Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Canterbury > Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bekesbourne Lane
Canterbury
Kent   (Browse area)
CT3 4AB
Tel: 01227 463216
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 118 Reviews
                8/10 from 118 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fern_finch 9 reviews from this member

This is a fantastic site.

Facility wise, it's camping and caravan club - so you know you are getting quality. The staff are really friendly and will always help out in anyway they can.

The site office also sells basics, and you can order papers - ace !

The pitches are on different levels, different areas: there are quite a few nooks and crannies, so you can get a pitch in the middle of a large field, or one in a little cubby hole on your own.

Canterbury City centre is 25 minutes walk away, and there is a bus stop just outside. The walk is along a main road, but it is no hardship.

This is an excellent site for exploring Kent, and is also very convienient for Dover and the Channel crossings.

The other thing this site benefits from is being over run by wonderful bunnies everywhere. They are lovely.

We will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Larry the Lamb 6 reviews from this member

This was our first time to a Caravan and Camping site. We choose this site to visit Dover castle and Howllets Zoo.

When we arrived and went to reception we were told our pitch had not yet been vacated by the previous people, but the staff could not have been more helpful, they took us to see several other pitches and eventually we choose a grass pitch in the corner by the smaller dog walking area. This was under the electricity pylons, orginally we had stated that we did not want to be near the pylons after reading other reviews, but the pitch was so nice we thought we'd take the chance.

The staff positioned our caravan and sorted out some blocks for us as there was a slight slope and we hadn't got round to getting any yet. The pylons weren't a problem at all and the pitch was lovely.

We experienced very heavy thunder storms over the week and noticed some of the hard standings became flooded, but I think this was an exception rather than a common occurrence.

The site was clean, tidy and well kept; the facilities were always kept clean and there was always plenty of hot water. There is also a fish and chip van that visits the site a couple of times a week and is good value.

The site is in a great location, close to Canterbury and also close to large open areas(just across the road behind the golf course) where you can walk your dogs.

Remember to take chocks with you as some of the pitches were on a slope.

All in all we had a fantastic week with really helpful staff.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sarah106 6 reviews from this member

We spent Bank Holiday here and were so sorry to leave. What a real treat to have such friendly, helpful wardens! Something that's been totally missing elsewhere. These are the absolute best - always working hard but always time for a smile and so willing to help.

We found the site very well run and very peaceful even though we were near the entrance. The dog walk in woodlands is great(shame one of our Labs wont walk!)and the shop is very useful & nice to able to order a paper. The wardens make it though :-) Easy site to get to and we've already booked again for June! Can't wait to go back - and hope the rain stays away this time (not that it spoilt our stay). We'd like to publicly thank all the wardens for all that they do & for making the site look so nice with all the flowers and extras. You're the best !

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kentfolk 8 reviews from this member

We arrived a little after midday on a saturday, and as you may expect there was a little difficulty getting car and caravan parked up out of the way to announce our arrival.

However,was given the choice of several pitches by a friendly site warden, all seemed level and well kept. The toilet and shower blocks were quite acceptable, with nice hot water, but only downside I found was that there was only one soap dispenser above a vast array of washbasins, so it was well used shall we say.

There are electricity pylons nearby and therefore tv reception can be poor without a booster. Mobile phones were fine. We enjoyed our stay all in all, even though two nights of flash flooding didnt dampen the break

My only gripe was probably half a dozen children and their bikes racing around the site at speed but nobody was run over and it was their holiday too after all.

We shopped locally at a lovely large Morrisons a few minutes away and the reception sold basics, so no problems with supplies. A good site for a base to explore Canterbury which is brilliant for young and old alike.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bates 13 reviews from this member

Excellent Site, Would Recommend Highly to anybody who wants a relaxing break. Staff Friendly and very helpful.

There are good washing facilities etc and the reception sells essentials - can order papers for the following day.

Play Area and Dog Walk are good.

There is also another area to walk across the road which goes for miles.

Location is Brilliant for Canterbury and Coast.

We will be returning.

Date of Visit: February 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Phil64 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here in the middle of Febuary. Lovely site, the toilets are normal club standard, spotlessly clean, hot showers, the cubicles a bit on the small side, but again very clean.

We were pitched on the new hardstands which were put in last year. The pitches are level and a good size.

There is a dog walk on site and a bigger field across the road where you can let the dog off for a good run.

There is an ample playground there for the kids with swings and climbing frames.

Canterbury is a walk away or there is a bus stop outside the site.

Canterbury itself is an oldyworldy town with good pubs, fish and chips and coffee shops. The Cathedrial is worth a visit.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely return in warmer weather!

Date of Visit: February 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ninganing 1 review from this member

We made a late booking to spend the weekend here and have already decided to go back very soon for a longer break! The team were incredible friendly and helpful, couldn't do enough for us. The toilets were spotless as were all the facility areas. The grounds were well maintained with plenty of room in between pitches. There is a small shop with essentials or an Asda close by. Small dog walking area on site and a larger off the lead area just over the road. Very close to Sandwich, which is a lovely little town as well as the fantastic sights in Canterbury. Would highly recommend this place!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rjcf 14 reviews from this member

We spent a very pleasant - but wet - few days here. The people were very friendly and helpful.

The site is walking distance from Canterbury, but it's not a particularly nice walk - luckily, the bus stop is nearby. Plenty of things to see, and many very good restaurants there.

We were parked right under the power cables, but didn't have any problems or notice any noise at all.

There are some nice pubs a short drive away, serving excellent food.

Howletts is a wonderful place to visit. We saw animals there we had never seen before.

We would stay here again.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helzie 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here as a base to watch Le Tour de France and what a find.  Great facilities, friendly staff and an easy walk into Canterbury.  Regular trains to London if you fancy and visit.  I don't think it has enough to occupy the kids but for a weekend break its an excellent site. 

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jacqfrost 6 reviews from this member

We visited this site over the late may bank holiday. Site was lovely and clean, it has a small shop stocking the bare essentials, and a nice playarea. We were allocated a pitch very near the shop(would have liked a choice) and told which direction to pitch it!(it was quite a small pitch), more suited to a campervan. We were the only tent in that area, so think they assumed we were camping in our t25, not a tent.
The site has two toilet blocks which were both spotless and we didn't have to queue at all. Showers in the block near us were in very small cubicles,and I would have struggled to get the kids in with me.
There is a bus stop just outside the site which takes you into canterbury, or you could walk it in about 25 mins.
The site is situated near a busy road and I did notice the noise the first night, after this either I got used to it or it is quieter of a weekend.
Howletts zoo is close by and we had a fabulous day there. The gorilla's were amazing. The restaurant in the zoo was very reasonably priced for food, but the drinks were pricey.
We would definitely visit canterbury again but would request a pitch toward the back of the site, because they seemed to have more open space there, and I think it would be quieter away from the road.

Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5761 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019