Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Canal Side Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

Canal Side Caravan Site
31 Grindley Brook
Grindley Brook
Whitchurch
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY13 4QJ
Tel: 01948 663284  or  07935269084
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 39 pitches including 20 seasonal
Open: Friday 1st March Until Sunday 27th Oct 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 126 Reviews
                9/10 from 126 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (17)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  126 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dynomark 1 review from this member

A beautifully kept site in lovely surroundings, spread over two immaculate fields. Lovely friendly owners who came to greet us as we arrived and showed us to our pitch, which was close to the canal,

The pitches are all generously sized and ours was a fully serviced pitch, which included aerial hookup. All the pitches seemed to have two concrete slabs upon which you are asked to site your unit, which appear to be level, a great help if you are on any of the sloped pitches in the upper field.

The site facilities are excellent, there are two toilet/shower blocks, the ones we used had toilet and sinks and a walk in shower. The rate of 50p for approx 5 minutes of shower time may seem a bit short, as others have said, especially when endless hot water is available from the sink, but it is just long enough to shower and do your hair too, as long as you don't hang about! However should you run out of time the money slot is outside the shower room, a pain if you are halfway through!

Recycling is encouraged and there is ample bins for all sorts of waste, including a separate one for doggy do's should your little friend leave you a deposit on your pitch!

All the other caravanners we met where very friendly, and several had been before, a testament to a good site.

Local amenities where excellent, with a garage close by and a very nice dog friendly pub across the road, stepping out the back of the site puts you on the canal path and Gridley Brook Staircase locks a 5 minute walk away, with a lovely shop and cafe. Turn left along the tow path and a 30 minute walk will take you to a lovely pub, serving excellent beer and food, though beware it is closed between 2:30 and 6:00. Following the tow path right out the campsite and past the Grindley Brook Locks, a 45 minute walk will take you to Whitchurch, which despite the affluent surroundings is a little underwhelming, a very run down town with several empty shops and even on a Saturday it was far from the bustling market town you might imagine. A better prospect is the delightful town of Ellesmere, a few miles up the road, a much more pleasant and pretty place.

Overall a beautiful area and a site I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone wishing for a peaceful stay.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hollie12 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site as our first ever adventure into caravanning,

Upon arrival everyone was friendly and helpful.

Site facilities were excellent, toilet / shower areas more than adequate and clean.

Site generally clean and tidy

Excellent area for being close to canal.

The Horse and Jockey pub ( opposite site) was very,very Dog friendly with very friendly Landlord and Staff and excellent Food at reasonable cost.

Would definitely return to both site and Pub

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alibescat 30 reviews from this member

The previous review sums up most points about the are and the pitches are good size with water, aerial etc. But upon arrival there was a mix up with the lady and I found her to be very short with me. I explained I was paid up due to the 50 deposit and my friends would pay upon arrival there was mention of BH supplement which she never mentioned on the phone and didn't tell me how much it was but asked if I wanted to leave? Which surprised me, Id not even been told how much this was and was simply trying to find out how much I now owed in fees ! once we had discussed this further I had to pay for the dogs and awning which I fully understood.

We had visitors on Sunday my friends parents who are in their 70's. They were charged 6 as day visitors 2 each and 2 for the car. Its not an expensive site but the owners need to be clear to people if they ask what the charges are for

We never really saw the owners again which is fine with me our friends found them friendly enough

Pub over the road great and you can take the dogs in.

Large area for dogs to play at the top.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SB+SB 2 reviews from this member

Myself and my husband stayed here, we had a spot all to ourselves, just the other side of the pool, was a lovely site, owners very nice and helpful, other users of the site were also polite and helpful.

Downside is that you have to pay extra for showers, and if you want to use the socket for a hairdryer you need a token.

The site is convenient for canal walks and strolls. Pub close by for great food and another down the tow path.

Showers very clean and toilets too, there are 2 sets of conveniences on the site, along with washing up facilities, use of fridge and freezer, there is also washing machine and microwave on site for your use. We would definitely stay here again

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lennydiane 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at canal side for 2 nights it was everything that we were looking for

It was so peaceful and quite clean and tidy

We will definitely return

The toilet and showers were spotless, they even have piped music in the toilets, nice touch. You pay 50p for a shower,

I contacted them by email and they replied within a day

Although we did not book and just turned up on the day there was still a warm welcome

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Privatehudson 18 reviews from this member

The site is in a fantastic location for hikers, being at the junction of a number of paths including the end point of the Maelor Way and the start of the South Cheshire Way. Just over the road is a pub serving nice food and there is also a garage shop near by. Whitchurch is within walking distance and has loads of shops and pubs.

The site is very secure, the only way into it is through a gate which you have to enter a keycode into. The showers and toilets are clean and tidy, and although the former cost 50p a time the owners provided me with a 50p when I paid them, making them effectively free. You do have to be quick getting into the shower though because you have to put the 50p into a slot on the outside, then have two minutes to get inside, get undressed and pull a cord to activate the shower. They seemed to last about 5 minutes.

The owners were friendly and helpful and I'd have no hesitation in using the site again.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ronandchris 14 reviews from this member

Just had a 4 night stay at Canal Side. The approach to the caravan site is a little off-putting, but once you are through the secure gates it's fine. Very security aware owners!

Lovely clean site with loads of space between pitches, with own water and TV ariel point, just ask to borrow a lead if you don't have your own.

Toilets and showers very clean though perhaps a bit stark.

Lots of interesting places to visit, especially if you venture over the border into Wales, stunning scenery within a few miles drive. Shrewsbury worth a visit.

Pub opposite the site entrance serves a good pint and the food looked good although we did not try it.

Nice walk along the tow path with plenty to see along the way.

Yes the site is noisy with traffic on the A41, but as we live in a very quiet area we probably noticed it more, it did not spoil our enjoyment, but we were not on the site during the day, so if we wanted to sit out it might have been a problem.

Having said that we would return in the future.

All in all a very good site. Recommended!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sharvale 4 reviews from this member

What a great little site we were made to feel welcome from the moment we pulled up at the gate. The site is mainly tourers but there is a separate field with upto 8 tents in it, it could hold more but the owners prefer it not to be overcrowded.

The facilities were spotless and the bonus for us was that it was a no kids site! The site is right on the canal, near to the Grindley Brook staircase locks. The site has it's own access directly onto the canal. If you turn right there is a lovely little cafe about half a mile along the towpath where you can watch the boats as they travel up the locks. Carry on along the towpath past the cafe and the towpath takes you towards Whitchurch then you turn off at the lift bridge and follow the Sandstone Trail which takes you into Whitchurch itself, this a lovely walk or cycle ride of about 2.5 miles. There is a Tesco and various other stores. If you turn left on the canal

There is the Whilley pub about 2 miles down the towpath but be warned it shuts between 2.30pm and 18.00. Opposite the site is a nice pub called the Horse and Jockey which allows dogs in it.

There is only one small negative about this site and that is that the A41 which runs along side the site can be noisy at night, but unless you are a light sleeper you probably wouldn't notice it. Overall this is an excellent site and all for 12.00 per night, which is too cheap for the quality of the facilities, but don't tell them that as we will definitely be returning in the future!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fellys@fsnet.co 2 reviews from this member

We have visited this site quite a few times, and it is very well and secure area thanks to Trevor-Joan @ there daughter Denise's hard work. It is very clean and situated in a lovely position by the canal-side.

Whitchurch is a pleasant walk along the canal which will take you about 3/4 hour.The horse and jockey pub over the road from the caravan site sells good food and ale, bread milk eggs newspapers etc can be purchased from the garage nearby.

The only thing that is open to criticism is the showers 50p for about 3 or 4 Min's if you are lucky. Then there is no warning before the shower stops, the trouble then is that if you have another coin to put in the meter you have to go out of the cubicle to put another one in it

All in all its a brill site and we will definitely be going back

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jim+v 5 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site.The owners are friendly and efficient.

The weather was particularly unkind to us but the site is actually very sheltered and the high winds did not affect the tent very much.

The showers toilets and washing up facilities are clean and having 2 blocks are never over busy.Freezer is available free.

The canal has a staircase lock a few minutes walk away with a lockside cafe. The shop at the garage is ok and the Horse & Jockey pub is welcoming and are both conveniently close.Dogs allowed on site (and in the pub)

Not mentioned in the sites write up is the 2 ponds on site which are full of fish and are free fishing. The canal is good fishing as well.

We found a fantastic Thai restaurant in town (takeaways as well) Called Bauhinia at 42 Green End. None of the takeaways will deliver though it is only 5 minutes by car.

There is some noise from the nearby road but it is not too bad.

To sum up: we wish the weather had been better but the site is really good.

Previous     126 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


243 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019