Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Kent > Canterbury > Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bekesbourne Lane
Canterbury
Kent   (Browse area)
CT3 4AB
Tel: 01227 463216
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 152 Reviews
                9/10 from 152 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Beerstalker 12 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site. Helpful site managers, well cut grass and good facilities. Rabbits abound on the site and a fox was seen occasionally. Pitches vary in size but all that I saw were more than adequate for a large caravan. Tent camping is well catered for as well. Bus stop almost outside although the more energetic could walk in to Canterbury. The Anchor, up the main road, does 2 for 1 on Wednesdays and the food was excellent. We got complimentary tasters of soup as well. If I had to find a criticism of the site it would be that the showers are fixed temperature and were too hot for me. Doubtless most people would be quite happy however! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lara1 13 reviews from this member

 Love this immaculately kept site! Facilities are kept spotless whatever time you use them. Well laid out site. The family washroom is fantastic when you have a little one in tow. Staff/wardens are friendly and are always on hand. If you don't want to drive into Canterbury the bus stop is literally outside the camp gates.

We have no negatives for this site at all - second visit and won't be our last.

The kids loved all the rabbits running around the site, even in the daytime. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dengerry 10 reviews from this member

 On arrival we found the staff fine but they were busy. We could not pick our own pitch and followed a man on a bike to where we had to go. We had booked many months in advance and had told them we had a drive away awning we need to use. However due to the size of pitch it would mean the awning would go about 24 inches on to the grass. When we said this we were told we could not do this because of the 6 mts rule but cars were allowed to park on the grass. Also we came back one day to find the hedge had been cut and the clippings left in piles (ok. But not for three days). I also did not like garden machinery being driven over my hook up lead. Will we stay here again. What do you think ????. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Arniecat 3 reviews from this member

 As a family we have visited this campsite 4 times and love it. The play area is safe for the kids and the toilet and shower facilities are the cleanest we have experienced. The only downside being that on bank holiday weekends the campsite is so busy that you are really packed in, but would happily go back again. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Treble 13 reviews from this member

 Just spent half term here. I felt it was rather expensive.

We arrived Thursday and the wardens were extremely helpful in deciding with us which pitches would work for us and for friends who would arrive the next day & Sunday.

The site is made up of a number of small areas meaning that even though it's a large place it doesn't feel like it. There are hard standings, pre-marked grass pitches with EH and then grass space on which to pitch with no EHU - these areas seem pretty informal and flexible. It's nice that all types of pitch are spread around - that's far better than all the non-EHU pitches in one area and all the hard standings in another as it really does cater to mixed-unit groups.

The only thing I'd say is that the standard pitch width isn't very generous. I have a Ranger 460/4 and a standard traditional awning. That completely filled the boxed area leaving no sitting-out space apart from alongside the drawbar. We personally were fine with that because of being with friends, one of whom was in a motorhome, so their car space was usable for one of the other cars and that left us with a great communal space.

The toilet blocks appear to be pretty new inside. There are plenty of showers/loos (I had to wait for one person to finish on just one occasion during a very busy week). Both blocks have a covered dishwash area at the back and the one near reception has a laundry and also a family room.

I can't comment on children's facilities. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KarenAB 3 reviews from this member

 Fabulous spot for visiting Canterbury. The site is quite large with a play area for children. The facilities are excellent, a new block had just been opened when we were there last.

The staff are helpful and friendly.

We have returned here several times as it is such a pleasant location for a weekend break. 


Date of Visit: January 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: GPDJP 13 reviews from this member

 It is difficult to assess a site on damp January days. However, the welcome was friendly, the pitches well spaced out. The toilet facilities were very good and clean.

Just a few minutes from the site is a bus stop and the bus will take you directly into the city centre. Canterbury centre is quite small but has interesting narrow streets and a good range of shops. There are plenty of places to eat and some quaint old pubs. The main attraction in the city is the cathedral and this is worth a visit. We also visited the 'Canterbury Tales' attraction - this was different and amusing. The city is full of history and an enjoyable day out even on a cold January day!

Recommend the site and Canterbury for a bit of culture! 


Date of Visit: January 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Delboy1uk 23 reviews from this member

 Just spent a weekend at this site for the second time and can say this is a most pleasant place to stay, a couple of miles from Canterbury with a bus stop a few yards from the entrance. Though it is a 'walkable ' distance into town it is rather a steep hill coming back, as for the site this really is a pleasant place to stay, very clean with a shower / toilet block that was kept spotlessly clean and cosy warm at all times, we were lucky and had a weekend with virtually no rain but it had been raining all week but with lots of hard standings this was not an issue, if you have kids there is a small play area and also a dog walk for your furry friends. Staff were very pleasant & most helpful, a tip for some where to have a pub meal is the Lady Luck at the bottom of the high st in Canterbury, please don't be put off by the young appearance of the pub because the food and staff were most pleasant, would we visit this site again ? Most definitely 


Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cranky 14 reviews from this member

 Stayed just one night on our way home so didn't look all round site but what we saw was very nice. Even at this time of year everything was tidy and grass cut. Shower block was immaculate and very modern, even fold down seats for each shower. I had the same comments re wifes membership card which is not the first time at c&cc sites. I feel the same, they only have to put my number in the computer and it shows both our memberships! We also didn't get our old age concession!

Short bus ride into Canterbury, stops right outside site. All in all a good site that I would visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BrumBlues 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent a few days at one of the best sites we've visited.

We had superb weather, to go with a base for reaching all of East Kent (and the Channel crossing points), so this served to enhance site facilities that were everything we required. Clean and modern toilet/shower blocks; well laid out and manicured grounds; spacious pitches and good security, made our stay worthwhile.

A Fish and Chips van turned up twice a week for those who wish to use it, and the reception/shop provides basic provisions and newspapers.

Other visitors (mainly motorhomes) were friendly and quiet so the peace and tranquillity wasn't disturbed.

We'll certainly be returning the next time we visit Kent.

Excellent! 


Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Canterbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


58331 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement