Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Canal Side Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

Canal Side Caravan Site
31 Grindley Brook
Grindley Brook
Whitchurch
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY13 4QJ
Tel: 01948 663284  or  07935269084
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 39 pitches including 20 seasonal
Open: Friday 1st March Until Sunday 27th Oct 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 126 Reviews
                9/10 from 126 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (17)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  126 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: David8858 1 review from this member

Stayed over for 2 nights on return from a trip to see the Severn Bore. Chose this site primarily because of its location and it being Adult only. Site location is handy for Whitchurch and Chester and as its on a Canal as the name suggests; there is a gate to the canal tow path from the site so its good for gongoogling and walking with or without dogs. Minor gripe was that despite advertising a dog walk in the rules it wasnít clearly marked and we didnít find it yet. This coupled with being charged one pound per night extra per dog when there is a total of 1 dog bin on the entire site we regard as a negative.

Toilet and shower facilities were clean and functional although I didnít use the showers as they were an extra 50p per shower and I donít know about you but I donít carry money when dressed for the shower and find it irksome to have to remember to take a 50p piece each a time. Iíd much prefer to see the cost to cover showers added to the site fee and have done with it.

A major factor for our return to this site is the Horse and Jockey pub across the road. They are very dog friendly, serve a good selection of real ales and have a diverse menu, a good chef and excellent service which is always appreciated.

Next to the site is a Texaco filling station with a small shop which is handy.
via mobile

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: HicVadum 4 reviews from this member

We chose this site because it has a pub and shop nearby. Those two are big positives, the fact that both pub and shop are very close, the shop part of a petrol station just outside the main gates and the pub over the road from it. Pub large and serving good food and a selection of real ales. Unfortunatly the menu was themed and this month the the theme was Spanish so unless you like tapas and paella there was only fish and chips as an alternative. I enjoyed the seafood paella.

The site is alongside the canal which offers pleasant walking and there is a small cafe 500 yards or so along the canal bank with good cheap food. Bit of road noise from the artics in the night. Facilities basic and unheated at times when we were there, 50p for a shower.

We left our outside temperature gauge behind and I 'phoned when we got home to ask if it had been found, it had and I offered to send a prepaid envelope but the owner insisted on returning it at their own cost. Very impressed.

We are turning more and more to sites with continental facilities, bar/restaurant/cafe/shop either on site or very nearby and actively search for them. This fits the bill.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pendywooley 14 reviews from this member

Booked site as start of trip south. A bit quirky adults only site with toilets and other facilities in small v clean sheds. Chosen because of being beside the canal, so flat walks for elderly dog and gongoozaling. Site well maintained and friendly staff, our pitch area was level and quite generous. The back gate to the canal was a pitch away.

Across the busy road The Horse and Jockey had a very interesting menu and welcoming staff, would recommend.

Road signage could be better, we nearly missed it, on a bend and a busy road - apologies to the cars behind us!

Whitchurch and the surrounding area is worth a return visit for us.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Leslie d 1 review from this member

Very pleasant welcoming spacious fully serviced secure dog friendly adults only site. Were met on arrival by owner and guided to pitch.

Easy access to canal towpath, shortish walk into Whitchurch and nice little canal side cafe/tearoom ( 1 slice Victoria sponge enough to share between 2) and opposite very friendly pub.

Some traffic noise from A41 may disturb some people, showers are charged by meter and could benefit from spin dryer in laundry room. That asides all facilities clean tidy and well presented.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nickb500 11 reviews from this member

Finally got around to reviewing this campsite after our visit in early August! A very pleasant site just off the A41 Whitchurch ring road. We were in the first section of the site on a generously sized fully serviced pitch. We were met by site owner Denise and given a detailed introduction to the site and local facilities. I can't comment on the site toilets/showers as we always use those provided in our caravan but everything was well signposted and kept in good order.

Passing through a nearby secure gate led on to a very scenic canalside location - part of the Sandstone Trail - with the Grindley Brook staircase locks, quaint card cabin and art gallery and cafe all on the doorstep.

Just across the road from the site the Horse & Jockey pub served a variety of real ales and food. Preferring to walk up a thirst and appetite we also visited the Willy Moor canal side pub - a 2 mile walk along the towpath - more real ales and tasty meals at reasonable prices.

On a particularly sunny day we enjoyed a visit to nearby Cholmondeley Castle gardens - very pretty indeed and also fitted in a day in Chester exploring from the city walls.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mhancock 6 reviews from this member

This s a small family run site. Ideally sited next to the canal. No direct TV but the owners have given each pitch its TV point. No internet access so they gave us access to their WiFi system Each pitch had its own water tap and grey water point. Showers and toilets clean and tidy.

Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, we would use this site again. This is an adult only site

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mardymadam 3 reviews from this member

Lovely clean medium sized site with hard standing and electric/water hook up. Good spacing between vans and very open aspect. Super showers and toilets with piped music. No children due to adults only policy, which was wonderful. A little road noise but no real issue. Good pub just over the road with excellent food, garage close by. Can easily walk into Whitchurch down the canal bank. Would recommend.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dragon56 18 reviews from this member

Stopped at this site for one night on route to North Wales. Wish we could have stayed longer. This is gem of a site tucked away in a fantastic location. Only a few yards from the canal and a cafe overlooking the locks and all of the narrow boats that uses it.

We had a lovely welcome and were taken to our pitch which was spot on for our 23 foot motor home. Will be back soon and next time stay a little longer.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: WWLL 60 reviews from this member

This is a little gem, booking was easy. Everything as described on web site no nasty surprises only pleasant ones. We received a warm welcome. Site has, really spacious level pitches, about half & half seasonal & touring. Great location with good facilities. Canal walks were lovely. Had a meal at the Horse & Jockey, real ale good food & friendly service. Nice area with of places to visit nearby. Plenty of song birds visiting.

All round nice site.

Thank you

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Waggyfromderby 34 reviews from this member

Our pitch was too small, VW T5 and small awning. When erected we walked out of the awning into the neighbours car - no room for outside chairs and tables.

On the hottest sunniest day of the year we sat on the shaded side of our van, on the grass where if we had had a car we would have parked it there. We were told we weren't allowed to sit there. How pathetic, we harmed nobody, overlooked nobody and I would have really like to know why the owner would have a problem but were simply told 'these are our rules', talking of which there were so many, I was tempted to add a few - nobody would have noticed but I must admit that the toilets and showers were well maintained and very clean.

The site could easily be called the A41 side. The road is noisy and certainly I didn't get much sleep. I will never frequent this place again

We left a day early and went to a fabulous campsite at Royal Hill (see review)

Previous     126 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2027 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!