Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping > Reviews

Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1RR
Tel: 01341 280999
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70 Tourer - 30 Tent - 3 Family Pods
Open: 01/03/2024 to 06/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 189 Reviews
                9/10 from 189 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  189 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pjfdinosaur 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent four days at this lovely site it was our first visit and certainly won't be our last, the park is wonderfully kept toilets and showers were immaculate, it also has a laundry, washing up area all of which you can read about in their brochure but what you can't read about is the helpfulness of the wardens and other staff who made our stay extremely pleasant thanks again. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pmeurice 3 reviews from this member

 Nice camping, nice people and pleasant staff, very good level of facilities. You need a FOB key to open the shower/toilets room, which obliges you to be careful in case of urgent and unpredictable need. We don't really see the point since anyway the children are waiting before the door until somebody shows up with a FOB key. There is a regional train just below the camping, which waked me up at 7:30 am. Every morning. If you miss this one there is another one at 8:30. The camping is very close to the beach, nice sea view. However no way to get to the beach but 1, 5 miles further on the (busy) road, and you have to go down to the sea through two other campsites. But, the very bad point is the price. We use to travel with our touring caravan and a small igloo tent for our 17 year old son. Never we have paid more than a little fee for a side tent. Here, no way: due to some regulation, they oblige you to hire a full pitch for the tent. They did not consider any possibility to put the tent at another rate. We were thus given the choice between a pitch without electricity at 25 GBP or a pitch close to our caravan but then with power (not needed in the tent) at 30 GBP. My goodness, we paid 120 GBP for the 4 nights of the 1 person tent in addition to 140 for our caravan, mean 260 GBP for 4 nights. That will probably remain our Guiness book record in 25 years of campsites from Sweden to Italy. Campsites with animation and swimming pools in Castel campings in France are less expensive. Another thing: no way to get room in a restaurant in Barmouth (except fast food and an Indian restaurant) and they do not even pick up the phone when you try to call to make a booking (no need, they are sure to be full every night). 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Trubytribute 17 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic campsite on Cardigan Bay and a couple of miles north of Barmouth.

We've been to some excellent campsites and been to some with some excellent views but NEVER BEFORE to one that has both.

Although just off the main Barmouth to Harlech road nonetheless the noise did not detract from the wonderful ambience of this site.

It had fantastic views over Cardigan bay and the great beach. It had a great field to exercise dogs (£2 per dog per night but for the first time I had value for money). Great children's play area, the most wonderful loos ever, friendly staff. 15 minute walk with 2 elderly slow dogs to beach - BUT WHAT A BEACH. Miles of firm sand and this part of Barmouth beach was quiet and we were told it never gets crowded.

Just a totally wonderful site, with the warmest and friendliest of staff ever. Totally relaxed and chilled out weekend helped by glorious weather. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lazychu 4 reviews from this member

 Just got back from another visit and, as always, we've had a thoroughly lovely trip.

The pitches are big, big enough for our 2 largish cars, tent, seats and bbq. The pitch we had also had fantastic views of the bay.

The toilets are as ever immaculate. We normally visit this site when its quieter and had expected standards to slip a little in the main school holidays but we couldn't have been more wrong.

The children were happy with the playground and playing ball games in the dog walking field. My sister and brother in law were happy that the playground was only open 9 to 9 so no late night shouting and screaming.

The Wayfayer bar and chip shop next door appears to be closed, but being renovated. The chip shop was a bit rubbish anyway. Try the Mermaid in Barmouth instead or the takeaway at the sister site.

Dogs are welcome on a lead. If you walk through the sister site to get to the beach then dogs are welcome there too. No dogs on the main beach in Barmouth in the summer.

Overall, a great little break and I can't wait to go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fradillian 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. We arrived and were guided onto our pitch (A18) by the extremely helpful warden. We encountered a problem with our 10m Aquaroll adapter pipe and 7m grey waste pipes in that they weren't long enough as the drain and tap were on the other side of the pitch. The warden went and sourced extensions that got us up and running within 10 minutes. Great service.

The views from the pitch are nice. A partial sea view to the front (full sea view if no one pitched in front) and mountains to the side. The toilet and shower blocks are modern, clean, heated and never busy. The Reception shop is stocked enough for essentials and open until 5. 30pm.

The children's play park was popular with our children aged 7 and 11 and they made lots of friends. The park is closed and locked at 9pm which is good as we got our tired children back ready for bed and it made the campsite nice and quiet (not that it was excessively noisy during the day, just what I call 'happy children noise').

The walk to the beach is along the A496 to the sister site Caerdaniel. I'll be honest and say it's not an enjoyable 10 minute walk as its a fast road which I didn't feel entirely comfortable walking along with the amount of towing mirrors or wide motorhome mirrors whizzing past quite closely. It's a shame that there isn't a direct path straight down to the beach but the site don't own the fields directly opposite so the path isn't possible. A good compromise is being allowed to drive down to the Caerdaniel site and park by the football field which is very close to the beach.

The Wayside Inn nearby looked like it was being refitted but we had fish and chips from The Dolphin fish and chip shop in Barmouth and from the Caerdaniel site and both were lovely and quite reasonably priced. For groceries, there is quite a big Co Op (next to the train station), an Iceland and a Spar all in Barmouth.

If you do go to this site, make sure you go to the Blue Lake just outside Arthog. It's a hilly walk but worth it with the views and the blue, clear quarry lake. Take your swimming cossie :-D 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kimann17 1 review from this member

 This is an amazing site the pitches are lovely with plenty of room. The toilet and showers are beautiful and kept really clean. The wardens are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble they help with anything you need. We love it so much we have a seasonal now and winter storage. I know they will look after my caravan and the site is safe and secure. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cazbix 29 reviews from this member

 We booked in for 4 nights, the site is very nice and well maintained, the male warden showed us to our pitch which was nice and large, the dog walking area is nice and large too, the views from the site are brilliant, the shop is fine on site for bits and bats, my only bug bear is the main toilets are cleaned between 5:30 to 7:30 am, we are early risers and like to be off asap site seeing, there is another toilet block with 4 toilets and one small shower, on Saturday night we went to the local pub/fish shop but it was closed, ( closed on a Saturday night ! ). The site is close to the beach and the small town of Barmouth. We would recommend this site and hope to visit again at some point. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MEG55 17 reviews from this member

 Immaculate, well maintained Site. Owners friendly and helpful. Toilet and shower block very modern clean and tidy.

Our hard standing pitch was a good size with water tap on the pitch also.

Lovely sea views with fabulous sunsets.

Easy walk into Barmouth as only a couple of miles or hop on local bus. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Us nmatt 15 reviews from this member

 This is really a lovely site with 5* facilities

We visited 2 years ago and were so impressed we decided to return, 1st time we have ever returned to a site.

The pricing policy has dramatically changed and we paid over double what we did 2 years previous, but having nice memories we decided to return.

We made our reservation approximately 2 months before arrival and gave them our approximate arrival time (6-7pm). Then the afternoon of our arrival I received a phone call from the site giving me instructions of a how to gain entry (code for a security box and where to find our entrance fob etc. ) I said I wasn’t able to take the instructions at the time as I was working and could she email/text me them. I was told “oh it doesn’t matter” and hung up.

On arrival (bang on time @ 6:20pm) no one was there to meet us. It was pouring down and we were stood waiting trying to access the gate fob from the security box without luck, thankfully 2 other guests came and spoke to us and one kind chap leant us his fob to get in and find our pitch. About 1. 5 hours later the male warden came and knocked and gave us our own fob.

Then the afternoon before we left (we were there for 2 nights) my husband phoned to enquire whether it was critical we left at 11am or could we stay later. The site wasn’t full by any means. We were abruptly told “no” by the female warden, then she said later in the conversation that we could stay later if we paid £8. For our 2 nights it cost £58 (us plus 2 dogs) if we’d stayed for 3 nights it would have been £60. 90……. My mistake should have booked the 3 nights and left at lunch time on day No. 3 (would have only cost us £60. 90). The last time we stayed here it was only £12 per night out of season, like this visit was.

I decided to phone the lady back to explain we only wanted another 1 hour max but she said this wasn’t possible and I asked not even for the fact that no-one was here to “site us” on our arrival? No was the response.

Shortly afterwards there was a knock on our caravan door and the lady asked me to “step outside”, I refused. She then said “there was no pleasing me”. Apparently they had been waiting for us, in their uniforms, to phone on arrival (at no time did she ask me to do that, after all we arrived at exactly the time we said we would, when we booked it 2 months earlier). We’re amazed how they couldn’t spot a twin axle caravan trying to gain access.

On a positive note the site is lovely, dog walking area is perfect and the male warden is a very happy chap, always with a smile on his face.

Unfortunately due to the female warden’s customer service we won’t be returning. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Asfc70 46 reviews from this member

 A very well kept site and very friendly wardens. There are two toilet and shower blocks, immaculate and modern. Pitches are spacious and good sea views. Playground is very good as is the dog walking field, which leads to the Wayside Inn, which has a nice seating area for outdoor drinks. We did not eat there or at the attached Chippy.

The beach is a ten minute walk through the sister site across the road.

Harlech Castle and the Animal Park are recommended to the North and Barmouth to the South.

A slight breeze during the day means hurricane winds at night, with the awning making lots of noise.

Good shop on site. Free second hand books available.

On the whole a very good and quiet site and would return, but with ear muffs for a peaceful nights sleep 


Previous     189 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5180 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement