Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Canterbury > Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bekesbourne Lane
Canterbury
Kent   (Browse area)
CT3 4AB
Tel: 01227 463216
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 118 Reviews
                8/10 from 118 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leslthor 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weeks stay at this site. We were shown to what was said to be the part of the site which had the most sunshine, and boy was the warden right. We were concerned about the overhead power lines but soon forgot they were there.

This is a lovely site with plenty of space and 2 clean toilet/shower blocks, we never had to queue even when there was a party of school kids in the bottom field.

The wardens were friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.

It was our first visit to Canterbuy and we will definitely be visiting again.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tawny 7 reviews from this member

We stayed here in May 09. The wardens were friendly and helpful (even though I left my purse at home so did not have my membership card). We were shown to a lovely big pitch where we were very happy. The toilets and showers were spotless if a little narrow. There was a small shop selling essentials and lots of leaflets in the info section.

I would recommend this as an excellent base for exploring Kent, we found many things to do within an easy driving distance. We will definitely stay here again if we visit Kent in the future.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Swinpalms 1 review from this member

A very nice site, and staff all very helpful.

There was a guy riding round on a bike making sure that tents were no closer than 6 metre apart(for fire risk) which was fair enough, but when we were told that a wind break also had to be 6 metres away from the tents because of fire risk (we had only put it up to keep the children away from the bbq) it seemed a bit silly.

Anyway the facilities are all very clean, and we would go back, but it's certainly not a free and easy pitch where you like attitude!

There's a nice little park area, and a den in the woods which the children loved.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Steven harvey 5 reviews from this member

First time staying at this site. We had a tent and visited during half term with our 2 children aged 9 and 11 and stayed for 5 nights.

The site is very well kept, beautiful and green with lots of trees and wildlife (particularly bunnies!) Pitches were spacious. A mixture of hard standing and grass. We were in a tent and were shown to a pitch with plenty of sun and space around for children to play. We had requested to be pitched away from any pylons, as we had heard about them on a previous review, but they weren't really an issue from anywhere on site I would say.

I agree with the previous comment about showers. They were fine, but we found them to be a little cramped, especially if you needed to take children in with you! My husband said the water pressure was variable in the gents showers but when he tried the other shower block he reported that they were better. It wasn't a huge problem though and they were always clean when we went in.

The wardens were always friendly, helpful and happy to help.

Shop was ok. Variety a bit basic but nice fresh eggs, bread and bacon from local sources. Recommend the locally bottled apple juice. I've ever tasted!

The shop also does freezer ice packs at 50p + £1.00 deposit, something we didn't realise till nearer the end of our stay.

Had some great days out:-

Canterbury. Lovely shops, restaurants, cathedral (a bit pricey at £21 for a family, but good) and a small cinema for any wet days! We drove there (£7 to park all day) but it was walkable!

Dover Castle. Great day out for kids of all ages. Lots of tunnels to explore and bits to climb!

Sandwich. Very pretty olde worlde town on the river.

Whitstable. Famous for its shellfish (oysters), quirky shops and beach.

All in all, we came back rested and relaxed and would not hesitate to visit Canterbury Camping and Caravan Park again.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cherl889 13 reviews from this member

Stayed here for three nights and it was the first time we had ever used a camping and caravan club site. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and even show you to your pitch.
The site itself is lovely and has a relaxed friendly feel, the weather was also great which always helps. The previous comments about the showers may be true but they are clean and serve the purpose for which they are provided.
I cannot recommend this site enough, great location close to canterbury, no doubt we will return.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kaziwal 1 review from this member

Just stayed for one night not having pre-booked and was not our first choice. Was pleasantly surprised. A lovely site with extremely friendly and helpful staff.
Toilet facilities were clean and tidy. My only criticism would be the dog walk which was very short to say the least. Would be ok for older dogs or dogs which don't need much exercising. Lots of bunnies running around - not good for my staffie who wanted to chase them!
Didn't venture outside the camp so can't comment on nearby facilities. All in all had a lovely time but would not go back if I were taking my dog with me.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Heather + phil 9 reviews from this member

Just returned from a three day break at this lovely site. We found the site very well kept and peaceful (though we did return just before the bank holiday) and having good weather made it all the more enjoyable. Really enjoyed the walk into canterbury. The wardens gave us a bus time table which was helpful but not really necessary if you like a good walk.

My only criticism would be the showers which although extremely clean were rather small and in some need of modernisation.

Overall I would definitely recommend this site but don't go if you don't like bunnies!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vanuata 3 reviews from this member

Very clean and tidy site. Staff exceptionally welcoming. A small shop for bread, milk sweets etc. and staff will order you a morning paper if required.
Whilst toilets and showers were on the dated side, they were immaculate, never had to queue for showers. Kids playground was been spruced up while we were there, but perfectly adequate.
Noticed some pitches were sloping and chocks were needed. Canterbury itself was a fantastic city and bus stop just outside campsite. Worth a visit to Port Lympne for the zoo. Would recommend.

Date of Visit: November 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nobrainnopain 1 review from this member

The site was very well kept.
Facilities very clean.
Staff friendly and helpful.
Stayed on hardstanding. Good sized pitch
Ideally located for trips into Canterbury (approx 20 minute brisk walk from site to centre of city)
We chose the site for its proximity to Canterbury and reputation of Camping and Caravanning Club sites.
We weren't disappointed and would definitely use the site again if visiting the area.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kathryn milburn 1 review from this member

The site is very well kept really clean and tidy. Personally I found the temperature of the showers too hot, but if it was cooler it would not be right for others.
Lots of places to visit and things to do. A visit to the Cathedral is a must and the guided walk was very interesting. Dover Castle, White Cliff's, Saphire Hoe and Broardstairs are all within easy reach and worth seeing. There is a very good bus service from the site but it takes about 20 minutes to walk in ( it takes longer going back to site because it is uphill).
Ferry prices are very good if you fancy a day in France, we went to Calais on a Sunday but it was closed, still had a nice day though. Please do not think of this site as a stop over on the way to the continent, the area is beautiful, we will go again and highly recommend it to others

Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5694 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019