Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Canal Side Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

Canal Side Caravan Site
31 Grindley Brook
Grindley Brook
Whitchurch
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY13 4QJ
Tel: 01948 663284  or  07935269084
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 39 pitches including 20 seasonal
Open: Friday 1st March Until Sunday 27th Oct 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 126 Reviews
                9/10 from 126 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (17)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  126 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gemma1675 46 reviews from this member

The site is very well kept and well maintained and the pitches are a good size. However there are only two showers per sex and this isn't enough for a site of this size. The website claims they have 19 pitches but I counted more than 20 units in the second field alone - so I assume they have added more pitches but not any more shower facilities. You pay 50 pence for a shower, and its very quick although I suppose this helps keep the waiting time down! The showers are turned off at 9.30pm which is a strange rule that I have never come across anywhere else. Site location is good, right on the canal tow path, and it is nice to have a tap on your pitch.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jands1 8 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a most enjoyable stay at this gem of a site. OK so the fact that it is adults only sold it to us initially but once we arrived the setting was just brilliant. Pity that the site is adjacent to the main road but eventually you got used to the traffic noise as it is constant
The showers and toilets were always being cleaned - I even spotted Denise cleaning after 10pm! I agree with previous reviews that the duration of the shower is a little short especially if you are washing your hair. One day I put 2 x 50ps in and discovered that if you pulled the cord again you did indeed get double the amount of time. However I tried this again the next day and it didn't work so I had to rinse off in the hand basin. You can take your own hair dryer and buy tokens for the electricity - 30p gets you 4 minutes, which again isn't quite long enough.
There are plenty of places to see we walked along the canal into Whitchurch and Oswestry was worth a visit. Chirk castle was a disappointment but Attingham Park more than made up for it. We ate at the pub along the canal, food was good but staff were not friendly. The Horse and Jockey over the road served good food. All in all an excellent holiday, we even extended our stay and we shall certainly be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gordonanddawn 10 reviews from this member

We visited this site for two nights, on arrival we were met by the owners who could not do enough to help, I am still practising my reversing and was helped onto our patch, later they came to check everything was in order and provided a long ariel cable to hook up to the sites own system, they also opened and closed the gate if they were nearby at the time.
The site has access to the canal and is ideal to visit the locks and walk the towpath, it has two toilet blocks both spotless, one has no showers. The garage on the main road has a small shop and stays open quite late, the Horse and Jockey pub on the other side of the road does meals and appears very popular, we visited about 9.30 and it had gone quiet, A visit to Whitchurch concluded our weekend.
We have tried several times to book this site and it was usually full, Now I see why

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bedofflames 5 reviews from this member

A lovely site, everything is always clean, bins emptied etc. Lovely walkes along the canal that take you to the staircase locks where there is a cafe and small shop. Garage right by the site selling any basics you may need. Short drive into whitchurch should you want a chippy or take out. There is also an off license a few minutes down the road. Very peaceful site.50p per shower

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Angemick 2 reviews from this member

Went to this site at the weekend, although the weather wasn't good the weekend was, the site is really well kept, the owners are very helpful, cannot wait to go again this weekend.
The walk up the canal is really interesting, watch out for hedgehogs getting into your tent (very friendly though) The ducks and rabbits kept our little dog amused all the time. Other campers very friendly and helpful.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bob Scout 13 reviews from this member

Excellent site, all everyone said it would be and more. Joan and Trevor never seem to stop working to improve the site. Very reasonable prices!

Lovely walks along the canal.

What isn't mentioned are the two small fishing ponds on site. Not for the serious angler but fairly well stocked and good to pass an afternoon.

Bus stop outside for Chester and Whitchurch, only problem is no evening bus into or out of Whitchurch so if you fancy a few beers try Tony's taxi's.

Fantastic Indian restaurant on the way in called Eastern Spice, excellent food at reasonable prices.

Site has been extended so there are a few more tourer pitches.

Watch out for the Ducklings! they come round a few times a day for food and aren't afraid to peck your feet if you don't give them any.

We definitely in intend going back even if it is a 200 mile journey from Newcastle.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Donny Osmond 12 reviews from this member

Nice quiet site just outside Whitchurch. The majority of campers seemed to know each other, so I guess it gets a lot of regular visitors - however, they were all very friendly & chatty.

The facilities are very clean & modern - only let down by the fact that the showers cost 50p for barely 3 minutes, with no warning it's about to finish. I wonder how many other first time visitors end up having to rinse the soap off them in the sink after being 'caught short'! I'd prefer they just made the showers free and charged an extra pound a night - but if not make sure you take a few 50p's when you shower! Only other gripe is they could do with some signs making it clear which taps to use for drinking water.

There is a pub over the road - but I wouldn't bother eating there. Highly recommended would be The Swan at Marbury where I enjoyed a supurb ham hock - best meal of the holiday. It's a rather bumpy cycle ride away down the canal tow path, or along some quiet country lanes. Also worth a visit is the friendly Blue Bell Inn in nearby Bell O Th Hill.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: HowCrag 10 reviews from this member

The site itself is in nice surrounding countryside boarded on one side by the A41 road & the far less noisy Shropshire Union Canal. The pub across the road is very pleasant serving excellent meals & drinks. Go through the little gate at the rear of the site straight on to the canal tow path & take your choice turn right to the lock & cafe or left to a lovely pub (not all day opening)
Whitchurch town centre will provide for all your provision needs it is a town to go wandering about in. In a pub called Last Orders I met an old boy the same age as me who gave me interesting facts of the surrounding area far better than the TI & much more enjoyable.

Ahh the site itself clean, well kept & pleasant but is spoilt by penny pinching add on's 50p for a shower for a fast 4 minutes, I must have a time warp watch & then the light sensors extinguish the lights while showering.

1.00 for a roll out awning, 1.50 a porch & 2.50 a full awning & 14.00 on top of that albeit adult only site this is in Caravan Club prices league but not to their standards. Very friendly female staff & I would return.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jwblackpool 8 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this gem of a site and we will be back for more. There was a rally on in the top field but there was no noise from them and although it was busy there was no queueing for showers etc.
Took the half hour walk to the pub along the towpath this time but beware it only opens from 12pm till 2.30pm then 6pm till 11pm so sadly it was closed when we got there but it was a lovely walk. The other way out of the gate from the campsite (right) there is a cafe open during the day where you can sit outside and watch the barges coming through the staircase locks.
Site is very well kept and superbly clean and there have been a few alterations since last year.This site is a credit to the owners and it is very competitively priced. Added bonus was the daily visit from the ducklings who came from the canal for scraps of bread etc. All in all a superb site and as I said earlier we will be back soon.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 560 reviews from this member

The site is absolutely immaculate - the owners are in constant attendance keeping everything shipshape. Looks like some new pitches have been added which are tiered above the second caravan field - very well laid out and lovely views.

Toilets / showers immaculate. Only 2 ladies showers but no queues. The only thing was the lights seem to go on and off at will - the sensor doesn't seem to work if you are in the shower.

Pitch sizes are good you certainly don't feel hemmed in. The gate straight onto the towpath is a real bonus - even walking to the garage for supplies you can use the towpath.

Out of the gate on to the towpath and turn left - 30 minutes walk to the Willey Moor Lock pub - food is great - but be aware they only take cash or cheques (no debit or credit cards).

All in all a top site - great area - good walks - good pubs - lovely countryside all on the doorstep.

Previous     126 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1600 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019