Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Canal Side Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

Canal Side Caravan Site
31 Grindley Brook
Grindley Brook
Whitchurch
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY13 4QJ
Tel: 01948 663284  or  07935269084
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 39 pitches including 20 seasonal
Open: Friday 1st March Until Sunday 27th Oct 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 126 Reviews
                9/10 from 126 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (17)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  126 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jointbox30 8 reviews from this member

Having read a dozen or so reviews, 10 out of 10 seems right to me. The site is for adults only and the signs state that.

I have no problem with site owners laying down their rules. It's up to us the visitor to respect them. The site was just how we expected it and the owners were just great.

Cannot expand on what other reviews have stated about the site and the surrounding area. Looking forward to our next visit.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andyand Emma 2 reviews from this member

Chose this site as it was adult only so a bit quieter. Denise the owner is very helpful and the grass is kept short. The walks along the toe path are fabulous and the locks on the canal are worth a watch to see families in total meltdown. The showers are clean if not a little dear.

Overall a pleasant place to stay, we will go back again.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WENDY09 18 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 3 nights over a very wet weekend. We were shown to our pitch by Denise and told to read the site rules before getting too comfortable.

We pitched our tent on very sodden and sloping ground (pitch no. 1). We then went to read the rules, for reasons unexplained the showers are turned off at 9. 30pm -6. 30am, they are plenty long enough even for me who does like to take my time, never had to wait and always clean.

The recycling is very strict most things have a bin except for general waste, so you can spend 10 minutes sorting your rubbish as you listen to the piped 5 Live radio station.

Its a 1 hour and 10 minute walk to Whitchurch, yes we timed it, very nice walk and you pass the lovely Lockside Cafe and the staircase locks always boats up and down and most of them will wave or take time to chat with you.

If you turn left out of the canal gate its 45 minutes to the Willey Moor Pub, this is a very isolated walk no one passed us at all so I think best to go in the afternoon.

The A41 is an ever present background noise but you do get used to it and the pub opposite the site is very friendly and serves great food, the landlord sat with us to see England beat Sweden and gave us free nibbles.

This is a pleasant site that is definitely helped by the surrounding area.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daycamp 1 review from this member

Stayed at this site for 3 nights. It is near the main road and although some road noise can be heard it is just background noise. This is a lovely site, the tent field is mainly flat and has electric hook ups for some pitches. There are also a couple of picnic benches and a covered area in the field which can be used. The owners are really friendly and very helpful.

The showers are 50p for approx 4 mins, however they are powerful and nice and warm.

There is a separate room which contains a washing machine (3), fridge, freezer and microwave available for use.

There is a pub over the road called the Horse and Jockey which does food. We ate there one evening, the food was very nice if a bit pricey.

If you go through the gate onto the canal path then a 5 min walk to the right will bring you to some locks where there is a licensed cafe. If you turn left out of the gate then a gentle 30 min walk will bring you to a lovely pub at the side of the lock. They do a variety of meals, we didn't eat there but they looked very good value for money. Be aware though that this pub has limited opening hours.

Overall a very good site that I would recommend and will visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jhew54 2 reviews from this member

We visited Canalside for 3 nights on the recommendation of a friend. The site is lovely, nice big pitches with hook-ups, water, aerial point etc.

The owner was very helpful & friendly - sorted us a free aerial lead for our stay which was great.

The toilet/shower block is spotlessly clean - its 50p for a shower which lasts plenty long enough for hair washing etc & lovely hot water with a good pressure.

The only downside for us was lack of mobile signal (vodafone), so no mobile or ipad, but maybe other providers have a better coverage there.

Will definitely visit again - nice walks along the canal to the barge locks & a pleasant pub across the road

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Derekcbr 63 reviews from this member

Spent a couple of nights here. Owners brilliant and the site is everything everybody else has said about it. Excellent is the word to use when describing this site. Complaints - none. Well it is near the busy A41 and you do here the traffic noise at night but I do live in the country and don't here anything at night! Hey I am being 'picky' shut up Derek, the site's brilliant.

There is a strict 'no kids' policy and although I am a granddad and retired teacher you'd expect me to simply love kids. Believe me I do! But hey what peace! Going back here!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Monty8 3 reviews from this member

This is a Lovely site with large pitches. Our pitch had a beautiful view and looked out onto one of the pools.

Toilets, showers and washing up area are all nice and clean. Recycle everything which is good. Homemade cake for sale with honesty box.

Owners are very friendly and helpful. Very secure site with locked gate at entrance with key code to enter. Can hear traffic noise from the main road but it's not really noticeable.

Beautiful pools to fish. Had lovely meal at the pub across the road, Horse & Jockey, a bit pricey but well worth it. Garage with shop nearby.

Would definitely return to this site. Adult only site.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mondial 9 reviews from this member

A very quiet site with very good security, laid

out with plenty of space between pitches to

include both hook up and fresh water on each pitch

( No long hosepipes or hook up leads required here. )

Very friendly owners who go out of there way to make you feel welcome.

Ablution blocks very clean with plenty of hot water.

Although very tired from travelling we were determined to walk along the tow path and check out the stair case locks: wonderful feat of construction

Then a quick drink in the Horse & Jockey and so to bed.

We will visit again in the not to distance future.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Robin613 3 reviews from this member

It's a shame that such a lovely site is ruined by excessive rules and paranoia about security. I have never seen such an unwelcoming entrance. And yes the site is adults only, But to have a sign saying 'strictly no children beyond this point' is a bit over the top.

We were told not to feed the ducks, when and when not to have a shower, We were told we were not allowed to empty our grey water until we leave. But we weren't told how to get on to the canal tow path, and had to walk all over the site until we found the gate. And because the grey water emptying point for motor homes was not marked we ended up emptying in the wrong place. Thus further incurring the wrath of the owner, who thought I was going to nick his aerial lead.

As I said such a shame because the walks along the canal are lovely and the site once you get on it is quite pretty.

Also I think quite a lot of the caravanners were regulars, and there was a bit of caravan snobbery going on. Some people were a bit frosty.

Oh and the road noise was a bit loud, and paying for showers these days?

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mickie b 1 review from this member

First time camping used to have a caravan 10 yrs ago, so we came to canal side to try out, and was taken back with the camp very clean, and maintained, toilets very clean Evan with piped music.

Good pitch was surprised how firm the grass was after all this rain this June, very nice home made cakes you can buy only a 1 the wife got hooked on them! Very close to garage and pub which was a bonus, and the use of a fridge/freezer was fantastic with camping and it's free!

Overall it was a pleasant 2 days and will be going back so we can explore more of what it offers, thank you to the staff, keep the good work up.

Previous     126 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


419 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019