Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Canal Side Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

Canal Side Caravan Site
31 Grindley Brook
Grindley Brook
Whitchurch
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY13 4QJ
Tel: 01948 663284  or  07935269084
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 39 pitches including 20 seasonal
Open: Friday 1st March Until Sunday 27th Oct 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 124 Reviews
                9/10 from 124 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (17)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  124 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pendywooley 14 reviews from this member

Booked site as start of trip south. A bit quirky adults only site with toilets and other facilities in small v clean sheds. Chosen because of being beside the canal, so flat walks for elderly dog and gongoozaling. Site well maintained and friendly staff, our pitch area was level and quite generous. The back gate to the canal was a pitch away.

Across the busy road The Horse and Jockey had a very interesting menu and welcoming staff, would recommend.

Road signage could be better, we nearly missed it, on a bend and a busy road - apologies to the cars behind us!

Whitchurch and the surrounding area is worth a return visit for us.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Leslie d 1 review from this member

Very pleasant welcoming spacious fully serviced secure dog friendly adults only site. Were met on arrival by owner and guided to pitch.

Easy access to canal towpath, shortish walk into Whitchurch and nice little canal side cafe/tearoom ( 1 slice Victoria sponge enough to share between 2) and opposite very friendly pub.

Some traffic noise from A41 may disturb some people, showers are charged by meter and could benefit from spin dryer in laundry room. That asides all facilities clean tidy and well presented.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nickb500 11 reviews from this member

Finally got around to reviewing this campsite after our visit in early August! A very pleasant site just off the A41 Whitchurch ring road. We were in the first section of the site on a generously sized fully serviced pitch. We were met by site owner Denise and given a detailed introduction to the site and local facilities. I can't comment on the site toilets/showers as we always use those provided in our caravan but everything was well signposted and kept in good order.

Passing through a nearby secure gate led on to a very scenic canalside location - part of the Sandstone Trail - with the Grindley Brook staircase locks, quaint card cabin and art gallery and cafe all on the doorstep.

Just across the road from the site the Horse & Jockey pub served a variety of real ales and food. Preferring to walk up a thirst and appetite we also visited the Willy Moor canal side pub - a 2 mile walk along the towpath - more real ales and tasty meals at reasonable prices.

On a particularly sunny day we enjoyed a visit to nearby Cholmondeley Castle gardens - very pretty indeed and also fitted in a day in Chester exploring from the city walls.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mhancock 6 reviews from this member

This s a small family run site. Ideally sited next to the canal. No direct TV but the owners have given each pitch its TV point. No internet access so they gave us access to their WiFi system Each pitch had its own water tap and grey water point. Showers and toilets clean and tidy.

Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, we would use this site again. This is an adult only site

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mardymadam 3 reviews from this member

Lovely clean medium sized site with hard standing and electric/water hook up. Good spacing between vans and very open aspect. Super showers and toilets with piped music. No children due to adults only policy, which was wonderful. A little road noise but no real issue. Good pub just over the road with excellent food, garage close by. Can easily walk into Whitchurch down the canal bank. Would recommend.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dragon56 18 reviews from this member

Stopped at this site for one night on route to North Wales. Wish we could have stayed longer. This is gem of a site tucked away in a fantastic location. Only a few yards from the canal and a cafe overlooking the locks and all of the narrow boats that uses it.

We had a lovely welcome and were taken to our pitch which was spot on for our 23 foot motor home. Will be back soon and next time stay a little longer.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: WWLL 60 reviews from this member

This is a little gem, booking was easy. Everything as described on web site no nasty surprises only pleasant ones. We received a warm welcome. Site has, really spacious level pitches, about half & half seasonal & touring. Great location with good facilities. Canal walks were lovely. Had a meal at the Horse & Jockey, real ale good food & friendly service. Nice area with of places to visit nearby. Plenty of song birds visiting.

All round nice site.

Thank you

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Waggyfromderby 34 reviews from this member

Our pitch was too small, VW T5 and small awning. When erected we walked out of the awning into the neighbours car - no room for outside chairs and tables.

On the hottest sunniest day of the year we sat on the shaded side of our van, on the grass where if we had had a car we would have parked it there. We were told we weren't allowed to sit there. How pathetic, we harmed nobody, overlooked nobody and I would have really like to know why the owner would have a problem but were simply told 'these are our rules', talking of which there were so many, I was tempted to add a few - nobody would have noticed but I must admit that the toilets and showers were well maintained and very clean.

The site could easily be called the A41 side. The road is noisy and certainly I didn't get much sleep. I will never frequent this place again

We left a day early and went to a fabulous campsite at Royal Hill (see review)

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Digital Doris 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a visit to this great site. Spent 7 nights here, great location for motorhome with walks either way along canal towpath on sandstone trail also bus stop right outside. Garage next door for provisions and wonderful pub across the road serving great real ale and reasonably priced food with proper chips. Site and toilet block kept very clean. Good dog walk on site. Owner very friendly and we were given a very warm welcome will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: OLDBONES 1 review from this member

Just spent 4 days 3 nights here, and was a lot better than anticipated from reading past reviews, nothing was too much trouble for Denise the owner, had a little trouble with the wifi, but was probably my fault. Also loaned us a coaxial cable for the tv antennae, (recommend you take a 10 metre coax) dog walking areas, very handy for the canal walks, the local pub straight across the road is dog friendly and served excellent meals, there is a garage virtually next door that sells most basics that you may require, a cafe by The Staircase Locks that do breakfasts 5 minutes away. Idyllic for a restful break and we cannot wait to go again very soon.

Previous     124 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Shropshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2700 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0977