Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Canterbury > Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bekesbourne Lane
Canterbury
Kent   (Browse area)
CT3 4AB
Tel: 01227 463216
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 118 Reviews
                8/10 from 118 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mercuryqueen0 2 reviews from this member

I was really taken aback on arrival at this club site. I had pre-booked two campervans and paid a deposit. At the check in desk a nice lady commenced booking me in when the Manager interrupted and said she would book one of our campervans in. I explained that both were on my one booking form. She insisted so I explained further that I would like to pay for both. She actually made a hmph sound and rolled her eyes!

The site itself is extremely well kept with the most beautiful flowers near reception. And, it's well within walking distance of the town.

The nearest toilet block is closed from 10. 30am-noon each day but on one particular day was still closed until much later. The showers were cold at 9am. £30 per night for two people in a camper is a bit steep (and an awning would have been extra). All of this was not really a problem but the poor welcome we received is not easily forgotten.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Feughsider 10 reviews from this member

I stayed at this site for one night in April 2011 and regrettably I would have to think twice before returning.

In its favour, the site which is very convenient for Canterbury is well laid out and has a nice feel to it.

Like previous reviewers however I was unimpressed with the dated shower block facilities. This is the only site I have stayed at where I could not get hot water to run from either the sink taps or the showers.

was also unimpressed by the unfriendly and unhelpful attitude of the person who booked me in. That said, a gentleman who had just started working there and who showed me to my pitch was very friendly indeed.

If you want to go for food or a drink at the golf club opposite please note that their rules forbid you to wear jeans.

Overall it bothers me that foreign visitors to our country will perhaps get their first impression of England at this site. Must do better!

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caravan Critic 4 reviews from this member

Beautifully laid out and conveniently located for exploring Canterbury. However this site did not live up to our previous visits on this occasion. We arrived at 11. 15am on Saturday to be met by a bottleneck in the entrance as a motor-home was waiting to book in - and the site office was closed! No pitching before midday (despite available places) was frustrating.

The wardens were officious and unfriendly. The cost for a family of four was just under £34 - to our shock! A huge increase on the £17 we had paid in 2007 at the same time of year. I queried the cost and was told prices had gone up as it was half term. No consideration from 'the friendly club' for families then! And they wanted to charge extra for Wifi!

The facilities were adequate - old and basic. Cleaning was reasonable though there were spider webs in the toilet cubicles, cockroaches in the lower block. The basins were too small to get washed in, the shelf too narrow to put a wash bag on and the showers only lukewarm. And to add insult, they charged 20p for the hairdryer! (the hand dryer only worked sporadically).

The site setting is beautiful and pitches spacious, but it was spoilt for us by the cost (bearing in mind basic facilities) and the unfriendly attitude of the wardens.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Franko 4 reviews from this member

Booking no problem on line, very friendly wardens,

Shown to choice of pitches.

Toilets/showers clean and seen to be cleaned every day. Bus outside gate to nearly anywhere every 20 mins

Shop small but satisfactory for us and again obliging staff. We stayed on 3 more days as ideal for local area. Will be going again next season as more places to visit.

Fresh baguettes delivered daily at competitive price. Overall very friendly people staying on site even though several foreigners bound for the ferries /tunnel etc

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aust.tourists 69 reviews from this member

This is a very nice site with friendly wardens. The site is quite large but is split into sections so has the feel of being smaller. The reception sell a few basic items. There is an information room providing lots of information about things to do in the area. The shower/toilet block is clean.

The showers were a bit annoying as you had to push the button around every 5 seconds. The shower head was a bit too low down and only gave a small spray.

It felt like you had to bend down and almost had to get right up to the wall to get any spray on you ( as well as pressing the button). Not the easiest of showers! The TV, phone and internet reception was ok.

There is a bus stop outside the site and the bus runs every 20 minutes into Canterbury. It is around a 30 minute walk if you prefer. If you walk you will go past St Martin's Priory which is worth a look. They open it up for visitors on certain days and is free. It is the oldest church in continuous use in the English speaking world. You will also pass St Augustine's Abbey. Canterbury itself has lots of lovely old buildings and shops and, of course, there is the beautiful cathedral.

Would recommend this site for anyone visiting Canterbury or if you are looking for a site close to Dover. I have never seen so many rabbits!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Topcat+Dibble 18 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for 3 nights and were offered a choice of non serviced pitches.

Shower/toilet facilities, especially at the bottom of the site, were not the best we've had on our travels, but did the job.

Can recommend the Golf club opposite for a beer and light bite. Open to non members, just remember not to wear denim or hats when in the Club house!

Good bus and cab service to and from Canterbury which is the place to head for for night life.

Whilst staying, can also recommend the oysters from Whitstable harbour, The town/harbour at Broadstairs for seafood, ices and lunch and Dover castle for 800 years of history.

Would definitely stay again at a site that feels intimate despite it's size.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Monty the bongo 49 reviews from this member

Had a really nice Bank Holiday weekend at this site. The wardens were friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. We had a good sized hard standing pitch with our friend on a grass pitch behind us.

The shower and toilets were a bit dated but always clean. The shower block nearer reception was a bit more modern. The shop sells a few basics and the information area had plenty of ideas for days out and walks.

The walk into Canterbury city centre takes about 15/20 mins but it is up hill on the way back or there is a bus stop by the entrance to the site. The city itself is great with plenty of history and shops so everyone should be happy.

Overall the the site is friendly and well kept with easy access to Canterbury. We are already talking of a going back.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Acspencer 8 reviews from this member

We use this site as our local get away, and once again it did not disappoint us.

It is a clean and tidy site and well maintained.

As with the other reviewers we agree that the toilet blocks are well overdue a refit. A tip for those push button showers, if you hold them for a few minutes the water will run hot, keeping the button pushed in (you need to be fairly agile or have a velcro strip) will give you a hot shower. The site managers were very polite and helpful. We had good weather for the weekend, so this made our mini break ideal. The site is well situated for a walk into the city, and the many attractions it holds. All in all still one of our favourite sites.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Deeman 1 review from this member

Do not get me wrong, this is a lovely site but its only drawback are the ancient Toilets/Showers.

The showers are push button type and if you get 10 seconds each push you are lucky. They are also very narrow, so a rather big person will struggle fully to get a decent shower, and there's more, the water is just tepid so if you want a hot shower don't bother.

Then there are the wash basins. These are so very small and using them to get a decent wash & shave is useless.

Other than that it is a very nice site and a new toilet block with non-push button hot showers and privacy cubicles for washing & shaving is a must in this day & age.

I will only return when this site has been upgraded.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: MichaelBenj 20 reviews from this member

This is clearly a well run site, the staff were friendly and the shop had milk, eggs, bread etc and camping gaz which we needed during our stay.

The only downside was the showers which were too small to get changed and the dreaded push button type (30 seconds of cool water) and the sinks - handbasin sized and too close together to use comfortably.

The plus side is the proximity to Canterbury and Sandwich (a truly lovely old port with good food available). In all we would recommend this site.

Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2470 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019