Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Canal Side Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

Canal Side Caravan Site
31 Grindley Brook
Grindley Brook
Whitchurch
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY13 4QJ
Tel: 01948 663284  or  07935269084
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 39 pitches including 20 seasonal
Open: Friday 1st March Until Sunday 27th Oct 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 126 Reviews
                9/10 from 126 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (17)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  126 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tyrone 18 reviews from this member

We fully recommend this lovely site, having just spent a Sat. & Sun night there. The site is clean & tidy, very well looked after as our the guests. Our van was pitched for us! Right next to the canal there were lots to see and plenty of good walks to be had. We had a 'chilled' weekend and the car never moved. The minimal road noise was not a problem but it possibly depends on which part of the site you are on. Only negative would be an oily smell at dusk from the tanker depot which is out of site down the road. We aim to return next year, if not sooner.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janine1947 43 reviews from this member

Canal side site in a good location with access to, the canal path. Good sized grass and hard standing pitches well laid out with electricity, TV, water and grey waste to most pitches. We had a warm welcome form Denise, who gave us an information leaflet and encouraged us to read the site regulatIons posted at two places on site. TV hook up cables, toilet fluid, miLk, eggs, and bread all available from reception.

Two small clean amenity blocks with toilet, washing up, and showers (shower 50p hair dryer 30p) good road ways and access to pitches. The area we were pitched in was flat some seasonal pitches were up a slope.

The path from the site follows the canal and has locks and several long boats a pleasant hour + walk to Whitchurch small market town with many shops, tea rooms pubs and a tesco?

The site pricing is itemised and detailed. Motorhomes are more expensive than caravans ? Why. Twin axle caravans, dogs, awnings, porch awnings, roll out canopies, gazebos, extra persons, extra cars, and bank holidays all incur extra coat. At £17 per night We thought showers should be included. Road noise from the nearby Busy A41 is not particularly noticeable in the daytime but is very intrusive at night.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emma_griffiths2009@ 3 reviews from this member

This is a fantastic camp site if your looking for an adults only, quiet and relaxing time away. Brilliant facilities! The camping field had 4 picnic benches with one under a shelter. A brilliant toilet block with separate showers (50p), and washing facilities for both pots and clothes. There was a fridge and freezer for campers to also use.

We were the only campers for the weekend because it was mixed weather (a lot of rain included) but they said they didn't get too many as they want a relaxing quiet site! which was absolutely perfect for us and will also be great for those in caravans and motorhomes etc as they wont have their peace disrupted either. In all I will most definitely be going back.

Its right next to a canal. If you turn right by the canal it take you to a lovely café (5 min walk) and just outside the campsite there is a great pub that serves great ale and food and a petrol station with little shop.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: EllieR 6 reviews from this member

Wow, what a lovely site. It is beautifully maintained to a very high standard and is in a superb location.

Leave through the gate in the bottom left of the site and you are right on the Llangollen Canal. If you turn right you are within minutes of the Grindley Brook Staircase lock where you can watch the world go by whilst others open and close the locks.

If you turn left, after half-an-hours walk along the towpath, you arrive at the Willey Moor public house. However, should that be too far, across the road there is the welcoming Jockey and Horses pub. Both pubs do lovely and reasonably priced food.

Back to the site; the toilets and all the facilities were very clean (I cannot talk about the showers as we used our own).

What was really lovely was the peace and tranquillity of the site; waking to the sound of bird song every morning and being alongside the canal.

Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Traceyandsteve 1 review from this member

Lovely Site, Owners very friendly and helpful.

Site was nicely laid out, bit of noise from the road if you are pitched closer to the front of the site.

Toilets were clean but dated, the lights are on a timer and if you are in there for a little while you can find yourself in the dark!

The Pub across the road is very nice and great for food or just a drink, staff were very friendly and efficient.

I recommend a walk along the canal (just out the back gate of the site) if you fancy a longer walk you could walk into Whitchurch, about 2 miles along the canal path

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pyper 6 reviews from this member

Met at the very secure gate by the nice lady, checked in and escorted to our pitch in less than 15 minutes. Nice flat pitch with hook up. The pitch was next to a fence that separate the tents from the caravans. When the caravans parked on the other side of the fence I thought us all a bit to close.

As other reviews have mentioned there are a few rules.

The showers near the entrance are very good, clean and spacious and are the better of the two shower blocks.

The washing up areas at the second block could have done with a good brush down - lots of cobwebs and spiders.

There are numerous bins for recycling, which is good, but on our last morning I did see that someone had left a collapsible plastic box on top of the bins full of rubbish - teabags, takeaway containers, half eaten food etc.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Canal Side, it is in a nice area next to the canal and a pub across the road. There is some road noise.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ralphybaby 4 reviews from this member

Been 3 years since our return to Canalside and the standards have not dropped.

Had a great welcome on arrival and chaperoned to our pitch and shown where all the facilities are etc.

The site is kept lovely and the shower facilities are great (the shower block near the entrance is best). The shower room is just like a bathroom, with toilet, sink, mirror, shelves and hangers and even a chair, oh and the walk in shower. The showers are 50p and the water was nice and hot and lasted a long time (not sure why people moan about paying really). The other half used power in the ladies for hairdryer and straighteners so she was happy too! There are separate toilets also and again always seemed clean and tidy.

The site has a lodge type building with a microwave, fridge, freezer and a washing machine installed for those that may need it. We found this handy as we do not use hook up.

The site staff are always on hand and also tending the site to keep thing lovely. It has a family run feeling and when we left early due to circumstances at home they genuinely had concern that we were leaving due to a problem with the site which was nice.

The site is great for those that like to walk, with the canal right next door and lovely walks, on way to the WilleyMoor Pub (about 30 mins) and the other way an hour walk via canal to Whitchurch. A garage is next door and handy for bits and bobs. The Horse and Jockey pub is across the road, we did not eat there but had a drink. Food seemed bit pricey and other campers said it wasn't great but cant comment ourselves.

The Canal side cafe which is only a few minutes walk away does a great breakfast if you fancy a change from cooking and is a great place to watch the barges in the stair case locks.

In all a great stay, and we will not leave it so long to return this time.

Top marks for CanalSide!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Noseyparker 1 review from this member

Read the reviews before we went so were aware there may be a lot of rules however, once we got there, we did not think there were any more rules than the usual campsite do and don'ts. Liked the private gate out to the canal- very handy for walking the two dogs. Didn't use the showers as the money slots were outside the cubicles and there was a limited time to turn the water on. The only problem we had was the pitch we were on (number 1). The pitch was only just wide enough for the motorhome and sat right next to the main road through the site. Everybody that walked to the toilets or walked to the canal gate had to pass the van and were only a foot or so away from the side and the front of the van which gave us very little privacy. The road noise was a bit louder than expected. All in all would go back to the site but only if guaranteed another pitch!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pangie46 6 reviews from this member

Excellent site with very friendly and helpful owners, especially when we had a flat battery!

(Garage next door very helpful too. )

Made our first ever camping experience an exceptional one. Toilets and showers immaculately clean and great pub across the road. Beautiful scenic setting recommend this site to anyone. No problems with having two dogs there as there are lovely canal walks and fields everywhere. Thank you Canal side see you again!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fred1664 7 reviews from this member

Got to canal side site 07 july 2013 very hot and sunny. Nice field for tents trees on two sides, showers & toilets nof far from where you camp. And were clean and with toilet paper. Showers 50p but hot. And I paid £10 a night to camp there, just me, car and my cycle. If the showers were free then site fees cost would cost more. Flat field for tents, duck pond with a few ducks. Pub over the road was ok food alright. Willy more pub on the canal was good nice. Pint of Perroni lager, and the food look good as well. Camp site easy to find on A41. Going back with my wife soon. 10 out of 10 very good

Previous     126 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3032 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019