Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Canal Side Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

Canal Side Caravan Site
31 Grindley Brook
Grindley Brook
Whitchurch
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY13 4QJ
Tel: 01948 663284  or  07935269084
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 39 pitches including 20 seasonal
Open: Friday 1st March Until Sunday 27th Oct 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 126 Reviews
                9/10 from 126 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (17)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  126 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Digital Doris 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a visit to this great site. Spent 7 nights here, great location for motorhome with walks either way along canal towpath on sandstone trail also bus stop right outside. Garage next door for provisions and wonderful pub across the road serving great real ale and reasonably priced food with proper chips. Site and toilet block kept very clean. Good dog walk on site. Owner very friendly and we were given a very warm welcome will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: OLDBONES 1 review from this member

Just spent 4 days 3 nights here, and was a lot better than anticipated from reading past reviews, nothing was too much trouble for Denise the owner, had a little trouble with the wifi, but was probably my fault. Also loaned us a coaxial cable for the tv antennae, (recommend you take a 10 metre coax) dog walking areas, very handy for the canal walks, the local pub straight across the road is dog friendly and served excellent meals, there is a garage virtually next door that sells most basics that you may require, a cafe by The Staircase Locks that do breakfasts 5 minutes away. Idyllic for a restful break and we cannot wait to go again very soon.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Brumbles 1 review from this member

Booked a six night stay on this site, what a visit! Waking up the first morning and having to call 999 for a unexpected medical problem, with my husband initially in panic mode Denise the site owner was brilliant. We ended up first with a paramedic, then an ambulance and finally another paramedic bringing the Shropshire Hub Doctor. Eight people in a four berth caravan, sardines spring to mind. Special thanks to this medical service considering it was the 'V festival' at Weston Park just down the road. Twenty four hours later with the medication prescribed I was fine. The rest of our stay we spent visiting Cheshire Oaks& Chester, Llangollen, Llandudno & local canal boat fayre. The site was excellent, shower/toilet block, Reception & information office good. Security excellent. Garage outside the site gate with shop selling daily papers & groceries, pub just over the road and canal side cafe just along towpath, needless to say we will be back

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Geofftheshed 1 review from this member

Have just returned after a week at this little gem of a site. Easy booking in and a friendly welcome from denise. Very well kept site with a relaxed atmosphere. All toilets and showers spotless all the time we were there. Fantastic location just a couple of minutes drive from whitchurch. Lovely canal side walks via a coded gate. Turn left and 25 mins to willeymoor lock pub. Turn right to staircase lock and great lockside cafe only 3-4 minutes walk. Horse and jockey pub over the road was a delight. Great site for touring cheshire and shropshire or just chilling by the canal. We will definitely be returning here. Geoff and viv

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Debbie c 1 review from this member

Just returned from Canal Side after a 4 night stay. This was our first visit but will not be our last. A very well maintained, pretty site with fully serviced pitches including TV point.

Toilet and shower facilities were adequate and very clean.

The grounds are well maintained with trees and shrubs. Also the grass was cut while we were there and the cuttings were collected instead of clumps of cut grass left lying around waiting to get trampled into your caravan, like on so many sites.

A 2 minute walk and your at the canal with a nice cafe in one direction at a set of locks and a pub in the other direction also at a set of locks.

There's also another pub opposite the entrance to the site.

Security gates/barriers on all entrances including the gate to the canal mean that even on foot no one can enter the site making it very secure.

The owners were very friendly, welcoming and helpful.

Definitely worth another visit.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PeteLuc 22 reviews from this member

Most points have been covered by previous reviews! Arrival was simple enough. Pulled up to the gate and the owners came straight out and welcomed us on to the site, points out where the facilities are, took the money then showed us to our pitch. Security is pretty reasonable with a code required to get back in either driving or via the pedestrian gates.

The site itself is kept very nicely. The grass is in good condition and not a sign of litter anywhere. The toilets and showers are a little basic being in what appeared to be plastic lined sheds, but they were fully functional, clean and no problems with the hot water supply. 50p for a shower is maybe a little tight, plus the time is a little short. There is plenty of room for dogs to run up at the top field, plus with the site being directly on the canal, there are plenty of options to walk. The pitches are hard standing for both van and awning with the car parked to one side, which for me restricted the area to be able to sit out quite dramatically. With a full size awning up there was not enough room to sit out on the grass with next doors car parked there, so for me the pitches are too small. There is room, just, to sit in front of your van but this then puts you on public display!

A short walk from the site is the lock side cafe, a garage with a small shop and a pub. The shop had most the basics. The pub we thought was pretty good with a reasonable range of food and drink available. The pub is dog friendly. We ate there on a couple of occasions as we thought the food was of a good standard. Head in the opposite direction out of the site is another pub (Willeymoor lock) which had a good selection of food and drink also, but we didn't think the food was as good a standard as the Horse and Jockey across the road from the site. This pub is around half an hour walk and is also dog friendly. Whitchurch is a couple of miles away and has all the amenities you could want, including some good pubs!

So overall, the good points

Well kept

Dog friendly

Good location

Good value for money

Adults only

The even better ifs

Slightly longer in the showers, or free would be better

Another four foot on the pitch width!

A little less do this, don't do that signage. Plus it is an adult only site, but the owners had the grandson in tow at one point. At times it seemed a little controlling, without the rules being adhered to by the owners.

A phone mast in the area! Ok not the fault of the site but we got intermittent signal on EE with data not possible most of the time, Vodaphone rarely picked up. This of course may be considered a plus.

We certainly intend to return so overall I can recommend and say that we were happy there.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wp1234 13 reviews from this member

Site is located on the canal with access to it through a coded gate. An OK site and I'm sure very nice in the height of summer with some hot weather.

The pub across the road is nice enough and food is good and not too expensive.

The site has two shower blocks, the one furthest away from the enterance needs some refurb I would say especially if you get charged an extra 50p for the 2 minutes of hot water ( a bit mean I thought on top of the 20 per night).

The laminating machine has found it way here with a myriad of 'do not do this ' ' do not do that' signs erected all over the place. I suppose if your bored here you could play 'hunt the sign'.

Also felt a bit out of place without a dog so it must be a good site for owners.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bridget Clarke 7 reviews from this member

What a charming site and beautiful location with the canal right outside the site with a lovely walk along the towpath to a charming pub which served food. There was also a pub across the road also a garage. The site also had a small shop selling vital necessities for your food cupboard. The owners Trevor and Denise were very welcoming and helpful. I sh all certainly be returning to this pleasant site.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: CunninghamP-L 10 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site with our two dogs in early August. The owners were lovely and as we were going to a wedding straight from our stay they very kindly stored our suit carriers for us. The site is quiet and the toilets and showers although in 'sheds' were always clean. The pitches have power and TV connection and there is cables avalable to buy from the owners shop. Showers were 50p and you need a 50p piece (no change). We walked both ways along the canal through a gate straight off the site, firstly to Whitchurch (small town with a nice mix of shops) which took about 45 minutes. There is a choice of pubs to eat and drink in, we found 'The old town hall vaults' friendly with good food. Also the 'White Bear' had music on. The other way along the canal was 'Willey Moor' with beer garden. There is also 'The horse and jockey' just over the road from the site which served food daily. We had mixed weather but met some lovely people on the site who gave us the info for places to go and eat. We visited Colemere and spent an hour walking the Mere and also Ellesmere for a walk.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Peter K Frame 1 review from this member

We stayed for four nights, a lovely family run site. The staff were very helpful and took time to find us a electric hook up lead at no charge. We will stay again at this lovely site.

The site is dog friendly which is very important having a Labrador, there is loo pen and a big top field to exercise your dog in. There are walks along the canal in both directions with one taking you to the town of Whitchurch where you can purchase just about anything. There is a pub on the doorstep with good food and beers. All round pleasant site.

Peter

Previous     126 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3442 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019