Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Canal Side Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Whitchurch > Canal Side Caravan Site Reviews

Canal Side Caravan Site
31 Grindley Brook
Grindley Brook
Whitchurch
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY13 4QJ
Tel: 01948 663284  or  07935269084
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 39 pitches including 20 seasonal
Open: 6th March Until 31st Oct 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 130 Reviews
                9/10 from 130 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Canalside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  130 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this may include toilet and shower facilities. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Simmo51 1 review from this member

 Booking this site over the telephone was quick and pleasant. On arrival we were met by one of the owners who asked us to unhitch our caravan as they would site it with their tractor.

Our pitch was fully serviced including TV hook up, and the site and facilities were well kept and clean.

We particularly liked the excellent recycling area and the Owl nest boxes and bird feeders around the site.

Easy access to the canal with its flight of locks, a shop and an excellent dog friendly pub. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Magore 2 reviews from this member

 This was an amazing site. We stayed here because of the proximity of the canal, for cycling, and it couldnít have been handier. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The facilities were spotless and we never had to queue for access. Security on the site was a high priority and we felt very secure throughout our stay.

Despite being near a busy main road we were not disturbed by road noise at all.

We highly recommend the pub/ restaurant opposite, The Horse and Jockey. Lovely ambiance, the staff were very helpful, the prices reasonable and the food amazing.

We would have stayed much longer but the site was fully booked. We will be sure to revisit on a future trip and book early!

The canal paths are superb for walking and cycling and there are treasures to be found. Such as the Honesty Shop just near the campsite and beautifully decorated barges along the way. The Lock Cafe is a lovely stop off point for a drink or an ice cream, while watching the barges moving through the lock.

Highly recommend this site, 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nw126kazandspen 12 reviews from this member

 Easy too find. Hardstanding pitches with water, Ariel ehu.

Alot of seasonal pitches odd few for new customers. Please book in advance. Nice well kept site. 2 toilet blocks showers, waste etc.

Small dog walk area then a big off lead area up top. Brill facility for dogs.

Secure campsite coded entry etc.

Next too canal great for long walk with dogs. Took around 45 min too walk too whitchurch.

Pub very close very dog friendly. Lovely food and selection of drinks.

Garage and shop open nxt door.

£19 plus £1 for dog. 50p for shower

Clean showers and toilets.

Friendly campsite.

Will definitely return and recommend thanks. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: David8858 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed over for 2 nights on return from a trip to see the Severn Bore. Chose this site primarily because of its location and it being Adult only. Site location is handy for Whitchurch and Chester and as its on a Canal as the name suggests; there is a gate to the canal tow path from the site so its good for gongoogling and walking with or without dogs.

Minor gripe was that despite advertising a dog walk in the rules it wasnít clearly marked and we didnít find it yet. This coupled with being charged one pound per night extra per dog when there is a total of 1 dog bin on the entire site we regard as a negative.

Toilet and shower facilities were clean and functional although I didnít use the showers as they were an extra 50p per shower and I donít know about you but I donít carry money when dressed for the shower and find it irksome to have to remember to take a 50p piece each a time. Iíd much prefer to see the cost to cover showers added to the site fee and have done with it.

A major factor for our return to this site is the Horse and Jockey pub across the road. They are very dog friendly, serve a good selection of real ales and have a diverse menu, a good chef and excellent service which is always appreciated.

Next to the site is a Texaco filling station with a small shop which is handy. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: HicVadum 5 reviews from this member

 We chose this site because it has a pub and shop nearby. Those two are big positives, the fact that both pub and shop are very close, the shop part of a petrol station just outside the main gates and the pub over the road from it. Pub large and serving good food and a selection of real ales. Unfortunatly the menu was themed and this month the the theme was Spanish so unless you like tapas and paella there was only fish and chips as an alternative. I enjoyed the seafood paella.

The site is alongside the canal which offers pleasant walking and there is a small cafe 500 yards or so along the canal bank with good cheap food. Bit of road noise from the artics in the night. Facilities basic and unheated at times when we were there, 50p for a shower.

We left our outside temperature gauge behind and I 'phoned when we got home to ask if it had been found, it had and I offered to send a prepaid envelope but the owner insisted on returning it at their own cost. Very impressed.

We are turning more and more to sites with continental facilities, bar/restaurant/cafe/shop either on site or very nearby and actively search for them. This fits the bill. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Globaltraveller 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived and were escorted to our pitch, we had to park precisely where we were told and were pretty much shoved in a small space in a corner. Very regimented and does not promote a relaxing atmosphere. There are signs everywhere telling you what you cannot do, what time the curfew is etc.

Its not cheap, rather expensive for what they offer, dog walking area is pathetic when they charge extra for the dog, and to charge for showers is so old school!

The site promotes itself as canalside, a tenuous link with just a small gate to access the towpath, more like noisy road side, the A41 being very busy!

The owners need to think about why people go to campsites, to relax and enjoy the surroundings 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pendywooley 21 reviews from this member

 Booked site as start of trip south. A bit quirky adults only site with toilets and other facilities in small v clean sheds. Chosen because of being beside the canal, so flat walks for elderly dog and gongoozaling. Site well maintained and friendly staff, our pitch area was level and quite generous. The back gate to the canal was a pitch away.

Across the busy road The Horse and Jockey had a very interesting menu and welcoming staff, would recommend.

Road signage could be better, we nearly missed it, on a bend and a busy road - apologies to the cars behind us!

Whitchurch and the surrounding area is worth a return visit for us. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Leslie d 1 review from this member

 Very pleasant welcoming spacious fully serviced secure dog friendly adults only site. Were met on arrival by owner and guided to pitch.

Easy access to canal towpath, shortish walk into Whitchurch and nice little canal side cafe/tearoom ( 1 slice Victoria sponge enough to share between 2) and opposite very friendly pub.

Some traffic noise from A41 may disturb some people, showers are charged by meter and could benefit from spin dryer in laundry room. That asides all facilities clean tidy and well presented. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nickb500 11 reviews from this member

 Finally got around to reviewing this campsite after our visit in early August! A very pleasant site just off the A41 Whitchurch ring road. We were in the first section of the site on a generously sized fully serviced pitch. We were met by site owner Denise and given a detailed introduction to the site and local facilities. I can't comment on the site toilets/showers as we always use those provided in our caravan but everything was well signposted and kept in good order.

Passing through a nearby secure gate led on to a very scenic canalside location - part of the Sandstone Trail - with the Grindley Brook staircase locks, quaint card cabin and art gallery and cafe all on the doorstep.

Just across the road from the site the Horse & Jockey pub served a variety of real ales and food. Preferring to walk up a thirst and appetite we also visited the Willy Moor canal side pub - a 2 mile walk along the towpath - more real ales and tasty meals at reasonable prices.

On a particularly sunny day we enjoyed a visit to nearby Cholmondeley Castle gardens - very pretty indeed and also fitted in a day in Chester exploring from the city walls. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mhancock 6 reviews from this member

 This s a small family run site. Ideally sited next to the canal. No direct TV but the owners have given each pitch its TV point. No internet access so they gave us access to their WiFi system Each pitch had its own water tap and grey water point. Showers and toilets clean and tidy.

Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, we would use this site again. This is an adult only site 


Previous     130 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Canal Side Caravan Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Canal Side Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Canal Side Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitchurch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


971 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020