Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping > Reviews

Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1RR
Tel: 01341 280999
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70 Tourer - 30 Tent - 3 Family Pods
Open: 01/03/2024 to 06/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 189 Reviews
                9/10 from 189 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  189 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ems1976 17 reviews from this member

 Yesterday we returned from a long bank holiday weekend at Twarsdir Touring, Caravan and Camping Park Barmouth. My first impression both before arriving and upon arrival was not a good one (but please do read on!).

We were contacted 4 weeks before arrival and told we needed to pay the full price up front and it was non refundable. We had not been told this when we booked and was not aware of it until they called, but in retrospect when looking on the website, it is there at the very bottom of an obscure page.

Then when we arrived we were given key fobs for the toilets/showers and the entrance barriers Ė and told the barriers were not 24 hr access.

Our pitch (T36) initially worried us as itís next to the entrance road and quite near to the main coast road and we thought it would be noisy, but we were wrong.

The view from our pitch was simply stunning in fact breath taking and although you can hear the road it was in no way intrusive and once the bank holiday had passed was actually very quiet indeed, also because it is on the end, no one was pitched in front of us, so even though it was a good sized pitch anyway, it gave us loads of extra space for 2 cars and an active 2 year old to run amok, we would definitely request this spot again (It is worth noting though that the road is a main one and I wouldnít let anyone under the age of 14 even attempt to cross it on their own, it can be very fast!).

With regards to the other pitches they all seemed to have a good view although after some heavy rain some got very water logged and sodden (it seemed to be the electric ones, T36 was fine).

The facilities at this site were the best I have ever seen, utterly spotless at any time of day or night. They are finished to a high standard and have wonderful family shower cubicles which were great with a toddler.

Perhaps the fobs do pay off, I donít know; but I canít complain about any aspect of the facilities at all, the shower was a great temperature, the toilets were always clean and well stocked, I never once queued for a shower, they were heated blocks and the piped radio two playing 24 hours a day was a lovely touch Ė utterly brilliant!

The cleaner (who I saw twice all holiday in the very early hours of the morning) was also extremely friendly and very welcoming. All of the facilities shop, shower block, playground, water points etcÖ are all immaculate and very well placed to the pitches, nothing felt too far away.

The kidís playground was very good as well and again was one of the better ones weíve seen. It is safe, very modern, got something for all ages (including smaller children) and has the soft padded flooring.

It did get a little crowded sometimes but we were there on the bank holiday, so we expected it. I didnít use the shop, in fact I didnít even go in so I canít comment on it, but of the rest of the site was anything to go by I imagine it was spotlessly clean and well stocked!

This site is not on the beach and is not even near to the beach (although you do get the beach view); it is set back on the hill on the opposite side of the very busy road. You can access the beach via the sites sister site some half mile walk down the road but it is a busy road and you may not want to walk it with small children.

We drove into the other site when returning from a day out but could not find any parking so didnít manage to get onto the beach, but from what I could see of it, it looked lovely. The sister site is on one heck of a hill though so be prepared for achy thighs ;0D.

The location was brilliant, plenty to do in the area in mixed weather for 4 days; we could have stayed a few more. We spent a day in Portmadog on the heritage railway (which has a wonderful museum and miniature train and is a great all weather activity for younger children).

We bought some cheap nets and went rock pooling around Shell Island and Llandagnwy, this was great fun. We also visited Harlech castle and the stunning Harlech beach which was wonderfully for kite flying Ė something weíve discovered our 2 year old has a gift for (or the wind was just perfect!).

We also had a brilliant day in Barmouth, shopping in the wonderful indie and unique shops, browsing the market, spent some time on the fair ground with the little one, got the boat over to the railway and had fish and chips on the beach front Ė a brilliant day out loved by all of us.

We canít fault this area, it is truly beautiful (and I havenít even mentioned the mountain views!), there is has plenty to do, itís fairly easy to reach

I would definitely stay here again too (on pitch T36!). 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BERK+JERK 8 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Trawsdir. The staff and little shop were good. The toilets and washing facilities were brilliant always clean and tidy.

The only down side is that the same field is used by dogs and children to play, though everyone did seem to 'pick up' after their dog.

Great walk along the beach to Barmouth which is a lovely old fashioned town. We used the Wayside chippy and found that we could easily have shared a portion of fish & chips as there was plenty for two. Not an easy drive along the country roads but well worth it. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hunts5 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed for a week at the end of July. We had a Super Pitch which was lovely and spacious, only down side was that to use the waste you need a VERY long pipe!.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Toilets and showers were superb, love the radio being played!. Site was well maintained and kept spotless (even if they did start early when you are still in bed!). Play area was very nice although it is right next to the main road into the site.

The staff did a 'walk about' every night reminding everyone to keep the noise down which was good, although we did not have any noise issues at all. Food can be ordered for delivery to the site from the sister site Caerdanniel, the food was good, and they did well to cater for our large party, albeit a few minutes late.

Access and exit to the site and facilities is via a small fob, which was a pain to be honest, and proved difficult when our daughter went to the loo (with the fob) and Dad wanted to go out!

Beach access is via the sister site, where you are given a ticket for the car window. The beach is lovely and clean, with lots of peat rock pools to explore.

The Wayside Inn is a short walk from the site and food was good and reasonably priced. Barmouth town is about 10 minute drive, and has a small Co-Operative (which is the only supermarket in the area) near the train station.

Barmouth has a small fun fair which our kids enjoyed, especially the sack slides. We visited Portmerion and Aberyswyth both are a fair drive away, but helped occupy a rainy day.

Very lovely site, but not an area we would revisit. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simo51974 2 reviews from this member

 A fantastic site. Spotless. Friendly. We stayed for 7 days and will be booking again for next year. Staff were very polite and helpful. Quiet policy worked extremely well.

Ordered food from their sister site which was delivered on time and always complete.

Can highly recommend this site for families of all ages. Barmouth town is a lovely lively town and its just 3 miles away. The local pub is just a short walk and is very dog friendly and the meals are wonderful.

This is the best site we have stayed at in the last 5-10 years of camping. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Searchlighters 15 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a week at Trawsdir and had a lovely time, despite the dreadful weather for the majority of the week!

The site itself is lovely, fabulous sea views, spacious pitches and absolutely fantastic facilities. The best shower and loo block we have come across to date - huge showers (wet room style) with sinks and seating, underfloor heating, radio 2.

Great on-site shop, fab dog walking field and good play area for those with children.

Short walk through dog walking field to local pub/restaurant - ok for a beer but not sure about the food as we didn't try it.

Access to the fabulous beach is via Trawsdir's sister site about a 10 minute walk away. Food can also be ordered from the sister site for delivery to Trawsdir - not sure what this is like as we didn't try it - well with the exception of a fab bacon, egg and mushroom baguette following a long walk on the beach.

Barmouth is a pleasant enough town - The Last Inn is definitely worth a visit especially on a Tuesday when they have live music. The food is good too.

The Inglenook restaurant is to be avoided at all costs - dreadful.

All in all a lovely site in a lovely location. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: GrumpyBoaby 58 reviews from this member

 This is a beautifully laid out site, with sea views, not cheap, but worth every penny.

We stayed for 5 nights on a fully serviced pitch, the hard standing was very hard to get the pegs into for the awning, however the campshop has lots of camping items and food stuffs.

It can get very windy on the site in the exposed areas, beware tenters and awning.

The showers and toilets were out of this world, play area for kids and large dog walking area, good pub and chippy next to the site.

You can use the facilities at Caeddaniel holiday home park across the road not far from the site, they have a their own private beach.

The staff are all very helpful and friendly.

Barmouth is lovely seaside town, very motorhome friendly with acres of car parks right on the sunny beaches.

We will be booking for next year very soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DUNKERS 1 review from this member

 First time camping since I was a child. We stayed for 1 night and thoroughly enjoyed it. Came with the fella and the dog. Views were spectacular across the sea and the hills.

Site was spotless including the toilets and showers. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Have now got the camping bug and will be purchasing more equipment.

Will definitely come again and would recommend to anyone.

Loved walking through the dog walking field and along to the sister site to get to the stunning beach.  


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Moss6144 4 reviews from this member

 First time at this site

Staff very helpful showing you to your pitch altho the pitches are close together

Toilets/showers very clean didn't have to queue and there is also older smaller block early in morning when they are cleaning the newer bigger block but the old block was sufficient during the cleaning process still didn't have to queue

Washing up area under cover with bout 8 sinks so plenty of room

Also got laundrette

Shop is basic but not expensive

Toilets and gate operated my fob so always felt secure

Small play area which they locked at 9pm is a good idea cos if you are close to that it could be quite noisy

Lovely sea views which are excellent on a good day but on our last night got quite windy we were very lucky got a more substantial tent but a few of the cheaper makes were blown down in the night so be aware not to stay near the front if your tent is not made to with stand certain weather conditions

Would return to this site for weekend again not far from barmouth lovely seaside town 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kpartingtron 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 5 nights over Easter. A fantastic site for me and my family. The welcome was superb, facilities immaculate, the piped music was a delight to listen to at 3am.

Kids loved the playground which was closed at 9pm, keeping the noise level down. Great little shop and sister site had anything else you needed. Fantastic views, beautiful sunsets,

We had such a good time, we've rebooked for August. Barmouth is a lovely seaside town and a 5 min drive away. Certainly 5 star. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Antvtr1000 9 reviews from this member

 2nd time at this site with x2 large Outwell tents etc and has a great time and the weather was really kind to us!

We were again at the front of the site which, whilst exposed when the wind gets up (and it did for the 1st night!) is certainly compensated for by the outstanding views.

Pitches are dead level and firm, but you may need to take hard ground pegs.

Site is fantastic, facilities 1st class and spotless.

You have to vacate by 11am (not 10 as stated in other review), but I agree the fobs thing is a bit of a pain at times (shower blocks etc).

Would highly recommend to anyone travelling to Barmouth. 


Previous     189 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5345 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement