Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Canal Side Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Whitchurch > Canal Side Caravan Site Reviews

Canal Side Caravan Site
31 Grindley Brook
Grindley Brook
Whitchurch
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY13 4QJ
Tel: 01948 663284  or  07935269084
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 39 pitches including 20 seasonal
Open: Friday 1st March Until Sunday 27th Oct 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 126 Reviews
                9/10 from 126 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (17)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  126 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Barry Fisher 11 reviews from this member

Easy to get to – just off the A41 Whitchurch by-pass, this is a small, quiet site, owned and run by a friendly family. Kept neat and tidy, with coded locks on entrance and towpath gates keeping it secure.

As befits the notice at the entrance “Strictly no children beyond this point”, it was occupied by a few pre-children couples, but mostly by post-children couples. If you have visitors (up to two), they are charged £2 each, and £2 to bring their car inside the gate (but not up to the caravan).

The site has a smaller, lower field of about ten pitches, and a larger sloping field with about forty further pitches. About half a dozen are seasonal pitches, the rest for usual use by visitors. Alternatively, caravan storage is available in an adjacent locked compound (from a conversation with someone who used this facility, this seemed to be relatively inexpensive, but you would need to check this out), and the owners will move the stored caravans onto a pitch (at normal rates) when required.

Pitches are crushed stone to the width of a caravan and awning, so no dead grass/mud-under-groundsheets problems. Water, electricity, tv and waste water drain are to all pitches.

The main toilet/shower (50p for 5 or 6 minutes, and 30p to use a hairdryer) and bin area is between the two fields, and, whilst not new, is perfectly satisfactory. There is a collection of eight different recycling bins (including dog bin), to suit the requirements of the local authority. A newer toilet block is at the entrance to the site but, because of its position, seems little used.

Grindley Brook is two things – above canal level the busy A41 is fortunately not intrusive thanks to a speed restriction and double bend, plus buildings between the site and the road. Adjacent the site entrance is a petrol station with a useful shop, and opposite is a pub (food available). Otherwise not much else.

However, going through the gate from the lower field direct onto the Llangollen Canal towpath, the immediate view is a different, picture postcard world of gardens and cottages. Three fairly close canal locks lead to a staircase of three linked locks – a gongoozler’s paradise. Alongside the staircase is a good café/tea shop selling ice cream and some groceries, where you can sit and watch the boats struggle up and down the staircase.

For the energetic, a further 30-40 minutes walk along the towpath takes you to the Whitchurch canal arm and a pleasant walk into Whitchurch itself.

Further afield, a short drive takes you to the delightful town of Nantwich, with Whitchurch and Ellesmere (with another canal arm) also close; the old town of Chester (straight up the A41) is a bit further, but well worth a visit. Motor home users should note, however, that buses from Grindley Brook site are two-hourly.

Mobile phone connection is a bit iffy; internet connection almost impossible, and there is no Wi-Fi available.

We liked this site very much, and we will return.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kad1310 10 reviews from this member

I have mixed feelings about this site.

Firstly it is very easy to find, we came in from the Chester side and about 30M before you get to the filling station there is a sign for motorhome hire, this is where you enter the site. You are met with a high gate and a sign saying no children.

Once inside you drive past the motorhomes to the reception where you are booked in and given a list of rules. We knew there were a number of rules, but there were far more than first thought.

Being alongside the canal is great with good walks in both directions, sitting outside the cafe by the locks watching people struggling is great fun.

Pitches are a decent size and the field well tended with EHU and water. The facilities on the lower field are adequate, the gents having a couple of urinals, one toilet and three sinks. The two showers are separate and are unisex. Annoyingly you have to pay for the showers, 50p for about 4 or 5 minutes and you can not adjust the temperature although they were warm enough, the wife dared not wash her hair for fear of running out of time. The slots for paying for the showers are also outside of them, so if you want a longer shower, make sure you cover yourself up. One other thing, the showers are turned of at 2130hrs until the next morning. (WHY?) So if you are out for a cycle or any other activity including fishing on the canal, don't be late.

There are other facilities here, laundry etc but we did not use them.

Overall a good site but there are far to many rules from don't feed the ducks to no ball games.

We will not be returning to this site specifically because of the number of rules.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wheatley791 2 reviews from this member

Met at the gate by the friendly owners and shown to the pitch which was an all weather pitch and was nice and level. You do however need rock or strong pegs for the awning. During our stay we had some torrential rain but the site was well drained and never waterlogged.

Facilities clean. Nice site, well maintained with the added bonus of being Adults only. Site ideally located next to the canal with a private gate to the towpath which made it ideal for walking the dogs and there is a field at top of site for letting dogs off for a run.

Good location for exploring the area.

Pub across the road and garage next door which sells milk etc. Sainsburys and Tesco in Whitchurch for a bigger shop.

The only dislikes we had about the site were the cost of the showers which were 50p and only lasted 3 minutes, timed from when the coin goes into the meter (which was outside the shower rooms), struggled to get hair washed even when not putting coin in the slot until undressed and going to the meter in the nude! Also the lights were on a timer which lasted about 3 minutes and if you went for a shower or to the toilet when it was dark then you kept getting plunged into darkness.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daffodil1941 45 reviews from this member

Had another visit to Canal Side lovely secure site with gate access to canal for walks to a nice pub to the left and a set of stair locks with great coffee shop to watch the narrow boats go by and great walk to Whitchurch. The site has hard standings and own water point and drain to each pitch along with electric hook up. Did notice a lot of pitches are used for static vans full recycle bins and a wash up sink under cover but not in side, toilets always clean in ladies 2 loos and 2 privacy cubicle with a small wash hand basin and radio piped in which I liked( I know that it annoys some people) there are 4 showers in the two blocks but did not use so cannot comment. Staff work very hard and like you to keep your pitch spotless. There is a petrol station next door which sells bread milk papers and other bits you may need but a Sainsbury's in Whitchurch for a big shop, there is a nice pub across the road that does good food and beer and let's dogs in also a bus stop out side if you like us like to leave the motorhome on site. Only niggle could not use mobile phone until I went up the hill near the top lake, one of two. We will be back to explore the area more.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Madgie 6 reviews from this member

Location very good. The site has its own gate to the canal. Two very nice walks; turn right for a walk along the canal side to Whitchurch which took about 45 minutes and to the left there is a 30 minute walk to Willeymoor Lock Tavern. We had 2 meals here and enjoyed both, but beware, the opening hours are restricted.

Also nearby is a garage with shop and a licensed cafe about 5 minutes from the site right by the Grindley Brook Locks. There is a pub across the road though we found the food there a bit overpriced.

The site is very good but there are a lot of rules. Fair enough, but we had travelled to this site mainly to meet up with my sister who was in Wem and we did not realise until they turned up that guests had to be off the site by 8pm. So no BBQ as planned but we did have a lovely meal at Willeymoor Lock Tavern instead.

We didn't use the shower block as we prefer to use the shower in our caravan but the toilets were clean. The site was well looked after and very secure; entry by keypad and a lot of security lights.

Would we go again? Probably not because of the strange visitor rules but if these were less restrictive then maybe.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ashandalex 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from a bank holiday stay at Canalside. Overall we don't think we will return, It is set in a lovely area however the site is formal to the extreme and very rule intensive.

We do enjoy quiet, relaxing sites and aren't into the loud party sites but it is nice to be able to chat and laugh and hear others doing the same.

Rules of the site are posted everywhere and can be quite patronizing, being told how to behave at all times. I really disagree with being treated as a child when I am a very sensible professional adult.

This is an adult only site and you are greeted at the secure gates with a huge sign, no children past this point. We already knew this the site is advertised as Adults only.

The gates are very high and number coded to enter so security is good.

Canalside is very clean, mainly flat with a little shop but it does have a general feeling of a retirement village even though most of the people on it aren't of retirement age (ages ranged from 30 - 70)

Most campers are in bed or locked in their caravans before 8pm.

To have a visitor you must report to the owner prior to arrival and pay for a pass.

The site does however feel like a prison. Both my partner and I agree that rules must be in place however we do not agree with the need to remind us of them constantly.

The showers are turned off at 9. 30pm. Showers cost 50p, metered which last about 3 minutes. This was ok, hot and long enough for me.

Just in case you are going out for the evening, Your car can only be moved before 10. 30pm. This was fine, no noisy cars at night and most people don't move their cars once in situ for the weekend anyway.

The clean areas were very clean, the recycling is extremely strict. This wasn't a problem, we are very keen about recycling.

Tent pitches are on the far right side of the field, pitches 1 -4 are however at the side of a rather smelly ditch and insect repellent is advised as we were bombarded with gnats.

Porches, awnings etc are at extra cost.

We were on pitch 2 which is sloping and isn't as big as the other pitches, There wasn't enough space to put our porch up but other pitches were quite spacious. As the sun shone we didn't feel not having the porch up was too big a problem. We also had to pitch our Outwell XL sideways again this wasn't an issue, but if you do visit ask for one of the pitches to the right of the pond 4-8 as these are lovely flat and spacious pitches.

This is an extremely formal site, Canalside definitely wasn't for us. Maybe if they relaxed their stance slightly we would return but I don't think so.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sueper 11 reviews from this member

Just spent a very peaceful week at this campsite. When we arrived on the Saturday there were quite a few units on site. By the Monday there were only a couple. This may well have been the reason that the showers were only heated in the mornings. The showers are 50p for around 4 minutes, 30 seconds of which is spent waiting for the hot water to come through. The water was hot enough for me and I like it hot. There is a socket in the shower for your hairdryer but you have to buy a token for 30p to use the electricity. The walk to the town of Whitchurch is lovely along the canal and takes around 40 minutes. We did try the Horse and Jockey (the pub across the road from the site) and were not very impressed at all. Overall, a very nice site but personally I would prefer to pay a pound or two more and not have to pay for the shower and hairdryer separately.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MITCHEPA3 5 reviews from this member

Spent a weekend here with friends who were in another tourer. First thing we noticed was the security and the rules. We had been warned by our friends who had stayed before, so no complaints about that. Staff were very friendly and took us to our pitch, very helpful with info of the area. Site was very clean as were the toilets/showers as stated in other reviews 50p gave you a reasonable time in the showers which were hot.

The staff made sure that we were aware it was a quiet site{no vehs after 10. 30pm} but we could hear the traffic on the road outside. The walks along the canal were great. We had a good laugh with and at the people on the boats trying to use the locks.

The pub over the road is very nice, but the meals were pricey and not the best I have had. The choice of real ales was very good though. We went to the other pub mentioned - turn left and walk for 30mins(we cheated and drove there on the a49} it was great, lovely meals and good value and it is situated on a lock.

Overall a good site, plenty to do, many guests were fishing on the canal banks(as I did) the pond in the site isnt well stocked. Would I go again, yes.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Beryl Mee 1 review from this member

Just returned home from a great 10 days at Canel side caravan & camp site. Lovely walks along the tow paths, good area to visit. Thanks to owners for a well keep site. Would recommend to friends. Site secure with entry codes to main gate also to gate from tow path. Toilets cleaned twice daily and good pub opposite serving great food. Open on Monday's! Would certainly use this site again if in the area.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Susie1973 6 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site in an ideal location.

We were given pitch 7 which was right next to the gate which got you canal side. This was ideal for us as we have a dog and the wals along the canal were great.

If you took a right out of the site from the canal gate there is a lovely craft / book shop and within 5 mins you walk past the grindley lock staircase and a licensed cafe. We continued onto Whitchurch which took about 45 mins.

If you take a left out of the canal gate and walk for approx 30 mins along the tow path you come across a lovely pub which is dog welcoming. They serve food between 12 - 2 and 6 -9 pm although we did not eat it looked great quality and value for money ( typical pub menu )

Opposite the site was another pub which offered a varied menu and although seemed more pricey thatn the other pub also looked great food.

The site itself was very clean and quiet all the time. We are late risers and were not disturbed by any noise at all.

The only thing I heard for the 4 nights we stayed was the chugging of the narrowboats going by!

The toilets / showers are like bathrooms with locked doors which is a great little luxury as you can do everything you need to behind one door with plenty of hooks etc and a mirror.

The toilets and showers were always immaculately clean and the showers cost 50p which lasted approx 4 mins, I struggled with this length of time but I am known to day dream in the shower! so for most I am sure this is fine.

The only negative I can find about this site is that although it is an adult only site it is very rule intensive and I felt like I was being treated like a child. There were signs everywhere, on every door and gate, on the walls of the toilet and shower units.

As well as the two notice boards with site rules on you are told to read on arrival.

By the end of our 4 night stay we found the need for signs on how to behave both tiring and humorous but taking this out of the equation it is a lovely quiet site. A peaceful retreat in a good walking distance to Whitchurch and a couple of nice pubs.

I think we would return to this site for a quiet weekend and to see how many more signs have been added!

Previous     126 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2360 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019