Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Canal Side Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

Canal Side Caravan Site
31 Grindley Brook
Grindley Brook
Whitchurch
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY13 4QJ
Tel: 01948 663284  or  07935269084
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 39 pitches including 20 seasonal
Open: Friday 1st March Until Sunday 27th Oct 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 126 Reviews
                9/10 from 126 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (17)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  126 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mad monk 1 review from this member

Quite pleasant, showers 50p for about 3 minutes, only before 9.30pm, toilets very good. Bit near main trunk road, quite a bit of traffic noise. Handy for canal tow path walks, good if you want to hook up with boating friends/family. Good pub across the road that does meals, a nice pub down the tow path, 1/2 hour walk, that does excellent food and beer! Pitches spacious and well serviced, t.V. And water hook ups with the electric, well drained grass, not all hard standings.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MIZZOG 6 reviews from this member

What a little gem! We stayed here for just a couple of days. We were looking for a bit of peace and quiet and that is exactly what we got.

The site is spotlessly clean and tidy and the owners couldn't be more helpful. The pitches are large and well spaced, there aren't many of them either. The facilities are top class, especially the showers. A private cubicle containing a shower, sink, toilet and chair etc.
The first time I have ever been to campsite showers and felt the urge to clean up after myself (not that I'm messy but just mopping any spilt water up). The toilets were also clean whatever time of day or night you visited. It was a shame but whilst we were there, there was somebody who regularly smoked in the toilet despite the signs. If I had spotted who it was I would have told them myself.

This site is right on the Canal, and there are some lovely walks along the towpath both ways. Five minutes walk away are the staircase locks along with a little cafe/general store which serves smashing sandwiches etc. I can heartily recommend the pub just a mile up the road at Tushingham called the Blue Bell. Fantastic food at good prices and a lovely atmospheric pub with extremely friendly locals. The Horse and Jockey across the road is fine, although we did not eat there. A five minute drive will get you into Whitchurch with a usual array of shops.

We will return to this Site as often as possible for short breaks to unwind and cannot recommend it enough!

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tracy35 17 reviews from this member

Such a nice site - has everything! Pitches level - awning went up a treat. Loos and showers super.
Smashing pub across road - lovely meals. Cafe/shop along the canal - few mins walk - sells lovely local produce. Sit out by the canal with a coffee and watch the world go by!
As previous post - road very busy and at times noisy - but can put up with that as everything else spot on.
Really enjoyed our stay - will undoubtedly be back.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Marynov 23 reviews from this member

We'd never been to an adult only site so were looking forward to the chance. Lovely clean loos/showers and with piped in music too. Lovely setting by canal with walks along towpath and locks to see etc, ducks & rabbits galore.
Owners very helpful. Shop handy to site and pub across the road. Easy access to Tesco in Whitchurch - 5 mins in car if that. Handy for Beeston Castle, Candle Factory etc and not far to outlet centre at Chester.
Only downside was road noise which was a bit intrusive.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HelenandNige 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here for three nights over recent wet and windy weekend.  Several campers had cancelled due to the inclement weather so there was a wide choice of pitches available and Trevor ensured we had the right pitch for the weather. Couple of ponds on site with lots and lots of (hungry) ducks, grateful for the bread, some of them were quite tame and would come fairly close. 
Toilet block always clean.  Loved the idea of the shower block facility where toilet, basin and shower are all together, en-suite like.  Plenty of hot water and facilities always extremely clean. 
Had a meal out at the Horse and Jockey across the road from the site which was good.  Went for a meal at the Cholmondley Arms (on the A49, approximately six miles away), a converted school house that has won a vast array of awards.  Meal was exceptional, one of the best meals we’ve ever had and reasonably priced too. 
It’s a shame we don’t live nearby as I’d be visiting their more regularly than my purse would allow! Only slight disappointment was the noise from the nearby A41, however this was only during the day when we were out most of the time anyway, night times were quiet. We would return. 

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Deville 3 reviews from this member

My sister and I had a lovely three days break at canal side. What excellent toilets and showers very clean and well maintained site. Fantastic canal walks on the door step wild life in abundance. Canal side cafe serving good food and plenty of places to visit. Will be going back sometime in the future!
 

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Firruk 18 reviews from this member

Lovely little quiet site. Basically two flat fields with the canal running to the side and screened by trees. All pitches seemed to have EHU and water taps within reach. Just the job if you want to relax and be quiet. I was in the lower field as I was only there for one night and this was a bit enclosed by trees but the higher field seemed to have a more open aspect.
Great canal walks and lots of interest with Grindley locks (a difficult flight of three) just outside the site. There is a canalside cafe about 5 minutes walk towards Witchurch and about 30 minutes in the opposite direction The Willey Lock Tavern serves food and a great selection of real ales, many from local microbreweries. If you are not up to that then the Horse and Jockey across the road did food but didnt seem as well patronised as the one on the locks.
Garage just outside site has a small shop.
As people have said toilets and showers were immaculate although there were only two mens and two ladies at my end of the site and I wonder if there would be queues on a busy weekend?
Mobile phone signal was fine but my TV was very poor but that might be because I was down within the trees.
A great little site for peace lovers and a good stopover if on a long hike north or south.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tatey 3 reviews from this member

Excellent site, flat with shortly cut grass, fields full of ducks & rabbits, all the usual hook-ups. First class showers & toilets. The shower rooms have a toilet, wash basin, central heating radiator, mirror & shower cubicle all in one dedicated room per person.
Nearest pub 100 yards away, "Horse & Jockey" good food, wonderful Cornish bitter!
Joan & Trevor Jones the proprietors are friendly & helpful. Lovely walks on the canal with the dog. I will be visiting again very shortly.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smudge04 2 reviews from this member

We visited on a bank holiday weekend and the site was quite full but there was plenty of room. We had a level, sheltered pitch and an enjoyable stay despite a lot of rain! The site has been very well thought out with excellent facilities. The toilet block was clean, warm and well fitted and the shower facility was the best we've used (very clean and welcoming). Both have lights which come on (and go off) automatically which is a great idea although if you take your time over your business you may have to wave your arms a bit if the light goes out!
The walkways are also flanked by automatic lighting making night time trips much easier. Water points were well spread out and within easy reach and EHU available if wanted. The owners were very friendly and relaxed and the surrounding canal scenery was lovely. 1 pub within staggering distance and another at the end of a nice walk down the towpath.
A small shop attached to the garage sells the essentials and is within a few yards of the site entrance. Lots of wildlife around the site too, we had ducks, herons, many small birds and fledglings a local cat and more baby bunnies than we could count. All of this gave our 10 month old springer spaniel a lot of excitement (like he needed any)! Highly recommended

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bertndoris 14 reviews from this member

Excellent site, flat spacious pitches, lovely walks and a super couple that run the site.  No movement after 10pm and I think the entire site were in bed by then - heaven!  The best nights sleep Ive had for years. Very good shop near by and great fun being entertained by the tourist barges attempting to negotiate Grindley Brook Locks.  Highly recommended for a peaceful adult only weekend.

Previous     126 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1597 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019