cocoa Mountain is a definite must especially the hot chocolate - delicious.

Small supermarket and post office just up the road.

Balnakiel bay is worth a trip even on a wet day. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kate Best 2 reviews from this member

 A wonderful site right on the edge of the country. Very reasonable fees. 5.50 per night, which gets collected by the owners. A good shower block with dishwashing facilities.

The shop and post office and local restaurant are all a very short walk away.

The views are stunning and there is a sandy beach right beneath the campsite.

If you enjoy walking the cliffs, wandering along white sandy beaches and watching all sorts of sea birds passing by, you will love this site.

There is also an excellent craft village close by and Smoo Caves is a must. Great for all ages who love the outdoors. If I didn't live so far away, I would visit as often as possible 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AndyRomain 34 reviews from this member

 New tent, new trip, so time for a new review!

There are two things you need at Durness - a strong tent, and a lot of confidence! However, if you are well equipped with these, this is an amazing site in a beautiful part of the country. The drive up through the 'Geopark' is breathtaking, and never ceases to captivate me.

Durness itself is a tiny village (the most North Easterly on the mainland UK), with a few local facilities, and is a good staging post for 'LEJOG' (the reason for my last visit), or a good base for exploring the far North of the mainland.

The site itself is well presented, superbly well priced (5.50 per adult per night), and has excellent facilities. It's the kind of site where you can either mingle and chat with the other campers, or keep yourself to yourself. There are also often a lot of foreign visitors to the site, mainly Dutch and German, so it has a nice international mix too.

The site is perfectly located for visits to Balnakeil Bay (lovely walks over duneland), and Cape Wrath. Be aware, the ferry to Cape Wrath is weather dependant, and will generally only run if there are 6 or more passengers. The trip to the Cape (5 for the ferry, 9 for the minibus) is well worth the money, and you can expect to see plenty of Deer, and if you're lucky, the occasional Golden Eagle.

The only caveat with the site is the weather. Fortunately on the two occasions I have stayed here, my tents have held up to the very high winds that sweep across the site, but be mindful that this isn't your average campsite, this is as far North as you can go without getting your feet wet.

In summary, Durness is a stunning location, with friendly hosts, and all the facilities you could need. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flippsy 14 reviews from this member

 Travelling to this site, you feel you are in a completely different country. There is no other landscape quite like this in Great Britain. It's wild and remote, dramatic mountain scenery with stunning, white empty beaches. Durness is a little haven of humanity with just enough in the way of shops to keep body and soul together for a few days. I couldn't believe it but they had my daily paper every day as well as fresh baked bread and hot pies.The Campsite is just in a fantastic location overlooking a beautiful beach with clear blue seas and rolling waves.

There is lots of space and choice for pitches for different units, but we felt at home in our tent, rather than pushed to one corner by the big vehicles that sometimes dominate other places. Facilities were quite acceptable for the unfussy anyway, and kept fairly clean - there was even a plug for the girls who need hair straighteners etc. The campers kitchen, being a basic and communal arrangement, would not have pleased everyone, but if it's blowing a gale and you're in a little tent, then it would be a godsend.

This is a site for outdoor lovers who can make their own entertainment. People talk to each other here. Having a tourist information office next door was useful and we would have stayed longer than 3 nights if we could have. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keithydee 21 reviews from this member

 Lovely setting on top of cliffs, 5.50 per person per night. Plenty of toilets and showers so no trouble queuing. There is a campers kitchen with gas provided free, showers are also free. 2 Nice beaches nearby, shame that the restaurant is closed early though.

Stopped 2 nights, unfortunately we were let down by a poor tent (Outwell? never again!) which didn't stand up to the wind, the site is quite exposed. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 608 reviews from this member

 Stunning location - ouir pitch looked out over the sea.

Toilets were clean and well kept. Showers were in a separate block - we didn't get to use them as there seemed to be a constant queue - to be fair site was very busy.

The walks and views from the site are worth the trip this far North. If you are a walker a good site to stay a few days - not sure there is too much in the area if you don't want to do any walking. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lateagain 7 reviews from this member

 My last visit in a tent was 25 years earlier. We endured a gale in a tent. Being an old boy scout I was confident that we wouldn't get blown away and my custom storm guys held. However the tent rattled like a drum and after a sleepless night we fled South.

Now with loads of facilities for campers of all sorts (see other reviews) the site charges per person and a charge for a hook up. This means your accommodation is irrelevant to the charge.

We awoke to find ourselves in a cloud and after this burnt off you could appreciate the beaches. The site is quite high above them but they are accessible. Head West through the village (shop fuel etc.) to the old radar station which has been an artist/craft commune since I was last here. Beyond that is another magnificent (if exposed) beach.Oh and a golf club I believe? If like us your next stop is Inverness take the road via Tongue for a scenic single track route round the lochs.

The one down side is that the attached pub/restaurant has limited opening times and a pint and some lunch was unavailable by 2:30p.M. In fact both closed then until the evening. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Abever1d 1 review from this member

 We had glorious weather and as a result, this was an absolutely brilliant location. Extensive sea views, superb beach with easy access down seemingly excellent wooden steps (but the local council was giving notice of removal of these steps)

Glorious & remote countryside, friendly people (locals & fellow campers). A site with good facilities & local shop, post office & restaurant.

We had a great time here & the site benefited from many nationalities with many units from Germany & Holland present in particular. Durness golf course only a mile or so away. Magnificent 9 hole. Be prepared to extend your visit, you will want to especially if the weather is good. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jackie Highland 2 reviews from this member

 My maiden outing in caravan, and the owners went out of their way to be helpful. There for four nights at beginning of season, so very quiet. Facilities good. The Oasis bar looks a bit dingy, but food excellent: simple, tasty and good value. The Spar shop stocks most things. Excellent for dogs. Lots of good walks. I shall be back 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thesaint 22 reviews from this member

 We camped here for a few days in mid-June. When we turned up there was plenty of space, we pitched where we wanted to and went to pay when the reception opened at 6pm, it cost 5.50 per person.
This site has fantastic views of the beach below and out to sea. But it can be a little bit windy, but remember you are at the most North Westerly point in Britain. If it is windy, there is a campers kitchen with a couple of gas rings that you can use for free.
The showers are nice and hot also free. The dishwashing area and toilets were always clean, and they cut the grass regularly. Also on site is a laundry room.
Next door is the Oasis bar and restaurant which serve decent meals. There is a Spar (with ATM) which stocked most things, Mathers general stores and a petrol station in Durness. Down the road is the Balnakeil craft village with a Bistro there.
The site is handy for visiting Cape Wrath, Smoo Cave and the amazing beaches in the area. One thing to note is the Spar, petrol station and stores are shut on a Sunday. 


Previous     145 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sango Sands Caravan & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sango Sands Caravan & Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sango Sands Caravan & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Durness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4368 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement