Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sango Sands Caravan & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Durness > Sango Sands Caravan & Camping Reviews

Sango Sands Caravan & Camping
Sango Sands
Durness
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV27 4PP
Tel: 01971 511726
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 82
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 155 Reviews
                9/10 from 155 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  155 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: EmzieP 6 reviews from this member

 The campsite was right at the top of the cliff so can be very windy as previous reviewers have said. However, the views were amazing and there is a footpath down to the beach, although a bit of a slope to get down there. The site do have a viewing point if you cannot make the climb down.

We did climb down to the beach and saw dolphins swimming in the bay which was a real bonus.

The on site pub was quite busy, also had locals but was okay for us.

My husband used the showers and said they were perfectly adequate.

All in all we enjoyed our stay. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lorfal 23 reviews from this member

 Busy site. Pitch sizes ok, not overly generous, though it depends on where you want to pitch up. Views fantastic. Facilities clean, though found toilet Block cold, good motorhome service point. Access to beach via sandy path from cliff, care needed but not too steep.

As mentioned in other reviews, can get windy but seemed sheltered farther back on site.

Itís not as commercial as I was expecting, thatís a good thing!

Well stocked spar 2 mins walk. Pub and resturaunt on site, food is typical pub fare. You can take out anything from the menu.

Iíd use this site again, avoid popular holiday times.

I found the staff very friendly and helpful too 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Custard15 18 reviews from this member

 A stunning location, whatever time of year (though try to avoid visiting this cliff-top site in high winds)! The site is arranged over a series of tiers- increasing the opportunities to get a pitch with a view (and requesting electrical hookup helps you to get a prime spot).

Visiting on a whim out of season meant that we couldnít reach the management ahead of arrival, but a note on the office door stated that a couple of sites had been pre-booked, other than that to pitch where you liked and visit the office at 5pm to pay! We soon selected our scenic pitch and put the kettle on ready to admire the view.

The showers and toilets are in different (dated) blocks, which is odd, but theyíre not the reason you visit here, and not that bad itíll put you of. Though I guess itís a bit weird that the shower block is unisex.

The on site restaurant was closed, but no problem as the bar was still open and serving food. Real ale for £2. 50 was a great bonus. The menu was standard pub fare, and probably relied on the freezer, microwave and fryer, especially at this time of year, but you couldnít fault the range or portion size. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dannicali 8 reviews from this member

 A beautiful location perched over a stunning beach, facing due East for a perfect view of sunrise. Shop just a short walk away. Smoo cave and waterfall a short walk. And I'm afraid that's where the good points end for us. On arrival ( we had prebooked) reception had a queue, who all looked a little irritated. We were told out pitch number and were left to find it, no overview of the site or where we might find the facilities.

We had a spectacular spot, perched on the edge next to the cliff top. Squeezed in between huge motor homes so we could at least watch their TVs! The hard standing felt more like a car park, no grass verges etc between the pitches. There also appeared to be a tolerance of extra vans squeezing in on the edges of the access roads.

The facilities were more than dated, they were unsafe. We werehed up in a shed with 2 sinks and no lights. Lucky in a way as when we returned in daylight we had a true picture of the state of the place.

We tried to find an alternative for the breakfast wash up and wandered in to the laundry where there was an open store room full of all the lethal cleaning fluids needed to kill a small child. It also contained a huge electrical spaghetti of exposed wires and sockets. At this point we decided not to stay for the second night and left, so showers untested. We visited reception to let them know and they did refund the unused nights, and referred us to the new facilities being built. We had noticed these as the JCB started up in the morning just as we were having breakfast.

I hope the new facilities make the difference as the position of this sight is too perfect to not want to return. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phatman64 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite at the far north of Scotland. Suitable for all tourers, electrical hook-up available. Great beach, excellent local restaurant / pub just yards from the camp. Local services nearby for supplies. The location is excellent for NC500 tourists on a budget, local hill walking nearby, excellent walks along the kyle and coast.

This is the extreme north of Scotland so weather is unpredictable, pack accordingly!

Great site, good showers and community cooking/wash areas. Great value site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sprog 2 reviews from this member

 This is a simple, remote campsite with a warm, friendly and informative welcome at reception and very reasonable prices. It's location on the edge of a cliffside make for wonderful views with easy access to a couple of great beaches.

The facilities are pretty basic: two ageing toilet/shower blocks with washing up facilities, but construction is underway of newer facilities which should be online by next season at the latest. And the facilities do the job for the time being.

It's remoteness means you have to really want to get there.

Trust me: you really want to get there. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Babywhale 26 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 9 nights at Sango Sands, at the end of June and early July 2017. We've stayed at this site a few times before.

Durness is a small coastal village ideally located for exploring the north western area of Scotland. There's a Spar shop as well as a small shop, and both are open throughout most of the day, if not late into the evening or as long at weekends. There's also a pub and restaurant located next to the campsite.

The campsite is nicely laid out, and isn't too formal in terms of pitch positions either. Most areas for pitching are flat and provide sea views. When we visited there were a lot of motorhomes on the site, and those areas looked a little cramped. Some pitches are located near the main road, which can be quite noisy, as the roads around this area are very popular with motorbikes.

The site is exposed in windy weather. We had strong winds on one night (60MPH Gusts) and quite a few tent dwellers saw their tents battered and damaged. Worth bringing strong pegs and keeping an eye on the weather forecast.

Facilities are good, if a little dated. There's a unisex shower block which is clean, but not particularly comfortable. Cubicles are small and there's limited room for getting dried and changed. There's also a couple of toilet blocks and dishwashing areas, as well as a small launderette. Toilets are cleaned once a day, but could do with a second clean/freshen when its busy.

The site is well run by friendly management who let you go about your holiday with minimal intrusion. Campers are also well behaved and tend to be experienced types, who know about keeping noise to a minimum and not walking across each other's pitches.

We'll definitely return, because we like the area, and prefer this site to all others in the region, such as Scourie, Bettyhill and Thursday. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bjames839 15 reviews from this member

 Oh dear, it has been a year since my last review as we've moved house and I've learned to ride a motorbike since the last one and we just haven't had time to get away in the 'van.

It was almost exactly a year since we last visited Durness and I commented then on my dismay at the way it looks like it's ending up, and unfortunately it has only got worse. We've been coming up here for years, and it was always like minded souls who wanted the get-away-from-it-all experience like ourselves. Now the NC500 appears to be encouraging groups of boy racer types, I believe the collective term is 'posse', (though I personally use another), who seem hell bent on doing it in the quickest time possible.

Also, a lot of the site users are not the same as they used to be. There is dog mess everywhere and it's got so you have to watch where you walk when going down to the beach. We're not dog haters, we have one ourselves, but when he needs his 'ablutions' we clean up after him.

There were large groups of motorhomes playing loud music, and towards the end of our stay a group of trials motorcyclists arrived who thought it would be nice to share the sounds and smells of their bikes around the site. I regret to report that I did not share their enthusiasm.

The showers were also cold on several occasions during our stay, and when my partner enquired about this she was told that it was the fault of the campers for not allowing sufficient time for the boiler to heat up. She was told that there were 500 guests staying that night! If I owned a hotel, and the said hotel was fully booked, the guests would expect hot water to wash in, end of.

We did the 'Kyle' walk which skirts the coast before heading back to the village along the single track road. We've done it several times before, but this time there was litter every 6 feet or so along the roadside, a tragedy.

If you're on the NC500 and you're in need of a site for the night, maybe somewhere for your dog to use the toilet, there aren't many others in the area, and the beaches are spectacular, just watch out for dog poo.

We've come here for years as it's been one of our favourite places in the world, but I'm really sad to say that it's lost that appeal for us now. Next time we're up this way we'll be on the motorbike, and I we'll be looking at other sites in the area as we're in no rush to return to this one. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DundeeIan 14 reviews from this member

 We had booked the site and were advised the pitch number would be on the door at reception as the office was not open until 16:00. Our pitch had our name on it and it was a great view over the sea. A number of pitches are stepped to maximise the view. Site is quite large with big camping areas. Restaurant and bar next door were OK. Plenty of water/drainage and Elsan points although the Elsan points seemed quite small compared to usual ones. Toilets and showers in two blocks are a bit old fashioned but perfectly clean, push button shower is the usual. Short walk to lovely sandy beach, Smoo cave and craft village. Spar shop just up the road. We loved this site and will be back as it is such a beautiful area. Pay wifi is available but good signal from mobile means wifi not required. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mikro 24 reviews from this member

 Spectacular setting on cliff top above lovely beach. Showers and toilets and washing up area in 3 separate blocks so not too convenient. Showers like many sites badly designed. Do proprietors ever shower in their own blocks we wonder? Nice pub next door and close to Cape Wrath trips. Also good walk out to Faraid Head conveniently past the Chocolate shop! and close to Smoo Cave.

Worth a visit for the location alone. 


Previous     155 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sango Sands Caravan & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sango Sands Caravan & Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sango Sands Caravan & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Durness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3426 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement