Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Kent > Canterbury > Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bekesbourne Lane
Canterbury
Kent   (Browse area)
CT3 4AB
Tel: 01227 463216
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 152 Reviews
                9/10 from 152 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Monty the bongo 49 reviews from this member

 Had a really nice Bank Holiday weekend at this site. The wardens were friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. We had a good sized hard standing pitch with our friend on a grass pitch behind us.

The shower and toilets were a bit dated but always clean. The shower block nearer reception was a bit more modern. The shop sells a few basics and the information area had plenty of ideas for days out and walks.

The walk into Canterbury city centre takes about 15/20 mins but it is up hill on the way back or there is a bus stop by the entrance to the site. The city itself is great with plenty of history and shops so everyone should be happy.

Overall the the site is friendly and well kept with easy access to Canterbury. We are already talking of a going back. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Acspencer 10 reviews from this member

 We use this site as our local get away, and once again it did not disappoint us.

It is a clean and tidy site and well maintained.

As with the other reviewers we agree that the toilet blocks are well overdue a refit. A tip for those push button showers, if you hold them for a few minutes the water will run hot, keeping the button pushed in (you need to be fairly agile or have a velcro strip) will give you a hot shower. The site managers were very polite and helpful. We had good weather for the weekend, so this made our mini break ideal. The site is well situated for a walk into the city, and the many attractions it holds. All in all still one of our favourite sites. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Deeman 1 review from this member

 Do not get me wrong, this is a lovely site but its only drawback are the ancient Toilets/Showers.

The showers are push button type and if you get 10 seconds each push you are lucky. They are also very narrow, so a rather big person will struggle fully to get a decent shower, and there's more, the water is just tepid so if you want a hot shower don't bother.

Then there are the wash basins. These are so very small and using them to get a decent wash & shave is useless.

Other than that it is a very nice site and a new toilet block with non-push button hot showers and privacy cubicles for washing & shaving is a must in this day & age.

I will only return when this site has been upgraded. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: MichaelBenj 20 reviews from this member

 This is clearly a well run site, the staff were friendly and the shop had milk, eggs, bread etc and camping gaz which we needed during our stay.

The only downside was the showers which were too small to get changed and the dreaded push button type (30 seconds of cool water) and the sinks - handbasin sized and too close together to use comfortably.

The plus side is the proximity to Canterbury and Sandwich (a truly lovely old port with good food available). In all we would recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Wfamily 2 reviews from this member

 This site is all it says it it its in a very nice wooded are the wardens are most accommodating. We only used it for a night stop oer off the train but plan to go back and see the sites in the area for a weekend break.

The facilities were very good. Showers could have done with a little more space to change but were very clean and presentable. The warden took orders for Fish & chips on the friday evening collected from a local Pub.

A Very good and welcome service beyond the duty of the role. Well done to all the staff we met they were great. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nikkid21 9 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a 9 night stay at the start of the summer holidays. 2 families, each with 2 adults and 2 children. Used a fairly large (not jumbo) non-electric pitch in the bottom field. We had no problems but our friends had their sewn in groundsheet and footprint eaten through in a number of places - we think it was ants.

The site was slightly sloping but not too bad where we were. There are pitches with more of a slope up by the playground that they seem to put the smaller tents on.

Staff were very friendly and toilet / shower blcoks were spotless. Numerous checks were made throughout the day as well as each block being cleaned once a day. The showers are the push button type so that you had no choice re temparature of the water. Some showers only gave 10 seconds of water before you pushed the button again. Additionally the ladies shower heads were at such a low height that they only reached my nose. This meant that I had to crouch down to wash my hair.

The site shop was well stocked with a cool block refreezing service, locally baked bread and milk. There was also a small fruit stall outside selling lovely organic cherries from the farm down the road at a very reasonable price.

The site was pretty busy and had a high turnover of pitches due to being near to Dover. The Dutch, German and French campers outnumber the Brits 3:1 during the week. This gives the site a quiet, continental feel. The only time that noise was an issue was with a Dutch scount troop playing football at 10.30 at night. A fellow camper phoned the warden who came down and had a word with them and all was sorted.

Days out included an excellent trip to Howletts zoo which is about 3 miles down the road. We went to a number of local beaches - Herne bay is a pebble beach and not very nice. Margate has an excellent beach and tidal lido, it is busy and very commercial. Minnis bay is quieter with a sandy beach.

English Heritage properties locally included Richborough Roman Fort which had an audio tour including a junior version that our children got a lot out of. We also ewalked from the site to Fordwich and had a vey good meal at the George & Dragon pub.

Overall an excellent site that is well run with plenty to do locally. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frethouse 14 reviews from this member

 We used this site as a stop over for 2 days on our way to Dover ferry. It is a very nicely kept site with clean facilities and very helpful staff. Very handy for getting into Canterbury - we visited the cathedral and visited the wonderful shops there. The pitch we were given was very flat and level and close to the toilet block. We would definitely use this site again. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dillan 16 reviews from this member

 We chose this site because of itís proximity to easily travel down to Dover to catch the ferry to France. We stayed in a tent for two nights.

Staff were friendly and understood we needed to leave early in the morning to drive down to Dover. We were given an information sheet about the site and a map of Canterbury. The member of staff also explained where the bus stops were and the frequency of service. The information room, which contains leaflets, guides and what have you, was also pointed out to us.

Given our need to leave early on our day of departure, we were shown to a wooded camping area near to the car park, adjacent to an electricity pylon.

The car park has an area set aside for vehicles and caravanners who will be leaving early so wouldnít need to negotiate the automatic barrier to the main site, which is locked from 11pm-7am.

There were few tents in the wooded area by the pylon and we could pitch where we wanted. Thought the hum from the pylon may have been irritating but didnít really notice it after a while. Noticed the air-conditioning fan from the building on the other side of the site's fence more.

We didnít spend a great deal of time on the site itself but from what we did see it appeared to be well looked after. Whilst the facilities themselves are clean, theyíre not a good design and are past their sell by date. The showers are next to the toilet cubicles, which is somewhat off putting. The showers themselves need replacing so they provide more room not just to shower but to dry off and change. I really donít like push button showers but if itís really necessary to have them, greater output and longer intervals before having to press again. The hand basins are in a line and a bit too close together, particularly if itís busy with men shaving and washing. They are also located opposite the toilet cubicles, which again, is not the best layout.

This site is quite popular with visiting parties of young people from Europe according to the site staff. Whilst we were there, a large party of young people from the Netherlands were staying. Unfortunately for us, this included them setting up an outside film projector screen in the car park for an evening showing of ĎThe Blair Witch Projectí. I was surprised not only by the choice of film (the sensitive should close their ears) but the location and time to show it. Not good for those leaving early in the morning. It was impossible to try and get some sleep before the film finished, which was just before 11pm. Not what you want when needing to be up at 5am.

Away from the site, Canterbury is a not unpleasant half hour or so walk. There is a bus stop close to the entrance of the site should you prefer to use public transport.

In terms of getting to Dover for an early ferry, it was a good location.We got there in 25 minutes. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kirkyk 3 reviews from this member

 We used this site as a base to celebrate our sons 4th Birthday as we live quite close to the site.

We had a great time and the staff were helpful, knowledgeable but very busy. They did let us use a couple of extra picnic tables and didn't mind us directing our friends with balloons.

We had a jumbo pitch in the bottom field and we really appreciated the space as did the other campers with 18, 4 year olds running everywhere.

We felt we could have been anywhere at it was a great introduction to many of our friends to the camping experience.

The toilet/wash up blocks are plentiful with lots of hooks and shelves to put your towels etc on.

We visited Wingham Wildlife park and would take a picnic next time as the food options weren't great or particularly healthy or cheap. But great day out.

Fantastic and convenient camping experience. I think we might see if we can get in there tomorrow. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sid Boggle 1969 5 reviews from this member

 A nice friendly site in a good location. Canterbury is a small, friendly city in an ideal central location for all of Kent. 100 yards outside of the camp site is a bus stop which goes in to the city centre every 20 minutes from where you can get a bus to literally anywhere in Kent! The site is flat and very access friendly for all vehicles. I was backpacking in a one man tent so stayed under the trees away from the main field and found it peaceful whilst watching all the rabbits playing! The toilets were clean and OK but one block of showers were better than the others(the one's nearest the office were only warm)but only a minor moan. The staff were friendly and happy to help you with any queries and the shop was stocked with plenty of food/camping equipment to get you by. Opposite the site is Canterbury golf club and a driving range were you can get a good value breakfast. I used the site as a base to tour Kent and found it perfect for what I wanted and good value at £7.70 a night. Canterbury is a lovely place but if you get a chance make sure you go to Whitstable, it won't disappoint. 


Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Canterbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


58877 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement