Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Kent > Canterbury > Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bekesbourne Lane
Canterbury
Kent   (Browse area)
CT3 4AB
Tel: 01227 463216
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 152 Reviews
                9/10 from 152 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TomMac 28 reviews from this member

 This is a huge site, no privacy between pitches, but some come with trees or hedges at the back. Two nice big toilet blocks, but rather confusing, there is only ONE washing machine and ONE dryer! The laundry is not open 24 hours either, so made sure I was there for opening so I didn't miss out. People were catching the train from town to London. We went to Canterbury Cathedral, Canterbury Tales, a Roman Museum (uncovered when Germans bombed the city) and St. Augustines Abbey ruins. Very nice, but busy town with lots to see and do. Don't even bother trying to find parking close to the main attractions. There are buses in a short walk away from the site. We walked back from town, an easy stroll one afternoon. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kentcamper 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for two nights, The site is just perfect, Although it had lots of tents / campers / caravans it wasn't over crowded. The staff are extremely friendly, very professional, and so very helpful. We certainly will go again. The chippy van is just so yummy to. The site is stunning, well kept. Beautifully clean. A real credit to all the staff. This site and the staff 10 out of 10 always. 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: ALAG 4 reviews from this member

 We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The facilities were modern and kept spotless as is usually the case with Camping and Caravan Club sites. There is a golf club opposite the main entrance and a bus stop nearby. The buses run very frequently into Canterbury which is a beautiful city dominated by the wonderful cathedral. 


Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: John + Michelle 6 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for the first time for a couple of nights for New Years Eve. We requested a pitch away from others as we have a teething baby and did not wish to disturb others and despite being full they had reserved us a perfect pitch! We had a very friendly welcome and were shown to our pitch and directed to the facilities.

I was particularly impressed the next day when the wardens enquired how our dog was feeling (we were late arriving due to an unexpected visit to the vets after she decided to sample some After Eight mints!). They also wanted to know if we would like to use the Family Room and could not have been friendlier or more helpful.

The site is immaculate and well laid out and there is plenty of space, despite it being full. We did not use the facilities but they appeared to be nice from the outside. Despite is close proximity to Canterbury and being next to the hospital, it has a very rural feel, especially over the back which borders fields.

The walk to Canterbury took about 20 minutes and was quite pleasant. The hill looks daunting coming back but really isn't that bad and I managed it pushing a fully laden pushchair without much effort so don't be deterred! There is however a bus stop right outside the site and the busses apparently run every 20 minutes (although we didnlt actually see one!)

A perfect site for exploring the beautiful city of Canterbury and the surrounding area and we will be returning! 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sludge78 3 reviews from this member

 Stopped here on the way back from camping in France, arriving late afternoon. Satnav tried to take us down some very dubious lanes to start with (was fine with just the car but a caravan would struggle). Turned and went further down the A road and eventually got new directions which were much more accessible.

Mix up with booking not being fully processed but were really helpful and managed to find space for us. Shown personally to our pitch and given a run down of everything along with written notes and local takeaway menus. Nice little park close to our pitch for our 9yr old to play at.

Toilets/shower block immaculate and modern. Dish washing area adequate too. Cut through the camping area to shower blocks so a bit wet underfoot but otherwise fine. Quiet site despite the amount of caravans etc in situ.

Packed up and left early the next morning. Plenty of bins at entrance to dispose of waste.

Would definitely use again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marber 7 reviews from this member

 Loved this site and so returned this year! Can get to the beach in about a half an hour and walk to Canterbury if you are prepared for a steep walk back! (gets easier each time and saves on bus fares and hassle of parking). Margate great for fish and chips! Travelled to lots of places and even France for a day! Busy site with lots going on. Reception open every time I passed by and wardens clearly seen throughout the day. Friendly and helpful when I required some help. Facilities immaculate. No complaints at all! Will return again! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: David Klyne 257 reviews from this member

 To find Site:- Leave A2 and follow signs towards Canterbury on the A 2050. On ring road follow signs for Sandwich, head out of Canterbury on A257. In about a mile pass NHS facility of right and opposite Canterbury Golf Club turn right into Bekesbourne Lane (signed) and turn right into site in about hundred metres. The final approach from the main road to the campsite is narrow so care is required.

This campsite is situated about two miles from the centre of Canterbury. It is handy for an overnight stay to and from the ferries at Dover or for a longer stay to visit this part of Kent. You get a friendly welcome from the site staff. There are 200 pitches on a mix of grass and hardstanding. All pitches are allocated on arrival although you are asked for your preferences which will be met if possible. The hardstanding pitches are wide enough for caravan/motorhome and awning but not a car. This campsite is open all year and accepts non-members. Electric points are available to all serviced pitches (Club jargon for a pitch with electrics, but not water and drainage. ) although not every pitch will have access to electricity. They are rated at 16 amps and use CEE17 blue connectors. There are two toilets blocks of a good standard. The main block also contains a laundry, undercover dish wash area and chemical disposal point. The motorhome service point is nearer the second block. Water points are dotted around the site. For children there is an adventure style play area. Reception, which has extended hours during busy periods, also sells a few essentials and newspapers can be ordered. Next door is a small information room. There is site wide WiFi and time can be purchased online or at reception. A fish and chip vans calls a couple of times a week, good quality and reasonable prices.

Other than the overnight campers this campsite is very convenient for visits to Canterbury. For those without transport or who would prefer to use public transport there is a (weekdays and Saturdays) service every 20 minutes from almost outside the campsite. For those wanting to travel further afield there are good connections from Canterbury to all nearby towns. The seaside town of Whitstable, famous for its oysters, is not far away and is well worth a visit particularly the coastal walk. There are many restaurants in the City of Canterbury only a short bus or taxi ride away from the site. The nearest supermarket is Waitrose although most of the other major groups are also available within a short drive away. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lbarkas 91 reviews from this member

 We stopped off for two nights on our way home to the Midlands after touring in Europe so it is ideally situated being half an hour away from Dover. When checking in I spotted a notice about Camping Key Europe card and asked if ours would be of benefit. You bet it was! It enabled us to have CCC member rate giving us a saving of about 5 per night. Afterwards, one of the wardens escorted us to our pitch on his bike and explained where the services were - electric bollard, nearest fresh water point, toilet block -as well as suggestions of things to see and do. Excellent service - liked that personal touch. The site is very spacious and facilities of a high standard, so given its proximity to the Channel crossings, I expect we shall revisit next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mjlincs 26 reviews from this member

 We got a really helpful and friendly welcome to the site and a choice of pitches which reflected our need for the dog walk. My wife says that the showers were plentiful, large, very clean and well equipped with hooks etc. She was very impressed and thought they were the best she has used. The location is perfect for touring North Kent and very near Canterbury with a bus stop very close to the site, supermarkets and shopping are just a short drive away. We enjoyed several of the local towns and resorts in this very picturesque part of England, Whitstable is turning into a charming little place with seafood and a weekend market on the dockside and some lovely little shops to explore. We were warned against going to Margate but that was from someone who had not visited for a few years and we found the area around the harbour, old town and Turner Gallery to be well worth a visit. We thought Sandwich was a jewel and spent quite some time there wandering admiring the old buildings and choosing somewhere for lunch. If you need anything for your tent or caravan while you are there I can highly recommend W. M. Camping at Herne Common just outside Herne Bay, I urgently needed help after my awning gave way in heavy rain and I could not have received better service anywhere. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Melmel74 33 reviews from this member

 Lovely, well kept site within walking distance to the town and driving distance to many attractions. We visited Dover Castle, Whitstable and Herne Bay, Chatham Docks and Sissighurst.

The wardens were incredibly friendly and helpful and gave us a choice of 3 different pitches to choose from. We chose the 'woodland' area and loved it as it's not big enough for large tents due to the trees so we felt like we had loads of space to ourselves. Our main visitors were the rabbits.

Facilities were immaculate and there is a small children's play area plus a dog walk. We don't have a dog but it was a nice enough stroll to tire the kids out enough before bedtime!

Brilliant tourist base, spotless facilities and lovely staff; what more could you want? 


Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Canterbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


58459 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement