Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Canterbury > Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bekesbourne Lane
Canterbury
Kent   (Browse area)
CT3 4AB
Tel: 01227 463216
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 118 Reviews
                8/10 from 118 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Alan Reese 18 reviews from this member

Close to Canterbury city centre, this site is ideal for a visit to this historic city. It took us about 1/2 an hour to walk in,(quite leisurely).

It has two toilet blocks, only one being open whilst we were there, as there were not many people on-site. It was immaculately clean but in need of modernisation.The washing facilities were open, not private, with tiny sinks with the narrowest of ledges on which to put your wash things. In the men's there was only five sinks,and when three gents were all trying to wash and shave it felt very tight. The showers were O.K. The push button sort,reasonable water temperature and pressure. The toilets were always very clean and the block as a whole was adequately heated, we had three freezing nights.

The site was well laid out and spacious. We were on a hardstanding, which was just as well, as the ground (when not frozen) was quite boggy. The staff were friendly and helpful.If you are not a member of the Camping Club, this is an expensive site, costing my wife and I seventy six pounds for three nights with E.H.U. In the low season.

Well placed to visit Rochester, Chatham, Faversham, Whitstable, Herne Bay, Margate,Sandwich, Broadstairs and Deal.

Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Riamu.yabu 2 reviews from this member

I have just came back from a short weekend break on this site, had a great time despite the cold weather.

Pros:

The location of the site is fantastic, turn left out of the site and your only a short distance from Canterbury city centre. Turn right and your in the depths of the Kent countryside with the popular beaches not too far away.

The staff on this site were very friendly, efficient and helpful. I received a warm welcome, was shown to my pitch and told where all the facilities were.

Rabbits! - There were hundreds of wild rabbits on the site and they were obviously used to humans and dogs being on the site. Exceptionally fun to watch them hop about the site in such numbers.

Cons:

One slight thing that might be an issue for some are the overhead power lines that run through the site. However, they were very high up and you wouldn't know they were there (unless you flew a kite of course).

What really lets this site down is its toilet and shower facilities. I'm quite a hardy soul and I'm used to the cold weather, however the prospect of ever entering that shower block again gives me the shivers. Firstly I would like to point out that they were exceptionally clean, no issues there.

But:

The block was only heated by a small fan heater high on the wall which was not adequate to heat the size of room.

The size of the shower area was adequate for me, but larger built people may find it challenging.

If you are of the right size to fit in the shower you will be greatly disappointed, there was a mere dribble coming from the showerhead and the temperature of the water coming out was absolutely pathetic. I am still chilled 10 hours later after being subjected to barely luke warm water being put over me in such a cold environment.

In summary:

I would recommend this site to anyone with their own facilities unless there is a heat wave and you like a cold shower. It is a great location, lovely surroundings and near to the best Kent can offer.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Petemate 8 reviews from this member

We found the site excellent - friendly, well laid-out and nothing too much trouble for the staff, especially the ladies in the shop. Greatly placed site as a base for Kent.

The toilets and showers are immaculate. The hookup posts are lit at night - very helpful. We especially liked the informal way the site is laid out - not regimental thus giving a nice ambience. A very clean and tidy site, well-signposted in advance from all directions.

The local amenities included one of a chain of the least expensive carveries in the country - Crown Carveries, highly recommended - the Punch Tavern near Sturry.

We will definitely go to this site again.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deiseach 4 reviews from this member

Rabbits. Our abiding memory of this site will always be rabbits. They were everywhere and I must confess to loving rabbits, not just on the dinner plate either. If you can't stand the thought of these critters rooting around your tent at night, stay well away.

On a less flippant note, first impressions of this site are good. An army of staff were on hand when we arrived, and while they were of the formal variety this isn't necessarily a bad thing. Kent is not called the garden of England for nothing and the site feels like you are in the gardens of some stately pile. The tent area, while located far back along through a slightly bewildering route, doesn't feel like an afterthought, providing a lot of shelter and a billiard table flat surface.

Facilities. The washing area is rather pretty, set in a kind of log cabin shelter to give that authentic Abe Lincoln feel. The toilets are very good, antiseptically clean at all times and with enough cubicles for everyone. One oddity was the proliferation of signs. Do I really need to know about picking up newspapers while taking a leak? Cut down on the visual verbiage, folks!

The site is just about walking distance away from Canterbury. Impressions of the bus service weren't great, we walked in to the city twice and back to the site once without seeing a bus which makes you worry about their reliability. There's a couple of good sites along the way in to the city though so walking is definitely a good idea.

Overall, a good site. Tents seem to be treated seriously, the facilities are to a high standard and the staff efficient.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CherryCamper 1 review from this member

Very expensive for just one night in a two person tent (£22) and for that you would expect high quality site and facilities. Staff very friendly but let down by a toilet and shower block that look around 20 years old with lukewarm push button showers in a cold block. Fairly noisy from the surrounding roads as the site is fairly high up. Under power lines also which is not ideal.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wittyfour 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a fortnight at this caravan and camping site,I have nothing but praise for it. It is situated across the road from the golf club so is easily found. The site itself is really well laid out with tents in their spots and the Tourers on huge pitches made from hard core (Hard to get in pegs mind )
The wardens on the site are all lovely and very helpful especially Chris Lovell and wife they tipped us off about a pub which did a carvery for £3.50 and it was gorgeous!
The Pylons and the toilet blocks seem to get some critiscism on here, but to be quite honest I never noticed the Pylons being a problem and the shower / toilet block were spotless everyday. Yes they are narrow but how long are you in a shower for?
There seemed to be a lot of people coming and going on this site as it is close for the channel crossings but again there was minimal noise. This is a lovely site would definitely go again.
Pity Kent doesn't have nice beaches made from sand and not shingle. However I must be spoilt as I am from the North East of England and have a fantastic coastline to enjoy.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BarneyC 1 review from this member

The first camping trip for our family and so we chose the C&CC Canterbury site as it was only 50 min down the road and we knew the area for kid friendly fun.

Arrived a tad early (11:25) but was greeted warmly by Scott (site manager) who as first time campers and new members was most helpful.

Lovely site, well groomed and the layout suited us as a family fairly well.

We ended up on pitch 79 in a small grassy nook with another tent about 20 yards from the lower shower block, which is starting to look pretty tired to be honest (tip for blokes - don't bother with far end shower it's a trickle compared to others). That said they were cleaned at least three times a day and brilliantly convenient for us.

Playpark is a little to big for our 2 year old who is convinced he's 6 and can go everywhere his big brother can. But plenty of other kids around for company.

Don't stress about the power line issue - it really isn't that bad at all.

There is a fair bit of road noise first thing on weekday mornings from all those poor souls not on holiday commuting into town but otherwise a quiet enough spot.

Finally anyone with a fear of rabbits should avoid as come sundown the place transforms into Watership Down with dozens of them running around (do use a door mat otherwise rabbit poo makes a right mess of a tent carpet).

A good start to camping.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cat T 6 reviews from this member

We came for a 2 night stay and loved it. The site is beautifully maintained and the staff were extremely helpful. The children enjoyed the playground and especially building camps in the woods just behind the swings. All the facilities were very clean and the location is perfect - the bus stops just outside the campsite or you can walk into the City centre in about 25 minutes. The pitches are unmarked but the warden is very strict about maintaining a 6 metre gap between tents which he rigidly enforces but in a nice way!

The site has a very relaxed feel and is a great base to explore Canterbury and the surrounding areas. We'll definitely go back.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Qazq1256 1 review from this member

Like many other C&C sites, this one follows the same trend. Lovely site with very nice staff. The shop was very nice, with it selling and promoting some local produce - would recommend the locally produced apple juice, very nice!

The facilities on the site, like other people have said, are a little dated and could do with some modernization. However, I found it very nice to go for a shower without having to wait in a queue. Not once is the five days were all 5 showers occupied so very nice. Only bit of criticism is about the toilet cubicles. I was a bit confused to why, in the Gents, there were 5 showers but only 4 toilet cubicles, which meant the chances of having to wait for a toilet cubicle was bigger. Also I didn't like the idea of having the toilets and showers directly next to each other - possibly a bit off-putting at times.

Putting that aside however, the site as a whole compensates for that small issue and it's definitely a site I recommend anyone visiting.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TERRYSR 3 reviews from this member

Stayed for just over a week, with several days on my own as the other half had to return home for work . The site was very well kept although busy . Pitches didn't stay empty for very long ! We were on a pitch very close to the pylons at the end of the site and the other side of a hedge from the over night parking area.

Overall the staff were very friendly and very much enjoyed the visit. The pylons didn't bother us but the constant stream of motorcaravans and caravans that used the overnight parking area did . I don't believe that many of the campers perhaps realised that there were caravans just the other side of the hedge ! Late departures and early arrivals disturbed us on a number of occasions despite windows being closed . I would recommend the site but would advise anyone who was staying for several days and was a light sleeper to ask for a pitch further into the site .

Lots of rabbits who were obviously very used to people and dogs ! Lovely to sit in the van and watch them.

I would definitely go back to the site and felt very safe on my own for the days whilst the other half was at work and I was on my own .

Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4735 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019