Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Canterbury > Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bekesbourne Lane
Canterbury
Kent   (Browse area)
CT3 4AB
Tel: 01227 463216
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 116 Reviews
                8/10 from 116 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  116 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pcjjsn 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here for our half term break. It's in extremely well looked after grounds with plenty of clean facilities.

All staff were very friendly, putting on a ghost walk through the woods, giving advice on where to visit etc.

We've never visited Kent before, always passing through to get to the continent, but found the location to be very central for the area. We visited several coastal towns, Dover castle is a must see, and Canterbury is a great city, with plenty of shops and pubs and eating places.

The one downside - there's plenty of comings and goings on the site with campers staying for one or two nights, I suspect going to or from the channel crossing, but they tell you this in their blurb.

We would love to visit again!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Junior pullman 2 reviews from this member

We are just coming to the end of our three week stay at Canterbury camping and Caravanning site. I can honestly say for us there isnít one thing that we can say against it. Even before we arrived, the staff were friendly and helpful. We were supposed to arrive on the Saturday, but rang and asked if they had space for the Friday. After a bit of juggling, and despite the fact that they were choc a block, we were told we could arrive the day earlier. From our arrival and all the time we have been here the staff have been friendly and helpful. We both work in education, so asked if we could be away from the play area. We have a lovely corner pitch as far as it possible from the play area! A huge thing for us. On setting up we discovered we had no electricity in the cabin. The staff came out and tested for faults, twice, despite being busy with the dayís intake. It turned out to be a lose wire in the box under the seat storage. My husband got it working after a lot of head scratching.

The site is always clean and tidy. The facilities the same. It is a quiet site, near to Canterbury town centre and not far from Margate, Ramsgate, Herne Bay to name a few places to visit. Supermarkets are close by. A bus stop two minutes walk off site. There have been a lot of children on the site the whole time we have been here, so Iím guessing itís child friendly. Dogs too are welcome.

We highly recommend the site. It has been the perfect holiday and we will definitely return in the future. Thanks to all staff for helping make our stay a great one.

John & Helen. Lincs.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Colin21 10 reviews from this member

Spent 9 days on this site at the beginning of the month. A very well-kept site and very convenient for buses into town or to Sandwich in the opposite direction. Loads to explore in the area, too much to do in 9 days! Kent is a beautiful county, and this site is ideally placed to explore it.

It does tend to be a bit of a 'transit-camp', with people spending just one night on their way to or from the continent, which is a bit of a shame as they don't get the full benefit of a lovely site.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and obviously worked very hard keeping the site up to the high standard usually expected of a C&CC site. As others have said, it was very quiet at night, despite being very busy especially over the weekend.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Foxon 2 reviews from this member

This is an ideal site for anyone wishing to explore Canterbury and Kent. The site is right on the edge of town but feels as though it's in the countryside. First impressions on entering the site are excellent having a display of flowers and fruit trees near the well stocked shop and reception office. The managers and staff are lovely and helpful. There is a good play area for children and little areas of trees for them to play in. Although this is a very busy site, being popular with people stopping off on the way to or from the ferry ports and channel tunnel, it is extremely quiet at night. There are excellent dog walks through the wood at the bottom of the site or across the main road, through the golf club car park and on to the old MOD land which stretches as far as Canterbury city centre, Fordwich and Sturry and is criss-crossed by innumerable paths. There are bus stops just outside the site on the main road with good bus services into town or towards Sandwich, Deal and Westwood Cross shopping centre.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: List 2 reviews from this member

-very pretty site, level with a lot of hard standings set out really well in sections amoungst the trees. We stayed on grass with electric

-the site was very quiet at night

-friendly welcoming staff

-clean modern facilities

-playpark plus places amongst the trees for children to play

-dog friendly, includes a dog walk

-lots of places to visit in canterbury and surrounding area

-felt very relaxing

-access good via a short piece of narrow road

-return? yes.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: D J M 8 reviews from this member

Had a very enjoyable stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. The toilet facilities and shower block were kept clean. The takeaway pizzas from the visiting pizza van were good. The walk into the city was only about 20 minutes and although uphill on the way back not too strenuous even for two reluctant teenagers! The site was busy with people often pitching for short stays so it did feel a bit packed at times but it was quiet at night so no real complaints. There was some motorbike noise a few nights off site but overall a site we would return to again.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Paul 69 reviews from this member

Lovely site which although big still felt small and friendly. Good sized pitches and superb facilities showers etc wise.

The staff were great, happy and helpful and just good fun.

Shop was ideal for bits and bobs.

Dog wise some great walks on the site in the woods, a circular walk so ideal.

Walk to town was about 20 mins and no problem but coming back the hill is a long one but worth the effort as a lovely town. There is a bus stop nearby though so you can choose.

Sadly that's it though, nothing else about that we found.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: UKreplay 16 reviews from this member

I have already reviewed the site so this is more about the things we did.

Canterbury is around a 20 minute walk away ( down hill in ). It's short bus ride ( 13, 13a, 14. There maybe others ), one way £2 or like me an oap pass. The Catheral and its precinct is an interesting place ( around £16 ). The High St is bustling and is a tourist magnet.

Wingham Wildlife Centre is a very child friendly place with lots of child related activities but enough animals for old fogies like me ( 2. 5 meter height restriction for carpark ).

Howletts Zoo is the serious side of conservation. Plenty to see at a relaxing pace. And yes there are still children's activities. If you use your motorhome to get there stop near the entrance building ( about 200 yes in ) and they will tell you where to park.

All the places we visited had very friendly and helpful staff.

Canterbury itself seems to have the same problems as any city but on the whole is a very pleasant place to visit.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kaut0Bill 17 reviews from this member

Great site all round. Friendly helpful wardens, well laid out site with excellent facilities and you get the feeling of being in the country despite the site being so close to a main road and the city itself.

Frequent bus service into Canterbury from stop just outside the site and easily walk able for moderately fit persons.

Great site to stay at if visiting Canterbury and there are plenty of other places to visit either by train or bus from Canterbury.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caravan79 17 reviews from this member

Stayed for 3 nights at this lovely well maintained site. We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived, as we had dogs they asked if we wanted to be near the dog walking area which we did. Lovely big pitch, park well kept, lovely hot showers and toilets very clean. Will stay longer next time. If you fancy fish and chips on a Friday night a short drive away is Littlebourne where there was a chip van near the village shop. All freshly cooked to order and very nice.

Previous     116 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4306 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019