Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Canal Side Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Whitchurch > Canal Side Caravan Site Reviews

Canal Side Caravan Site
31 Grindley Brook
Grindley Brook
Whitchurch
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY13 4QJ
Tel: 01948 663284  or  07935269084
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 39 pitches including 20 seasonal
Open: 05/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           06/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 148 Reviews
                9/10 from 148 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (19)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Canalside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  148 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Foxypig 1 review from this member

 We have visited this site several times, on our own and with friends.

Love the location of this site; it has direct access to the canal towpath, a nice dog-friendly pub across the road and another approx 40 minute walk in the opposite direction. Whitchurch is approx an hours' walk along the towpath, where there are plenty of pubs and independent shops.

The site itself is directly off the main road, therefore some road noise can be heard if you listen for it, I was more tuned in to the noise of boats chugging and the birds!

There are toilets and showers and recycling facilities.

The showers are 50p and are lovely, warm and clean. They last long enough for a wash - no titivation! If you have long hair, or want a more luxurious shower, I would suggest 1. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Linda4 1 review from this member

 Very good site with serviced pitches standard, (water and electricity )

In rural country side adjacent to Llangollen canal, but little shade unfortunately in this very hot weather.

Excellent pub over the road.

Enjoyed our short break very much. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Onlythetruth 7 reviews from this member

 Friendly laidback site. We forgot our tv aerial cable so were lent one by the owner.

Nice walk along the canal to Whitchurch and a lovely pub in the opposite direction along the towpath.

Site fees are very reasonable considering some prices other sites are charging this year.

Would definitely return if we were in the vicinity. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tonyocal 1 review from this member

 Thought the site and staff were excellent and I was surprised that all pitches had all facilities, water, electric and grey water drain

We will definitely be visiting the site again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lancashirelass57 1 review from this member

 A lovely quiet adult only site next to the canal. Great location, water and electric on each pitch. Great value for money.

The site managers are helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

The toilets and showers are clean and tidy and cleaned regularly to comply with Covid rules.

Pitches are adequate for a van and awning and the grass is cut daily.

There is a lovely lock side cafe about a 10 minute stroll for the retired camper !

And a shop and garage next door to the site which sells all the basic necessities.

The local pub is just across the road from the site and serves food.

An ideal site to relax or walk the canal l if feeling energetic 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kevbe369 4 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely 3 night stay, friendly welcome, nice pitch,

Facilities not open due to pandemic which we knew beforehand, not a problem as we have everything we need in the van.

Nice walks on canal towpath accessed from the site. Local shop and more importantly pub. Whitchurch walkable along the canal and plenty of places to visit within easy reach by car.

We will definitely be going back for a second visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kmumfo 1 review from this member

 Excellent communication from first phone call to arrival on site.

Nice and friendly welcome when we arrived.

Pitch was good and good for walking with gate to canal 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: The Drings 14 reviews from this member

 Upon arrival we were met by the lovely owner. They took our caravan to its pitch with their tractor.

It is a lovely site with two ponds, immaculate toilets and showers.

There was access to the canal via a gate from site.

Other campers were alll friendly.

There is a pub across the road and one about 35mins walk down the canal.

We really enjoyed it here. We felt very safe as covid measures were adhered to brilliantly. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 21 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dawny Miller 1 review from this member

 We are regular visitors to this friendly, well kept site. Trevor, Denise and Gary work hard to always ensure we have a fabulous stay.

The site is Covid safe and facilities super clean.

Situated on the Shropshire union Canal it is a perfect location for walking, birdwatching or just relaxing on a bench watching the Narrowboats pass by. Personally we love been on site.

Wildlife and nature in abundance.

A friendly team who go above and beyond to help make you feel at home. Cheery waves from fellow Caravanners, a clean, super safe and well run site.

We adore our times at Canalside. Trevor, Denise and Gary you do a sterling job. You should be very proud. Canalside is a credit to all your hard work. Thanks a million. Dawn and John Miller 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chrisa 1 review from this member

 We always enjoy our visits to Canal Side. Denise and Trevor keep the site well organised and safe.

We hope to return many more times, walk beside the canal and go to the pub across the road. 


Previous     148 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Canal Side Caravan Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Canal Side Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Canal Side Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitchurch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4763 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement