Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Canterbury > Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bekesbourne Lane
Canterbury
Kent   (Browse area)
CT3 4AB
Tel: 01227 463216
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 118 Reviews
                8/10 from 118 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alan Chilestone 34 reviews from this member

Spent an enjoyable (If sometimes cold) Easter Weekend at this site. Since we last visited in 2003 hard standings have been added, all with EHU. More recently the main toilet block has been refurbished. And what a fantastic job has been done. They were warm, showers were hot straight away, and they were kept very clean. The day we left the second block was closed so similar work could start.

On our last stay all the camping fields had names, such as Poplar Tree and Park Lane, and I thought it a shame that these had all been painted out.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Monty the bongo 49 reviews from this member

This is our third visit to this site and we have not been disappointed.

Despite the weather the ground had drained well and was not too muddy. The new shower block by reception was great, really warm, clean and the water in the shower was really hot. The shop is small but does have some basics but there is a small Londis store a short walk away.

Access to Canterbury is a shortish walk, about a mile, or there is a bus stop outside the site. Canterbury is a great city to visit, with plenty to see and do. Plenty of olde pubs and plenty of places to eat.

Had a great weekend and will be returning.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Keelere 2 reviews from this member

We visited the site first weekend in September, was gorgeous weekend during day, just wish I'd taken more rugs, jumpers etc for the nights. One of my daughters and I were freezing cold all might, whilst my husband & youngest daughter were fine.

Anyway, we are still learning, it's only our 2nd camping trip, and we've stayed close to home. The site wasn't chosen by us, but by friends, so I was a bit worried about the site as all the reviews mentioned the disgusting toilets! However we found both toilet /shower blocks to be absolutely fine.

The site itself was fine, my only negatives were that the only bins were a very long walk from our tent (surely they could put some others around? The only bins were at the park entrance!).

The bays could do with being marked and numbered, this way it would clearly mark boundaries. It seemed chaotic how all the tents and vans were organised.

Our friends booked us all together; 1 caravan and 4 tents, asking for us all to be together, however it didn't work out that way, I think they just agreed on the phone to get the booking.

Oh and the water pressure is very low there for showering/washing up. I guess the optimum time to shower was mid afternoon as the building has solar panels to heat the water.

Canterbury very close so a great location. Canterbury is a wonderful city to visit. My girls loved the play park on site, and the dens that others had created. Quiet location too.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Coyle 2 reviews from this member

Have used this campsite for four years. Very friendly people who are willing to help with any enquiries.

Great walks for dogs just beside the camp. Doggie bins. Easy to walk into town.

Adequate and safe children's play area.

Basic but very clean washing facilities with plenty of hot water. Not a lot of space in the shower units but easy to sort out.

Pretty site, plenty of space and nice and quiet.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sailingsimon117 16 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights over the August bank holiday and loved it. We will definitely visit again next year.

Lovely quiet country location with good pitches & 2 facility blocks 1 old & 1 new.

The level of cleanliness was to a good standard considering row buy the site was.

The site is approximately 2 miles walk to the city centre & the nearest shop was a brisk 10 minutes walk to the local 'Londis'

Our 3 children were safe to play on & around the pitches & wanted to stay longer.

A lovely site great for chillaxing or visiting Canterbury.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Neil Mckay 2 reviews from this member

We had stayed here back in the middle of January this year and found the site to be very good. When we read the reviews for this year we very nearly gave the site a miss because some of the reviews were quite bad.

However, based on our own experience earlier we chose to stay again. After an initial issue where the site didn't return our calls to make a booking, we are pleased to say that the service, hospitality and the site proved to be a delightful experience.

I agree the toilet and shower facilities, especially in the lower block, need up dating. The reason they would appear reluctant to renovate them is because they hadn't secured the lease. Now that has been done they are in the process of revamping many areas of the facilities.

Everything was always clean and the only cleanliness issues I saw in our 5 day stay was down to site users themselves leaving washing up areas or toilets and showers in a dirty state themselves.

In the whole of our stay all staff were helpful and worked hard to keep the site in good order, the pitches were well maintained, the grass cut and all in all a cheerful place to have a break.

It is a great site as well due to its location for interesting places to see and just a short trip to the ferries.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hiophiop 8 reviews from this member

Just returned from a very enjoyable weekend at Canterbury Club Site.

First impressions were that this is a well maintained site. Everything looked well kept and the flower tubs were in full bloom - a nice impression.

We were shown to a choice of tent pitches by a friendly member of staff and the pitches were well kept, grassy and spacious. It is interesting to note that the tents are mixed in with the caravans and camper-vans which is a bit unusual in my experience as the tents are normally stuck away on there own on some sites like the unwelcome cousin at a family party, but not here, all mixed in and I think for the better.

Very safe and interesting site for the kids as there is a security gate leading on site.

The shower and site facilities were to a high enough standard for me despite some of the negative comments here. One of the staff told me that they appreciated that they were dated and they have plans to update them soon.

I would certainly return to this site, it's well situated for trips to Canterbury or to the Kent Coast and my kids really enjoyed it too.

If staying again I would ask for a pitch away from the side that is close to the hospital perimeter as there was a low droning noise coming from a generator or aircon plant that didn't spoil our stay, and probably wouldn't even be noticed in a caravan, but in a tent you could hear it droning in the background all the time.

I mentioned this to the warden and he said next time tell them and it would be no problem to be pitched away from this area. (FYI - the area we we pitched was near the site entrance next to the late arrivals area/car park).

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campology 1 review from this member

Pretty hard to beat. Nice site I will return to. A little bit wet following a 2012 typical Summers downpouring. Well kept.

Showers hot and roomy. Quiet. Security seemed up to usual standard. People obviously care for their (permanent caravan/mhome) pitches.

Nicely personalised which makes you feel it is more than just a commercial load 'em in - ship 'em out site.

Pretty safe for kids I'd imagine. Vehicles tucked away which is nice.

Not for you if you like 'Benidorm' style evening entertainment and watered down lager.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Snaprails 13 reviews from this member

Spent a (rather wet) week here in our folding camper. Although many people use this as a stopover when travelling to and from the channel ferry ports it's actually very well located and suited to exploring the Kent coast resorts and of course Canterbury itself, being walking distance from the gates (about 1. 8 miles I think I measured it as).

Facilities well up to usual club site standards although when will they get shower heads at a suitable height for people who are not vertically challenged?

Site managers friendly and helpful. You get an information pack on arrival which includes recommendations for local eateries (plus which local take-aways will deliver to site!) Site is secured by electric barriers, code operated, security certainly being a consideration on a site so close to a large city. It doesn't feel like you're close to a city though, quite rural in fact with woodland and farmland adjacent, and proper dog walking area, signposted from the site.

We'd certainly go here again if we were visiting Kent, Easy access by road to north, east, and south coasts and Canterbury has all the things you'd expect in a city (plus rather a lot of foreign school kids but maybe that was just the time of year).

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Monty the bongo 49 reviews from this member

Friendly welcome and were shown to a choice of pitches. The site is well maintained and even though it was a busy weekend when we visited the facility were always clean and tidy. The only thing I wasn't impressed with were the push button showers but there was plenty of hot water. The shop is small and didn't seem to have much except the very basics.

Canterbury is about a mile walk from the site, but remember it's up hill on the way back! There is a bus stop right outside the site if you don't fancy the walk.

Second time we have visited this site and will be returning.

Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2906 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019