Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Canal Side Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

Canal Side Caravan Site
31 Grindley Brook
Grindley Brook
Whitchurch
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY13 4QJ
Tel: 01948 663284  or  07935269084
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 39 pitches including 20 seasonal
Open: Friday 1st March Until Sunday 27th Oct 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 126 Reviews
                9/10 from 126 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (17)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  126 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jennycat 1 review from this member

Canal Side Caravan Park is a wonderful site. It is next to the Llangollen Canal where you can see narrow boats go through the lock system. The site itself is very clean and tidy. Caravans go around the edge of the field so the feeling of space is good.
On one field there is one block of toilets containing ladies side 2 loos and 2 private with curtain wash basin. On the mens side there were urinals and 1 private loo and 1 wash basin. These were at all times extremely clean. Near to the entrance there was another block, which contained 2 rooms which had a shower loo and wash basin.
The site is run on an environmentally friendly basis so rubbish is sorted which was no problem. You can buy basics plus from the local shell garage.
The best place to eat was the Horse and Jockey which is diagonally opposite the entrance (all within walking distance). I know that this is my opinion but the Poachers Chicken is to die for. The owners of the site are extremely helpful and friendly. I would recommend this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Duey 20 1 review from this member

This was the 1st time we visited this site and it was so nice we have been back at least 6 times since. Even going this weekend coming.

The owners live on site and are very helpful. They are improving the site every time we go. It is very peaceful site and in a lovely area, Right next to the Llangollan canal.

The showers are 50p but worth evey penny. There is a fantastic pub opposite (Jockey and Rider) great menu and very friendly to all visitors. There is also a petrol station 100 yds from site and they sell pepers, milk, gas cylinders etc. Also the lovely town of Whitchurch is not far away (10 mins by car or 1/2 hr walk by the canal route.)

Great site to use as a base to explore the Shropshire countryside. The site is ADULT only and DOGS are allowed, Kept on leads, There are 2 toilet blocks, 1 in each field But showers are only in 1 block, near enterance area. It is also gate secured and a code is needed to enter. There is also a dog walking area but we mainly use the canal paths its so much nicer. Rach pitch has its own electric and water supply although a waste container is necessary for grey water.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jwblackpool 8 reviews from this member

We have just returned after 2 nights at this great site. 2 toilet blocks 1 with showers and extremely clean with piped music. Just through the gate and you are on the canal towpath which is a great place to exercise your dog (if you take one, We did ).
Very close to the staircase locks if you turn right when going through the gate. There is a pub over the road and a petrol station which sells lots of basics less than a minute walk away. Very quiet at night as its adults only. Will most definitely be back this site is brilliant.A credit to the owners.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Diana20 11 reviews from this member

Road going past very noisy night and day. Clean and tidy site, owners do not seem to like large tents, I think they should state footprint required on website. We felt there was a lot of caravan snobbery towards tenters
Lovely surrounding area with the canal and the barges, will go back to area, but sadly not to this campsite

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Salnsteve 19 reviews from this member

A great little site which we have visited twice.

The toilets and showers are spotless and the bin area is kept clean and litter free.

Working with children and having 4 lively grandchildren, it is really peaceful and relaxing to be on an adult only site.

There is some noise from the road, but we didn't find it too intrusive. The towpath walks are wonderful and it is pleasant to sit at the locks and watch the narrowboats chug by. Whitchurch, Chester, Llangollen are all a short ride away. The aquaducts at Llangollen are worth walking over and Ironbridge is also worth a visit.

Right on the border with Wales, we found this an ideal site to do some touring. Last but not least, the owners are very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lentrott 7 reviews from this member

A brilliant little site right on the Shropshire/Cheshire border. Very peaceful despite it's close proximity to quite a busy road, and with direct access to the Llangollen Canal (through a gate in the corner of the site) you have lovely countryside walks right on your doorstep!

There is a Shell garage and shop within 100m for all of your basics, and a pub just across the road which, although nothing special, served decent food and ale! There is another canalside pub around 30 mins walk away which again serves good food, has a pleasant garden and lockside tables, and also seems to be stuck in a timewarp!

The tent area in particular is quite attractive with a nice pond which attracts the friendly ducks! There are also lots of rabbits running around! In fact I got up for a toilet visit in the middle of the night and there were loads of them all around the tents and caravans! No trouble though!

As mentioned in previous reviews the shower rooms are clean and spacious, although I think 50p for a shower is a little over the top! I understand it maybe for water conservation reasons but 20p would be more appropriate!

Just one more thing, despite it's name only a tiny corner of the site is adjacent to the canal, so don't visit expecting a canalside pitch!

All in all a very well run site with a nice range of amenities located within walking distance! We'll definitely visit again!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Irons 13 reviews from this member

A lovely campsite if you sort out the price before you go, I don't think they like largish tents and kept adding things on. Apart from that we had a good stay for a long weekend. Good clean showers but only two, but there are two more toilets nearer the other field. Nice pond with ducks and ducklings.

It s nice and peaceful with good walks along the canal for dogs the pub over the road serves quite nice food we had a good weekend all in all.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blueplanty 1 review from this member

Having a chance to get away without our children, an adult only site sounded perfect. Although the weather was a little disappointing, I can only say that the standard of the site made up for it.

The owners were very friendly and certainly look after the site. The showers were perfect, even heated in the individual rooms.

We had no problems with the road, but the camping area is further back than the caravanning area. It was good to see a campsite that wants to recycle all rubbish.

The ducks and ducklings even came to see us to make sure that we settled in.

The local pub served excellent food and was very welcoming.

We will defintely going back again if we are free from the children.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peter + Andrea 1 review from this member

Really quiet and secure site. The shower block is one of the best and cleanest we have used in the UK, virtually a private bathroom with toilet, basin & shower with plenty of room to move around.We found no issue of noise from the road, maybe because the tent field is well shielded by the caravans and the roadside tree hedges. The owners Joan & Trevor were very friendly and helpful.

There are three pubs very near by all selling good ales and food so no need to have to drive too far on an evening.

Will definitely use this site again.

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Likleoldlady 3 reviews from this member

Stayed on this campsite for 3 nights during the most awful weather all month. Pitch was all grass no hard standing so consequently caravan got very muddy inside. Toilet blocks very clean and plenty of hot water with piped radio 2! Lovely walks along towpath, we walked into Whitchurch in about an hour each way. Grindley brook lockside stores have an excellent shop selling all sorts of food stuff and lovely selection of local produce and wine, plus an excellent cafe where if the weather permits you can sit outside and watch the boats going through the locks. The only criticism is the awful road noise and I'm afraid this has put us of visiting again.

Previous     126 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


896 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019