Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping > Reviews

Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1RR
Tel: 01341 280999
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70 Tourer - 30 Tent - 3 Family Pods
Open: 01/03/2024 to 06/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 189 Reviews
                9/10 from 189 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  189 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 124 reviews from this member

 We've just spent 3 nights there and first impressions really blow you away (that's if the wind doesn't get you first).

The site itself is immaculate and seems to cater for all unit types. We had a really friendly welcome from the wardens and were given a choice of pitches. The hardstanding areas are concrete plinths with chippings adjacent, so no danger of trampling mud into your unit.

Hook up, water and drainage alongside too and plenty of disposal areas for rubbish etc.

It's a bit of a trek over to and through the sister site to get to the beach, but if you were to spend the day there with kids it would be OK.

We didn't try the adjacent pub but can recommend the award-winning butchers a couple of miles north next to the Spar shop. Truly sensational sausages!

Although the facility block is incredible, for me the plunger showers that switch off every 10 to 15 seconds are a real turn off. After paying 32 on the Tuesday after the Bank Holiday, I expected a decent wetting from the shower, if not the weather. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Antb44 1 review from this member

 The campsite itself is kept to a good standard but rather expensive if you are just camping. Facilities nice and clean.

Try not to get front field as there is no shelter and tends to get battered by winds off the hills as well as being exposed to the coast.

Do try and find out what is and isnt allowed before booking as there are no refunds. We like to use a fire pit during the evening but apparently they arent allowed, something that neither the website or literature mentions until you actually check in and receive the do's and don't's. We wouldn't have booked if we had known.

Scooters arent allowed either but we saw quite a few being used on the site. Staff were fine.

Definitely a campsite for holidaymakers rather than campers. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue2812 8 reviews from this member

 Don't think I can add much to what has already been said. This site is beautiful and the wardens and staff can't do enough for you. Every member of staff at the site was helpful and always had time for a chat and to give any advice on what is going on in the area.

The toilet block was spotless at any time of the day and when we arrived they told us that the blocks were closed for cleaning and that they used the spare toilets when cleaning the main block. I can only say that the spare toilet block is better than most sites I have visited. Really good sized dog exercising area. Pub next to site very friendly serves food and reasonably priced beer and dog friendly.

We visited the beach at the sister site on a couple of occasions and found it to be spotless and as we had visitors with two children we took them there as there is loads of room for them to run about. Visited Barmouth on several occasions loved it - plenty of shops to get what you need and a beach with donkey rides for children, sand dunes and little fair. All in all a lovely stay. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CaddyClan 23 reviews from this member

 We stayed here over the Easter weekend.

It's already been said by previous reviewers, this is a terrific site, worthy of it's 5* status.

Touring pitches are all hardstanding (lovely level concrete base for the caravan and chippings for the awning, with a strip of grass after).

Each pitch has it's own electric / water and grey waste point.

Facilities are fantastic. You will need to leave a 10 deposit for the key fob which allows access to the barriers and facilities.

There was always plenty of scorching hot water (though the showers I used were a little on the dribbly side - hubby said the showers in the mens were fine, so maybe I just picked a couple of duff ones!) and high powered Dyson handryers which blast your hands off :) Loved the soap in the dispensers too. A minor point but it smelled lovely. Immaculately clean all weekend, despite the rain.

Wardens were brilliant, super friendly and helpful.

You are given a 'beach pass' for the sister site (Caerddaniel) which is just down the road. You can park there and use the private beach, but personally I wouldn't bother again, the site isn't a patch on Trawsdir and the beach was filthy, littered with plastic bottles, dog poop and bits of glass.

Great location too. Just a couple of miles outside Barmouth with it's good selection of 'seaside' shops. Also, don't miss Shell Island, just 6 miles up the road (towards Harlech). 5 entry fee but the kids spent a lovely afternoon collection hundreds of different shells and trawling the rock pools for crabs and starfish (we put them all back!). Sand dunes are great too. Do check the tide times though as you have to cross a causeway to the island.

We will definitely be returning to Trawsdir Caravan Site, one of Wales' finest! 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chriska1111 15 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our 3rd visit to this site.

This site is as good as it gets, great pitches which are now all level.

The best toilets and showers and kept cleaner than at home!

Shop caters for most things and is not overpriced.

Great friendly helpful staff.

Fantastic children's play area and kids really are looked after here.

Most pitches have there own tap/drain.

Pub up the road is nice and the beach is fab.

This site is a 5 star site and well worthy of it.

Wifi 8 for 3 days but still having teething problems with the network so they gave me the money back, I'm sure this will be sorted in a day or two though.

Best site in wales by far, trust me.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: She743 9 reviews from this member

 This has got to be one of the best sites we've ever stayed on. We booked a Pod for 3 nights over the Easter bank holiday weekend. We got a friendly welcome on arrival and although early were able to have the key to our pod.

The Pod is exactly as it says on the website - carpet, oil filled heater, tv/dvd, lights and sockets. Outside there was a picnic bench and block built area for a bbq/camp stove. You just bring all the gear except for the tent. I was so glad we booked the Pod as the weather wasn't great and you got the camping feel without the wet tent.

The toilet block was excellent - the new toilet block had obviously been designed by a fellow camper, with everything in the right place. They were spotlessly clean no matter what time of day. In the ladies there were 3 showers with a seating area and 3 showers with a seating area and sink and although a bank holiday weekend, I never had to wait for a shower.

One morning we were out early, so the new block was closed for cleaning and we had to use the old block. These were good but the shower was very compact, so make sure you have a 'lie in' and get up after 7am!

My only minor complaint is the showers are on timers and you have to keep pressing the button to get them on. This is fine and I understand why the owners have done it, but they don't stay on long enough. Another 10 seconds would have been nice.

The site is on a main road, but we did not experience any noise, unless you count the bleeting of baby lambs in the next field - a nice noise to wake up to.

I would strongly recommend this site as the facilities are excellent, it's a great location and the owners are amazing. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stasaph 2 reviews from this member

 We Have just returned home after our 2nd visit to Trawsdir. We had 3 days at this beautiful camp. The weather was not good.

It was cold and windy. This did not spoil our short break at all. The camp is immaculate. We took 2 of our grandchildren with us and they loved it.

The staff at the camp are very attentive and professional and nothing seems too much trouble. I am not experienced at putting up the awning and asked Fez if he would help me. He virtually did it himself and I was very grateful.

The atmosphere at Trawsdir is very relaxing. Toilets and shower block are spotless. We will definitely be returning. Many thanks Ian Parry. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heysey 10 reviews from this member

 My wife and I had a few days off work and went to this site after looking on uk campsite for a place to chill out. After a short phone call to the camp site we had booked in for 12 per night. When we arrived at the site booking in was very easy and we were given a keyfob ( 10 deposit ) that operates the doors on the toilet block and the barrier on and off the site, the information pack was excellent,

We had chosen non electric pitch and was more than happy with the size of the pitch and each pitch is marked out. We put our tent up and then went to get water for a brew not far to walk as there are water points next to every four pitches. A little later we went for a walk around the site and wow how imprest was we the children's play ground was very good and they have thought of every thing even a field for you dog owners to walk your dogs and even that was kept clean then I went into the toilet block and wow this was out of this world very clean and plenty of room in each of the shower cubicals. This is one of the best sites we have been on and is a 5* site, there is a little shop and also a pub just a short walk away.

The only down side can be the noise from the road if you get a pitch at the bottom of the site.

All that said we will be going back to this site with our grandchildren and family. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Denzilwxm 1 review from this member

 We stayed in the front field next to the road, which was very well maintained. The staff on site were fantastic and very helpful, facilities are the best I've seen, the views from the site are very picturesque. Barmouth is only 2 1/2 miles away and a lovely walk if you fancy it, but there is a bus service located outside the sister site. The toilets and shower block were of a standard higher than the 5* given. Overall the site is excellent value for money, we will definitely be returning and recommending to friends and family, thank you for a great stay. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alv + Jo 1 review from this member

 We stayed here at the end of September (during a mini heat wave) and were very impressed by the cleanliness of the toilet blocks, showers and wash room, the showers were very spacious and the family shower rooms are a great idea.

We had a pitch with a beautiful sea view, although if prefer a quieter pitch I would recommend you ask for a pitch in the field against the mountain as the sea can be quite loud and the front field is also against a main road into Barmouth.

The pitch we stayed on was very flat and had just been reseeded after a busy summer, but due to the high demand for the unusually nice weather we had at the end of September they had to reopen the front pitches, but the site as a whole is very well maintained.

The local pub is a short walk from the site but is lit all the way and you don't have to go by the main road either. The food is nice and not bad on price and even at the end of the season had entertainment on on the Saturday night.

You also have a pass for the sister site opposite the pub where you can use a private beach.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the Wardens very pleasant and nothing is too much trouble.

We will be returning next year and may even stay in one of the pods, (which we were very kindly given a key to have a look in).

Thanks for a lovely stay. 


Previous     189 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4116 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement