Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sango Sands Caravan & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Durness > Sango Sands Caravan & Camping Reviews

Sango Sands Caravan & Camping
Sango Sands
Durness
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV27 4PP
Tel: 01971 511726
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 82
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 145 Reviews
                9/10 from 145 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  145 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Enigmaenigma 3 reviews from this member

 A very memorable two nights. Arrived during a mild/medium force gale winds and thought our tent was going to blow away in the middle of the night and then woke up to a fantastice view overlooking the beach.

Views over the beach were lovely and being the first to walk along the beach in the morning when no-one else is about is sheer bliss (",)

Was a lil bit disappointed with Smoo Cave nearby because there wasn't a waterfall inside as we were led to believe. It had dried out quite a few years ago.

Sangobeg beach is absolutely gorgeous - if it hadn't started to rain we could have just sat looking at the sea for hours, it was beautiful. When you walk down from the nearby car park there's a sheltered area just in front of the mountain where there's enough room for about 5 medium sized tents to pitch up and you have a glorous uninterrupted view of the beach. If there wasn't a group of campers there already we would have definitely pitched up for the night. It wasn't an official campsite - it's camping in the wild as nature intended. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bridget56 1 review from this member

 This was our first outing in a motor-home, and we went to the furthest distance from our home. Upon arrival, I could see the reason why we had not had to book, there was plenty of space, and plenty of electrical hook ups. The surrounding area and views are stunning, the beaches as stated Award winning, and all this can be viewed from your window.
The owner James Keith has thought of everything, for all types of campers. Showers are powerful and hot, always clean and never busy as there are plenty to manage the numbers using the site. Provided is a camp kitchen for those in tents and needing shelter to make their food, a drying room, all free to use.
I note from previous postings that some people say that the site is a little un-level, well for the tents there is a flat field, the electrical hook ups are generally all on the flat and most caravans and motor-homes have wedges to level their units so no problems.
The food in the pub is excellent value, and Janet behind the bar is full of helpful information.
What more can you say, except great place! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dickson 1 review from this member

 What can we say, first time we have toured with a caravan and it was worth while when we arrived in Durness. People and staff very friendly and the site was excellent and the views over the beach were something out of this world. Best showers we have every had and nice and clean. The restaurant has excellent food and value for money could only manage one course. Will definiately recommend to family and friends and will be back for sure. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ahalst21 34 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with spectacular sea views.
Most pitches level and grass nice and short.
Good facilities, kept nice and clean. Camp kitchen with gas ring and eating area always a great idea.
Plenty of showers as besides a couple in the toilets there is a separate shower block.
Ideal for touring this north west part of Scotland and you must visit Cape Wrath and we enjoyed the craft village nearby and the John Lennon Memorial Garden in Durness is a credit to the residents. Well worth a visit. Just a shame about the weather! But guess its not as cool and blowy all the time! 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Purpleturtle 7 reviews from this member

 Fantastic location and views, reasonable prices, clean facilities and a shop out front. Also, a covered area for the tent campers to cook if the weather gets really bad, (which it didn't). Plenty of pitches along the sea cliffs with uninterrupted views of the CLEAN beach!
I'll definitely visit again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2005 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hobbit 6 reviews from this member

 Superb view of sandy beaches high on cliffs. Facilities looked adequate although not used (we are always self contained.... saves bugs!) stayed over one night but had intended more but got itchy feet. Excellent shop just outside entrance. Would stay here again.... no doubt at all
 


Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: Taffy69 1 review from this member

 What a beautifull place, all amenities very clean and also had laundry + dishwashing + campers kitchen. In such a remote place you wouldn't think that such things would exist. Cant wait to go back again A.S.A.P The beaches are second to none it's like being at the med and they have won awards for cleanliness. And the owner is very friendly + helpful 


Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Niblue 23 reviews from this member

 This is quite a large and very well situated site very close to the furthest north west point of Scotland. There are two uni-sex shower blocks, one with 2 showers and one with 8. All are useable but the showers in the block with 2 are considerably better. There are also a couple of toilet blocks. The site has lovely views out to sea from most pitches and there are various facilities and attractions nearby, including a shop and Bank of Scotland cashline machine (broken the whole time we were there), Smoo Cave, ferry to Cape Wrath etc.

The owner is helpful and friendly if somewhat disorganised (he hadn't noted our booking) however the site does suffer somewhat from there being no warden on site. Unhappily a couple of nights of our stay were when the Durness Highland Games were on and the site was absolutely packed. A lot of the occupants were young folks attending a dance and that meant lots of noise right up to about 4:30am including cars being driven about the site and drunks wandering about. Not ideal if you're there looking for peace and quiet or, like us, have young kids. The other night of our stay was probably more typical however with the site being very tranquil.

I'll definitely visit again, but definitely not while the Highland Games were on! 


Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Ukxj 1 review from this member

 This site is excellent. It has all the basic amenities you could require. The site itself is large and not overcrowded, although some of the pitches are a bit uneven. The location is fantastic. The beaches are only a minute away and are unspoiled, and the sea is crystal clear. For those who want to explore, there are plenty of walks to be enjoyed. I for one, will be going back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Wheelsfargo 6 reviews from this member

 Good beach-side location in natural surroundings, not a landscaped site. wonderful views of beach from cliff top pitches. Easy access to beach below. Busy site but plenty pitches, on the edge of the village with local shops in walking distance. 2 small basic amenity blocks, plus a newish block of 8 communal showers only. Pick your own pitch (grass or hardstanding) gravel pitches are a bit uneven, stony rough ground.
For Backpackers, there’s a basic drying area and a campers kitchen with cooking facilities and tables.

We can recommend the food in the pub/restaurant next door, good value.
Ideal stop off site for a couple of nights if you’re touring northern coast of Scotland.

 


Previous     145 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sango Sands Caravan & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sango Sands Caravan & Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sango Sands Caravan & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Durness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3975 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement