Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Kent > Canterbury > Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bekesbourne Lane
Canterbury
Kent   (Browse area)
CT3 4AB
Tel: 01227 463216
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 152 Reviews
                9/10 from 152 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hiophiop 8 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a very enjoyable weekend at Canterbury Club Site.

First impressions were that this is a well maintained site. Everything looked well kept and the flower tubs were in full bloom - a nice impression.

We were shown to a choice of tent pitches by a friendly member of staff and the pitches were well kept, grassy and spacious. It is interesting to note that the tents are mixed in with the caravans and camper-vans which is a bit unusual in my experience as the tents are normally stuck away on there own on some sites like the unwelcome cousin at a family party, but not here, all mixed in and I think for the better.

Very safe and interesting site for the kids as there is a security gate leading on site.

The shower and site facilities were to a high enough standard for me despite some of the negative comments here. One of the staff told me that they appreciated that they were dated and they have plans to update them soon.

I would certainly return to this site, it's well situated for trips to Canterbury or to the Kent Coast and my kids really enjoyed it too.

If staying again I would ask for a pitch away from the side that is close to the hospital perimeter as there was a low droning noise coming from a generator or aircon plant that didn't spoil our stay, and probably wouldn't even be noticed in a caravan, but in a tent you could hear it droning in the background all the time.

I mentioned this to the warden and he said next time tell them and it would be no problem to be pitched away from this area. (FYI - the area we we pitched was near the site entrance next to the late arrivals area/car park). 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campology 1 review from this member

 Pretty hard to beat. Nice site I will return to. A little bit wet following a 2012 typical Summers downpouring. Well kept.

Showers hot and roomy. Quiet. Security seemed up to usual standard. People obviously care for their (permanent caravan/mhome) pitches.

Nicely personalised which makes you feel it is more than just a commercial load 'em in - ship 'em out site.

Pretty safe for kids I'd imagine. Vehicles tucked away which is nice.

Not for you if you like 'Benidorm' style evening entertainment and watered down lager. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Snaprails 13 reviews from this member

 Spent a (rather wet) week here in our folding camper. Although many people use this as a stopover when travelling to and from the channel ferry ports it's actually very well located and suited to exploring the Kent coast resorts and of course Canterbury itself, being walking distance from the gates (about 1. 8 miles I think I measured it as).

Facilities well up to usual club site standards although when will they get shower heads at a suitable height for people who are not vertically challenged?

Site managers friendly and helpful. You get an information pack on arrival which includes recommendations for local eateries (plus which local take-aways will deliver to site!) Site is secured by electric barriers, code operated, security certainly being a consideration on a site so close to a large city. It doesn't feel like you're close to a city though, quite rural in fact with woodland and farmland adjacent, and proper dog walking area, signposted from the site.

We'd certainly go here again if we were visiting Kent, Easy access by road to north, east, and south coasts and Canterbury has all the things you'd expect in a city (plus rather a lot of foreign school kids but maybe that was just the time of year). 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Monty the bongo 49 reviews from this member

 Friendly welcome and were shown to a choice of pitches. The site is well maintained and even though it was a busy weekend when we visited the facility were always clean and tidy. The only thing I wasn't impressed with were the push button showers but there was plenty of hot water. The shop is small and didn't seem to have much except the very basics.

Canterbury is about a mile walk from the site, but remember it's up hill on the way back! There is a bus stop right outside the site if you don't fancy the walk.

Second time we have visited this site and will be returning. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mercuryqueen0 2 reviews from this member

 I was really taken aback on arrival at this club site. I had pre-booked two campervans and paid a deposit. At the check in desk a nice lady commenced booking me in when the Manager interrupted and said she would book one of our campervans in. I explained that both were on my one booking form. She insisted so I explained further that I would like to pay for both. She actually made a hmph sound and rolled her eyes!

The site itself is extremely well kept with the most beautiful flowers near reception. And, it's well within walking distance of the town.

The nearest toilet block is closed from 10. 30am-noon each day but on one particular day was still closed until much later. The showers were cold at 9am. 30 per night for two people in a camper is a bit steep (and an awning would have been extra). All of this was not really a problem but the poor welcome we received is not easily forgotten. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Feughsider 10 reviews from this member

 I stayed at this site for one night in April 2011 and regrettably I would have to think twice before returning.

In its favour, the site which is very convenient for Canterbury is well laid out and has a nice feel to it.

Like previous reviewers however I was unimpressed with the dated shower block facilities. This is the only site I have stayed at where I could not get hot water to run from either the sink taps or the showers.

was also unimpressed by the unfriendly and unhelpful attitude of the person who booked me in. That said, a gentleman who had just started working there and who showed me to my pitch was very friendly indeed.

If you want to go for food or a drink at the golf club opposite please note that their rules forbid you to wear jeans.

Overall it bothers me that foreign visitors to our country will perhaps get their first impression of England at this site. Must do better! 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravan Critic 4 reviews from this member

 Beautifully laid out and conveniently located for exploring Canterbury. However this site did not live up to our previous visits on this occasion. We arrived at 11. 15am on Saturday to be met by a bottleneck in the entrance as a motor-home was waiting to book in - and the site office was closed! No pitching before midday (despite available places) was frustrating.

The wardens were officious and unfriendly. The cost for a family of four was just under 34 - to our shock! A huge increase on the 17 we had paid in 2007 at the same time of year. I queried the cost and was told prices had gone up as it was half term. No consideration from 'the friendly club' for families then! And they wanted to charge extra for Wifi!

The facilities were adequate - old and basic. Cleaning was reasonable though there were spider webs in the toilet cubicles, cockroaches in the lower block. The basins were too small to get washed in, the shelf too narrow to put a wash bag on and the showers only lukewarm. And to add insult, they charged 20p for the hairdryer! (the hand dryer only worked sporadically).

The site setting is beautiful and pitches spacious, but it was spoilt for us by the cost (bearing in mind basic facilities) and the unfriendly attitude of the wardens. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Franko 4 reviews from this member

 Booking no problem on line, very friendly wardens,

Shown to choice of pitches.

Toilets/showers clean and seen to be cleaned every day. Bus outside gate to nearly anywhere every 20 mins

Shop small but satisfactory for us and again obliging staff. We stayed on 3 more days as ideal for local area. Will be going again next season as more places to visit.

Fresh baguettes delivered daily at competitive price. Overall very friendly people staying on site even though several foreigners bound for the ferries /tunnel etc 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aust.tourists 69 reviews from this member

 This is a very nice site with friendly wardens. The site is quite large but is split into sections so has the feel of being smaller. The reception sell a few basic items. There is an information room providing lots of information about things to do in the area. The shower/toilet block is clean.

The showers were a bit annoying as you had to push the button around every 5 seconds. The shower head was a bit too low down and only gave a small spray.

It felt like you had to bend down and almost had to get right up to the wall to get any spray on you ( as well as pressing the button). Not the easiest of showers! The TV, phone and internet reception was ok.

There is a bus stop outside the site and the bus runs every 20 minutes into Canterbury. It is around a 30 minute walk if you prefer. If you walk you will go past St Martin's Priory which is worth a look. They open it up for visitors on certain days and is free. It is the oldest church in continuous use in the English speaking world. You will also pass St Augustine's Abbey. Canterbury itself has lots of lovely old buildings and shops and, of course, there is the beautiful cathedral.

Would recommend this site for anyone visiting Canterbury or if you are looking for a site close to Dover. I have never seen so many rabbits! 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Topcat+Dibble 18 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for 3 nights and were offered a choice of non serviced pitches.

Shower/toilet facilities, especially at the bottom of the site, were not the best we've had on our travels, but did the job.

Can recommend the Golf club opposite for a beer and light bite. Open to non members, just remember not to wear denim or hats when in the Club house!

Good bus and cab service to and from Canterbury which is the place to head for for night life.

Whilst staying, can also recommend the oysters from Whitstable harbour, The town/harbour at Broadstairs for seafood, ices and lunch and Dover castle for 800 years of history.

Would definitely stay again at a site that feels intimate despite it's size. 


Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Canterbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


43030 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement