Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Kent > Canterbury > Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bekesbourne Lane
Canterbury
Kent   (Browse area)
CT3 4AB
Tel: 01227 463216
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 152 Reviews
                9/10 from 152 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Espy81 2 reviews from this member

 The site is only suitable for caravans.

All toilets and showers (men and womenís) are closed between 1030 am and midday. This leaves tent owners with no available facilities to use.

The tent pitch area is wedged between the main road and a generator so itís not the best night sleep either and the ground available for tents is covered in trees and so tree roots make for a very uneven and uncomfortable night. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: D J M 8 reviews from this member

 Had a very enjoyable stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. The toilet facilities and shower block were kept clean. The takeaway pizzas from the visiting pizza van were good.

The walk into the city was only about 20 minutes and although uphill on the way back not too strenuous even for two reluctant teenagers! The site was busy with people often pitching for short stays so it did feel a bit packed at times but it was quiet at night so no real complaints.

There was some motorbike noise a few nights off site but overall a site we would return to again. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 Lovely site which although big still felt small and friendly. Good sized pitches and superb facilities showers etc wise.

The staff were great, happy and helpful and just good fun.

Shop was ideal for bits and bobs.

Dog wise some great walks on the site in the woods, a circular walk so ideal.

Walk to town was about 20 mins and no problem but coming back the hill is a long one but worth the effort as a lovely town. There is a bus stop nearby though so you can choose.

Sadly that's it though, nothing else about that we found. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: UKreplay 16 reviews from this member

 I have already reviewed the site so this is more about the things we did.

Canterbury is around a 20 minute walk away ( down hill in ). It's short bus ride ( 13, 13a, 14. There maybe others ), one way £2 or like me an oap pass. The Catheral and its precinct is an interesting place ( around £16 ). The High St is bustling and is a tourist magnet.

Wingham Wildlife Centre is a very child friendly place with lots of child related activities but enough animals for old fogies like me ( 2. 5 meter height restriction for carpark ).

Howletts Zoo is the serious side of conservation. Plenty to see at a relaxing pace. And yes there are still children's activities. If you use your motorhome to get there stop near the entrance building ( about 200 yes in ) and they will tell you where to park.

All the places we visited had very friendly and helpful staff.

Canterbury itself seems to have the same problems as any city but on the whole is a very pleasant place to visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kaut0Bill 18 reviews from this member

 Great site all round. Friendly helpful wardens, well laid out site with excellent facilities and you get the feeling of being in the country despite the site being so close to a main road and the city itself.

Frequent bus service into Canterbury from stop just outside the site and easily walk able for moderately fit persons.

Great site to stay at if visiting Canterbury and there are plenty of other places to visit either by train or bus from Canterbury. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravan79 17 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 3 nights at this lovely well maintained site. We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived, as we had dogs they asked if we wanted to be near the dog walking area which we did. Lovely big pitch, park well kept, lovely hot showers and toilets very clean. Will stay longer next time. If you fancy fish and chips on a Friday night a short drive away is Littlebourne where there was a chip van near the village shop. All freshly cooked to order and very nice. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: NettieH 3 reviews from this member

 We booked this site having lived in Kent for a while and especially loving Canterbury and surrounding areas. This site is tucked away nicely, but is still close enough to the city centre for a walk or short bus ride into town.

We arrived and the greeting from the site staff was exceptional. We were asked whether we preferred a spot near the playground or not, then personally taken to our pitch and asked if it was OK - given advice on where exactly to pitch by friendly staff and then left to it. If we needed someone they were usually around to help.

The facilities were always clean (no matter what time of day you went) and up to date.

Although it's a big site, it didn't feel like it as it is split into several areas.

I would definitely recommend this site and will be stopping there again!

We visited Canterbury, Herne Bay, Chatham Docks, Dymchurch, Deal and Dover and had a lovely time. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Michael.s 4 reviews from this member

 The wife had been in hospital after a fall. On the day before her discharge I booked online for a weeks break, found a hardstanding with electric for £200. What a bargin. 2 adults 1 dog we also took our granchild.

Very clean site, fantastic disabled facilities including a very large wet room with toilet and changing area. On-site were ladies/gents toilets and showers also family wash/changing rooms Laundry room, separate toilet disposil rooms. Sheltered washing-up area's, WiFi is available.

My granchild loved the play area and the dog walking route through woods. There are separate waste bins for recycling your waste products. The town is a very short drive [under 10 minuets] Defently recommend this from young at heart to families 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cat+Gus 7 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely stay at this campsite. It has to be the best site we have visited in terms of facilities, friendliness of the staff and cleanliness.

We arrived mid afternoon and were personally shown to our space and advised exactly how they wanted us to pitch to ensure the safety gaps were observed. The staff were very knowledgeable about how many visitors they were expecting over the Bank Holiday weekend and how they would all be accommodated. The site is quiet in terms of road noise, neighbouring businesses and aeroplanes. The toilet blocks were always clean and I never had to wait to use either toilet or shower.

We made the most of the proximity to the regular bus service straight into Canterbury which added to the relaxed weekend. We also visited Margate (45mins) and Dover Castle (25mins) from the site.

The playground facilities were well maintained but were the basis of my only slight niggle about the site. We were pitched less than 2 metres from the edge of the playground perimeter which meant that we often had bicycles and scooters abandoned right outside our tent door, sometimes overnight. We also had children riding bicycles dangerously close to our stove which although it was tucked in between our guyropes, was worrying while we were cooking. I would suggest to the site that they need a fence to separate the tents from the playground for safety reasons.

I would definitely recommend this site and we look forward to visiting again. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: D J M 8 reviews from this member

 We had a two night stay here and really enjoyed it. The site is on the outskirts of the city but it didn't seem like it as the location is rural and peaceful. The toilet block was modern and clean but the shop was quite basic. There was a good play area for children. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was only a 20 minute walk into the centre of Canterbury and although uphill on the way back it was easily manageable. 


Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Canterbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


59584 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement