Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Kent > Canterbury > Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bekesbourne Lane
Canterbury
Kent   (Browse area)
CT3 4AB
Tel: 01227 463216
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 152 Reviews
                9/10 from 152 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Monty the bongo 49 reviews from this member

 First impression not great, the C and C club have changed the time you can check in to 1oclock, we arrived at 12. 50 and there were already 8 units queuing to get booked in. We had to wait around while the wardens rushed around, not their fault just new rules which don't work. Shown to a choice of pitches by a friendly if rushed warden. Nice pitches, the site is large but divided up into areas so it doesn't feel that big. Facilities always clean as expected, small dog walk on site. Walked into Canterbury most days, took about 15 minutes, easy downhill going but up hill on the way back but there are bus stops outside the site gates. Love Canterbury, so much to do and see, caught the bus the Whitstable which was a nice day out.

Recommended stopping at the Two Sawyers pub just outside the city walls and on the road back to the site, good food, friendly staff and quieter than the pubs in the city centre.

Will be going back to this site, just hope the C and C club sort out their checking in procedure 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rich March 7 reviews from this member

 We had a 5 night stay during the Easter School holiday. We were a large tent and a young family of four.

The Welcome received upon arrival was very nice and we were personally escorted to the pitching area and given a pitch of our choosing. Level, soft ground and right near the play area as requested.

It was a very quiet site which was good. The Play area for the children is fantastic and there is a small wooded area next to it for the children to explore.

The amenities blocks were spotlessly clean with plenty of toilets/showers etc. The family bathroom was great. Only had a shower but was well equipped even for families with babies, baby bath, changer unit etc all provided.

Canterbury itself has plenty of interesting places to visit, good shops, restaurants and pubs. I can highly recommend BYRONS Hamburgers in the town. Amazing! We got the bus at the end of the lane on the main road. Takes under 10 minutes and there is a frequent service there and back till quite late.

We also visited :

Dover Castle (allow a whole day, its fantastic)

Herne Bay, lovely seaside town as well as the Reculver Park and Towers 5 miles along the coast. A great place to let the kids run around.

Wingham wildlife park.

All these were within 30 minutes drive. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RoyVaux 45 reviews from this member

 We stayed as non-members and found the pitch fees to be reasonable. The welcome at reception was exceptional - being so warm and friendly. We were taken personally to a good level pitch and enjoyed a peaceful night. The toilet block facilities were first class. The warden gave us advice on visiting the city and where to exercise our dog off the lead across the road from the site. Our only criticism is that the service points for water/rubbish etc were few and far between and hard to locate in the dark. We were not given a site map, which would have helped. TIP: The New Dover Road park & ride is recommended for motorhomers as it has a dedicated parking area - albeit some of it was occupied by overnight stayers! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Arenberg 1 review from this member

 Usually the quality standard of CCC clubsites does not need further explanation. It is always good to excellent. However, the team running Canterbury clubsite has exceeded my expectations in helping us out on a number of administrative matters. This team deserves extra credit for its professional and service-minded attitude. Especially since I am not easily pleased. These people have always helped us out to the detail with pleasure and humour. Chapeau! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PhilEp 12 reviews from this member

 Only just joined the c&cc so it was a new experience for us. We were not disappointed. We were welcomed most cheerfully and shown to our pitch by one of the Site Managers who offered to help site us. We had a south facing pitch which had sun for most of the day and was very pleasantly situated in a quiet cul-de-sac. The toilet blocks were always clean and of a good standard. In general the site well laid out with a pleasant aspect and plenty of room. The reason for going there was to see Canterbury, particularly the Cathedral and we were not disappointed on that score either. Overall it was a most enjoyable short stay and we will definitely be going back there in the future 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JohnHazell 2 reviews from this member

 From our home in Bournemouth we normally turn left and head to Somerset, Devon and Cornwall for our hols, but this time we fancied a change of direction and turned right and headed to Kent - Canterbury to exact. Somewhere we had often thought of going but never went - wish we had gone earlier ! A beautiful part of the country especially as we missed operation stack on the M20.

I had booked this site as it was close to Canterbury, has a bus stop just outside the site and is a good base to explore from.

From the telephone booking to the greeting upon arrival was very professional and pleasant, even being escorted to our pitch and offered assistance if required. The staff were very helpful especially as I had had a problem with the caravan electrics. When I asked where the nearest Halfords was, explaining what the problem was I was offered help and some spares to fix the issue and all for a donation to the flower fund !

All in all a very clean and friendly site, well laid out, very clean on site facilities. Would we return, most definitely YES.

Well done, keep up the good work. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marber 7 reviews from this member

 Previously used this site and was impressed by the the facility blocks compared with other sites. They are still clean and modern. Was greeted on arrival by smiling and helpful wardens. Only suggestion I would make is when severe weather is known, tent campers are warned. A quick visit around the site to advise campers who may not have access to the TV or Internet are aware. Would use Canterbury again. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chumbeiro 13 reviews from this member

 I struggle to see why this site receives such excellent reviews. It is a Camping and Caravan Club site so surely clean toilets and effective wardens should be expected for the price paid. Or am I being niave? We did only stay one night so perhaps its benefits are cumulative?

As we didn't need electricity we were shown to an unmarked grass pitch on sloping ground. I felt sorry for the tent campers around us as some areas had an even more pronounced slope and the camping field had a very definitive 'second class' feel compared to the manicured hard-standing areas.

Facilities were fine. Showers and toilets were clean, plentiful and warm.

Canterbury centre is approximately 30 minutes walk away and is worth exploring.

Price for 2 adults, 1 night, high season, without hook-up, with CCC member discount was approximately 22.

If you have an early ferry or tunnel booking to cross the Channel its worth noting that the gates aren't open until 7am so you could be allocated a space in the 'waiting area', a small car park outside of the barriers and next to the bins. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Amy1447 10 reviews from this member

 On arrival the wardens were great and friendly. Showed us as the norm to our pitch which was fab. Really spacious. The toilet blocks, laundry room clean. The showers were were hot and had good pressure. The site is in walking distance of Canterbury and if you don't fancy the walk, then there is a bus stop outside the site that takes you into Canterbury. Considering the site has a massive turn over of tourers, motor homes and campers each day. The site is kept immaculate and cannot fault. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Samtan1 1 review from this member

 Turned up here with out a booking but they found room for our motorhome and our friends, we had intended to cross over to France in the morning. Friends had to visit A & E the night we arrived and were told not to travel to France so decided to stay here with them. We had a very warm welcome when we first arrived and that continued right through the whole week that we where there, staff couldn't be more helpful. Lovely clean beautiful well maintained site. Facilities were clean & tidy and warm. There is a bus stop just outside on the main road or about a 20 min walk down into town, takes slightly longer going back up. We hired a car whilst staying here and travelled around Kent. Lovely choice of eating place in town or the local takeaways deliver, chip van on site on Saturday evening (lovely).

10 out of 10 for the staff and the site. 


Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Canterbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


58418 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement