Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Canal Side Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Whitchurch > Canal Side Caravan Site Reviews

Canal Side Caravan Site
31 Grindley Brook
Grindley Brook
Whitchurch
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY13 4QJ
Tel: 01948 663284  or  07935269084
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 39 pitches including 20 seasonal
Open: Friday 1st March Until Sunday 27th Oct 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 126 Reviews
                9/10 from 126 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (17)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  126 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Inspired 8 reviews from this member

Nice little site. Very quiet and in a beautiful setting. Busy road on the other side of the site hedge but you hardly notice.

Very friendly welcome on arrival. Feels very secure as gates are locked at night and unlocked about 7a.M.

Toilet/shower block is fine. I took my husband with me to stand outside of the shower room as you have to feed a metre just outside the shower door and I was worried that I would be all soapy and not have enough time to rinse off the soap after washing my hair. There is ample hot water for just a shower but you do need to put more money in if hair washing in shower.

Pub across the road has nice food and I recommend. Is popular though so get there early.

Site has Second hand books for sale and also they sell home made slices of cake - yum!

We stayed for a weekend which was lovely. We walked along the canal into Whitchurch and it was very pleasant. We will stay again and hopefully walk in the opposite direction along the canal.

Friends who visit the campers have to leave the site by 8pm

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Patterson14 2 reviews from this member

Having read the reviews of this site I wanted to visit it for myself.

On approach through the yard I was worried that the site would not live up to my expectations.

The staff were out to greet the moment we arrived. Not too may rules - all sensible. The site was well laid out and a good distance between units.

Facilities, very clean and well serviced. All waste bins clearly marked and regularly emptied.

I really liked the curtained wash basin in the ladies.

The proximity to the canal side was brilliant and once we arrived we didn't use the car until we hooked up to leave. We walked into Whitchurch which wasn't the bustling market town we expected but still pleasant and a lovely walk along the canal.

We ate at the Horse & Jockey one night and walked along canal bank to Whilleymoor Pub the second night. On reflection the Horse and Jockey was the better of the two, but both were great value.

The only small grumble and it is a small grumble is the road noise. But this wouldn't put us off going back again.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jango62 6 reviews from this member

Excellent site at a fair 12 p/n for a tent and 2 people. The grounds are well maintained and plenty of distance was given between the pitches. The site is mostly occupied with caravans and motorhomes and separated from the tent field by a small wooden fence.

For the anglers, there are ponds on site and obviously the canal.

There was a small amount of road noise, though this was a small price to pay for not having to listen to screaming kids day and night!

The washing and toilet facilities are less than 5*, but are adequate and very clean. The only minor gripe being that the showers are 50p for about 3 mins with no warning before turning off and the coin slot is outside of the shower room (Be quick!)

The nearest pub is the Horse and Jockey over the road which is a bit tired and in the midst of a well overdue facelift. The beer is pretty much average though the food a bit rank! Right next door to the site over the road from the pub is a Shell garage which is handy for bread, milk, nik-naks etc.

Along the back of the site runs the canal with various interesting features all within walking distance. Heading left out of the gate there is another pub about 25 mins walk along the towpath, this place is ok to stop for a pint or 2 but reports from fellow campers are not very favourable - poor ale and below standard fare.

All said, this is one of the best value campsites I've been to and the wife and I wouldn't hesitate to return.

9/10 Nothing's perfect!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pickupsticks 28 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite just over the Cheshire border so half the site is in Cheshire, the other in Shropshire. Generous pitch with electric hook up and water. Borrowed a TV aerial for free. Excellent security barrier.

The canal and Grindley staircase locks are adjacent to the site and a gate has direct access to the towpath. The gate has a lock and code so you don't get strangers coming through the site. The 5 rise locks are well worth seeing and there are loads of other places to visit in the area.

The hot sunny weather was a real bonus when we were there and even England's defeat by Germany didn't spoil the weekend! (well, not too much!) The only minor downside is the charge for showers at 50p each. However as we had a direct hook up to water we used the shower in the caravan instead! The site is easy to find and reasonably priced. Well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Derekrobo 19 reviews from this member

What a great site this is how keeping a caravan site should be done. Plenty of space between units no list of rules. No children allowed but that doesn't bother us either way but the location is great, alongside canal near Grindley Brook staircase locks.

Couldn't watch England because the TV reception is bad , but found out on last day that they lend you a aerial lead to plug in on your pitch if you ask.

It's a 2 mile pleasant walk along canal and disused Whitchurch Arm Canal to the town which is a nice old place when we went in the pub all went quiet for a minute. In a another pub the barmaid from the first was there and jokingly told one of the locals to behave as we were strangers in town ! Had a 9.50 meal in the Horse and Jockey opposite the site and I got 3 potato wedges with my meal and 5 onion rings cost 2.50 you do the maths.

Over all a great site will definitely go again.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Anna+Colin 6 reviews from this member

The setting is very pleasant; we were on the tent area with our folding camper just near the stream. Plenty of wildlife to watch with the birds darting back and forwards, ducks going to and from the pond and rabbits hopping around.

The one drawback is that you can hear the traffic on the A41 - not so bad on Saturday and Sunday but definitely noticeable on Monday morning.

Many other people were in caravans so the toilet / shower facilities were not in great demand but it could possibly get a bit busy when there are more tents. But those are small points and we would definitely go back again for a weekend. And the home-made cakes are gorgeous.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Josie+steve+bazil 26 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to Shropshire staying for 5 nights and we chose this particular site because of the fab reviews other caravanners had left and they weren't wrong! Everything that has been said previously was spot on.

The second shower block is finished but they were having problems the week we were there.The original block was spotlessly clean and there was a handbasin and loo in each of the shower rooms (Plenty of room to move around!). Yes the showers do cost 50p but I think that it was worth it because of the effort the owners make in keeping them clean.

The individual pitches were hardstanding complete with their own water tap, grey waste outlet (so take a longer pipe that takes the water directly to a drain from your van) and, because the TV reception is poor, if you wish to use your TV, there is a hook up point for an aerial for which they will provide a length of coaxial cable to use,oh and of course electric hookup. A superpitch I think!

Recycling was particularly well catered for with all bins well labelled.

The position of the site next to the canal was lovely with lots of narrowboats travelling along it most of the day.

The owners were very helpful if you needed anything but were not intrusive. The site was immaculately kept and security conscious which is reassuring. Just watch out for a bit of duck poop, they are very friendly!

There is also a small pond if you fancied chilling out and fishing but don't expect the one that got away!

All in all a pretty perfect site, I just wish it was a bit closer to us as a 6hour trip just for the weekend is a bit too far to travel!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sallydadog 2 reviews from this member

We booked this caravan site as a last minute get away for a weekend and so glad we did. On arrival we were met by Trevor and shown to our pitch which was in a great location and had all facilities.

We were given a code to get through the gate to the canal walk, what can I say lovely walks for us and the dog and the staircase locks are quiet amazing to sit and watch. About 5 minutes along the tow path is a lovely cafe were you can sit and watch the world go by.

The horse & Jockey pub is 2 minutes walk from the caravan site and does great meals and is a dog friendly pub. A petrol station is 2 minutes from the site also to get your daily papers etc. We were pleased with everything on this site and will definitely be returning again.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hookup 19 reviews from this member

Yet another 'return trip' to Canalside, We love it. Site as immaculate as ever. Joan and Trevor the tractor their usual friendly and obliging selves. Added bonus this trip superb carrot cake cake baked by Denise the Masterchef. We did not eat out at the 'Horse and Jockey' across the road because We were reliably informed by a caravanner who uses the same storage as we do that since changing landlords the meals are rubbish. A fact which seems to be borne out by the lack of 'locals' and an empty car park. No problem as the food at Willey Moor Lock and the Wheatsheaf is really great. Excellent Site. Cannot fault it.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gareth + Rachel 1 review from this member

We are novice caravanners and this was only our third time out with the van, and our first without our mentors and it was them that recommended the Canal Side site.

Any worries about this trip were quickly dispelled with the smiling welcome from Joan, Denise & Trevor. Joan ran though the site amenities & facilities, while Trevor sited our van, as the wet weather had made the ground a bit soft, and his little tractor made easy work of it.

Once set up, we had the compulsory cup of tea and a butty, before we explored the terraced site. The heated shower block is supplemented by a toilet block, both with male and female sections. There is a new shower block under construction, and will be ready soon, before our next visit. Showers are 50p a go. Some said the time is too short, but neither of us had any problems, so makes me wonder what some people do in the showers! These showers and toilet blocks are spotlessly clean, and are serviced many times a day.

Our pitch was hard standing, with water, electric hook up and tv aerial on the post, and the waste drain made it a best part of a 'super pitch'. We had our own digital system, so didn't need the tv service.

The site backs on to the Shropshire Union Canal, and a short walk takes you past five lock, and onto the canal shop & cafe. Choice in the shop is a little limited, and there is a shop with the filling station for the essentials, but that depend on what you class as essential!

The historic town of Whitchurch is only minutes away by car, and a host of big name shops, and many local shops with the local feel and welcome.

The site is well placed as a base to explore Shropshire, being close to most of the major roads in the area and it's these roads that are the only draw back, as the main road is always busy, but we soon got used to it, and it did not dull our stay.

The site is heavily into the recycling and there is a bin for everything and we should have used the food bin, as we were visited in our awning by a badger as we settled in bed and the site of me in my underpants scared it off, and probably scarred the poor thing for life!

So, lesson learnt, don't keep waste food in bags on the floor, take it to the bin!

Wild life is all around, with a pair of ducks that patrol the site for goodies, and hoover anything they find, and a great array of birds in the area.

We look forward to returning, as we were made to feel like part of the family, and most of the other campers were on first name terms, and seemed to be very regulars, which for a friendly atmosphere.

The only problem we have, is getting time off to get there

Previous     126 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3098 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019