Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Canterbury > Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bekesbourne Lane
Canterbury
Kent   (Browse area)
CT3 4AB
Tel: 01227 463216
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 118 Reviews
                8/10 from 118 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sludge78 3 reviews from this member

Stopped here on the way back from camping in France, arriving late afternoon. Satnav tried to take us down some very dubious lanes to start with (was fine with just the car but a caravan would struggle). Turned and went further down the A road and eventually got new directions which were much more accessible.

Mix up with booking not being fully processed but were really helpful and managed to find space for us. Shown personally to our pitch and given a run down of everything along with written notes and local takeaway menus. Nice little park close to our pitch for our 9yr old to play at.

Toilets/shower block immaculate and modern. Dish washing area adequate too. Cut through the camping area to shower blocks so a bit wet underfoot but otherwise fine. Quiet site despite the amount of caravans etc in situ.

Packed up and left early the next morning. Plenty of bins at entrance to dispose of waste.

Would definitely use again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marber 4 reviews from this member

Loved this site and so returned this year! Can get to the beach in about a half an hour and walk to Canterbury if you are prepared for a steep walk back! (gets easier each time and saves on bus fares and hassle of parking). Margate great for fish and chips! Travelled to lots of places and even France for a day! Busy site with lots going on. Reception open every time I passed by and wardens clearly seen throughout the day. Friendly and helpful when I required some help. Facilities immaculate. No complaints at all! Will return again!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 220 reviews from this member

To find Site:- Leave A2 and follow signs towards Canterbury on the A 2050. On ring road follow signs for Sandwich, head out of Canterbury on A257. In about a mile pass NHS facility of right and opposite Canterbury Golf Club turn right into Bekesbourne Lane (signed) and turn right into site in about hundred metres. The final approach from the main road to the campsite is narrow so care is required.

This campsite is situated about two miles from the centre of Canterbury. It is handy for an overnight stay to and from the ferries at Dover or for a longer stay to visit this part of Kent. You get a friendly welcome from the site staff. There are 200 pitches on a mix of grass and hardstanding. All pitches are allocated on arrival although you are asked for your preferences which will be met if possible. The hardstanding pitches are wide enough for caravan/motorhome and awning but not a car. This campsite is open all year and accepts non-members. Electric points are available to all serviced pitches (Club jargon for a pitch with electrics, but not water and drainage. ) although not every pitch will have access to electricity. They are rated at 16 amps and use CEE17 blue connectors. There are two toilets blocks of a good standard. The main block also contains a laundry, undercover dish wash area and chemical disposal point. The motorhome service point is nearer the second block. Water points are dotted around the site. For children there is an adventure style play area. Reception, which has extended hours during busy periods, also sells a few essentials and newspapers can be ordered. Next door is a small information room. There is site wide WiFi and time can be purchased online or at reception. A fish and chip vans calls a couple of times a week, good quality and reasonable prices.

Other than the overnight campers this campsite is very convenient for visits to Canterbury. For those without transport or who would prefer to use public transport there is a (weekdays and Saturdays) service every 20 minutes from almost outside the campsite. For those wanting to travel further afield there are good connections from Canterbury to all nearby towns. The seaside town of Whitstable, famous for its oysters, is not far away and is well worth a visit particularly the coastal walk. There are many restaurants in the City of Canterbury only a short bus or taxi ride away from the site. The nearest supermarket is Waitrose although most of the other major groups are also available within a short drive away.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lbarkas 78 reviews from this member

We stopped off for two nights on our way home to the Midlands after touring in Europe so it is ideally situated being half an hour away from Dover. When checking in I spotted a notice about Camping Key Europe card and asked if ours would be of benefit. You bet it was! It enabled us to have CCC member rate giving us a saving of about £5 per night. Afterwards, one of the wardens escorted us to our pitch on his bike and explained where the services were - electric bollard, nearest fresh water point, toilet block -as well as suggestions of things to see and do. Excellent service - liked that personal touch. The site is very spacious and facilities of a high standard, so given its proximity to the Channel crossings, I expect we shall revisit next year.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mjlincs 26 reviews from this member

We got a really helpful and friendly welcome to the site and a choice of pitches which reflected our need for the dog walk. My wife says that the showers were plentiful, large, very clean and well equipped with hooks etc. She was very impressed and thought they were the best she has used. The location is perfect for touring North Kent and very near Canterbury with a bus stop very close to the site, supermarkets and shopping are just a short drive away. We enjoyed several of the local towns and resorts in this very picturesque part of England, Whitstable is turning into a charming little place with seafood and a weekend market on the dockside and some lovely little shops to explore. We were warned against going to Margate but that was from someone who had not visited for a few years and we found the area around the harbour, old town and Turner Gallery to be well worth a visit. We thought Sandwich was a jewel and spent quite some time there wandering admiring the old buildings and choosing somewhere for lunch. If you need anything for your tent or caravan while you are there I can highly recommend W. M. Camping at Herne Common just outside Herne Bay, I urgently needed help after my awning gave way in heavy rain and I could not have received better service anywhere.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Melmel74 25 reviews from this member

Lovely, well kept site within walking distance to the town and driving distance to many attractions. We visited Dover Castle, Whitstable and Herne Bay, Chatham Docks and Sissighurst.

The wardens were incredibly friendly and helpful and gave us a choice of 3 different pitches to choose from. We chose the 'woodland' area and loved it as it's not big enough for large tents due to the trees so we felt like we had loads of space to ourselves. Our main visitors were the rabbits.

Facilities were immaculate and there is a small children's play area plus a dog walk. We don't have a dog but it was a nice enough stroll to tire the kids out enough before bedtime!

Brilliant tourist base, spotless facilities and lovely staff; what more could you want?

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Beerstalker 12 reviews from this member

What a lovely site. Helpful site managers, well cut grass and good facilities. Rabbits abound on the site and a fox was seen occasionally. Pitches vary in size but all that I saw were more than adequate for a large caravan. Tent camping is well catered for as well. Bus stop almost outside although the more energetic could walk in to Canterbury. The Anchor, up the main road, does 2 for 1 on Wednesdays and the food was excellent. We got complimentary tasters of soup as well. If I had to find a criticism of the site it would be that the showers are fixed temperature and were too hot for me. Doubtless most people would be quite happy however!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lara1 11 reviews from this member

Love this immaculately kept site! Facilities are kept spotless whatever time you use them. Well laid out site. The family washroom is fantastic when you have a little one in tow. Staff/wardens are friendly and are always on hand. If you don't want to drive into Canterbury the bus stop is literally outside the camp gates.

We have no negatives for this site at all - second visit and won't be our last.

The kids loved all the rabbits running around the site, even in the daytime.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dengerry 10 reviews from this member

On arrival we found the staff fine but they were busy. We could not pick our own pitch and followed a man on a bike to where we had to go. We had booked many months in advance and had told them we had a drive away awning we need to use. However due to the size of pitch it would mean the awning would go about 24 inches on to the grass. When we said this we were told we could not do this because of the 6 mts rule but cars were allowed to park on the grass. Also we came back one day to find the hedge had been cut and the clippings left in piles (ok. But not for three days). I also did not like garden machinery being driven over my hook up lead. Will we stay here again. What do you think ????.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Arniecat 3 reviews from this member

As a family we have visited this campsite 4 times and love it. The play area is safe for the kids and the toilet and shower facilities are the cleanest we have experienced. The only downside being that on bank holiday weekends the campsite is so busy that you are really packed in, but would happily go back again.

Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5346 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019