Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Canal Side Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

Canal Side Caravan Site
31 Grindley Brook
Grindley Brook
Whitchurch
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY13 4QJ
Tel: 01948 663284  or  07935269084
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 39 pitches including 20 seasonal
Open: Friday 1st March Until Sunday 27th Oct 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 126 Reviews
                9/10 from 126 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (17)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  126 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jiggin 5 reviews from this member

Wonderfull and quite quiet camp site run by a lovely friendly man. It is on the side of the Llangollen canal where you can feed the ducks and by the Grindly Brook staircase locks, where you can watch the barges come and go through the numerous locks. There is one men's and one ladies toilet with a shared shower that are kept very clean. Fresh water tap and elsan point with rinsing tap. Electric hook up is available at a small charge. Dogs are allowed if kept on a lead which is probably the one and only must be obeyed rule. There is a further field which is used for caravan rally's but can be used as an overflow if site is full, providing there is no rally on. Over the bridge on the other side of the canal is a lovely shop / cafe where you can eat in or take away delicious food. A little further is th Horse and Jocky pub where you can also get a nice meal. Across the road from the pub is a larger shop and a garage. Not an expensive site and really good value.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Baldrick2 19 reviews from this member

This site in located by the side of the canal and has direct assess by a gate, you have to put in a code in order to re-enter. The canal is delightful with the barges travelling up and down. The locks of Grindley Brook are within a few minutes walk, also the Lockside Café. There is a pub across the road and also one half an hours cycle ride along the towpath if you turn left from the site. Whitchurch is approx. 1 and a half miles along the towpath, a lovely cycle ride. The site itself is set out in two fields, the further one having seasonal pitches and afew touring pitches, where we were pitched. You have no choice and are escorted to your pitch on arrival. There is a facilities block in this area, which has a radio on constantly, which we could hear from your pitch. The recycling bins are also sited by the block, the banging of the bottles in the glass bin goes on until nearly midnight. There was no soap in the toilets. The showers are 50p which have the slots outside the shower cubicles. You have 4 minutes of water before it switches off. There are a lot of rules and regulations, which are fair enough when adhered to, but the 5mph is not, cars come speeding in through the entrance of this field. One rule, which is really common sense to most, of the electricity cables being unravelled for fire safety, there were a few plugged into the mains but still wrapped on the cable reels. There was constant traffic noise from the road outside the site. This was not a site we would return to, a shame as the canal location is lovely.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vanoholic 2 reviews from this member

We really liked this site - very relaxed and friendly - large pitches, good location. Owner helped us reverse onto our pitch and was always around to help if we needed her. We were in the top field so we were close to the toilets. The traffic noise didn't bother us at all. We used the pub opposite twice - good food and beer. Road was a bit of a nightmare to cross - caution needed. Little shop at the petrol station selling the basics. Lovely canal walks too. I would return!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BB29 19 reviews from this member

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. Denise who showed us to our pitch was very helpful and informative. The site is well kept. There are two blocks of facilities both kept immaculately clean, never had to queue for a shower. (don't forget your 50p's) There is a small shop with essentials with an honesty box which I think is a nice touch. There is a laundry room with washer, dryer, clothes line, iron, ironing board, fridge, freezer and microwave. Plenty of walks in and around the area, we had a leisurely walk to Whitchurch along the canal path took about an hour, Whitchurch is definitely worth a visit, plenty of shops! Very peaceful campsite which we will definitely return to.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jarvis9 10 reviews from this member

We agree with the reviewer that said 'not for us'. Way too many rules.

The good aspects were its location which is great, right next to the canal and at the end of the Sandstone Trail. Lots to do on the doorstep.

The facilities are a little jaded. But what would stop us from returning was the attitude toward us having two cars and parking for a very short time to unload. We came away quite upset about the way we had been spoken to.

Such a shame as this is a beautifully kept site and has lots going for it.

We did ponder for a while how the rule about not letting your dog go to the loo on site could be maintained. I mean, he goes where he goes and we always pick up.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johneoldham 3 reviews from this member

Just got back from a great five days, what a lovely site, 5 minute walk from the canal. Only 2 miles into Whitchurch. Just across the road is the Horse & Jockey pub, great food at good prices. 10amp hook up, water tap and TV aerial connection also, very handy. The toilets and showers were brilliant, can not fault them, exceptionally clean. Also a couple of places to wash the dishes, and plenty of bins for recycling.

. The owners were great, nothing too much trouble and although always busy, still had time for a friendly chat. Hopefully it won't be too long before we are back again. Thanks again. John and Maureen.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caravanmac 1 review from this member

Just returned after a great weekend from this gem of a site, owners very helpful, easy access, very secure and very clean. The 5 Grindley canal lock system is on the doorstep and with a pub serving good food and real ale 50 mts away what more can you need. And at £17 for a fully serviced pitch with free wifi I will be going back.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robbie 2 8 reviews from this member

We received a warm welcome from Denise and she showed us to our pitch which was hardstanding. The cost £18. 00 is very good. You do have to pay extra for the showers, awnings and dogs(like many sites)

There is a dog friendly pub over the road which sells great beers. The toilet and shower blocks are dated but clean. The only problem is the elderly gentleman who helps run the site does not know how to speak to paying guests. I am 56 year adult and don't need to be spoken to like a school child over reversing my car on his grass?

Even the taxi driver would not drive to close to the site driveway. Our friends went to the site to ask about a seasonal pitch and he would not let them in. We have spoke to a few people who have had problems with this gentleman before. On this note we will take our custom elsewhere.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ettenaej 6 reviews from this member

What a gem of a site. Quiet peaceful clean tidy organised absolutely brill. We came across this site by accident but realy glad we did. Denise went out of her way to accommodate us being as we didn't pre book. Once getting through the gates its a little oasis with tranquil walks along the canal excellent cafe 5 mins down canal path lovely jubley cakes fully recommend you to try them. Showers and toilet facilities were fine maybe room for improvement but fine. We would most definitely use this site again and have told many people about it. Bus route right outside the gates good value if you get day rambler tickets. Even bus staff friendly. Garage shop, cafe pub and bus stop what else do you need! This is also an adult only site. Look forward to next visit. Jan n Alan.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Terrypirie 12 reviews from this member

We had been recommended this site so decided to visit for a few days. The location looked good but the gate was opened by a man who didn't bother to say hallo or welcome. Denise herself was welcoming but this has been the only site where they insisted we parked head on as our door is on the other side(being a german van)-no problem though as we had a large pitch near to the canal gate.

Once through the gate it was a different world with lots of lovely walks.

Would we come again-no. It is not our sort of site-we felt very watched, lots of rules and very expensive showers, 30p for a plug for a hairdryer and £1 for four eggs. And it was an adult only site!Lovely setting but not for us-and the view from our van was either nettles or a storage yard.

Previous     126 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


327 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019